reviews for: listing #58021 - Norfolk, Virginia House rental

Willoughby Whims
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Willoughby Spit
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $300 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,850 /wk

sort by:

A perfect getaway!

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 17, 2014

We just returned from an absolutely wonderful week at this home. We LOVED the location as it was so convenient to the Hampton Roads / Williamsburg / Jamestown area PLUS it is right on the beach so you can literally walk out the door and be steps away from the sand.

The house is exceptionally clean, spacious and well appointed with everything you need plus many wonderful extras like a game room, beach toys, and beach chairs.

The owners were WONDERFUL and went to great lengths to accommodate us and our unique needs. We are exceedingly grateful!

This is also a perfect location for locals who want a getaway close to home!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mom, Dad, Gram & family- IN

Review submitted: December 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

We spent a week at Willoughby Whims for Thanksgiving. What an awesome place it was for us! Plenty of room, on the beach, watched all the ships & sailboats, great game room where my husband enjoyed beating everyone, including the son-in-laws, at Ping-Pong. Everything we needed was there, including wine glasses, crockpot, baking dishes, even some spices. It was very neat & clean, & the roses in the garden were the most fragrant I have ever smelled!! I loved the stainless steel 5- burner stove & oven. We cooked during our entire stay, only ordered out for pizza once. There was plenty of room to spread out, so when all 9 of us were there for meals & clean-up, we weren't tripping over each other. Our Pug, Molly, loved it too, especially chasing the birds on the beach! The neighborhood was quiet, easy on & off I-64 when we went to Jamestown, Yorktown & Williamsburg. The master with the bathroom was great for my 85 year-old Mom, especially with the walk in shower! We couldn't have had a more perfect vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our time. Grandparents, parents and children (7 people) loved having so many toys and games and kitchen supplies available for our use. The foozeball table was a big hit with the kids! We took the kayak out on the water several times too. It was great!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to return!!!

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time in this cozy but spacious home with its unique layout. Everything was so clean and well maintained. We chose it so that my 88-year-old mother could accompany us, after checking with the owners as to its accessibility (and they were great about answering all our questions ahead of time about the house and amenities). Mom had only two or three steps to manage in order to enter the house either back or front, and both the tub and the spacious, lighted shower stall had a high soap dish with a grab handle on it (and mats on the floors of the tub and shower to prevent slipping). The kitchen had plenty of plates and glasses and many sizes of bowls and pots and pans. The only things I missed were a potato peeler and rubber spatula. Previous guests had left things like salt and pepper, some spices, syrup (not to mention paper products in both the kitchen and bathrooms), so we used what we needed, replaced anything we used up, and left other things for future guests.

Our dog had as much fun there as we did and the many walks on the beach. Mom managed to walk out to the beach and even went knee-deep in the water with two of us holding onto her. She greatly enjoyed (as did we all) watching the large container ships and naval vessels as well as the smaller fishing and pleasure boats and sailboats pass by while sitting in the living room or during meals at the big picnic table on the back deck. My husband, daughter and I had a great time fishing, with the best Spanish mackerel catch of the season on the Smokin’ Gun II (www.captainhoggscharters.com). Our daughter’s boyfriend and his dog joined us for a couple of days and pronounced Willoughby Whims the best place we’d ever found for our family times away from home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect family vacation

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

We came with our young children to spend quality time together. It was cozy, comfortable, and functional. The house served our purpose and is right on the beach. Our kids had a great time at the (almost private) beach, and they treasured every minute of it. The owners were a pleasure to deal with, they even (voluntarily) mailed us back a pair of PJ's that they found. Lots of games and toys for children, kayak came to great use.
We would definitely consider coming back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

A great vacation!!!

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

We arrived at Willoughby Whims on June 21, 2013. We were very pleased with what we found. The house was immaculately clean inside and out. Everything was as Jean Marie and the ads had said. The house was fully furnished, the kitchen had everything but food, hot water gallor, ceiling fans, etc. The outside was well maintained too.

Food and supplies are available within one mile, and there is a pier down the road with great fishing. The neighbors on both sides of the house were quiet, but friendly. The beach there is great. My teenage daughters spent a lot of time there swimming and getting a tan. The one thing about the beach is that it is not crowded. Occasional passerbys walked along, but normally the beach was private. The kids loved it!!!!! There are many things to see and do within 30 minutes of the house, there is Nauticus, the Zoo, Botanical Gardens, Mariners Museum. Busch Gardens, Water World, Fort Eustis and others are about 45 minutes out, and Jamestown and Williamsburg are about an hour away. There are so many places to go!!

