reviews for: listing #57799 - Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Houseboat rental

Pisces Houseboat , Lots of Summer Availability!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Houseboat
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $275 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,575 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Try a houseboat, Great Experience!

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

My visit to Philly was work related, but decided to try a houseboat instead of a local hotel. I highly recommend the Pisces for business, friends or family. I was more than comfortable and felt very safe.I had no worries utilizing public transit and learned a lot about Philly. I hope to come back again with my family. Kids would love it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Better than a Hotel!

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

The Pisces is an extremely clean and relaxing houseboat; the accommodations are nicer than many of the luxury hotels I've visited in Philly. The boat is sparkling clean, nicely equipped with a comfy bed and furniture, and nicely stocked kitchen (including coffee!). I called Jack the host at 7am one morning with a plumbing issue, he arrived within moments and could not have been friendlier or more helpful. I loved my stay there. I visit Philly a few times each year to visit my family, I will absolutely book again. Thank you, Team Pisces!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unique and Relaxing Experience!

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

I slept on a boat rather than in a hotel room while traveling for business! How amazing to spend much of the day working and then coming home to a room on the water. This is so much better than a "room" - you can cook in the full kitchen and relax inside or outside with your favorite beverage.

Jack greeted me and explained the little special features of the houseboat. He was very helpful and friendly.

The boat was clean and well equipped with common household items. Show up, unpack and relax!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great accommodations

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

We wanted a place where 5 women could stay and socialize and it was perfect. It was clean, comfortable, attractive, and well set up. There was plenty of towels, linens, and the kitchen was complete with everything we would need. It has a coffee pot which makes individual cups and although they had plenty of the little coffees, we went thru all and could have used more. We had brought our own but not that type.

It rained the entire time but we were snug and enjoyed the gentle rocking and the sound of the rain on the roof. It must be fabulous when you can sit outside and enjoy the water.

The location has to be the best in town too!! If it hadn't rained the whole time we would have been able to walk to the historic district and all the shops and restaurants in Old Town.

Thanks for a great
Time aboard Pisces.
The Soul Sistas from Pasadena.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved it!

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

Loved staying on the Pisces. The marina is small and intimate and its location is perfect for exploring the Old City area and Race Pier. Traveling light is recommended because dragging heavy luggage down a ramp and over floating docks can be challenging. Parking is included at the Holiday Inn across the street. Jack, the manager, is helpful and friendly. A great stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location!

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

A co-worker and I stayed here for a conference we attended and the houseboat was great! We were able to walk to the conference as well as the Liberty Bell and local shops and eateries with ease.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved It!

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

Amazing boat, amazing location. Had everything we needed. view was incredible, docks were quiet, super convenient to downtown. Loved it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay!

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Great stay! We had a wonderful, comfortable time on the houseboat -- plenty of room and amenities, cozy and efficient. It's just a few minutes away from nightlife, transit, and the key Philly tourist spots. Jack was very low-key and accommodating, and the logistics were perfect. Friendly marina community with extra restrooms (and a shelf of shared DVDs, and a hilarious bulletin board!) added charm and warmth.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

This was a great getaway! Clean, comfy bed, great coffee provided! Good location downtown. I would definitely recommend this to anyone! Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

We had the most incredibly experience aboard the Pisces at Pier 3 in Penns Landing. Everything was perfect. The boat was very clean and neat, the linens perfectly apportioned, and there was even coffee for the Kuerig! The property manager (Jack) was fantastic. He showed us how everything worked and left his cell just in case we needed him. Even the other residents at the marina were kind and friendly. We felt so welcome. In addition to all this, the boat is located within walking distance to everything you could possibly want to see in Philly. We had a blast.
I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND staying on the Pisces to anyone who wants to stay in Philadelphia. As a family we found that we were able to save money by cooking breakfast on the boat, preparing our lunches, and then taking off to see the sights. We bought tasty fish at Reading Terminal Market one night and came back and grilled it outside on the back deck. Later on we sat on the upper deck and watched the stars and wondered why the tides on a river are so profound (we thought that was an ocean thing).
Again, a great vacation with great accommodations. As first time stayers aboard Sleep Afloat I can honestly say that we are SOLD. Staying on the boat added an added element of fun to everything. Everywhere we went people asked where we stayed and we couldn't say enough about the whole experience. We are already planning out next adventure!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great alternative

