reviews for: listing #57803 - Cape May, New Jersey House rental

Sunset-Dog Friendly-HOT TUB-FENCED YARD-POOL-WATERVIEW
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $250 /nt
    $1,000 - $3,100 /wk

sort by:

great weekend

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

We had a great experience here. The house is quiet, warm, cozy, clean, and has all we needed. We could see the sunset on the sea from the dinning room. The hot tub is great, far better than the hotels. Our dog also enjoyed the vacation too, highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Belated Birthday Vacation

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Our first impression was "what a fabulous location" the home is located at the end of a quiet street. When we entered the house it was clean, things were organized in the kitchen and we were pleasantly surprised to see that there were many additional amenities that we were not accustomed to getting in other rental properties we have stayed in. We know that when we revisit we will not have to pack as many items!!! We were very impressed with the hot tub, pool, deck and gas grill and have already decided that when we return next year we will change our itinerary to include much more time to be spent at this wonderful cottage. We especially enjoyed the walks on the beach with our dogs every morning and the times we were able to walk on the beach to see the beautiful sunsets. We have enjoyed our vacation at this property so much that we have already booked two weeks for next year. One week didn't feel long enough. There is plenty to do and see in this area and if you are looking for a comfortable, clean, relaxing vacation home this is the house for you. Thank you again Ron and Deb for allowing us to enjoy your cottage. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent vacation home!

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

This home is the perfect vacation house! Everything is so clean and well maintained- more than enough space for the family to have game time and meals together and enjoy down time in the spacious bedrooms. The deck, pool and hot tub are amazing, so relaxing! Having our dog with us made the vacation perfect!
Ron and Deb are wonderful to rent from! They provide a wonderful cozy home, and are super friendly and helpful up to and during the vacation. I highly recommend any of their homes to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

WONDERFUL Family Vacation!

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

This was our first experience with renting a vacation house, and it won't be our last. We've already booked our return visit for 2014!! This home not only met, but exceeded, our expectations....everything we needed for our entire family to enjoy our vacation under one roof...and the fact that we could have our cocker spaniel with us, made it even better! The deck, hot tub, pool...enjoyed by all! The short walk to the dog-friendly beach for walks, sunsets and sand play, truly fun. This was also our first time in the Villas area of Cape May and we were very happy with how close it was to all the activities we wanted to enjoy -- the zoo, Wildwood boardwalk, Washington St. shops, etc. The landlord, Ron, made a point to stop over on day one to introduce himself, show us the property and answer questions. What a pleasure. Looking forward to next summer already!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Meets every need for relaxing get away

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Perfect quiet neighborhood right on the Bay. Very close to Cape May & Wildwood. Great eating options right down the main street & nice area with farm stands & antique shops as well. House is very clean & really appreciated the wi-fi internet & cable TV as well as central A/C. Ron is a great guy & has everything you could need for a wonderful stay. Our golden retriever loved meeting the very nice neighbors & digging a hole to China on the beach every nite while we enjoyed some beautiful sunsets!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

My family and I had a great time at this well kept home. The house was clean and we had everything we needed inside and out. The pool and hot tub were fantastic! The house is close to everything! The bay beach is a short walk away. Cape May beach is barely a 15 minute drive along with Wildwood. The owners are great to work with and clearly take great pride in providing a wonderful place to stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Can't wait to come back!

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

I just returned from one of the best vacations I have ever had. The location of the house is perfect, the view is amazing and the house is spotless. The hot tub and pool are wonderful-meticulously maintained and such a great added bonus to a beach vacation.

I stayed with my two little toddlers and the surrounding area was perfect, tons of activies for little ones and families. The zoo was one of the best we have been too and the Cape May Lighthouse was breathtaking.

The owner is so helpful and personable.

We can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Family Beach House!

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

This house is the perfect family beach house! The great floor plan gave us plenty of area for family time for dinner, card games and TV, but more than ample space in all the bedrooms to have some quiet time too. Outside yard was fabulous with the large deck, pool and hot tub- something for everyone. The view of the bay is great, and the sunsets can be seen from the deck, but are well worth the short walk to the beach. The home is very clean and well maintained. I especially appreciate being able to bring our dog with us- he's a big part of the family, and his presence truly makes it a family vacation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Perfect Family Beach House!

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

This house is the perfect family beach house! The great floor plan gave us plenty of area for family time for dinner, card games and TV, but more than ample space in all the bedrooms to have some quiet time too. Outside yard was fabulous with the large deck, pool and hot tub- something for everyone. The view of the bay is great, and the sunsets can be seen from the deck, but are well worth the short walk to the beach. The home is very clean and well maintained. I especially appreciate being able to bring our dog with us- he's a big part of the family, and his presence truly makes it a family vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

BEST LOCATION EVER

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

First time in Cape May and guess I found the best place... dead end house... 2 houses from the beach... comfortable and SUPER clean... Huge deck ... the best part was the Hot Tub... Unable to use the pool... little cool for that ... next time ...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yes,our house sits at the end of a quiet dead end street and affords guests a peaceful vacation away from the hustle and bustle. It is only a 10 minute drive to downtown shopping and restaurants.

