reviews for: listing #57794 - Baltimore, Maryland Houseboat rental

Delphinius Houseboat - Stay in Fells Point!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Houseboat
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $300 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,700 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Unusual, Enjoyable and Memorable!

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

Our stay on the Delphinus Houseboat was unusual, enjoyable and memorable! As we expected, the space is compact and functional. Our adult daughter opted for the couch, rather than the tiny sleeping loft, which she would have adored as a child. The bathroom was functional, the kitchen was well equipped, and we enjoyed our morning breakfasts on deck. Does the boat rock? Yes, it does, gently most of the time, it was like sleeping in a waterbed, which my husband had back in the day. When other boats puttered by, the boat did rock more, but it was thrilling, reminding us that we were at sea. Communication with the host was excellent. Our check-in was smooth sailing! Donovan even helped us figure out how to use the DVD player and the coffee maker. The location was fantastic! We loved being so close to the harbor, and near to Fells Point restaurants. What was the best part? Telling everyone at the family party we were attending that we were staying on a houseboat. A great conversation starter!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Experience!

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 27, 2014

From check-in to check-out our weekend getaway was very smooth and we had very detailed instructions. The place was very clean and delightful. We enjoyed our stay & had a wonderful houseboat experience. We wanted to do something different then a hotel and this was a perfect idea. We really cant wait to stay again. Awesome place!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great getaway with lots of privacy!

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

The accommodations were great. It was our first houseboat experience and it was all we expected and more. Lots of privacy and the boat was clean and well supplied. We will definitely be staying again as soon as we can.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Slept Soundly

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

Great location in Fells Point with really easy access to walking all the historic sights make this a great choice. Houseboat has a nice view of the harbor, and outside seating that is covered in case of rain. Safeway shopping nearby, and all the conveniences make this a great choice for anyone wanting to visiting the historic downtown area of Inner Harbor Baltimore.

AC worked great too, when it was super hot outside.
Perfect sleeping in the loft was great for my 2 children, while I slept soundly on the main floor bedroom.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Outstanding!

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

Outstanding location! We didn't leave Fell's Point all weekend and had a great time walking around, eating and drinking. The houseboat was nice, we had friendly chats with our 'neighbors' and were able to sit out on the deck.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time!

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

Our group had a great time at the Delphinus houseboat. Great location and very easy to find. Clean and full of useful kitchen items.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay!

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

I had a great stay on Delpfinus in Fells Point. The boat was clean and very comfortable. The Sleep afloat people were very responsive and friendly. The weather was very hot (mid 90's) but the two a/c units kept the boat very cool and comfortable. The master bed was excellent. Parking was easy and free and so much was within walking distance. I plan on staying there again and would highly recommend Delphinus to anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Experience!

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful two days on the house boat. It was like being at home with the cable TV and internet. The boat had a gentle swaying motion. The bed had the best mattress I have ever been on. The deck upstairs had two lounge chairs and the gas grill out back was awesome.We could walked to local bars and restaurants. The 4th of July fireworks were right in front of us as we watched from the top of the boat. The local boat owners were very friendly with many dogs. The dock master was a nice man with 4 chihauha's He gave us helpful advice. The whole check in process was made easy with Marcia she was great to deal with throughout the whole transaction. We are looking forward to our next stay. We recommend this boat highly. You will love it just like we did! Pete and Kay

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

1st timers

Review submitted: November 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

AWESOME EXPERIENCE--GREAT HOUSEBOAT EVERYTHING YOU NEED--GREAT LOCATION--1ST TIME TO RENT A BOAT--WILL COME BACK AGAIN!!! AND RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Unique Expericence

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

My husband, myself and another couple try to go somewhere every year. We came across this house boat by total accident and are glad that we did. The owner was very helpful leading up to our stay and the marina manager stopped by to check on us and see if we needed anything while we were there. That the loft is a little on the small side better for kids but is still useable. It is probably better just to use the pull out couch. The weather during our stay was beautiful which was nice because we were able to walk to the local resturants and sites. Would definitely recommend!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Bathroom stunk so bad and was full of flies - it was awful to go inside

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

The bathroom, or "head" is a holding tank that stank so bad we added (at our expense) two expensive containers of "Odor Masking" chemicals from local marine supply store. Even with that and a lot of water, the odor and the flies prevailed. Other than that, it was just grand.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: I was very disappointed when I received this review, as this was the first I had heard of the trouble on board during the guests stay. We have a service that maintains our holding tanks, and we could have rectified the situation quickly had we been informed there was a problem.