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

I found this alternative after a frustrating attempt at finding hotel accommodations during a busy convention week in the city. The houseboat was well appointed and clean; the surrounding neighbors friendly without being too nosy and best of all, quiet. We enjoyed a splendid week with great weather and it was especially nice not to have to be at the mercy of finding restaurants for every meal. TV and wi-fi worked very well and had more than enough bandwidth to accommodate two very gadget happy people. I would do this again in a heartbeat!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad to hear we could help you out! Please let us know the next time you're in Philly or any of our other cities and we'll see what we can do for you!

Cheers,
Team SleepAfloat

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great for Families!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

If you have any hesitation about staying on a houseboat I'm here to tell you - go for it. Our family of 4 had such a comfortable and enjoyable experience. The marina was secure and we met friendly permanent residents who were very welcoming. The place was warm and inviting when we arrived and there was an attention to detail - whenever I needed something it seemed that it was right where I would have put it if it were my own home. Many conveniences were provided. The queen bed was perfect for a good nights sleep (and several times the incoming wake did gently rock us...) The loft beds are best for kids - would be a challenge for us older folks. We had one question and got a phone call back from Ryan immediately - even though he was on vacation too. We met Jack who takes care of the houseboat and he was very helpful and attentive. It was the perfect location to tour the historic sites and within close walking distance to markets and restaurants.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

A co-worker and I stayed here for a conference we attended and the houseboat was great! We were able to walk to the conference as well as the Liberty Bell and local shops and eateries with ease.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Comments

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Guest: Anna 5 (Baltimore, MD)
Date of Stay: November 10, 2009 Review Submitted: November 10, 2009

We had a wonderful stay. The location is ideal with only a short walk to historic Market Street and easy access to I95. The double bed got rave reviews for comfort. It was a little snug with 6 people and a dog, but we expected that. There is some rocking (also expected), but not enough to be bothersome unless you're really sensitive. The kitchen was well equipped and we enjoyed starting our day with a big breakfast before venturing out for sightseeing. Also, everyone we encountered on the docks were very friendly and welcoming.
Respond to this review

Helpful votes: 0/0
5/5

Guest: Joan P.1 (Long Island, NY)
Date of Stay: October 19, 2009 Review Submitted: October 19, 2009

Absolutely loved this houseboat -- conveniently located to Penns Landing and a short stroll to Market Street and historic Philly. Everything we could ask for was included -- coffee, tea, condiments. Ryan couldn't have been more accommodating. Would recommend this to anyone, and we hope to try out the other houseboat locations!!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: November 10, 2009   Date of arrival: November 10, 2009

We had a wonderful stay. The location is ideal with only a short walk to historic Market Street and easy access to I95. The double bed got rave reviews for comfort. It was a little snug with 6 people and a dog, but we expected that. There is some rocking (also expected), but not enough to be bothersome unless you're really sensitive. The kitchen was well equipped and we enjoyed starting our day with a big breakfast before venturing out for sightseeing. Also, everyone we encountered on the docks were very friendly and welcoming.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: October 19, 2009   Date of arrival: October 19, 2009

Absolutely loved this houseboat -- conveniently located to Penns Landing and a short stroll to Market Street and historic Philly. Everything we could ask for was included -- coffee, tea, condiments. Ryan couldn't have been more accommodating. Would recommend this to anyone, and we hope to try out the other houseboat locations!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 27, 2009

Very fun stay. Great location especially when the ball park across the river had fireworks! Houseboat had everything we needed although we did forget about the motion. I can still feel the boat rocking!

Owners response: Thanks Tammy! We are moving the boat in a couple weeks to a much more protected part of the marina so it should cut down on the motion. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 25, 2009   Date of arrival: March 25, 2009

Thank you for your interest in our houseboat in Philadelphia. Our listing and boat are brand new to this city so we haven't had the chance for guests to comment on them yet. However, we have boat loads (pun fully intended!) of comments from our guests that have stayed with us up in Boston. Staying on the houseboat is a truly unique experience, but don't just take my word for it, check out the other comments!
Our other listings are:
#65033, #175876, #199238

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review