reviews for: listing #57907 - Washington, DC House rental

The perfect home in a perfect location
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $350 /nt
    $2,100 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

Great Location/House, Landlord Communication Issue

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Greenbrier House. The house was very nice; particularly the kitchen and downstairs bathroom, the community seemed safe and was within walking distance to a grocery store, movie theatre, and many restaurants/stores. The landlord (Christian) had trouble responding to our multiple e-mails and phone calls after we paid when we were trying to get basic information about what to do within a few weeks of arriving. We asked multiple times over a 2 month period. He kept telling me not to worry every time I spoke to him on the phone and that he'd get me the information very soon, but never sent anything. Eventually my mother grew concerned and intervened (staying there too) and she said he was very rude with her, but he sent us the check-in information the same day after multiple requests. We ended up arriving a little earlier than we thought from Cincinnati and he asked us to come back a couple hours later as he was putting together a bed, even though we arrived an hour after the check-in time.

Here are some notes about the property that may be helpful to others:

1. The washer/dryer is very finicky. It didn't work multiple times throughout the visit. Christian (the landlord) asked me to clean the trap and then go outside and clean the air vent. It would work for about 30 minutes, then stop again. It worked on/off the whole time. The room it is in is also a little scary! The kids called it the "dungeon". :)

2. There were only 4 - 6 towels/wash cloths in the house when we arrived. I'm sure we could have asked for more, but a family member living in DC brought us some. It was pretty light for a house that sleeps 12 - 14.

3. When you arrive on the road, the front of the house is not on Greenbrier, so you probably will miss it. It's the first left on Greenbrier and you're looking at the side of the house and there is no visible house number. There is only 1 lane of parking, so multiple cars/families will have to deal with moving cars (we had 4 cars that we routinely re-arranged).

4. There were numerous things that were minor, but we didn't want to call the landlord. The upstairs toilet seat kept falling off as it wasn't fastened properly and there was a small ant colony in the flooring of one of the bedrooms. The steps up to the house aren't well kept and would be a challenge for someone with a problem walking.

Overall, we really loved the house. Landlord was fine, but communication could be improved.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Location, location location

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

The house proved to be ideal for a family Easter long weekend. There were eight adults. The place was clean with good beds located in bedrooms on three different levels, a fun and somewhat different layout. We particularly enjoyed the large, combined kitchen/dining area. There is a long driveway which can easily accommodate several cars. The neighborhood is safe and attractive. Everything is convenient with a Whole Foods Market within a 10 min walk and the Metro about 15 min away. When the coffeemaker conked out the owner got us a new one immediately. The only reason I wouldn't give this a 5 is because some of the furniture is a little worn. We would stay here again and in fact have booked another stay.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Good Location - OK House

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

   
 

 

Location was great, and house was in okay shape, but lacked basic things like trash bags for the garbage and small amenities that you might get at a hotel like soap for the shower and shampoos. That's not a huge deal but seemed like something they should consider. The washing machine didn't seem functioning, and would have been nice to use for a long stay.

Mostly, I am rating this home so low because getting our security deposit returned has been difficult. I had to reach out to the owner multiple times to have the money returned.. Please be aware.





 

 

Owners response: It's unfortunate when a guest fails to address their needs or concerns while they are still in the property so we can have the opportunity to correct or answer them. What is hard to understand is that the same guest will post unfair and untrue review once they leave the property.

First, qualifying such an exceptional house as being " okay " is certainly relative but it's not an appealing statement in describing a house deserving of a better rating because of its quality of construction (stone and bricks), its materials of construction (granite countertop in kitchen and bathrooms, hardwood cherry kitchen cabinets, crown molding, quality hardwood flooring throughout, etc..) and all stainless steel appliances, are all top of the line with comfortable and good furniture.

Second, because of guests' personal preferences, we do not provide personal care products such as body soap or shampoo. But in our effort to accommodate guests, we can make provide such things if requested. The trash bags too would have been gladly provided if we were notified that there was none.
The same goes for the washer, no mention of it not working was brought to our attention by the guest while the guest was still occupying the property. The same washer was used by the cleaning crew the same day the guest left and no defect was found.

Last, but not least, we all along extended our apology to the guest for the short delay in returning her Damage Deposit within the scheduled period. It's apparent that guest has been unforgiving for this delay. This is the reason we are now offering guests the additional option of Damage Insurance at the cost of $39 in lieu of the Refundable Damage Deposit of $400.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Very nice house and convenient location

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We really liked the spaciousness of the house. He really had all the utensils, linens and offered the comfort we expected. The easy walk to the metro, grocery stores and other shopping venues, restaurants and entertainment venues such as cinemas and live theater made the neighborhood such a convenience and pleasant place to unwind. I highly recommend it as a place to stay in the Washington DC's area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great for families!

