reviews for: listing #57792 - Boston, Massachusetts Houseboat rental

Perfect Way to Experience Boston! Stay Right on the Water!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Houseboat
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $350 /nt
    $1,375 - $1,850 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Exciting!

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

Great time on the house boat, slept great, right in the heart of Boston, great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

absolutely wonderful management team & location

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

We booked for a week and were quite happy with the location. Unfortunately, the boat developed some problems that try as they might, the manager could not get repaired. He did try, he didn't avoid us, and he did everything possible. We ended up being moved to a nice hotel as well as allowing me to determine what a fair refund was. The refund was handled promptly. I fully expected to have a long drawn out battle over our problems. I couldn't have been more wrong. I would not hesitate to book with this rental team again. I greatly appreciate the way they took care of us, responsibly and fairly accommodated us, and made us feel that they truly cared about our experience. stuff happens, things break, but I can live with that as long as I receive the professional response from the management staff. I would love to back and would book with them again without a moment's hesitation.

Owners response: Thanks Peggy for the kind review! We were so sorry we couldn't give you the SleepAfloat experience you had hope for but appreciate you understanding the situation and allowing us the opportunity to make this right with you. Please let us know if you are ever interested in giving us another try. We'd love to have you aboard again!

Best,
Team SleepAfloat

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location!

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

The location couldn't be more perfect. We loved being on the harbor. Had the lower level bathroom not had problems which made our stay down there uninhabitable, it would have been a great stay. JJ, property manager was very helpful, apologetic, and proactive even on the 4th of July. They were very fair in their financial settlement and we would probably go back if everything was in working order, including replacing broken chairs on top deck. AC offered much needed relief! If we come back to Boston, we would rent the Kon Tiki again!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: This review was left for our boat Kon Tiki which is no longer in the SleepAfloat program. The current listing is for our boat Lilypad (a different boat).

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Location! Awesome Experience!

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

What a great weekend! I'm so glad I decided to book a houseboat over a hotel! The location is perfect, right near downtown Boston and all the attractions we wanted to check out. We spent the evening enjoying cocktails on the roof deck counting stars. I travel to Boston quite often for work and will definitely be booking this boat next time I'm in town!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dated and Musty

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

After reading some reviews (whick were quite old) we decided to book this boat for a weekend in Boston (Oct 2011). I was not a good decision. The boat looked from the outside to be about the oldest one docked and once inside the first impression was confirmed. Looks to be a 1960's vintage give or take, that has not been remodelled or updated in any manner. Musty smell, many wall light fixtures did not work and others were the clip on, portable type with long, loose extension cords to be plugged into nearby or in some cases distant outlets (potential electrical/fire hazzard). We have stayed in many places, some good, some not, but this was one of the worse yet. Had planned to stay the weekend but after one night vacated the tub and went to a nearby hotel. Sent an email to the rental agent/owner explaining the problem(s) and indicated we felt we were entitled to a partial rental charge credit. Several weeks later our account was credited with a paltry $100. We once again contacted the rental agent/owner inquiring why we only received $100 and heard nothing further. We may try "Sleeping Afloat" again but not on the Kon Tiki in Boston.

Owners response: his review was left for our boat Kon Tiki which is no longer in the SleepAfloat program. The current listing is for our boat Lilypad (a different boat).

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Review submitted: October 20, 2009   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

We had a fantastic stay on the Kon Tiki.
The location (Charlestown) was amazing.
Very close to free shuttle service to
downtown Boston and all the attractions.
The boat was extremely comfortable even
though the temps dipped down to 30
degrees. Thanks for a TERRIFIC week!

Owners response: This review was left for our boat Kon Tiki which is no longer in the SleepAfloat program. The current listing is for our boat Lilypad (a different boat).

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 20, 2009   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

My wife and I loved our stay on Kon-Tiki! Ryan was great to work with and took great care of us. The boat was wonderfully comfortable! The location is amazing; we will 100% be returning to Sleep A Float!

Owners response: This review was left for our boat Kon Tiki which is no longer in the SleepAfloat program. The current listing is for our boat Lilypad (a different boat).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

Not being boat people we did not know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised to find a nice boat with good accommodations and even an outdoor grill. Being on the boat at the Marina was an awesome addition to our Boston vacation. The only thing we would have changed is the seating in the livingroom area. Friends who came to visit had no where to sit. We wished there was more comfortable seating like a sectional or two sofas.

Owners response: This review was left for our boat Kon Tiki which is no longer in the SleepAfloat program. The current listing is for our boat Lilypad (a different boat).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 12, 2009   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

My wife, older son and I enjoyed the stay on the Kon Tiki. The location is great and the float experience was a first and one we will do again. Ryan was great to work with and tended to all our needs. We found all the people in the marina to be very friendly too, giving us advice on where to eat and shop.
Although the boat was a good fit for us three, I think we will upgrade to the larger vessels you have in the future.
Thanks for making us feel at home on the water.

Owners response: This review was left for our boat Kon Tiki which is no longer in the SleepAfloat program. The current listing is for our boat Lilypad (a different boat).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review