reviews for: listing #57824 - Paris, France Apartment rental

Marais Luxury - Le Pinot Noir
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Marais
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (EUR) €175 - €200 /nt

sort by:

Flight Attendants from CA

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 21, 2014

This place was fantastic! I spent alot of time looking at units and this, by far, was the warmest, most comfortable, "homey" apartment I found...and it lived up to the photos. Very well equipped kitchen, very comfortable and large bed.
Everything is updated and tasteful. Linda did a great job! David was very helpful at check in with advice and suggestions. The neighborhood is great with lots of markets and good restaurants. This will definitely be the best choice you could make. Merci and Mahalo, Linda.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review. So happy that we could help you fully enjoy your Parisian experience. Look forward to hosting you on your future visits to Paris.
Merci!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exactly what we needed!

Review submitted: November 21, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

I used to live in Paris and was looking to relive an 'authentic' non hotel experience. Le Pinot Noir was exactly that! Great location, vibe and even had the few US details (real shower) that most Americans really want. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So happy we could help you celebrate your birthday and relive your Parisian life. Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Pinot Noir.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming apartment in an wonderful area!

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

My husband and our 9-year old daughter just returned from our visit to Paris and Le Pinot Noir. The apartment is darling, and is located in a lovely area with many restaurants and shops. We walked a lot and even took the Metro which was close by. We slept like the dead in the bed at night, was incredibly comfortable and king sized which we North Americans love. Try Cafe Charlot for breakfast/lunch (Eggs benedict delicious) and Les Enfants Rouge is an indoor market secretly hidden right around the corner. We had amazing tapas at Chez Marianne. We actually preferred the calm of the Marais to the busier areas nearer to some of the sights. The experience was just more 'local'. Ease of booking should be noted - Linda is fast and attentive - key pick up off without a hitch and return of deposit super fast. Thank you for such a wondeful stay! Tory, Jason and Kate.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review of Le Pinot Noir and our charming area of the Marais. I'm always happy to learn that guests felt right at home while enjoying all that Paris has to offer. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Merci!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Le Pinot Noir

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

Le Pinot Noir is a gem in Le Marais! My husband and I spent 5 days in this perfect apartment for 2. Although it is on a busy corner, it is very quiet at night. We even opened the windows and had no difficulty sleeping. It is clean, charming and has a well equipped kitchen. We were delighted with the hotel-quality linens on the very comfortable large bed. The bathroom is quite big considering the french standard; lots of hot water, perfect shower, and nice towels.

The location is incredible. Close to the subway station and many shops, cafes, patisseries etc in the area, rue de Bretagne has all you need.

My husband and I have been going to Paris for 25 years, and the last few we have turned away from hotels to rent apartments. Le Pinot Noir is right there on top of the list and the location is # 1.

Linda was very efficient in all the process and David was there as scheduled to greet us.

We will come back and we recommend it to anyone who want to live the Paris experience.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Julie for taking the time to review Le Pinot Noir. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed the apartment and this gem of a location in the Marais. Many thanks and hope to welcome you again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

charm in the Marais

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

Le Pinot Noir is a truly charming little apartment in a wonderful section of Paris. It's literally the perfect spot for two people. Everything was in great condition, extremely comfortable bed, nice hot shower, tidy little kitchen, beautiful windows with flower boxes. Incredible location not only in terms of the immediate vicinity but it's an easy walk to the left bank, Notre Dame, Ile St. Louis, etc. Filles du Calvaire metro is a 5 minute walk. Great places to eat and drink right outside the door. A bottle of champagne was waiting for us when we arrived which was such a nice touch. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Brendan for your kind review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we could help make your wife's birthday a memorable one.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cute, small apartment in great location!

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

My husband and two daughters (ages 15 and 12) enjoyed a week at the Pinot Noir apartment. First you go through a heavy old door to the inside hall smelling like fresh bread from Subway next door, then up 3 tight, rickety spiral staircase floors to the flat. (Be sure to press one of the timered light switches so you aren't descending into darkness when going down, and be prepared to curse when you've forgotten something!)

Inside, it is just like the photos, though small. Though we all fit in, I think it would be perfect for a couple as the door to the bedroom barely squeezes open past the loveseat when it's in bed position, and we felt kind of packed in and on top of each other after a wintery week.

Linda was excellent to work with, prompt, professional. She helped to set up pick up and drop off at the airport, which was very helpful. The internet was difficult - sometimes it worked, sometimes not, sometimes we logged onto a free online French site. The apartment was clean and comfortable. We loved the bathtub, though it requires getting in to it to turn on the shower, which may be hard for those not agile. We appreciated using the washing machine, even though I never really mastered it.

