reviews for: listing #57793 - Providence, Rhode Island Houseboat rental

Unique Houseboat Vacation! Walk to Downtown and Colleges!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Houseboat
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $300 /nt

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Good Times!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

Boat was very clean and had more amenities than I would have expected. Large open living room and new kitchen were definitely a bonus. Great spot to socialize with a group. Company was easy to book with and had no problem with our two dogs (not always the easiest to travel with) staying on the boat! Docking area is in a nice location with some good restaurants/bars/stores within walking distance. Other boat owners that were docked alongside were very friendly. There is also a great coffee place around the corner.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Like a Floating Apartment!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

We stayed on Sagittarius, one of Sleepafloat's boats in Providence, RI. The boat was clean and comfortable, and we had a great time relaxing on the outdoor deck with friends on a beautiful night! And the best part was that we were allowed to bring our two dogs with us - anyone with pets knows that it's not easy to find pet-friendly lodging.

Thanks, Sleepafloat for a great weekend, and thanks for letting us bring our pups with us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Experience! Pet Friendly!

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

The boat house was great. Very clean and well located if you are looking for a calm place to stay during the week and lively nightlife on the weekends. People at the marina where all very nice too. For those who are planning to travel with their pet as we did, I must say our puppy labrador had the best time ever. The place is 100% pet friendly. If you like boats and marina environment: don´t miss the chance to have such an amazing experience.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Something Special

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

We are parents of a RISD student and we wanted to do something special and memorable to celebrate her graduation. Not only was it a fabulous place to sleep (very comfortable bed enhanced by the gentle rocking of the boat) but we found it to be a delightful space to entertain our friends and family as well. It was an incredibly hot weekend, but everyone enjoyed hanging out on the two decks where gentle breezes off the water were a welcome respite from the heat everyone else in the city was trying to escape. And for those who needed it even a little cooler, the air conditioned living space inside the houseboat was just perfect. The views of the city were simply spectacular. We also thoroughly enjoyed the proximity to several fun restaurants from which we ordered take out food for an impromptu party the night after graduation because everyone wanted to come back to the fabulous houseboat! If you decide to take advantage of this lovely accommodation during a WaterFire weekend, think about chartering the the Providence River Boat cruise which is also located at Fox Point Marina. We did, and Captain Tom couldn't have been a nicer guy, actually picking us up at the houseboat to take us on a truly memorable WaterFire Cruise. In short, we were looking for a special way to celebrate with family and friends, and we found it with this delightful little houseboat. We highly recommend it. The only thing I would note (which I probably should have realized ahead of time, but didn't) is that the houseboat doesn't have a dishwasher. So, either bring disposable plates and glasses or be prepared to wash them yourself.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

I recently stayed on one of the Providence House boats on a Saturday night for Water Fire. The location was within perfect walking distance of all the downtown festivities and parking was simple and easy. There are also a couple of good restaurants and bars that overlook the water right off the pier where the boats are located. I was surprised how large the boats were inside as they can comfortably sleep six people. They also have all the amenities you would get in a hotel and nice kitchen space for you to use. If you are looking for a little different experience I would highly recommend trying this out.

Owners response: So glad to hear you enjoyed your experience and that you were in town to enjoy Waterfire! You and your family are welcome back anytime!

Cheers,
Team SleepAfloat

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Incredible houseboat

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

Staying on the Boston-Cassiopeia was amazing....for a start you get much more space than a hotel room. You have the benefit of a wonderful view of harbour. The houseboat was clean and well laid out....with all the amenities like towels and toiletries provided.

I would highly recommend staying on a houseboat to anyone wanting something a little different.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Better Then Hotels Anytime!

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

My children and I recently stayed in Charlestown, MA to enjoy Boston. I decided to venture outside the normal hotel room and try a houseboat; if there is availability, we will ALWAYS stay on the houseboat! Wow! What a GREAT experience! The kids were in awe! For the amount of money you will be spending on hotel room with 2 double beds, you can have a unique stay with multiple beds, ample room so you're not on top of each other, a kitchenette, and a serene setting watching the sun rise or set right outside the city! Amazing! Sleepafloat has the best hospitality; directions for everything were right on! Everyone around the area is pleasant - and why not? You're right on the water! No need to rent a car, there is the water taxi, the water ferry or the shuttle to take you to the T. Enjoy your walk with restaurants or convenience stores right down the street! Have questions at anytime? Sleepafloat has the answers! The kids and I have decided to take our vacations from now on renting a houseboat in different locations!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the fantastic review! We couldn't have written this any better ourselves! Please do come back again! You're always welcome!

