reviews for: listing #57776 - Boston, Massachusetts Houseboat rental

The White Elephant Floating Inn
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Houseboat
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $375 - $450 /nt

sort by:

Location!

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

Had a great time. The location is perfect. North End dining within a short walk. Recommend to all fun seekers! Slept well in comfortable beds. WiFi network nearly unusable though. JJ and Marcia very helpful and nice. Check SleepAfloat out. They have many boat options!

Owners response: So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Sorry to hear you had issues with the Wifi. Wish you had told us we would've sent someone down to help out. I was down at the boats yesterday and the Wifi was working fine for me. We'll run a systems check though to make sure there aren't any dead spots at the marina.

Please look us up next time you're in town!

Best,
Team SleepAfloat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unique Vacation Stay in the Heart of Boston

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Our family loved it. Plenty of room to fit a large family, easy access to North End and Fanueil Hall area, cable tv, wifi (a little slow but worked), plenty of heat for the winter time (the #1 question we were asked by our friends!) Nice deck to sit out on. Felt boat move only occasionally and it was mild. Super easy check in process. Highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks so much for the review! So glad to hear your family enjoyed their stay! Please come back any time!

Best,
Team SleepAfloat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our group loved it!

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

We had such a hard time finding a place to stay when we came to Boston for a relatives wedding. There were 14 of us who wanted to stay together and this just didn't seem possible until we found the Sleepafloat boats. We rented this boat the White Elephant and another boat the Orion. There were 10 of us on the Elephant and 4 on Orion. It was perfect, not only were the boats spacious and accommodating but the location was perfect! The boats are centrally located in downtown and super close to two subway stations (Haymarket and Aquarium). Everyone we met that weekend who came in for the wedding were extremely jealous of our digs. As they went home to their boring hotel rooms were we actually excited to go back to the boats and relax on the roof decks listening to the sounds of the harbor and city.

We met say this rental made our weekend in Boston even more memorable. We'd definitely recommend this to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!! Please do come back again. You're always welcome.

Best,
Team SleepAfloat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great, unique rental for our big group!

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

We had such a hard time finding a place to stay when we came to Boston for a relatives wedding. There were 14 of us who wanted to stay together and this just didn't seem possible until we found the Sleepafloat boats. We rented this boat the White Elephant and another boat the Orion. There were 10 of us on the Elephant and 4 on Orion. It was perfect, not only were the boats spacious and accommodating but the location was perfect! The boats are centrally located in downtown and super close to two subway stations (Haymarket and Aquarium). Everyone we met that weekend who came in for the wedding were extremely jealous of our digs. As they went home to their boring hotel rooms were we actually excited to go back to the boats and relax on the roof decks listening to the sounds of the harbor and city.

We must say this rental made our weekend in Boston even more memorable. We'd definitely recommend this to anyone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unique way to see Boston and a great family room

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

Fun, unique, out of the ordinary. I like to try different things with the family and this certainly was different. Plenty of room for all of us. The upper deck with the grill was great. Well located just 2 piers away from the Constitution and you can walk to town and the sites easily. It was a little odd when we got there since you really don't have a "check in" per se. but other then that it was a very cool way to spend our time in Boston. Great family memories. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fun, Unique Accommodation

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Three teens and three adults stayed comfortably on The White Elephant and were extremely comfortable. The boat is situated conveniently for any able bodied person, and is within walking distance to both trolley and water taxi stops. The only thing that wasn't completely satisfactory was the wifi service. It was spotty and disappointing since it was listed in the amenities, but overall we had a great stay. Oh, and the guy in the neighboring boat was cranky and unfriendly, but that's not Sahr's fault. The teenagers continue to describe our stay as "brilliant!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful Trip

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

We had a wonderful time aboard the White Elephant! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would certainly recommend it to our friends. The location was perfect, a calm retreat in the city but within walking distance or a short ferry ride from all the tourist hotspots. We also used the free shuttle bus a few times which was great! The boat itself was spacious and had really neat eclectic decor. The roof deck was the best spot on the boat! We grilled up there a few nights during our stay and it was just perfect! I would suggest the owners get new cushions for the chairs up there but other than that it was a great experience! Can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best Place to Stay in Boston

Review submitted: June 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed on this amazing houseboat for 2 nights this April and loved it! The boat had a beautiful view of the Boston skyline--night and day--and all the wonderful accommodations were just as the owners described in their ad. Slept like a rock in the comfortable bed in the master bedroom and had lots of room in the living room/kitchen salon. The location was just perfect for catching the trolley to Boston at Constitution Square and it was very convenient having the neighborhood market a short walk up from the boat. Vacation home rentals by owner are so much nicer than staying in a hotel room--they are your home-away-from home! And thank you, Ryan, for your helpful suggestions at check-in; we're hoping to come back late August to help get our daughter settled into college...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Unique Experience