I am available 24/7 during your stay to handle any issues or problems that may arise. We pride ourselves on making every guests stay memorable, but for the the right reasons!

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

THE BEST!

Review submitted: November 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2009

We rented the boat for Halloween weekend, 2010 and what a blast we had. The boat was wonderful and the amenities can't be beat! And it's right next to the water taxi. We also felt very secure. By the time we left, my sister wanted to retire and live full-time on a boat.

Can't say enough good things about this rental, and I'm hard to please.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Delphinius Houseboat

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

Just returned from the Delphinius houseboat & was thrilled. The pictures are as you will find the houseboat. Very clean & a fantastic place to stay! Just 2 things that may or may not be a concern...we had an unusually low tide when we got on the houseboat due to low tide & Northwest winds that took the tide out even further & made the ramp onto the houseboat very steep. It was fine for me & my son but much more difficult for my parents to board the boat. Second was the sirens that we heard throughout the night (you are in the heart of a city).
These concerns would definately NOT keep me from returning again as it is a great place to stay

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Comments

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

5/5

Guest: Linda and John (Mavyille, NY)
Date of Stay: March 15, 2010 Review Submitted: March 15, 2010

We rented the houseboat for the month of February to get out of our western New York winter. While we weren't successful at leaving winter behind with this February's record-setting 50+ inches of snow in Baltimore, we did succeed at having a wonderful time on the houseboat in spite of the weather. The boat is located in the best possible area for exploring Fell's Point and Canton on foot and for enjoying the countless restaurants, bars, and shops nearby. The houseboat itself was lovely and very well-equipped. The parking at the marina was a real plus and we always felt safe and secure. Between Ryan and our dockmaster Al any concerns or questions were dealt with promptly, efficiently, and courteously. It's hard to imagine how this experience could have been any better, other than having had sunny, warm days to better enjoy all the treasures of the area and the upper and lower decks of the houseboat. We plan on a return trip in the not too distant future and give this houseboat our unqualified recommendation as a great place to stay in Baltimore.

5/5

Guest: T Skay (-)
Date of Stay: September 10, 2009

This is an amazing way to vacation. We were looking for something new and exciting to spark our kids' interest and vacationing on this houseboat was just the trick. The location was convenient and the amenities on the boat were fabulous. I was truly impressed with the boats decor as well as the spaciousness which made our stay with 2 adults, 3 kids and a dog very comfortable. Not only would I recommend the houseboat, but we cannot wait to do it again!


5/5

Guest: VRBORORG241751 (-)
Date of Stay: August 30, 2009

What a great way to visit Baltimore! We stayed for a weekend, choosing this wonderful houseboat over a hotel because of several things. One was the ability to make our own breakfasts, the other was the free parking, and another was that we were traveling with bikes and didn't want to traipse through a hotel lobby with them. The Delphinius (the name of the houseboat) allowed us the freedom to come and go, enjoy a great sunset on the deck, complete with drinks, and easy access to the water taxi. The bed was very comfortable and everything we needed was available on the boat. Everyone who saw my pictures was jealous. When we come back to Baltimore, we're definitely staying here!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Review submitted: March 15, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2010

We rented the houseboat for the month of February to get out of our western New York winter. While we weren't successful at leaving winter behind with this February's record-setting 50+ inches of snow in Baltimore, we did succeed at having a wonderful time on the houseboat in spite of the weather. The boat is located in the best possible area for exploring Fell's Point and Canton on foot and for enjoying the countless restaurants, bars, and shops nearby.