The flat is right outside of a bustling street in the Marais, a popular bar/cafe is on three corners, all shopping for food, pastries, etc are on the street. Marais and Jewish section just a walk away, and the metro is two blocks nearby.

We wished we hadn't come in winter since it was cold and wet, but the flat was warm and toasty. This was my first experience with VRBO, and it was great! We'd stay again, but next time without the kids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place in the heart of Paris

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

Nice apartment in the Marais district. Central to everything. Met by a helpful American. Free wifi and long distance calls. Big and clean bathroom with washer and dryer. Windows work well to keep the noise out. Large and comfy bed with a door that closes and makes you feel like you are not in a big city. Lots of stairs to walk up but I suppose any older building is like that. Well organized and well run. I spoke to the owner on the phone and we had the details squared away within an hour. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Finally - we found the perfect place in Paris!

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

After searching for small hotels for a family of four and getting very discouraged, we found Le Pinot Noir which turned the vacation from frustration to delight! My kids are 16 and 18. One slept on the fold out couch, and one slept on the floor - although both could have fit on the sofa bed. I was happy to hear that the owner lived in the States but the caretaker has lived in the French neighborhood for 15 years. Since we are from the US, having an American to help us in Paris meant there would be no language barrier! The neighborhood was filled with pastry, bread, seafood, meat shops, etc. The apartment was very charming and we could use the voice over IP phone to call the states for free, which was very helpful. The location was great. David, the caretaker, was extremely helpful in our city traveling to the sites we were interested in, We felt very safe and in the middle of everything! I wish we were able to stay longer! We left the apartment in good shape and got the security deposit back within a few days of our return. Linda was very easy to work with, she got back to me very quickly with every email and the payment was straight forward with paypal. I would highly recommend renting this apartment from Linda. We had a fabulous time! Thanks for all Linda & David!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Finally - we found the perfect place in Paris for our family of four!

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

After searching for small hotels for a family of four and getting very discouraged, we found Le Pinot Noir which turned the vacation from frustration to delight! My kids are 16 and 18. One slept on the fold out couch, and one slept on the floor - although both could have fit on the sofa bed. I was happy to hear that the owner lived in the States but the caretaker has lived in the French neighborhood for 15 years. Since we are from the US, having an American to help us in Paris meant there would be no language barrier! The neighborhood was filled with pastry, bread, seafood, meat shops, etc. The apartment was very charming and we could use the voice over IP phone to call the states for free, which was very helpful. The location was great. David, the caretaker, was extremely helpful in our city traveling to the sites we were interested in, We felt very safe and in the middle of everything! I wish we were able to stay longer! We left the apartment in good shape and got the security deposit back within a few days of our return.

Linda was very easy to work with, she got back to me very quickly with every email and the payment was straight forward with paypal. I would highly recommend renting this apartment from Linda. We had a fabulous time!

Thanks for all Linda & David!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Le Pinot Noir

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

My husband, 17-year-old daughter, and I spent five nights at Le Pinot Noir last week. David was at the apartment to greet us and show us around, and arranged a driver to take us to the airport as well. It was great to know that he was close by in case we needed anything. The apartment was sparkling clean and looked just like the on-line pictures. We were delighted to find all kinds of advice from the owner and previous guests, several guidebooks, umbrellas, shopping bags, etc. The neighborhood is full of cafes, shops, etc. We especially enjoyed Cafe Charlot on Rue de Bretagne and Robert & Louise on Veille du Temple. The Metro stop (Filles du Calvaire) is a couple of blocks away. Overall, a great experience and we would definitely recommend a stay at Le Pinot Noir!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Charming, Great Location

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

The apartment is tiny, but feels surprisingly spacious & it's furnished in such a charming style. David was terrific in helping us figure out the TV and other appliances. The location could not have been more convenient, w/tons of shops, cafes and ATMs. The only negative--and it was a big one for me--was the staircase. It was dark, narrow and the steps were very uneven. Climbing up wasn't so bad, but going down was scary, especially carrying luggage.I'm not lowering my rating, because the apt. was wonderful and the stairs aren't something the owner can control, but their condition should be weighed as a factor for those who might want to stay here.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Good spot for 2 for a Paris Trip

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

The flat is exactly as it appears in the photos. Bed and bathroom excellent. I saw negative comment in previous reviews about washing machine/dryer; it worked perfectly well. Owner's organisation excellent - rapid polite response to emails, and all arrangements correct. On departure the deposit was refunded without us asking in about 3 days. It's in a great spot - safe and busy; not noisy. Close to everything that matters. We really enjoyed our 10 day stay.