To sum it up, we loved this place. We plan to rent this house again next year. For the money, this place was great!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A little home away from home, with an added Bonus...the Beach!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Our family spent Memorial Day weekend at this property and had a wonderful time. The layout of the house was awesome. It had a little bit of everything from entertainment for the kids with ping pong, a nice size yard for them to kick around the soccer ball and beautiful views of the ocean. All of the comforts of home with the Ocean as an added bonus. The beach area was wide and clean with a lot of beach line to take a walk in the mornings. We hit a few local spots, all of which had very friendly people. Home owners were amazing. I would recommend this house to family and friends. We are already thinking of another date to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

April 2013 at Willoughby Whim

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

We stayed here while in town for our daughter's wedding. A nice quiet place to relax before, during and after all of the excitement.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightful Retreat

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2012

We really enjoy staying at Willoughby Whims. We have stayed twice in the last few years to visit family over Thanksgiving week and find it the perfect spot to relax and spend time with our grandchildren. Our only regret is the weather is never quite warm enough to enjoy the beach as much as we would like. However, watching the water from the living room is something I never tire of.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Had an awesome time with family !

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this home. The owner was kind enough to replace the blender during our stay (thank you - we really needed it ). The home is right in front of the beach. the beach had low waves and our kids loved it. In the mornings we got to see fisherman fishing and the kids were excited to see the fish. The home gave us everything we needed. The game room was very good. They also provided the beach chairs, sand toys for kids. We spent a lot of time on the beach which was private and very quiet. The whole family enjoyed this trip.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cannot wait to come back to Willoughby Whims!

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

Thank you for making our vacation so wonderful. The house exceeded our expectations and you really made sure it was so clean and comfy. It had everything a guest would need and more. The convenience of the house and the beach was amazing! It was so nice to not have to drive to the beach and come and go from the beach and the house at our convenience. It was especially convenient with a dog and a 10 month old. The beach is so laid back and relaxing. We met some really nice people and some doggy friends. Our dog Calla was in heaven and so were we. We crabbed right there on the beach, floated on the raft you provided and swam everyday. The weather was beautiful.
We loved the layout of the house. It worked perfect with a 10 month old that was napping. We could be out in the living room, kitchen, dining room, den or game room and not have to worry about being too quiet. We can not express how much fun we had and how relaxing this vacation was. We cannot wait to stay here again. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming beachfront home on the chesapeake.

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

Our family had a wonderful time at your lovely, comfortable home. First, thank you for having the a/c on when we arrived. It was a hot day and we really appreciated having it cool. We so enjoyed the bay and swimming in it. The game room was nice. After a busy day at either Williamsburg or the beach, it was such a great place to come home to. Very quiet neighborhood. We really hated leaving and would definitely come back. Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us. We would recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home!

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Thank you so much Pat and Jean-Marie for making our first family vacation away from Michigan excellent!! You made our family feel like we were on vacation but still at home! Your rental really exceeded our expectations too! You provide everything your guests would need. The amenities you have listed are to a T! Our children (7, 5 1/2 & 4) really enjoyed the toy chest and the game room. They even said the beds were super comfy. We really enjoyed the beach and the people that we met there were really friendly. Each of us really enjoyed watching the ships sail by & we even seen a submarine. We didn't get to see any dolphins during our stay but the water was a little warm for them to come closer. The kids loved finding seashells & hermit crabs in the morning on the beach.

From the inside of the house to the yard, it was immaculate! I was scared for the kids to even enter the house because I didn't want them messing anything up LOL We loved the basket of brochures and the binder you left. Those were very helpful, even if I did make a list of what we were doing that week. You were very helpful from when I first called to book the property until the time we left. I don't think you could get any better owners than you!

We went to Virginia Air & Space Center, Virginia Aquarium, Nauticus, USS Wisconsin, Motor World, War Museum, & even rode the train in Norfolk. If you're looking for a charter fishing trip, we highly recommend the Sally T in Hampton. Very friendly and helpful crew. You can even forget about breakfast before you go! Donna cooks up some great bacon, egg & cheese sandwiches.

For the most part we ate in but when we did eat out, the food was great! We went to the 905 Cafe & Grill. I recommend the Fried Green Tomatoes :) We also went to Doumar's. Great service, food and homemade cones! They were even featured on Diners, Drive-In's & Dives with Guy Fieri. The night before we left, a storm came in and we tried ordering Pizza Hut delivery. The closest one to the house (1/2 mile) wouldn't deliver because they closed due to the storm. So we had to order from the one that was 3 miles away with no delivery. We recommend not ordering out or even going out when it's storming because Norfolk floods a bit and all the stoplights go out, causing a major traffic jam & cold pizza when you return LOL

We hope to come back year after year! Again, we thank you for everything you provided to make our vacation fun and relaxing!

