reviews for: listing #5808 - Fort Myers Beach, Florida Condo rental

Captain's Bay Beach Condo: Fort Myers Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Captain's Bay
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $750 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Met and EXCEEDED our expectations!

Review submitted: July 31, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

We are repeat visitors to the FMB area and this was our first time here. From the first contact, Laura was helpful, courteous, and friendly. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by a sign by the front door that said “Welcome *** family”. We found that the pictures and descriptions were accurate and were thrilled to be staying here for the week. The only exception being that the second pool is stated as being a “toddler” pool which to me is a wading or zero depth pool that a toddler could stand/sit in and play. Rather it was just a smaller 3ft to 6ft depth pool. Both pools were well kept and clean as were the bathroom facilities at each with community pool toys available. The set up was perfect for our family of 5 (children: boy 7, boy 4, and girl 2). It was very clean, well kept and spacious. The room with the double bed is off a small hallway that connects it and the second bathroom and has a pocket door between the hallway and living room that can be closed for privacy. The twin bedroom was perfect for the boys and we used bed rails provided for the 4 year old. The master bedroom and walk in closet are also very spacious. The laundry room is off of the dining room/kitchen with a washer and dryer that are newer HE models and were WONDERFUL to have available to use rightin the condo. This complex was well kept & pretty quiet the week that we were there and anyone that we ran into was very pleasant. The front of the condo has a large area that had patio table and chairs that overlook tennis courts/shuffleboard. We used the tennis rackets provided and the shuffleboard equipment a few times during our stay. MaryAnn called a few times to check on us and was so helpful to check with the cleaning service when we had thought that we left something behind. The location is great, just across the road to the gulf side beach,just behind Holiday Inn and in walking distance to stores and restaurants (Farmer’s Market on Sunday), walk-in Ready Med clinic at Santini Plaza. We took full advantage of the rolling cart, beach toys, cooler, and bags that are available to carry our things to the beach. There were a few games and puzzles for the kids to do in the evening and on the rainy days and that was nice to have available since we had a day of rain during our stay. There was also a drawer full of VHS tapes and VCR that are available to use in the double bed room. Pack your clothes and toiletries and go! We’d love to stay again if it is available the next time we travel to FMB!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Beach Condo

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

This was our first time staying in Ft. Myers and we absolutely loved this condo and it's location! It does look exactly like the pictures online and has everything you could need provided! Very comfortable and homely. We loved having beach chairs, beach towels, an umbrella, and coolers all there ready/convenient to take to the beach and all we had to do was walk across the street. We had two younger children and they all loved their room. The younger children were so excited about the toys that were already there. The pool was also close by and nice. Very clean area and not to crowded. We would definitely rent this condo again and recommend renting it if you are looking at the Ft. Myers Beach area. Thank You!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay at our condo! Have a wonderful summer and hope to have you return next year!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best Beach Condo

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

This was our first time staying in Ft. Myers and we absolutely loved this condo and it's location! It does look exactly like the pictures online and has everything you could need provided! Very comfortable and homely.

We loved having beach chairs, beach towels, an umbrella, and coolers all there ready/convenient to take to the beach and all we had to do was walk across the street.

We had two younger children and they all loved their room. The younger children were so excited about the toys that were already there.

Laura was a great contact online before we arrived and once we were there MJ called a few times to make sure that everything was ok and to see if we had any questions.

The pool was also close by and nice. Very clean area and not to crowded.

We would definitely rent this condo again and recommend renting it if you are looking at the Ft. Myers Beach area.

Thank You!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice, clean condo

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

My family and I rented this condo for a week, and we had a wonderful time. The beach was not crowded, and the weather was great. The condo was very nice and clean, and it was the perfect size for our family of four. My only critique is that the electronics should be updated. Two of the DVD players are not in good working order, and the TVs are small and outdated. Other rentals I saw online were more modern, but overall this condo was very comfortable. Also, it was available on short notice, which I appreciated.

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Condo Review

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

This was our first time staying in Ft. Myers and we absolutely loved this condo and it's location! It does look exactly like the pictures online and has everything you could need provided!

