reviews for: listing #57798 - Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Houseboat rental

Rent a Fun and Funky Houseboat in Old City Philadelphia!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Houseboat
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $250 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,575 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Makes me want to live on a houseboat! Awesome!

Review submitted: August 6, 2014   Date of arrival: July 24, 2014

This was the perfect place to stay! It is very very private and secure. The countertops are granite and the bed is a memory foam mattress. It is important to speak to Jack, the property manager, upon arrival. He was informational not only about the houseboat, but about the area. With the proximity to the Benjamin Franklin Bridge, it is much more quiet than we expected. We never heard any bridge traffic. The local ballpark had fireworks the first night we were there, and we could see everything from the aft bow. We shopped at the Reading Terminal Market and cooked on the houseboat. This gave us the grand opportunity to sit out on the covered deck and eat breakfast in serenity. The kitchen has ample pots & pans, silverware and dishes to cook with and have a nice dinner. There is fast WiFi access on the boat, and cable for the television. The towels were very fluffy and better than hotel towels. We loved it and would do it again in a heartbeat!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing Experience!

Review submitted: November 23, 2013   Date of arrival: November 18, 2013

We had a very relaxing time on the pegasus. After walking and eating our way through Philly it was great to come home and sit on the deck with no hustle and bustle of the city. Would recommend this to everyone that likes a little adventure to your travels.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic!

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

The Marina is a little confusing to find. Aside from that, this is an AWESOME place to stay. My girlfriend and I stayed for a weekend to see a concert at festival pier and the boat was only 5 minutes walk away! Amazing! The boat itself is well kept, in a quiet area, and well furnished. Jack, the property manager was prompt and helpful. Overall, a fantastic experience and I highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great for families!

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

We were a family of four - with kids 4 and 6 - and the Pegasus was wonderful. We enjoyed the baby ducks and learning about the tides. The boat was comfortable, very nice kitchen - we made most of our meals on the boat. It was convenient to Franklin Square (putt putt and carousel!) and froyo and other fun things. all in all, a nice retreat.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great for a romantic getaway!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

Loved the proximity to the city. Great for biking the city. Right on the water with a view of the bridge. Close to restaurants and the Spirit Cruises. Would definitely recommend and stay again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of the best relaxing vacations we've had!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

Me and my partner can't wait to rent another houseboat. Our plans were to check in and explore the city, but once we got on the boat, we didn't want to leave. It was a great escape from our hectic work week, plus I travel alot between ny and Paris, so just to relax on the water water was a slice amazing. We enjoyed every thing the boat offered. We cooked a great lunch and dinner, and drank the night away watching the world go bye . This company is excellent to work with and the host that greeted us at the fit t if the marina, was great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Experience

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

The houseboat was centrally located - we were able to walk to everything in old town and there was a subway station close by if you needed to go further afield. It was very well equipped and quite comfortable. It was a very secure location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay on the Pegasus

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

I stayed with my girlfriend on the Pegasus for 2 night's and it was great. Checking in was not a problem at all though parking got a little tricky. I took some getting used to staying on a houseboat but we quickly we made our home while in Philadelphia. The location is great as were able to walk to the major centers of the City and drive if necessary. It was also great to see the fireworks at night.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come back any time! We have boats in plenty of other cities too, from Boston to Key West! All in great locations just like this one!

Cheers,
Marcia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

August in Philly

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

Our visit was too short, but so pleasant. We went out to eat the first night, seeking "Fork" restaurant and when someone pointed out a restaurant with a different name on the corner, we thought it had changed its name. Nope. Different place. We found tiny Fork the next day -- wonderful.

Then we came "home," stopping at the little convenience store with the friendly proprietor. We picked up milk, eggs & a bagel to share for breakfast. At Pegasus, we stretched out under the 3 stars showing and the Ben Franklin Bridge, which clearly outshone the stars with its multicolored light display. Light breeze and no need for the air conditioning.

The bed was incredibly comfortable and the pillows excellent. In fact, all the fittings are top grade. We slept soundly to the slight rocking of the boat. (The only time the rocking felt odd was when I stepped into the boat after dinner and hadn't left a light on. Walking in the dark and moving differently was slightly discombobulating. As soon as I put on a light, all was fine. And it improved our sleep.)

Breakfast up on the lounge chairs was great. We watched cyclists, runners, large trucks and buses whisking back and forth. A few people went by in the marina or were busy on their boats. It was so peaceful.