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

Stayed at this house in October 2010 with a large group including 6 kids. We thouroughly enjoyed staying here. The metro is a 10 min. walk with nice sidewalks. There is a beautiful grocery store(Whole Foods) on the way for picking up items on the way home. There are many restaraunts within walking distance...Subway, Chic-fil-A, McDonalds, Macaroni Grill, and many more!
The house is very spacious with many levels for spreading out. There was plenty of hot water for showers and the washing maching worked well. The kitchen was fully stocked and we cooked lots of meals there. The water dispenser on the fridge was tricky and we ended up buying a gallon of drinking water, there were very few trash bags and rolls of toilet paper, and we didn't have any extra towels(just enough). Also the dishwasher was wobbly and we had to get instructions from the owner on how to get it working but he was available quicky and pleasant/helpful. Those were the only issues I'd recommend being prepared for.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Vacation stay the week of June 14th, 2010

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

We stayed 8 days and it was a beautiful house. The house is within walking distance to the Metro, shopping, etc. Christian was available when we called. The neighborhood was safe. On our orignal contract, only the occupancy dates were listed. There was no check-in or check-out time listed. On the morning of our date of departure, the cleaning person showed at 10 a.m. while we were packing. She told us that she was to start cleaning immediately because another family was coming. Out the side door was the other family complete with groceries. When we called Christian, he told us that he assumed that we knew check out time was 10. We indicated that it was not on the contract. We talked to the incoming family who was initially scheduled to arrive at 3:00 p.m. but found out they were going to arrive earlier. Christian told them that it was o.k. to be early. Had we been forewarned, we would have been packed and out. The incoming family was gracious as I hope we were. It was very awkward. Also, it looks as if the house was just painted and all of the wall hangings were still on the floor and the dishwasher was not connected. It was a very nice house and a great neighborhood. The rental contract needs to be specific.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Nice place. deceptive description. difficult owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2010

1. The "quick facts" section says that there is a pool and hot tub. There is neither pool nor hot tub at the house, nor within walking distance of the house. It took us over an hour of driving around to find the public pool, and when we found it, we learned it was only open on weekends. This was a big disappointment for us, as it was a major factor in our choosing this house. I imagined our family all able to hang out poolside together at the house - an activity that all ages could share in on site. The owner argued that if we had read the fine print of the website, we would have seen that other references to the pool say "community pool."

2. It says metro is 5 minutes away, but it's actually 15 (see google maps). That’s a big difference for some age groups and for all ages in the summer!

3. The power was shut off halfway through our visit. The utility tech told us that the owner hadn't paid the bill in three months. Power was out for a full day and night. This meant no AC with temps in the high 80's. Some of our food perished. We couldn't cook or spend much time in the house. The owner had an hour's warning about the shutoff (in addition to whatever letters he got from the utility before that), but he did not pay the bill within the hour to forestall the power being turned off, as instructed.

He brought some candles over to the house, but when we asked for some portion of a refund he was aghast. He wasn't the least bit apologetic, and in fact acted as though the power outage was an unavoidable act of nature, completely remedied by the candles. He argued with us for twenty minutes (in the dark), and in the end offered only $150 discount. Later, he rescinded this offer, saying we had broken the dishwasher (the dishwasher was broken by the power outage).

4. Dealing with him was generally unpleasant - the most difficult of any vacation renter we had experienced. Very defensive and argumentative, condescending and short with us. We arranged for him to meet us at the house at around 7pm on our arrival date to let us in. He asked that we call him an hour beforehand. We called his office several times, but only got voicemail. We arrived and kept calling. After a couple hours, a neighbor's called his cell for us. When he called back he was very angry we hadn't called him on his cell. We explained that he hadn’t given us that number but he was only defensive. Then he said he'd be there in within 15 mins, but didn't show up for 45.

Nice house tho

Owners response: The above review for the most parts is unfair, misguided and untrue. This guest is attempting to cause us damage because we did not comply to her unfair request for financial compensation.

1. The house has two community swimming facilities. The closest one is accessible by a short walk, located at 8811 Colesville Road, Silver Spring. It's the only one we recommend to all guests. This guest did not inform us that they wanted to access the pool. Had they done that, pool passes and the right location would have been provided. The only discussion we had about the pool was their assumption that the pool was part of the property as I informed them that it's a community pool as stated on this site listing. The house do have a Jacuzzi (often referred to as hot tub) in the master suite.

2. 75% or more of our guests rely on the metro for transportation,
none of them beside this guest has ever complained about the walking distance to the metro. In actuality the front entrance to the metro is the closest to the house and it's located at the intersection of Wayne Avenue and Colesville Road. Google Map shows the metro location to be at the intersection of Colesville Road and East West Highway which reflects the back entrance to the metro. The walking distance to or from the metro is clearly within 5-10 minutes for anyone who is used to walking that trajectory.

3. It's true the power was cut off and it was reinstated within 24 hours. That only night the power was out we did our best by bringing candles and battery powered lamps. I admit this unfortunate situation was caused by an oversight on our part, which has led us to be more vigilant. We then agreed on monetary compensation for this short lived inconvenience. However, while conducting our typical inspection at the last day of the guest stay, we found the dishwasher damaged and not functioning. After obtaining an estimate for repair, we informed the guest that the repair costs well exceeded the amount we intended to give them, for that reason we couldn't compensate. Our decision was fair as we fully refunded the guest's damage deposit without deducting the costs of fixing the dishwasher.

4. We take pleasure in making this beautiful house in this convenient and friendly community available to our guests. That's why we do what we do. I just can't imagine being portrayed as I am being portrayed here by this guest. The fact is, if we were not providing good service, we no longer would be viable.

Helpful votes: 65 / 66

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house is really good and has everything....

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

The house is really good. It has everything you might need for 14 people. At first we doubted the place was so nice, but it is exactly as you see it in the pictures. Very comfortable, safe and warm. We had a great time there. If you are not driving, the metro is very close by walking and the attractions in Washington DC are quickly reachable by metro. There are groceries stores close by, restaurants, movie theaters, a shopping mall, coffee shops, and other intresting things to do. Christian is always available on the phone in case of any question. If you have any specific questions, don’t hesitate to contact us.
Very recommendable. Claudio and Ximena G.

Helpful votes: 40 / 44

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review