Rochelle, Jerry & Kids

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Oustanding property!

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Like staying at our home (in the mountains) except we were at the beach! The owners are awsome and over the top accomodating. Hope to come back, maybe later in the summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ranch on the Beach

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

This was a classic 1950's 3bdrm 2 bath ranch on the beach. It is surrounded by some higher end homes and some sketchy apartments. While I am not one to judge based on my one week stay, many locals cautioned us about wandering around after dark. Although we met a number of "interesting" characters at the Willoughby Inn Restaurant and Bar down the street. iI you like dive bars and very old and drunk people, you will truly love this place.
The beach was very nice even if the weather did not cooperate during most of our stay. The owners are friendly and attentive. And, if you are looking for just a beach, a ping pong table and a nice kayak to paddle, this is a good place to rent. However, I would not call it charming but rather function-able and comfortable.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for your review Mike. We do try to hold on to the classic feel of the 1950's at Willoughby Whims, although our home has been updated in many ways. We are glad to hear that you found our home comfortable and functional during your 4 day business trip to Norfolk. We regret that you were working and unable to enjoy the area during the day as many of our vacationing guests are able to do. Willoughby Whims is located in a well established beach community of Norfolk, VA. There are some lovely beach homes on our block, and a 8 unit owner occupied condo next door. Our neighbors are friendly locals, many who hold prominent positions in our city. There certainly are some characters or "Old Salty Dogs", as we like to say, who live in Willoughby Spit, and it sounds like you found their hangout. Our Welcome notebook has many suggestions for local dining and night life with a description for each, so there are no surprises.Thanks again, and we hope to have you enjoy our home during another trip to Hampton Roads.

Patrick & Jean-Marie
Willoughby Whims

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Neely Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

The location was perfect. The house was more than I expected. This was our first family vaction in many years. Our daughter-in-law graduated from a local college and this was a perfect way to attend and celebrate. Our grandson so hated to leave. Highly recommend this for a great family get away! Perfect, perfect, perfect!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice View

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

The beach access could not be beat. The water was right out the door. The house was very comfortable and the kids loved the playroom.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

mom and grandma

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

My two young grandkids had a wondwerful time playing in the back yard and in the water. We relaxed and just enjoyed ourselves. My daughter loved to just sit andl look out the window. The house was very well kept and felt like home to us.Everything was good at the house, we plan on returning when we can.The owner's called and checked on us to see if we needed anything before we got there. You can not ask for a better place to bring kids and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sue

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

My family spent 4 wonderful days at Willoughby Whims. The house was inviting and comfortable. The owners have thought of pretty much everything to make your stay easy. We spent time with our daughter and some of her friends who also commented how much they loved the playroom and being close to the beach. The beach was very clean and we spent quite a bit of time walking on it. Our family will definitely come back to stay again at the "Whims".

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, tidy place, good location, with beach front

Review submitted: March 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this property. The owners were very accomondating/friendly, and everything was well planned out, documented, and well thought through. Good location near the Naval base and the center of a lot of tourist attractions. We had fun in the game room, and the broadband access with good. The interior of the home was a little dated (especially the oven/kitchen), but everything worked well, and it was well provisioned with no problems. It is a great place, nicely decorated, with a lot of room and we would recommend it to anyone wanting a simple roomy place to stay, instead of a cramped hotel.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Willoughby Whims

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

~A true home away from home..Beautifully kept..a personalized notebook with helpful tips of the area, restaurants etc.. were in a basket on the dining room table. We enjoyed a great breakfast and dinner at 905 Cafe & Grille which is up the road.. We enjoyed the gameroom..and grilled tilapia, salmon and steaks..Yum~ The owners were most helpful, thank you again!
We will definitely make a return visit..and would highly recommend this location..The site from the Living Room is breath taking!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful Breathtaking Views