We loved having beach chairs, beach towels, an umbrella, and coolers all there ready to take to the beach and all we had to do was walk across the street. We also used the tennis raquets and balls that were all provided.

We had both teens and younger children and they all loved their rooms and the amount of space that we had. The younger children were so excited about the toys, movies, and books that were already there.

Laura was a great contact online before we arrived and once we were there MJ called a few times to make sure that everything was ok and to see if we had any questions.

The pool was also close by and quite warm. Our kids swam at least once a day and it didn't seem to be overly busy!

We would definately rent this condo again and recommend renting it if you are looking at the Ft. Myers Beach area.

Thank You!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great Place

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

The condo met all or our expectations and then some. Everything is exactly as pictured. We have stayed in this condo complex before so we knew these were very nice condos but the extra touches with MJ checking in and the attention to the correspondence before renting was very good. The use of the grill was an added benefit we really enjoyed. Everything was very clean and up to date. We hope this place is available when we return to Ft. Myers.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Fantastic Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

My family just completed a week's vacation at this condo. The condo surpassed all of our expectations. It began with a no-hassle and trustworthy rental agreement with the help of Laura, who was prompt with answering all of our questions. MJ, the local contact, was attentive and helpful.

When we arrived, we had no problems getting keys and the code to the lobby. Parking for the condo is right beside the lobby, which made it easy to carry our luggage and our groceries. The condo was in great shape, with a thoughtful, welcoming message awaiting us. MJ had left us some useful information about the condo rules and regulations. All of the many promised amenities enabled us to enjoy ourselves. Just bring your clothes and some food. This condo has everything else.

The condo is on the second floor, which should be useful for families with young children or for seniors. While there is no direct view of the beach, sitting in the lanai and watching the sunrise was a daily pleasure. The beach is a short walk away and easily accessed through the Holiday Inn. We also enjoyed the pool, which, by the way, is not difficult to locate. Also within a short walk there is a CVS and the Santini plaza that has restaurants, a liquor store and a wi-fi cafe. There is also a Publix grocery store a short drive away; however, we didn't have to do much driving during the week.

The condo at Captain's Bay North made the difference for our vacation; we are already discussing when we will return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

March 5th - March 12th 2011

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

My family, my husband and I, our oldest daughter, her husband and a 18 month old and 4 year grand children, were blessed with the opportunity to stay in this condo.
Toys and towels for the beach, cribs and beautiful rooms were all there!
The pools are a little far a part that may be why one reviewer did not find the second pool. It is farther north on the condo campus.
Holiday Inn across the street for easy family dining. The beach right behind that.
The condo was very clean and MJ called to check on our needs two times. She was very helpful in helping us find activities for our family.
Our family friends stay in the condo complex next to Captains Bay North, when they visited us, they immediately took the name and number for contacting rental of this condo. The rental owner, Laura was very helpful and answered all my questions on renting the condo. She provided clear and accurate details to the location, key access and items in the condo for my family to use.
We had a great time and felt safe and comfortable.
Thank you MJ and Laura.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Nice Family Vacation

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 9, 2010

We had a great time staying at this condo. The beach was right across the street from us as well as convenience stores and the Holiday Inn Restaurant and Tiki Bar. The condo was beautifully decorated and was baby ready with a crib and a high chair. We had a few problems with communications; we got the key to get into the condo but not to get into the building itself. We tried calling the contact # and was unable to reach her. After waiting for about 20 minutes someone let us in through the locked foyer to get to the elevator. This condo is on the 2nd floor so the picture you see on the listing of the ocean and beach is not what you see at the condo, you can only see the tennis courts below. It states there are 2 pools, we could only find 1 pool and when we did get to talk to the contact person she was not aware of another pool on the complex. It would have been nice to have information in the condo on the amenities and the pass code to get into the foyer of the condo, which a friendly neighbor told us about later, but we had a great time staying here and loved the condo and the location!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback. We really do appreciate it. We will take your comments and ensure that instructions are available to the future renters on the code to the entrance and a second contact number. The second pool is not easy to find as it towards the back of the condo, but most renters use the mail pool and are not aware of the second pool anyway. We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday and thank you again for your feedback! Would love to have you back again next year!

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review