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

The White Elefant in the Boston Harbor was a great place for a family to stay while in Boston. We had 6 adults (2 couples, 2 singles) and it the accomodations fit us perfectly. After a busy day sightseeing in Boston we would all relax together over a DVD or game on TV. The harbor was quiet and the people friendly. We purchased the 2-day Boston Double Decker Trolley tickets for touring the city that we picked up at the Constitution area and then used it for transportation into any downtown location for those 2 days. We used cab transportation to and from the airport that was cheaper than the water taxi. The information left by the owners at the houseboat was very inclusive and helpful. Thanks for a great "unique" Boston experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Previous guest comments from our other site

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Guest: VRBORORG269284 (Bent Mountain, VA)
Date of Stay: January 8, 2010 Review Submitted: January 8, 2010

Our family of five had a GREAT post-Christmas visit to Boston and stayed at The White Elephant Floating Inn. We had plenty of room to spread out and a wonderful, cozy living area in which to gather after a big day of sightseeing! Much more fun than a bunch of hotel rooms! The water taxi and Old Town Trolley made it very easy to get around. There's a nice neighborhood market just a couple of blocks away. Great, interesting, safe location! Thanks Andy, Peggy & Ryan!
Respond to this review

Helpful votes: 0/0

5/5

Guest: M C1 (Portland, ME)
Date of Stay: June 12, 2009 Review Submitted: June 12, 2009

This place was a blast. I give it a 9 out of 10. I'll never stay in a hotel in the Boston area again. Why cramp yourself into a tiny hotel room, when you could be floating in style on The White Elephant. Wood floors throughout, a king bed in the master suite, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen/living room/dining room, and a deck with a grill. Seriously!!
Respond to this review

Helpful votes: 0/0
5/5

Guest: HAC173661 (Portland Oregon)
Date of Stay: October 27, 2008 Review Submitted: October 27, 2008

The houseboat was wonderful. More unique, less expensive, bigger living space and more private than any hotel. We made our own breakfasts and relaxed as we watched the boats and planes go by. Tavern on the water (the next pier over) had excellent food for the times we didn't eat aboard or go into Boston. We loved the experience!
Respond to this review

Helpful votes: 0/0
5/5

Guest: HAC171782 (Millis, Mass)
Date of Stay: October 16, 2008 Review Submitted: October 16, 2008

We stayed on the White Elephant and it was an adventure. Ryan helped us get our things on board and settled. It was fun to be able to cook and live on the water. The Marina was interesting and the planes flying in lovely. My grandchildren and family came for dinner one night and they loved steering the boat and going on the deck. My girlfriend joined the fun another night. Recommend it for a new an exciting way to see Boston. Two yachts were there and that was fun to watch. Just walking up and down the marina and seeing the unique ways people live, vacation, and travel gave food for thought.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

Our family of five had a GREAT post-Christmas visit to Boston and stayed at The White Elephant Floating Inn. We had plenty of room to spread out and a wonderful, cozy living area in which to gather after a big day of sightseeing! Much more fun than a bunch of hotel rooms!

The water taxi and Old Town Trolley made it very easy to get around. There's a nice neighborhood market just a couple of blocks away. Great, interesting, safe location!

Thanks Andy, Peggy & Ryan!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 12, 2009   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

We had a great time staying on the boat and at the
marina, especially the kids. It was much more space
than we would have gotten in a hotel, was in a quiet,
safe location and was a unique place to live in for a
few days. Is it perfect? No. Would we rent the place
again? Definitely.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 12, 2009   Date of arrival: June 12, 2009

This place was a blast. I give it a 9 out of 10.
I'll never stay in a hotel in the Boston area again. Why cramp yourself into a tiny hotel room, when you could be floating in style on The White Elephant. Wood floors throughout, a king bed in the master suite, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen/living room/dining room, and a deck with a grill. Seriously!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 1, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

As of the date of the writing of this comment, we have just finished the renovations and have not yet had any guests stay aboard. However, we have another houseboat at the same marina that we have been hosting for the past two years. If you would like to get some idea of what our guests experiences have been like on that houseboat, please check out the guestbook for that property at either VRBO property #65033 or HomeAway property #124844. Thanks for taking a look!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review