reviews for: listing #57984 - Franklin, North Carolina Cabin rental

Barefoot Trace-3 acres flat, wooded, on creek, close to town
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $140 - $140 /nt
    $700 - $700 /wk
    $2,100 - $2,100 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful, peaceful, great place for rehab!

Review submitted: August 31, 2014   Date of arrival: July 20, 2014

As usual our month here was wonderful. It is so peaceful and such a great place for Jerry's rehab. We spend hours on the front porch playing games, eating our meals, or just listening to the creek flowing and the quiet surroundings. One of our thrills was seeing three deer in the back (they come out between 7-7:30 a.m.), a cute little rabbit that came out every day, a blue heron flying over the creek, a family of cardinals and our "pet" hummingbirds who never failed to entertain us each day.

I had the best Rueben sandwich I've ever had at Café Rel. Jerry also loved his gyro. Lucio's, Cafe' Rel, and Mrs. Lois' are our three favorite restaurants. There is a new coffee shop on 441S that has great bagels and hamburgers. It is located next to the Gallery of Gems and Minerals which is a lovely store and where I manage to buy jewelry each year! This store and the Gam Factory both sell my husband's large gem stone trees. Gold City (Uptown) sells his small gem stone trees. Check them out!

We celebrated our 49th anniversary here this year and we're already making plans to celebrate our 50th here next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

College friends get-together

Review submitted: August 31, 2014   Date of arrival: July 11, 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful cabin with us (and on such short notice!). It was a great meeting spot for my old college friends and me - coming from Greenville and Atlanta.

We enjoyed a delicious meal on the front porch the first night listening to all the sounds of nature. The 2nd night we had a fantastic time at Caffe' Fel!

We look forward to coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What can I say!

Review submitted: August 31, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

What can I say? It was wonderful! The scenery was beautiful, the cabin was spacious and clean and the solitude great. We really enjoyed the porch. We loved watching the birds and squirrels in the AM and the deer and fireflies in the evening.

The weather was great, it was cool and almost felt like fall.

We went gem mining at Rose Creek twice (had lots of fun and it was relaxing). Got lost, took the wrong turn, and turned up on a one lane gravel road leading past a trout farm up a very high mountain and winding up on the Appalachian Trail. It was fun and as my grandchildren said "an adventure."

We also went to several waterfalls, including sliding rock (just wish I was younger!). Also enjoyed the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Hope to get to come back to this area and your cabin. We've stayed in several cabins in different areas and states. This was the BEST!

God bless and thank you for sharing your home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Front Porch!

Review submitted: August 31, 2014   Date of arrival: July 4, 2014

Just a quick note to say what a lovely time we have had this pas month! Our two great granddaughters, ages 7 and 5, loved their bedroom and bath! (All to themselves), and their own TV for their DVD's!

Had breakfast, lunch and dinner on the front porch! Lovely!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved your mountain home

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

We loved your mountain home and so did my brother and sister-in-law. The split bedrooms and baths were brilliant and "so" private when others are here with you! House was clean - clean - clean! We left it as we found it, and, hope to visit with you again in the coming year.

Thanks for allowing us to stay and enjoy your beautiful place! (Jacksonville, FL)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relax!

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

Thank you for allowing us to be able to come use your home and relax. It was very nice to be here with our best friends for 22 years! We were here 3 years ago and had such a great time we couldn't wait to come back. It's wonderful to just see my husband relax and for all 4 of us to relax! Plus getting away from the heat of Florida is great!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Home away from home"

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

Thank you so much for the comfort of a "home away from home". Again, we had a wonderful time with memories fulfilled! We hope to be back again very soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our third year!

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

This is our third year in your cabin, and as always, we hate to leave. If we didn't have an obligation at home, we'd book a couple more weeks. It is so peaceful here that it is hard to leave. A month isn't long enough for us!

One day a group of children and a couple of grownups came tubing down the creek in front of the cabin. It was such fun watching them having such a good time. Being to close to the creek is like having a park right in your front yard.

This year my sisters drove up from Athens, GA and we took a three day trip to Lenoir, NC. My childhood friend owns a winery (Carolina Mist Winery in downtown Lenoir, and we decided to visit her. They make their own wine and it is great. Loved their peach chardonay! What fun we had! It was a beautiful drive and only 3 1/2 hours away.