And it's easy to get to the historic district -- walk a couple of blocks to Penn's Landing, cross the bridge over the highway, and you're on Market Street. From Penn's Landing, we watched a freighter and other ships as their lights slid silently by in the dark. Or, in the daytime, find Fork between 3rd & 4th streets for homemade bread, soups, latte, and other goodies, then walk a couple more blocks to the center of all that history.

Great place to stay!

PS: Would this be good for people with disabilities? It depends on the disability. It's awkward to get into the marina -- several steps up from the sidewalk. It's awkward getting through the 2 doors. The ramp down might be okay as it has 1/2" high strips of wood every couple of feet. It's only a small gap from the side dock to the boat. The bedroom is down 2 steps from the living room. The upper deck would be too difficult -- 4-5 step ladder and narrow entrance. But the bow has the table and four chairs (entrance area). You judge.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enjoyable Short Term Stay

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

The houseboat was a unique and enjoyable lodging experience in Old City! It was fully equipped with all the necessary amenities (loved the Keurig machine) and an easy walk into the city. I would definitely recommend this to other travelers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unique and Convenient!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed the houseboat. The location is great because it is already on Penn's Landing and is a surprisingly fast walk to Old City and its restaurants and galleries and public transportation. The houseboat had great amenities such as an outdoor deck area with view of the Ben Franklin bridge and the harbor, a modern kitchen loaded with appliances and utensils, and a very nice living room/TV/audio setup. Also, the price was comparable if not better than most of the nice hotels in Philly that do not have outdoor areas, living rooms or kitchens. Overall, a unique and convenient experience in Philly!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for a Romantic Getaway!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

The Pegasus Houseboat was a perfect location for a great weekend getaway. When I decided to surprise my boyfriend with a weekend trip to Philly for his 30th, I decided to do the houseboat to add a little more excitement. It was the right choice. The boat was comfy and filled with all the amenities one could ever need. The location was perfect right under the Ben Franklin Bridge and within walking distance to all things Philly. My only regret is that we did not have longer on the boat!! Thanks Marcia!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Definitely Funky

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

I would like to compliment Ryan who was very professional in his communication. However, there were some important (to me) details left out in the description of the rental property until after I had paid the full amount. The marina is not very scenic. In fact at the time I was there the water was quite dirty. I did not find the boat spacious and cannot imagine its sleeping 4-5. It was clean but a bit dark and damp. At low tide which occurs every six hours one needs to use the shower head to fill the toilet since the water is very low and contains (I was told) sludge during that time. There is a chance that if one uses a hair dryer for example a fuse might blow and needs to be reset. If you have a car, the parking lot is not that close by. The marina IS convenient to the downtown area of Phila. But I think it is WAY overpriced and not as desirable and exotic as suggested. The marina does have a bathroom and shower but it is not kept very clean. If comfort & aesthetics are important to you, this rental might disappoint.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: We were saddened to receive this review about our houseboat in Philadelphia. We try very hard to accurately describe the boat, location and experience on our listing site. We will definitely review our descriptions to make sure we do not mislead anyone in the future.

The low tide problem is being addressed as I write this response. The marina has to be dredged as the silt has filled in the marina. The dredging is slated to begin this Summer after 3 years of financial setbacks due to the state of the economy. We look forward to the time this work is completed, but try our best to make due while we wait for this work to be done. Adding water to the bowl is an easy, simple method we have implemented to circumvent this issue. The boat can be dark on gray days, but there are plenty of windows around the boat that provide a great deal of sunshine when it is available :)

The cautionary statement about the circuit breaker is in our welcome book, and is meant as an informative detail in case that situation happens (which is not very often at all) our guests will know where the box is so they can reset the circuit without waiting for assistance.

We had just received heavy rains and a major storm before this guest arrived and the surge pushed a lot of wood, dock pieces, etc... into the marina. The marina staff has since cleaned the debris out.

As we mentioned in our listing, we do have parking available 2 blocks from the marina. You can however pull right up in front of the marina to unload your belongings when you arrive and depart. Unfortunately the lot is the only available monthly space we could find to provide parking for our guests which is included in your rental. If you have difficulty walking distance, there is a lot across the street from the marina run by the comfort inn that has available short term parking for $20/day.

Our ultimate goal is that every guest have a memorable and enjoyable stay. We welcome the opportunity to answer any questions guests may have about the boat or experience. If you are unsure of anything about our rental, please ask!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

EXCELLENT LOCATION to tour historical area.