Relax in our hot tub year around or enjoy the pool from May to October.

Just a short walk to the Delaware Bay beach, and you can walk your dog on the pet friendly beach year around.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice Relaxing Getaway

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

My fiancee and I had a great time at the house, which was comfy and very clean. The hot tub and ocean view were one of the few highlights of many in the house. Everything was very accessible from this location. Ron was extremely helpful in the rental process and we hope to come back again.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful, spotless, comfy home!

Review submitted: January 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

4 ladies, long weekend, this house....priceless! Super clean, everything you need. Great info on restaurants, lovely, fun hot tub and all the amenities to make this a wonderful getaway home. We will definitely be back. Took walks on the beach which is so close. Been renting houses all over Jersey and this is one of the top notch ones.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great stay

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

A wonderful three-day visit had by all, January 2012. The weather was unseasonably warm (mid-50s), a full moon each night, and the quiet of the NJ shore during the winter months. The house is very comfortable and only half block walk from the water. The owners were wonderful to work with, too.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: You too can enjoy a moonlit night under the starry sky in our new beautiful hot tub. We rent year around and in the summer months you will be able to enjoy both hot tub and the lighted pool. We have something for everyone. A large wrap around deck with a bay view for the seniors. A hot tub for the adults and older children. A pool for everyone, and a fenced in yard for the dogs and young ones. Just a short walk to the bay beach for long walks with your dogs and to view the most beautiful sunsets of New Jersey every night of the year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Winter Beach Retreat

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

A lovely house, clean and cozy. So close to the beach (1 min walk)and beautiful sunsets. The hot tub is amazing at night, seeing the stars and hearing the ocean, wonderful. Would love to go back!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A lovely little place

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 27, 2011

The house was very comfortable and the large outdoor deck was a highlight, from where you enjoy an ocean view. The hot tub was fabulous and the weather made it a wonderful stay. The bay beach was so close and walking the dog on the beach every day was a ritual. The neighborhood was quiet and residential but very comfortable. The owners were helpful in the rental process and I would certainly come again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Didn't Want to Leave

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

We were entirely delighted with the house in all respects! The peace and quiet, the bay view, the easy beach access, and the conveniences and amenities in the house melded together to provide EXACTLY the beach vacation we were hoping for. Thanks for taking such good care of your property and making it available to us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our house. We are sure that our renters will also enjoy their stay with the addition of our new 6 person hot tub, fenced in yard and the above ground swimming pool. Complete privacy in the back yard and Fido will not be able to escape.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for Our Yearly Trip with Mother

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

My mother is 92 and every year we siblings plan a trip to be with her. This house was perfect. Mother had her own room, there were big couches to relax on, and a big table to play cards on. We barbecued every night and dined on the huge deck, relaxing and watching the sun go down in the evenings. We built a 1000 piece puzzle on the bottom of a very clean animal cage bottom we found in the shed. We took the bikes out for rides, took the beach chairs, boogie boards, and umbrella to The Wildwoods and enjoyed swimming in the waves and relaxing on the beach. Yes, mother came in the water as well. The house on its own quiet street, and miles of clean beaches marked only with the fascinating horseshoe crabs, was the anchor for this wonderful family vacation. I highly recommend this house for a quiet vacation with so many many options for lots of activities and fun. We took a birding trip on the Osprey which was very informative, and an African-American walking tour which we, also, really enjoyed. All in all this is a very clean and well-maintained house, and if you have any problems the owner is happy to help you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad that our renters are enjoying our 3 bedroom 2 bath house with it's large wrap around deck. Being at the end of a quiet street affords vacationers peace from street traffic and such a short walk down to our bay beach. The Delaware Bay Sunsets are the best New Jersey has to offer and you can enjoy them nightly. When it is time to venture out we are a short drive to every other attraction Cape May County has to offer. Come stay with us year around, we offer nightly rates off-season and bring your dogs. They need a vacation too. As of Jan 2014 bikes are no longer available.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolute Idea Getaway!

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

My fiance' and I decided to rent this house as a Birthday getaway for my mother. I wanted something quiet, peaceful and relaxing, yet still close to attractions when we wanted a night out. I got all I wanted and more! The house was beautiful, very cleanand comfortable for the four of us and our two little "children" Emmy & Nilla. We loved spending mornings with our coffee on the deck, walks on the beach every morning, and night, the ice cream truck that drove around, and the convenience of being only about8 minutes from downtown Cape May and 15 minutes from Wildwood's Boardwalk. We brought 2 bikes and used the 2 in the shed to ride to breakfast at Villas Diner at the end of the street (multiple times during the week I might add) which was wonderful.


