reviews for: listing #57823 - Melbourne Beach, Florida Hotel rental

Seashell Suites Resort
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Hotel
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $295 /nt
    $1,575 - $2,065 /wk
    $6,300 - $8,260 /mth

sort by:

Amazing paradise!

Review submitted: June 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

What a wonderful vacation! My husband, six year old daughter and myself stayed at Seashell Suites for 5 days and wished it could have been for so much longer! It has the conveniences of a hotel but the quaintness (and hospitality) of a BnB. Wendell and his staff are absolutely wonderful - helping in anyway possible to make your stay memorable. The accommodations were great, steps from the beach and pool, snacks and drinks all the time - it really was like a paradise. We will be returning soon!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Privacy, Nature, Comfort Indeed

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Without doubt the best vacation spot our family has had in Florida ever. Gated and private, full of nature for the children. It makes such a difference to have REAL nature and a real experience rather than a simulated or cartoon experience. Seashell Suites is exactly what it purports to be, a private and high end small eco friendly resort, where nature is everywhere. Spotless, friendly, charming, everything provided for for one cost. The family loved it, and recommend it highly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

No Finer Place in Florida!

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

If privacy, purity, luxury, peace and quite, eco healthy and nature filled are all words that attract you when seeking a vacation getaway for value, then Seashell Suites is the best choice we have ever found in Florida..anywhere really. Simply the most well cared for oceanfront property you could imagine. Absolutely stunning. great staff, great location, great amenities. This is a small eco Resort. It is the best we have ever seen. Highly recommend it !!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Just Love It!

Review submitted: December 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

What a beautiful concept and beautifully run facility this smaller oceanfront property is. I just adore the layout, the comfort, the Suites were super....it was all in all the best experience on the beach we have had. I really dont think there is a better location with more privacy and better comfort in the State to be honest. It has just the right combination of the right amenities to make for the right getaway for family and couples. Eco green to boot! Just Love it!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing and peaceful

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

A quiet and peaceful place to relax and rest. Beautiful and private beach with few distractions. Awesome shells and waves! We had a wonderful time. Although there were other guests, you felt as though it was your own private paradise. Rooms were equipped with essentials and clean. My only complaint is the sleeper sofa mattress was uncomfortable, but what's new. Owner was always accessible, and the help was polite and friendly. Will stay again for sure!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

No Finer Facility in The State of Florida

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

There really is no finer beachfront facility like Seashell Suites anywhere I have ever been. The location, the amenities, the "ambiance" are all just sensational. I felt like I never wanted to leave. My own piece of paradise, with the cleanest oceanfrontage, fantastic wildlife scurrying about, bold surf, and seagulls and pelicans overhead, turtles coming ashore....absolutely fantastic. Forget about Disney folks....why take the kids somewhere that is fantasy...this place is pure reality...old fashioned nature at its finest. Fantastic amenities, pool, sauna, BBQ's, tiki's ocean decks, gorgeous 2 bedroom suites, fantastic staff, great owner...cant say enough. No place finer anywhere.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Best Get Away We Have Ever Had

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

Its hard to describe all the different layers to this beautiful small property. It is beautifully run, impeccably maintained, well groomed, great amenities, wonderful comfortable suites, nice friendly staff. There is something about the location that is rather "magical" I think. I had heard that this area was a historical grounds that the Indian Tribes used to converge on for their meetings of their medicine men hundreds of years ago. I can believe something is magical. The feeling on the property just glows. Private beyond your dreams, and comfortable and just gorgeous. I highly recommend this wonderful eco rsort for anyone wishing for a special beach time. Gated and private...what a fantastic get away. We will be regulars I am sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Has to be the Finest Small Resort in the State

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

Unbelievable place! Nowhere have we found such a private, relaxed, luxurious, gated, beautiful small facility. There was every amenity from bicycles, to surfboards to sauna, swimming pool, HDTV's, phones, wifi, BBQ's....endless list, and NO CHARGE for anything other than the suites. Luxury laundry machines as well...all free of charge. Fantastic place, great owners, lovely private barrier island area with golf, and miles of private beaches...fantastic x 100 ! Thanks to all! Bev

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

“Nice place, but not amazing”