As always, we made purchases at The Gem Factory and the Gallery of Gems, both past the theatre on 441 south. Such wonderful and honest people own these shops. They do everything with jewelry and stones.

July 24th was our "48th" wedding anniversay and we celebreated at our favorite restaurant, Lucio's Italian Restaurant, on Highlands Road. Our waiter brought out a dessert of teramisu with a candle on it for us, compliments of the house.

We'll miss this place when we return home. The cabin is well kept and very clean. Thanks again for everything. We'll be back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a wonderful time!

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

Had a wonderfule time! Thanks so very much for the use of cabin. Everyone enjoyed hemselves immensely.

The location and accommodations were fantastic. Location is GREAT! Hate to go home now!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed the weekend!

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We sure enjoyed the weekend at your cabin. Had a good time. It's a beautiful cabin and location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Saw three deer

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

We have enjoyed staying at your wonderful home. Our first day here we went down to the creek to sit for a while. Ten minutes later we saw three deer on the other side of the creek. They stopped and let us get a good look. WOW!

Our days in the Smokey's were great! Cool crips days and lots of clear weather to see the mountains and leaves.

We went to a couple of craft shows and got some things for Christmas.

Our last day here we heard dogs barking close by when we were doing our morning stretch of the legs. Suddenly a doe and her yearling came running out! What a sight! Then a few minutes later a man came up and said his dogs were on the trail of a bear that had killed the neighbors dog. No sighting of the bear.

Also we roasted hot dogs and marshmallows down by the creek just like when we were kids. Had a great time! Enjoyed the fireplace on those cool mornings!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the cabin!

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2012

Loved the cabin! Had a wonderful time! Hope to come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was our second year!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

This was our second year at your beautiful cabin and we had a wonderful time. Sitting on the porch and relaxing while enjoying the view is still oru favorite past time. It is so relaxing just listening to the creek and watching the birds and sometimes deer. My husband even saw a red fox.

The weather was great this year. At times it seemed like fall when the mornings were cool and crisp, just the way we love them.

We enjoyed having breakfast at Ms. Lois' on Highland's road and lunch at the Mexican Restaurant and the Blues Bistro at the Chrystal Falls Shopping Center on 441 South.

As always, our favorite Italian restaurant is Lucio's on Highlands Road. We celebreated our 47th anniversary there this year.

My husband, Jerry, is an artist and has his metal sculpture artwork and his large lovely gemstone trees for sale at The Gallery of Gems and the Gem Factory, both on 441 South. He is quite talented, so it's worth a look!

Thank you for renting your lovely cabin to us. We're already looking forward to coming back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I want to come back here!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

Nana and Papa

I want to come here agin! I had a real good time. I went in the river by the cabin. It was cold! I went tubing in a river, it was like an hour! We went gold mining! (granddaughter - age 6)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another time at the Cabin!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

Nana and Papa -

Another time at the cabin! I enjoyed myself with all the things I did like going to the pond and swimming in the river. Couzins and friends came to enjoy the cabin. We saw a baby deer and the next day we saw the mama. We had lots of cookouts and small parties. We rode four-wheelers and went on nature hikes. We even saw a house with a waterfall right by it. We even got to see my uncles new house and dogs. We even went tubing on the Little Tennessee River. We had a great time at the cabin! (Grandson - age 9)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We're back!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

We're back! And enjoyed ourselves thoroughly! We watched the fireworks on the 4th put on by Macon County, did some garage sales and flea markets that were in Franklin! Visited Cherokee and Gatlinburg. We were able to meet up with family in Gatlinburg and we had a nice visit. The weather was great and our time here ended too soon! My favorite time is in the morning when I would go on the porch where I would rock and borrow one of the many books in the cabin and just relax and read a book!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Granddaughters loved playing in the creek!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

We have so thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. My granddaughters loved playing in the creek. We also took them on the Great Smokey Mountain Railroad. There is nothing better than seeing things through the eyes of a child. This is the first vacation we have taken with my son and his family. They live at the coast and we live at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We usually just visit each other and not go anywhere. What a special treat this was!

We went gem mining at Mason Mountain gem mines and that was really a lot of fun. My 4-year-old granddaughter had mud from head to toe. We laughed and laughed at their antics. You would think that with each rock they found that they had found the crown jewels.