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2010

Did not need a car for anything we wanted to see/do, which was GREAT! Was hoping to defray some cost by making suppers in the houseboat for our family of 5, but we could find no grocery store with even CLOSE to reasonable prices to make it worthwhile. Plus, the oven control was covered in duct tape so we assumed that we weren't supposed to use it. Ordered delivery several times, which was good and reasonably priced. Shower is VERY small, and we all experienced some feelings of still being on the boat at times, even though we weren't. There is, however, a bathroom/shower in the marina's main building. Overall, we all agreed that it was an excellent, really fun experience to stay on a house boat, and we really enjoyed it, but we probably wouldn't do it again. We booked a four-night stay. The listing description is accurate as well as the photos. The property was clean, and there was a couple on-site who was very helpful in answering any questions and giving guidance for the area. I would recommend this property for anyone interested in seeing historical Philadelphia who would enjoy the really neat experience of staying on a houseboat. Mama's (I think) Philly cheesesteak stand sandwiches are terrific!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Comments

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Guest: Cristina 1 (Phoenix AZ)
Date of Stay: September 28, 2009

We stayed on the Houseboat in Philly for a week this past Aug/Sept. I have to say this was the best vacation we have ever had, mind you we have traveled extensively. We usually stay in hotels and wanted to try something different so we came across the Houseboat. We absolutely loved it. It was clean and comfortable with everything you need to enjoy your stay. You can't beat the location, walking distance to everything! As Houseboat "novices" we had a few minor issues which turned out to be nothing and only due to operator errors (meaning us!). We would contact Ryan and I have to say he was professional every time. I am ashamed to say we called him at the oddest hours even as late as 11:30 PM and he was there for us. He even made us feel like old friends and was patient with us. Everything was handled professionally from start to finish. I can't express enough how wonderful this trip was for us. Usually when you leave a hotel after a week you can't wait to go back home but I have to admit we did not feel that way when we left. We were sorry to leave and can't wait to go back. I can definitely say our yearly trip to Philly we will be staying on the houseboat. For sure.

5/5

Guest: Joan (Philadelphia, PA)
Date of Stay: August 14, 2009

The houseboat is spacious, clean and comfortable with amazing views of the bridge and water! Everything Center City has to offer is conveniently within walking distance. It was a truly unique and FUN experience!

5/5

Guest: VRBORORG221922 (Massachusetts)
Date of Stay: July 6, 2009

My stay in Philadelphia was fantastic! The boat was a quite a surpise, with a great living space and amazing roof deck - even better than the pictures! The view of the city, the water and the bridge was so great and the boat was clean, comfortable and exactly what I was hoping for. The boat was also conveniently located, so that I could walk easily to downtown Philadelphia and had plenty of restaurants and sight seeing attractions near by. What a fantastic vacation! Thanks so much!

5/5
Date of Stay: May 27, 2009

The stay in the boat in Philly was perfect. The boat is in a great location close to Old City, has incredible views of the local bridges, is incredibly well mantained, and very roomy. I would definitely recommend this over ANY of the tiny hotels in the area. It is incredible!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

We stayed on the Houseboat in Philly for a week this past Aug/Sept. I have to say this was the best vacation we have ever had, mind you we have traveled extensively. We usually stay in hotels and wanted to try something different so we came across the Houseboat. We absolutely loved it. It was clean and comfortable with everything you need to enjoy your stay. You can't beat the location, walking distance to everything! As Houseboat "novices" we had a few minor issues which turned out to be nothing and only due to operator errors (meaning us!). We would contact Ryan and I have to say he was professional every time. I am ashamed to say we called him at the oddest hours even as late as 11:30 PM and he was there for us. He even made us feel like old friends and was patient with us. Everything was handeled professionaly from start to finish. I can't express enough how wonderful this trip was for us. Usually when you leave a hotel after a week you can't wait to go back home but I have to admit we did not feel that way when we left. We were sorry to leave and can't wait to go back. I can definatly say our yearly trip to Philly we will be staying on the houseboat. For sure.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: August 14, 2009   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

The houseboat is spacious, clean and comfortable with amazing views of the bridge and water! Everything Center City has to offer is conveniently within walking distance. It was a truly unique and FUN experience!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

My stay in Philadelphia was fantastic! The boat was a quite a suprise, with a great living space and amazing roof deck - even better than the pictures! The view of the city, the water and the bridge was so great and the boat was clean, comfortable and exactly what I was hoping for.

The boat was also conveniently located, so that I could walk easily to downtown Philadelphia and had plenty of restaurants and sight seeing attractions near by.

The staff I dealt with were very professional, helpful and readily available if I had any questions. What a fantastic vacation! Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 27, 2009

The stay in the boat in Philly was perfect. The boat is in a great location close to Old City, has incredible views of the local bridges, is incredibly well mantained, and very roomy. I would definitely recommend this over ANY of the tiny hotels in the area. It is incredible!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review