Review submitted: May 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

We stayed at Seashell Suites for a weekend family getaway. As always, I look for a great value when choosing our destination. I was very excited to find this place especially after reading all of the reviews!
I really liked the layout of the suites. We stayed in the Conch Suite. The two bedrooms, living area and kitchen were just perfect for our family of four. The decor was warm and inviting. The beds were comfortable and the TVs were very nice. The property was quaint and pretty. The brick paver driveway and parking lot make for a good first impression. The pool area was just steps from our room. And, although the pool is small, it works for the size of the resort. I particularly enjoyed the thatched tiki huts beside the pool and overlooking the beach. The location of this property on the beach is secluded and beautiful. I thought the complimentary use of the laundry room was a nice added benefit. I appreciated being able to throw in a load of laundry prior to heading back home. I also liked that the management provided beach towels and kept them stocked all day.
A few things prevent me from giving this resort an excellent rating.
The room:
The floor of our suite could have been cleaned better. And, the bathroom is starting to show some wear. Particularly, the floor of the tub is starting to turn brown and the caulking around the tub is black in some areas.
The breakfast:
The breakfast consisted of pre-packaged muffins, containers of yogurt/fruit, and SunnyD orange juice. There was also coffee and tea. But, the creamer was curdled. I would have preferred nothing rather than be let down with the convenience store snacks.
The amenities:
The “beach chairs” were not available until our third day. I suspect that they were put away due to the potential hurricane. But, we even asked for them on the second day and they were not provided. When they finally were brought out, it was a bit of a disappointment because they were aluminum folding chairs…not lounge chairs.
The check-out:
Check-out is at 10am. We checked out of our room by 9:30am and headed down to the beach. After spending a couple hours on the beach we went back to the pool for a dip before leaving. While we were at the pool, someone from the staff said to my husband…”so what’s the deal are you staying another day?” I thought that comment was extremely rude! We were paying guests. We checked out on time and there was no one else using the facilities. Check-in for arriving guests wasn’t until 3pm.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Heather G. and her group unfortunately for all, decided she would not leave our property on time, on a beautiful Sunday morning. She admits in her "review" that she was not "bothering anyone" by using my beach and pool and amenities long after check out. Well, the truth is she would not "check out" at all. We had a turnover in the Conch Suite, and housekeeping was waiting for her to leave. A new family was waiting to check in. This self centred person would absolutely not leave, and forced our staff to ask her three seperate times to please check out. By 1:30 P:M she finally decided she would depart. The suite was extremely messy. She had no rights to stay on my property past check out, and was a "guest from hell". There were no sour creamers, no mold, no problems of any kind. Her skewed "review" is only her attempt to injure our reputation in some way because she felt maligned at being asked to leave multiple times. I would never have this person stay on my property again, and question their emotional balance and judgement. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 15 / 29

 

Wisconsin 4

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

Two retired couples from central Wisconsin spent 10 days in the Sea Turtle suite this year and we all enjoyed every minute of it. The suite was most comfortable, having kitchen facilities was a real plus, the staff was very outgoing and helpful, and owner, Wendell, was a joy to be around. The highlight was the beach. Very few if any people out there in early morning or late evening. We enjoyed multiple sunrises by ourselves. Even during the day the beach was never very busy and you felt like you had it to yourself most of the time. Many attractions nearby like Kennedy Space Center, eco tours in the town of Sebastian, Sebastian Inlet State Park and several museums and walking paths. To enjoy it all you will need a car. We would definitely stay at Seashell Suites Resort again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Wow!!

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

This place is just the living end! I have never seen such a beautiful, private small, gated, casual, high end, budget conscious facility. Its totally awesome! I stayed in the "Starfish" suite. It was unreal. 55" hihg def Tv's, clean, solid, quite, healthy...it's unreal! Great pool and we bar b qued twoof our nights. We even had a "breakfast basket" served to us in the mornings from the manager Don. Great service, and the best oceanfront place there is, for real!! I guess this sounds a little hokey, but they were so nice to us there, I promised to write a little blurb, so, this is it> Great fishing, and they even had surf boards for us. Unreal great place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

hidden gem

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

My husband and I decided to explore the barrier island where Melbourne Beach is located. We stayed at Seashell Suites and were delighted at every aspect that the resort had to offer. The beach was private and clean and the actual property was so unique. It was natural beauty that was clean and beauitifully landscaped. The rooms were cozy and the beds.....wow...so comfortable! We were treated well by the managers who brought us continental breakfasts and very attentive to our every needs.
I highly recommend this eco resort hidden quietly on the beach. We went fishing and even tried surfing for the first time.
We had a fabulous time and can't wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great, great Oceanfront vacation

Review submitted: January 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

Literally, the finest small resort on the coast of Florida. Very special property, very special people. Great time with the kids. Great amenities, and super comfortable high end suites. Makes the others look shabby!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Pat, we enjoyed having you and your family join us very much. We are always gratified that our guests have had "special time" away with loved ones and children. At Seashell Suites, we so appreciate you taking the time to write a positive review for our attempts to make your time with us special. Thank you so much. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and look foreward to seeing you again. Safe travels.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Best Beach Hotel in the State of Florida

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2010

Seashell Suites is the most wonderful small resort Ive ever been to. So private and georgous. Very helpful staff and the most luxurious comfortable suites. I can't say enough about the property. Best time away we have ever had anywhere really. 5/5. Outstanding!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

The Best Accomodation on The Coast

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

This small eco green resort is unbelievable. Total privacy, fantastic amenities including great HDTV's, granite kitchens, direct private oceanfrontage and private beach, fantastic sauna, and the best managers anywhere. A complete scoop. There is no place like it anywhere in Florida.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

SeaShells Suites and my family

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

Our week long vacation was enjoyed by everyone in the family...my wife and daughter couldn't stop reading on the deck, over looking the private beach area of SeaShell Suites. My son and I fished, fished and fished some more. Some days, right on the beach, surf fishing.....others, we took advantage of the Inlet and how close it was. I even had a moment or two to ride a wave too.

We all caught up on well needed, and deserved sleep, sun and fun. A genuine family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review