We dined at several restaurants. "Coffee Rel" was by far the best one.

Thank you again for sharing your beautiful cabin with us. I hope we can come back again.

God bless you all and if you ever find yourself passing through Surry County, NC please wave as you're going through! Thanks for the "forever memories".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great relaxing time!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2011

We had a great, relaxing time at your beautiful home. We saw a turkey at the creek! Great weather and fun shopping and sightseeing. Good home cooking at Sunset Restaurant and Ms. Lois'. We drove up Wayah road - gorgeous! Sitting on the porch was really fun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nicest Cabin We Have Ever Stayed In

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 19, 2011

We have been coming to Franklin every summer for about 20 years and this is one of the nicest cabins we have stayed in. We love the spaciousness and the location. Our favorite part of staying here was enjoying your front porch and rockers while watching the hummingbirds and looking for deer. We saw 6!!!

Checking out the stores is always fun. If anyone hasn't been to Simple Elegance, across the street from Walmart, they have missed a wonderful treat. It is a beautiful store with everything you need to decorate your home - two stories.

Best shops are Simple Elegance, My Favorite Things, Primrose Lane, Lisa's Corner and Peppermint Patties for ice cream. The Gem Factory and The Gallery of Gems, both on 441 S, are highly recommended for buying jewelry and also for appraising gem stones, cutting and polishing stones, and making jewelry. We've done it all! The owners in both stores are very nice and honest people. Rose Creek is a fun gem mind to find stones.

A "must see" is the Cherokee outdoor drama, "Unto These Hills". It is a very moving and historical play about the Cherokee Indians. We celebrate our anniversary here every year and always go to Lucio's Italian Restaurant. This year was our 46th!

This was our first year in this beautiful cabin and we plan on coming back for many more summers.

Thanks for renting to us.........

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nostalgic Snow Blanket Surrounding Us!

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

Thank you for allowing us to spend time in your lovely country home. It was very peaceful and serene with a nostalgic snow blanket surrounding us. We even had the enjoyment of observing a deer walking around your home and then scampering ito the woods! What a treat!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peace and Quiet of Surroundings......

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

We came to celebrate our 31st and 29th anniversaries! We were truly blessed by the peace and qiet of our surroundings. We would love to be able to come back and use your home again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One year anniversary

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

We came to celebrate our 1st year anniversary! What a lovely cabin! Thanks for allowing us to stay!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our Stay

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Thank you for renting your wonderful home to us. We very much enjoyed our stay here. We spent the time here in Franklin visiting family and it was wonderful to come back home after a long day away. It was perfect for our family!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gem Shows

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

We are up here doing one of the Gem Shows. We have enjoyed your home very much. It was nice coming back to it after a long day at the show. It felt so much like home. Our daughter and her family were up in Franklin also this week and came over. Her girls loved trying to catch lightening bugs! Thanks for renting your home!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing Week

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

We had a relaxing week hiking, gem mining and exploring downtown Franklin. Our whole family enjoyed the area and your cabin. Thanks for renting it out to us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Cabin

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay in your beautiful cabin. We had a great time while we were here. We went gem mining quite a few times. We also went to Gatlinburg and we also visited some of the waterfalls.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magical Time

Review submitted: January 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

This was a magical time for us. We were able to participate in a family reunion and I was able to visit with my dear father. We live in New Jersey and have never been here before. What beauty!! We want to come back next year, please God!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Cabin

Review submitted: January 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful cabin. As always it went by too fast. The kids had a great time! Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely, peaceful

Review submitted: January 25, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

We are visiting family here in Franklin and rented your precious home. It is just lovely here - so peaceful! Enjoyed it!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Restful Place

Review submitted: January 25, 2010   Date of arrival: November 30, 2008

What a wonderful place you have here! We had such a great time and one we won't soon forget! We will soon have a new wonderful event take place here (son's wedding) and look forward to returning to the area.
Your cabin is such a restful place and the scenergy could not be better!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful, cozy stay.

Review submitted: January 25, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

We greatly appreciate your cabin. The stay was wonderful, cozy with the fireplace on! We visited Biltmore, Smokey Mountain Railroad in Bryson City, Cherokee, Maggie Valley; we even went to Pigeon Forge. It was a great stay and it was very cld but nice to have to warm up!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review