~ Team SleepAfloat

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Experience, Better than a hotel room!

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

The houseboat was SUPER! It was perfect for us. We have four older children and it suited our needs perfectly. I especially loved having the outdoor space. Relaxing on the patio of the boat in the morning and evening was a treat. I too was concerned about the location but, no worries... everything was close by.
The boat was exactly as described and very clean. We couldn't have been happier with our stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks so much for the 5-star review!! So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come back anytime!

Cheers,
Team SleepAfloat

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Recent Boston Stay

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

Enjoyed the experience on staying on the houseboat vs hotel and I am sure we will do this again. I may only suggest that light filtering blinds are placed on the windows. The loft has no blinds or curtains. Each morning around 0430 the interior was very bright making it difficult to sleep in. Thanks to JJ.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Texas Family

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Wonderful experience and I would stay here again in a heartbeat! Boat was very clean and the manager, JJ, was great - he was available 24/7 if needed and could answer all our questions. After running around Boston and surrounding areas all day, it was nice to come back to the boat and kick back and relax - very peaceful and quiet.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay! More fun than hotel & exactly what we wanted.

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2012

Our stay was perfect! The boat is exactly as depicted in the photos, and well kept and maintained. The beds are quite comfortable and the furnishings nicer than I'd expected. The harbor is delightful -- very peaceful and charming, with ducks swimming by the boat, beautiful night views of the skyline, sufficient shops and restaurants within an easy walk, and easy transportation across the harbor into Boston. We ended up here because we couldn't find a reasonably priced hotel, and now won't stay anywhere else! The on-site manager, JJ, was terrific -- easy to reach, friendly, helpful, and a great representative of his native Boston. I was concerned Charlestown might be a bit far from the major sites, but I was absolutely wrong! In fact, some of the best sites are in Charlestown (Bunker HIll, parts of Freedom Trail, the favorite pub of Paul Revere, etc) and the town is charming. Right across the bridge is the North End, where every restaurant is better than the next, then the historic sites just a short walk from there. We used the free bus a couple of times, walked over the bridge a few times, and then took a cab back at night when we didn't want to walk anymore. All of it easy, accessible, and a wonderful way to see such an historic city. Highly recommend this spot!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 9, 2010   Date of arrival: January 9, 2010

We stayed at Aquarius one week over New Years
eve 2009/10. It was a great experience to sleep
afloat while snow was outside. The boat is
comfortable and well equipped; we could even use
the barbeque. The habor location is quiet (at least
in December).
The landlord service was exceptional; we were in
need of help two times, and we got help within 30
minutes.
A very recommendable stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 9, 2009   Date of arrival: November 9, 2009

Ryan, the weekend was really a great expierience for the whole family! We had a perfect time on a very clean and well furnitured home. Best to stay in Boston. Thanks a lot! Alex

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

Hi Ryan, We just want to thank you for a great trip. It was very clean and relaxing. We used the deck up on top and what a beautiful scenery. At night time it was quiet and we used the boat taxi which worked out very well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 25, 2009   Date of arrival: June 25, 2009

Ryan, thank you for letting us use the houseboat over the weekend. We had a great time. We were very impressed with how clean and well stocked the houseboat was. With the great breeze and the windows opened we never needed the ac! The marina was very quiet the whole time we were there. Thanks again for the wonderful time. Kurt

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 6, 2009   Date of arrival: May 6, 2009

Thank you for your interest in our houseboat in Boston. Our listing and boat are brand new so we haven't had the chance for guests to comment on them yet. However, we have boat loads (pun fully intended!) of comments from our guests that have stayed with us on our other boats in the marina here in Boston. Staying on the houseboat is a truly unique experience, but don't just take my word for it, check out the other comments!
Our other listings on VRBO are:
#65033, #175876, #199238

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review