reviews for: listing #5794 - Cayuga Lake, New York House rental

Ford's Get Away
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Canoga
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $130 - $425 /nt
    $975 - $1,475 /wk
    $2,500 - $6,500 /mth

sort by:

More than we hoped for

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Terrific house and a great location. Easy to get to house and lake.
Owner is a pleasure to work with.
Plenty of room. Sunroom is great. Kitchen is large and very well stocked with many extras.
Dining room is very large. 2 sets of stairs to bedrooms gave us plenty of privacy. 3 Baths are a welcome bonus.
Front porch and back deck.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Truely Awesome Lakeside Vacation House & Property

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

We have been renting waterfront vacation homes for 20 years, and we felt that this vacation rental was really top-notch. Our vacation party consisted of 3 families (5 parents and 2 college girls).

This property is a "Mothership" for those who want to totally kick-back and relax on one of nature's true treasures. This "Mothership" can also provide a special home base for those who like to gallivant around on their vacations.

A very pleasant surprise was our host Ford, who was very pleasant, helpful and understanding. He has sincerely tried to provide accessories to the vacation home which would be beneficial to many renters.

The pictures on the website do not fully illustrate the wonderfulness of this vacation home. The rental is tastefully decorated and includes many accessories typically not found in vacation rentals. The inside of the house is very spacious and having two (2) set of stairs to the second floor bedrooms was special. With the many personal touches in place, the house creates a very "warm" atmosphere. The living room has a piano which can bring many hours of enjoyment when used by talented hands (not mine).

From the dock we were able to catch bass (Large, Small & Rock) and pan fish on artificial lures. No telling what kind of fish "stories" we would be telling if we had used bait minnows.

The property around the house is very nicely landscaped and larger than your typically lakeside vacation rental. The immediate neighbors were very quiet. The house is on a dead-end street and not close to any busy streets so road noise is of no concern. The property is very level with adequate parking and no steep driveway to navigate.

In the summer, there are some trees to bring shade, if desired, while viewing the lake. If the warming sun is desired, there are also locations available with fantastic lake view. There is a very nice deck on top of the utility building which is located right by the water's edge. This is mainly a shaded location but with a spectacular 180 degree panoramic lake view.

Due to the location of the house on the lake, around the dock the water temperature was actually reasonable comfortable for the Finger Lakes. This coming from someone who has lived in Florida for the past 30 years.

The canoes, paddle-boat and water floats provided by the owner came in very useful.

Many locations around Cayuga Lake are quite isolated from stores providing the daily needs, but not at this vacation home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am very pleased to see that my efforts have produced such a positive experience.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

You'll never want to leave

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

"What a beautiful house, perfect location, wonderful hosts. NO, they are not paying me to say this. Watched sunrise from the kitchen and the dock (great for fishing/sitting). Caught loads of perch and a northern pike from the dock. Hosts served an amazing brunch. Complete north/south view of the lake. Great kitchen, sun room, deck, bedrooms. There is a very nice living room and TV, but we never had time to sit there. The inside is even nicer than the pictures look. Great rowboat and canoe. You can't visit here and not say, this is great, I'm going to hate to leave. I see below a place to check girls getaway, buy we were 4 guys from SUNY Oswego, graduating in the 80's who did not see each other for 25 years. This is a great guys get-to-gather place - just don't sing around the piano, and it will be a fine Man-trip."

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We never wanted to leave

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

What a beautiful house, perfect location, wonderful hosts. NO, they are not paying me to say this. Watched sunrise from the kitchen and the dock (great for fishing/sitting). Caught loads of perch and a northern pike from the dock. Hosts served an amazing brunch. Complete north/south view of the lake. Great kitchen, sun room, deck, bedrooms. There is a very nice living room and TV, but we never had time to sit there. The inside is even nicer than the pictures look. Great rowboat and canoe. You can't visit here and not say, this is great, I'm going to hate to leave. I see below a place to check girls getaway, buy we were 4 guys from SUNY Oswego, graduating in the 80's who did not see each other for 25 years. This is a great guys get-to-gether place - just don't sing around the piano, and it will be a fine Man-trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review