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

I needed a place where my family could stay together in VA for my youngest daughter's graduation from EVMS. The description and pictures cannot begin to tell how wonderful this home is. The views are fantastic, walk out the back gate and you’re on the beach, the home is very well kept, with a nice back deck with a double picnic table which came in very handy when having not only my family of 6 plus 6 more family members over for dinner. This home was everything and more than I could have asked for. The kids ages 12, 4 and 9 mths all had a great time in the yard and on the beach. The home was equipped with everything one could need or want. We all want to come back again, when we can actually vacation and sightsee. This home is defiantly a HOME AWAY FROM HOME. The home owners were very helpful and speedy to answer my questions I had before booking and came right over to unlock the kayak for us to use. They were always just a phone call away, if needed. The welcome basket had all the information and brochures and dinning guides if we only had time to visit the area. Between White Coat Ceremony and Graduation we were VERY busy it was great to come HOME to a home and not a motel room. I would and have recommended this home to anyone I know going to VA with or without family. I could have stayed forever. The home had everything and the older children enjoyed the rec room and all the indoor and outdoor toys supplied. No one wanted to leave. We will be back for a vacation, vacation to explore the area and all it has to offer. Thank you so much for allowing us to share your slice of heaven on earth.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great time

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

It was great it may of had a 70s look but that just made it more like a home. Wish we had more time just to sit and look out the window. Came there for other reasons wish it had been a vacation instead of business.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Christmas In Virginia

Review submitted: December 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

We rented this quaint home since my 19 year old daughter just returned from months at sea in the Navy. We didn't want her spending Christmas alone or without a family Christmas. The owners were wonderful and even put a tree before our arrival and had special family Christmas decorations for us. The house is in a great location close to the Navy base and Virginia beach. It has all amenities. I even cooked a traditional Christmas dinner turkey and all. I would highly recommend this rental and plan on returning in the summer to enjoy a warmer vacation. It has everything you need for a family or couple wanting a get away. It has a home feel. It's like home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

I want to go back!

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 19, 2010

This place was awesome.The pictures don't do it justice. The rental was easy to do. The owners were fantastic and walked us through the whole process. We can't wait to come back next year..

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wow, what a great time!

Review submitted: October 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

We really enjoyed our time here. The house is kind of retro, my son said it reminded him of that 70's show, lol. It had a great old time family feel.It really exceeded our expectations. We had a get together for a family of 8 and we have never had a more relaxing time. The children loved the play room and the ocean kayak was a big hit. This home has everything you need to enjoy yourself, it's nice to not have to pack alot. The water and beach was wonderful and quite, hardly anyone else on the beach besides us. We will certainly stay again. Everything went very smooth with the owners, they even called the night before to let us know the house was ready and we could come earlier if we wanted. Thank you so much for a beautiful weekend!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Welcome home!

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 2, 2010

Found Willoughby Whims warm and welcoming. Like coming home. Family enjoy the direct beach access, the water and watching the big ships move past. Probably the most comfortable, relaxing vacation I've had. Will definitely try to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Good Times

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2009

Older house. Great amenities. Had a wonderful time. Enjoyed watching the dolphins playing in the ocean with the grand daughter and daughter. What a time to remember. Will return at another time. Much better then a hotel and I can have the whole family together under one roof. That was the best part. Had everything listed except the grill out front. Spent lots of time with the family. Wow, great times. Thanks.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Definately a home away from home!!

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

My family and I recently spent a week at Willoughby Whims to be with my husband before he deployed overseas for the military and this house was amazing! Right on the Chesapeake Bay, easy access to I-64 (we did not notice the traffic noise at all!!) and several bases, a short drive from a bunch of historic places. The house was fantastic! Everything you need to have a nice week vacation is there. Dishes, washer and dryer, beach toys, internet access, even a high chair, sippy cup and baby spoon!

Willoughby Whims is a very big, clean and comfortable house and you will find yourself at home the moment you set your bags down. I have nothing but praise to say about the house and about the communication with the owners. Their responses are always prompt and very friendly. I will say I was nervous at first about renting a vacation rental this way (I never had), really hoping it was not a scam, but the moment the keys opened the front door, my anxiety was gone.

If you want a quiet place right on the Chesapeake Bay to stay this is it! And there are shells galore for kids to hunt along that beach. We found none out at Virginia Beach, but everyday there were more to be found right out the back door. And the added bonus of the US Navy ships and other boats that pass by everyday and the chance to see a Navy fighter jet or helicopter fly overhead is great.

Thank you to the owners for a wonderful stay and I hope if circumstances permit we will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

Willoughby Whims was the perfect place for our vacation! Quiet and relaxing, with the beach steps from the home. It's a very comfortable, kinda retro, home with a great feel for our family of six. Family friendly beach with no worries about the children playing and having their freedom. We enjoyed the play area for the kids, outside and inside! We learned to cook fresh shrimp we bought from a local fisherman. The sunsets are unbelievable at this home. We'll be back next year when it's time for more R & R !!! Thanks again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review