Stairs steep and narrow & not for the old and infirm. No lift. More importantly, for our stay the apartment was not clean. The fluff of ages under the bed and settee + old crumbs; an item of clothing (sock?) under the bed, that had been there forever. Food bits on the table. Dirty dishes in the dishwasher. Very disappointing. I would have been much happier to have paid a specific charge for cleaning. The owner's local helper had not done her job properly. I understand she's left and trust that the replacement is better.

Paris flats can be small, and this was a bit small for us. But with the cleaning problem sorted, it can certainly be recommended.

Owners response: I'm surprised and sorry to hear the flat was not in pristine condition upon your arrival, I would have appreciated guests contacting me directly at that time so immediate action could have been taken. We take great pride in overseeing that every detail is managed to the highest standards even during a time of cleaning crew transition. I have full confidence that our new team will continue to provide outstanding service.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very nice

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

I couldn't be more pleased with the apartment. It was as clean as the pictures show and the whole rental process proceeded smoothly without any problems and my deposit was returned promptly as well. The location was great as it was within walking distance to the underground (which we took to Versailles) and within walking distance to the Louvre as well, if you don't mind walking. We enjoyed walking as we were able to really take in the surroundings. The bed was quite comfortable and fans were provided which we were happy to have to provide "white noise" while we slept. The area and apartment were very safe and I really appreciated the information provided in the binder about the city and the French culture. We read most of it and the advice was quite helpful. The apartment comes well-stocked with just about everything a person would need. Even our arrival was accommodated nicely as we were unsure of our arrival time from London and instructions and phone number were waiting for us with a key. Over all a great location, a very clean, safe apartment and easy, stress-free rental process. The owner was professional and easy to work with. I never got around to writing in the guest book but of the comments I read in it most expressed a desire to return and that says a lot about a place if guests would choose to return. I know I wouldn't hesitate to! If you decide to stay here you will not regret it-so much nicer than a cramped hotel room.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Felt like home.

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our 15 year wedding anniversary at Le Pinot Noir in July 2010 with our two children, ages 12 and 10. From the moment we arrived to the sad final hours before we had to leave -- one week to be exact, we loved every moment. We were close to everything and we walked everywhere much to our children's dismay, as the days-- and the nights, were extremely hot and humid due to the heat wave that Paris was having when we were there. Fortunately, the apartment had 2 fans which we overused. We are from Ontario, Canada and are very used to air conditioning. But we went with the flow and blasted those fans when we sat down at night to watch movies in the family room. Exploring Paris was easy to do. It was about a 20 minute stroll from our apartment to the Seine River. We even walked to the Louvre from our apartment. The shopping and the food in the Marais district was awesome. My children absolutely loved getting fresh baguettes in the morning. The apartment itself is not as large as it appears in the pictures, but that did not matter. It was so charming and clean that we fell in love with all it's amenities. The bathroom was like a bathroom in a hotel. The shampoos and the shower gels were better than any hotel that I have ever been in. ( We always stay in 4 or 5 star hotels). We want to thank the owners for the charming apartment and hope that we could stay there again soon. Aurevoir et a bientot Paris.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

fabulous

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

We had a wonderful week at "Le Pinot Noir"! It was so comfortable and convenient. Literally, right around the corner were a butcher, seafood merchant, patisserie, grocery store, wine shop, rotisserie and marche les infants rouges. We so enjoyed the neighborhood, the shops, everything. Very convenient also to the metro.
I cannot imagine ever staying anywhere else when in Paris. The apartment is exactly as described:cozy, comfortable, great kitchen and bath, very enjoyable DVD library, TV, etc. Be prepared for the hike up 4 floors to the apartment; we figured it allowed us to indulge daily in the local croissants and pastries!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Romantic apartment in the Marais!

Review submitted: October 23, 2009   Date of arrival: September 27, 2009

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at Le Pinot Noir and we can't stop thinking about it. The apartment was perfect. Linda has thought of everything. There wasn't anything that we needed. We were greeted by Stacey and given a tour and a lovely bottle of wine. The guide books, library and DVD's were an extra surprise. This apartment is very clean, in a great location (fantastic shops and cafes), and close to the metro, which we used a lot. The decoration is breathtaking, and the bed is very comfortable. We will definitely recommend to friends, and hopefully be back soon. Thank you Linda.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review