The houseboat itself was lovely and very well-equipped. The parking at the marina was a real plus and we always felt safe and secure. Between Ryan and our dockmaster Al any concerns or questions were dealt with promptly, efficiently, and courteously.

It's hard to imagine how this experience could have been any better, other than having had sunny, warm days to better enjoy all the treasures of the area and the upper and lower decks of the houseboat. We plan on a return trip in the not too distant future and give this houseboat our unqualified recommendation as a great place to stay in Baltimore.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: November 9, 2009   Date of arrival: November 9, 2009

WE STAYED ON THE HOUSEBOAT AT FELLS POINT FOR HALLOWEEN AND WE HAD A GREAT TIME! THE LOCATION WAS SO CONVENIENT TO THE HAUNTED PUB CRAWL AND THE PIRATE HALLOWEEN CRUISE. NO DRIVING ALL WEEK-END!! THE BED WAS SO COMFY AND OUR FRIEND LOVED THE LOFT. A TRULY UNIQUE EXPERIENCE, AND WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!! JAMES AND BEV

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: November 9, 2009   Date of arrival: November 9, 2009

My husband and I decided to rent your houseboat together with our son and his wife. We loved every minute of our time together and being on the houseboat made it even more memorable. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: September 10, 2009   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

This is an amazing way to vacation. We were looking for something new and exciting to spark our kids' interest and vacationing on this houseboat was just the trick. The location was convenient and the amenities on the boat were fabulous. I was truly impressed with the boats decor as well as the spaciousness which made our stay with 2 adults, 3 kids and a dog very comfortable. Not only would I recommend the houseboat, but we cannot wait to do it again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 30, 2009   Date of arrival: August 30, 2009

What a great way to visit Baltimore! We stayed for a weekend, choosing this wonderful houseboat over a hotel because of several things. One was the ability to make our own breakfasts, the other was the free parking, and another was that we were traveling with bikes and didn't want to traipse through a hotel lobby with them. The Delphinius (the name of the houseboat) allowed us the freedom to come and go, enjoy a great sunset on the deck, complete with drinks, and easy access to the water taxi. The bed was very comfortable and everything we needed was available on the boat.

Everyone who saw my pictures was jealous. When we come back to Baltimore, we're definitely staying here!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 9, 2009   Date of arrival: June 9, 2009

OMG!!!, what a lovely place to spend a weekend. My 6 yr old son expressed it best when he said "this is totally awesome Mom!" I felt like I was in a hotel room on the water. The decor was lovely and totally not expected; All the comforts of home with the feel of a cruiseship that's docked. The sunrises and sunsets from each side of the houseboat was my favorite part. The attractions were minutes away and the people on the Marina, as well as, in the underlying areas were warm and friendly. Even their dogs, of which we saw many, were extremely tamed and friendly. We loved it so much we made a pact to do it again, my lil tyke and I. Thank you Ryan for the best mini vacation we have ever had. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 10, 2009   Date of arrival: May 10, 2009

My friends and I stayed on the houseboat April 17-19 and absolutely LOVED it! The boat was beautifully appointed, and the coffee provided was an especially nice touch. Ryan was great with the check-in, and the marina owner was friendly and helpful, too. Having cocktails up on the sundeck was a real treat. The location is perfect -- walking distance to all the bars, restaurants and cafes of Fells Point, adjacent to a water taxi stop, grocery store close by, and we even walked to the Bay Cafe in Canton, too. I would highly recommend staying here!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 6, 2009   Date of arrival: May 6, 2009

We enjoyed our weekend on the baltimore
guest/house boat, perfectly located near shops and
restaurants in fells point. Ryan handled our stay
and arrival and checkout was seamless. For those
who are happy to self-cater, I would highly
recommend renting one of these houseboats. The
kitchen is adequately stocked for cooking most
anything, though we cooked everything on the gas
grill. This is really a great way to stay in Baltimore.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review