Considering we never leave our dogs at home or board them for a vacation, it was so nice to be able to bring them with us also. They had a blast being beach bums, and even rode the boogie board that was in the shed!


I could not have asked for a better, more relaxing vacation, or more beautiful weather! None of us wanted to come home! We are already talking about renting this house again next year. Recommend it to anyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We are very happy that you enjoyed our beach-house. We understand how important it is to pet owners to be able to bring their pets on vacation with them. All of our properties are pet friendly and you and your two little beach bums are welcome back anytime.
We do agree that our house sitting at the end of the street is very quiet and yet still close to the local activities of Wildwood and Cape May.

As of Jan 2014 bikes are no longer available.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great beach!

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

My husband and I and assorted family members had a great visit and really enjoyed this house. Plenty of room and we so enjoyed bringing our dog. If you like beach walks, this is the place for you! Grandchildren even went swimming (early May) and claimed the water wasn't cold at all. We all enjoyed exploring the "other" Cape May -- beaches, naturalist activities -- as well as downtown.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing, Peaceful, Clean

Review submitted: November 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

Thank you for sharing your home with us. It is very clean and we loved being able to take the dogs with us! They loved running in the sand and swimming in the water. Your house is well-maintained and everything we needed was there. We could not have asked for a more relaxing weekend! We only wish it were closer so we could visit more often.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dog friendly

Review submitted: November 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

Thank you again for opening your home to families with dogs.

For us dog owners that do not wish to board our dogs, it is nice to find accommodations that will allow dogs (especially a house as nice as yours).

We will definitely plan another vacation next year.



Best Regards,

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Dear Ron,
Thank you for sharing your house with us & the dogs!! We had a wonderful week! Wish it wasn't over!! Have a wonderful end of summer!! Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Relaxing place on the Delaware Bay

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Our family had a wonderful time here. The weather was perfect, very hot and only one morning of rain. The place is great. It is very comfortable and very clean. It would be a wonderful place to entertain. We really enjoyed the deck. Having coffee in the morning was so nice, but dinner was the best time. We grilled out a few times and just sitting on the deck for dinner with the sun setting was the best. The place is close to everything - 15 - 20 minutes to Wildwood, 10 minutes to Cape May. Good restaurants too - Vanthia's and the Godmother were exceptional. Having wireless internet access was a plus. Also, the bikes in the shed were a nice touch too, if you wanted to take a little ride. My son rented a kayak and the bay was a great place to explore.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: As of Jan 2014 bikes are no longer available.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

June stay

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Hi Ron,

I just wanted to drop you a line and to say thanks. My family and I had a very nice vacation, the Cape May area and beaches were great and everyone was very pleased with the house. We were all very comfortable and enjoyed the views from the deck and especially enjoyed the quiet location away from the touristy hustle and bustle. It was all we hoped for and more. Thanks again.

Aaron

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

May 22 Stay

Review submitted: June 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

Hi Ron,

We had a terrific time - all of us. Your place was perfect. We saw some great sunsets and lots of birds - I even saw an eagle fly over.
Thanks so much for the wonderful place to stay.

Thank you again - we hope to return.

Have a great summer!

Susan

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Leigh - Our spring visit

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Thanks, Ron. We had a wonderful time. The house is perfect and in such a great location. We loved getting up every morning and being able to look out over the bay. It was hard to leave and come back home! We will certainly recommend your rental to our friends who are looking to stay in the area.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Thanks, Ron. We had a wonderful time. The house is perfect and in such
a great location. We loved getting up every morning and being able to
look out over the bay. It was hard to leave and come back home! We
will certainly recommend your rental to our friends who are looking to
stay in the area.
Leigh

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

Ron,

We DID have a wonderful stay--thank you for allowing us (and our dogs) to enjoy your cozy home and gorgeous views. Met nice people out and about as we walked the dogs up and down the streets and they certainly loved romping on the wide beach.
Thanks again.
Happy spring!
Barbara and Jake

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: December 4, 2009

Ron,
I meant to write before this but hadn’t. We had a great time. We got there on Friday around 4 and were fortunate to be able to walk on the beach then and on Sunday. Saturday we spent around town. Your house is a great little gem! We’ll keep it on our radar for when the weather is warmer.
Thank you!
Liz

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

Hi, Ron
You are very welcome! We are missing the bay already today. Your house was just perfect for our family. It was a delight to meet you and your wife!
I think mostly we were too busy walking and making day trips here and there.
We will definitely return for another visit!
Have a gorgeous afternoon,
Angela

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2010

Hi Ron,

Thanks!!! We loved the place. The view from the living room and deck was spectacular. We really liked the short walk to the beach - we were on the beach everyday for a long walk. It was a very short and easy ride into Cape May. I am hoping to return in the future. I've kept all your contact information. Thanks for sharing your lovely beach house with us.
Ann and friends

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review