reviews for: listing #57787 - Venice Beach, California Apartment rental

Venice Beach Local Experience
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $140 - $199 /nt
    $985 - $1,200 /wk
    $3,980 - $4,580 /mth

sort by:

It Never Rains in California

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

Amazing!! It never rains in California? It rained and was cold for our entire week-end stay. We grilled fabulous steaks (in the rain) and drank champagne in our private hot tub (in the rain) one night. Another night we did a complete gourmet meal (thank heavens for Whole Foods) and put the hot tub off until midnight. I have nerve had a more fantastic vacation! For three times the price we could have been crammed into a hotel room without our own private hot-tub, kitchen and grill. This was my second visit and I hope to have a hundred more. I also like free parking better than $30 a night.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

GREAT location! Great house.

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 22, 2014

We stayed at this little gem for five days. The location was fabulous. A short walk to the beach, the Venice boardwalk, the shops and restaurants on Main Street, Abbott Kinney and Rose Ave. The unit is well equipped with everything you could need for a vacation. The outdoor area is lovely and feels very private. The neighbors were very friendly. John was very easy to work with. I definitely plan on renting one of the units again and have already referred people. SO very glad we booked.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location in real Venice Beach

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

We have stayed right on Venice Beach before, but much prefer this location a few blocks back. Even though this is on Rose and the jacuzzi is in the front, this remains a quiet apartment and the parking is free! It is really only 5 minutes stroll to the beach, or take the bikes. The local street food is amazingly good and cheap - don't miss the Burrito van that parks opposite, or the breakfasts at Flake at 513 Rose. There is a small supermarket La Brava at 423 Rose, which also has a great and cheap Mexican restaurant. Accommodation is homely rather than luxurious and is ideal for 2, but four could easily fit in - the fold down sofa bed is huge!

Whilst staying here for 3 nights in April we enjoyed

The local food
Strolling on Venice Boardwalk
Cycling around the Venice Canals
Visiting McCabe's Guitar Shop on Pico
A surfing lesson on Manhattan Beach with Campsurf
Mountain Biking from Topanga Creek Cycle Shop
Lazing in the Jacuzzi

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: glad you enjoyed your stay with venicelocalliving, thanks so much

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great location

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

Really convenient location and I liked the privacy the outdoor space had even though it was on the street.

Never had to chance to use the grill or the hot tub (the weather was too cold) but will use it next time!

All the basics were there but probably there were little things that could have been provided, like some real knives, extra garbage bags, measuring cup, etc. The little things cooks need to prepare meals. And maybe some cleaning supplies so we can keep the place clean during out stay.

Would and will definitely go back.

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay, I will be stopping by the store tomorrow to buy the items you mentioned for the unit. Thank you for your input.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Venice living like a local

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this well located property for 4 days. We appriciated the hidden parking lot and the nearby live music pup and club. We took the bicycles to drive the beachwalk and went to Santa Monica in 25 minute drive. The owner was very helpful and relaxed. Only the dishes were not so clean. up. But the property was well-maintained and we enjoyed our stay and we would recommend it to everyone.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

just great

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. The location is perfect, especially as it provides a parking spot. Walking distance to the beach --> 5 minutes! The owner is nice and relaxed. The place is really beautiful and comfortable, we totally liked the terrace. Over all, it could have been a little cleaner, especially as we were asked a cleaning fee of 60 EUR, but it was absolutely ok. We would always come back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

some good and some bad

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

The apartment certainly is in the middle of it all. A van pulls up around noon on the opposite side of the street, serves great mexican food. The beach just a few blocks away, some nice bars in the neighborhood, great. I was surprised to see how Venice has been developed over the last twenty years. No need to go all the way downtown for the shops; there's a great shopping center not far from the apartment with a nice open feel to it.
The amenities in the apartment are more then adequate. The bed in the master bed room is very comfortable, the pull out couch a little less so (split in the middle).
I was a little disappointed with the cleanliness of the place.
The hot tub was not clean when we arrived: brown smudges around the edges. When I informed the owner he wiped it off with some paper towel. The BBQ was not clean and neither we the floors in the apartment. We ended up not using the hot tub while we were there and walking around the apartment with slippers on in stead of bare foot.
The place looks a little neglected; doorposts, plants, floors.
We stayed in three apartments during our trip. This was the most expensive one. It was the only place where a cleaning fee and cash deposit was required. The contract was elaborate and strict. This sets certain expectations. In my opinion some extra effort on behalf of the owner is in place.
However, in spite of these points of critique, we thoroughly enjoyed our selves during our stay.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great property in Venice Beach

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Great location in Venice Beach - easy to walk or bike ride (there are 2 bikes and locks at the condo!) to anything nearby. We had a great stay here - the owner made sure things were all fine when we arrived, and before we did arrive, things were confirmed and arranged promptly. Condo is well appointed and has everything you need for your stay. There's a Whole Foods a few blocks away, and the original Golds Gym in Venice is just a couple of blocks away ($20 to drop in for the day). All in all, a much cheaper and better option than a lot of the over priced beach hotels in this area. Also nice to have free parking so we could just park the car for our stay and not worry about things. Free laundry and wifi, too. Would definitely recommend this condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We Visited Family & They Visited Here

Review submitted: October 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

The apartment is just as it appeared in the photos. The linens were all very nice. We arrived late the first night and when we sunk into bed I noticed a nice fresh scent in the sheets - zzzzz Even though we were in the middle of everything, the patio felt very private and the street noise was minimal. Our children and grandchild live in Venice and they came over just to hang out. I would recommend this property and stay here again. We are long term VRBO renters and we rank this property highly. Rose Cafe is the most pleasant stroll away for coffee.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved our weekend in Venice!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

We booked this rental because we had a weekend long event in nearby Culver City and it had to be the best decision. The place is cozy and cute. It's brightly lit and the patio is so great to lounge on or get in some morning yoga. The place was clean and tastefully decorated. There was also a parking spot, rare in beach cities! We were lucky enough to find parking all weekend without trouble for the extra cars right in front of the place as well.

The walk to the beach is about 5 minutes and you end up right on the Venice boardwalk. Lots of things within a walk or short drive too.

There was a locked gate before a walkway to the door so us girls felt extra safe there over the weekend and we knew if one of us was out late, the others wouldn't have to be terrified when there was knock at the door. There was also a washer and dryer which was so helpful since we had to wear uniforms all weekend. We just walked outside and there they were.

We are already looking forward to next years event and hoping this property will be available again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This is my so-cal home!

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 26, 2010

I lived in this apt for 3 months over the winter, and it was just perfect. Everything from the neighbors to the neighborhood to the bike cruisers was simply exactly what we needed. It literally was the perfect place to live.

I would highly recommend this unit for a one night or one year ;) stay!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Can't Wait to Return

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2011

I can't imagine why anyone would stay in a hotel when you could stay here with a complete kitchen, bikes and all of the comfort of home for half the price. A private hot tub is too cool. The private parking in this very busy area is a great benefit.
Walking to Whole foods, the wine bars and the Waterfront Bar on the ocean for their happy hour is a true vacation. The walk to the Santa Monica Pier is unbelievable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review