reviews for: listing #58091 - Santa Fe, New Mexico House rental

Glorieta in the Pines
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $275 - $350 /nt
    $1,600 - $2,100 /wk
    $5,400 - $5,600 /mth

sort by:

Great for large families.

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

If you are looking for a nice location for a large family, then Glorieta in the Pines is where you need to be. Close to Santa Fe remote enough that you feel like you are in the woods. Great owners and the property is well maintained. We will be back!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful House

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

This is a beautiful house in a beautiful setting - lots of pine trees and solitude. House is large and easily accomodated our group of 8. We all had rooms/beds and we could have had more guests but would have needed air mattresses. Our stay was over the Thanksgiving Holiday and we were able to cook a full meal in the kitchen. We did supply our own spices and some pots/pans, but the kitchen is well supplied and large. Glorieta is about 16 miles from the Santa Fe exits to the south, so give yourself about 1/2 hr to get to the plaza. It was a great stress reliever to return to the house, light a fire in the fireplace and just relax in the beautiful settings of Glorieta in the Pines! Highly recommended.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Country Retreat Close to Santa Fe

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

We had a multi-generational family group who stayed during Indian Market week in Santa Fe. While a bit out of town, it was great to return to this peaceful location after a busy day of sightseeing in the area. The kids loved playing in the back yard and walking around the four acre property. I loved sitting on the front porch watching rainbows over the mountains. There was plenty of room to spare - we even had one bedroom we never used and there are lots of sleeping configurations available for different size groups. I would highly recommend this place for large groups and families with young children. The property was well maintained and the amenties were very good. Owner lives right nearby and is helpful. There are not that many photos on the website but the house is a lot larger than it looks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place for our family reunion!

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

This is an awesome place to stay for a large group. The owners gave excellent directions, so it was very easy to find despite being well hidden from the road behind beautiful trees and brush, and there was more than enough sleeping space for our group of 8. The house is beautiful, clean, and quiet. It was only about 15 minutes drive to Santa Fe square and about the same drive into the Pecos Wilderness, which is a beautiful place to hike. We didn't get a chance to try the hiking trails right outside of the backyard.

Overall, a wonderful place for a family get-together; we all loved it!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An amazing experience

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

Christmas at Glorieta in the Pines was magical. The house is huge with plenty of bedrooms for our three families. We especially appreciated the full second floor, where the grandchildren could nap during the day and go to bed at night while the adults were free to entertain themselves on the first floor. Being nestled against the forest was an added bonus to the hikers in the family. The owners anticipate what their guests will need in terms of furnishings, supplies in the kitchen and the bathrooms, etc. The kitchen met all our needs. The drive into Santa Fe was only about 20 minutes. We had originally wanted to find a place in town, but this proved to be ideal for us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Peace

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

Had amazing family vacation. Plenty of room. Close enough to downtown Plaza and even closer to Pecos river and national park. Everything worth seeing in New Mexico is always a beautiful drive away and once back at this quiet hideaway you can relax in the quiet of the pines. Coffee in the morning either out back or on the front porch.......the best. Will return to this location again!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good place for family gathering

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

This was a good place for our family together. It is well maintained and furnished, and was a good location for being away from the "busy-ness" of usual work schedules. We cooked almost all our meals on site and found the grocery store in El Dorado convenient for supplies. Sante Fe is closeby for eating out when desired. Nearby Pecos offers a lot in the way of hiking. The owners are very easy to deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Glorious Glorieta in the Pines

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

What more can you ask for? Quiet and serine. 20 minutes to downtown Santa Fe. Room after room of space, and then more space. Full kitchen with all the gadgets. Spacious dinning room. Family room with TV. Large Master bedroom with huge bathroom and walk-in closet. Another room with office space on main floor. Utility room with washer and dryer. Huge porch. Flat backyard (rare in this area). Upstairs, the rooms just keep coming. A jack and jill bathroom ties it all together.

We had a fabulous time on vacation and would recommend this property to everyone who wants a reasonable rate in a gorgeous location. The owner was wonderful to work with.

We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Great place for a family get together!!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

We had an awesome experience here! There was a storm just before we got there that dumped a bunch of snow. We were 4 families and had lots of children all ages. They spent the 4 days we were there in the snow! There are sloping hills behind the house and they made very good sledding trails that were so much fun!
The house easily accommodated all 30 of us! There are 4 bedrooms for the adults and the children slept in all of the little dormer rooms. There is a lot of floor space and little cubby spaces! The laundry room is huge and served us well as a mud room for all of the snow clothes to rest while not in use! We also rented tables and chairs from a party place in Santa Fe which is only 20 minutes away. They delivered and picked them up. The laundry room was also the eating place for the young children. The house was warm and cozy even in the freezing temperature it was outside. We cooked all of our meals here. The grill and oven both worked great. The kitchen is minimally stocked so come with your favorite cooking tools. The heating is in the floors which was nice for the little ones sleeping there. The setting of the house was picture perfect! We will definitely consider a revisit! This place is very family friendly and perfect for what we wanted it for. I would recommend to anyone! The owner was also very nice to deal with and very helpful. We made great memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great time at Glorieta in the Pines

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

This great house hosted our 3 families with ease. It is very private and secluded yet very close to the highway. The kids enjoyed the hiking all around the house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spacious, Quiet, Private and Clean

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We spent a lot of time in Sante Fe visiting family who had hoped we could have stayed closer. The drive to Sante Fe was about 20 minutes and did not pose a problem at all. Our time at the house was very relaxing and very peaceful. It is a large house with high ceilings which probably makes it seem even bigger. The owners were nearby and we felt like we could call them with any questions and they did not mind it at all. The house is clean and well maintained.
We would recommend this place to a family or friend. It was a great value for housing a lot of people. At one point we had 9 people there and it felt like there would have been room for a couple more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

This is a great, well maintained, clean and relaxing home.
Plenty of room for a big group. The owner was very nice.
We had a great time and would definitely go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything we needed

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

We spent a week here in late March. The home is very spacious and was comfortable both during the cold nights and the warmer days. We made use of all the amenities including the full kitchen, coffee maker and laundry room (this was essential because there were two babies on the trip!) The home was stocked with basic essentials such as laundry soap, dishwasher soap, paper towels, napkins, trash bags, etc.

Keep in mind that it is about a 20-25 minute drive from this home to the heart of Santa Fe. On the other hand, you can shop for groceries at a supermarket in Eldorado which is considerably closer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Glorieta at the Pines--A Must!

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

This is an awesome vacation home nestled in the trees close to the a national forest. We loved the spacious, well-kept home. The owners had great rapport and made sure our stay was confortable and pleasant. This home is not too far from the hustle and bustle of the city and casinos. There is lots and lots of space and the kitchen is huge. There is also a nice laundry room big enough to sleep a few more people. This is truly a must to rent while in Santa Fe! Thanks Skip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Glorieta in the Pines-A Must Stay!

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

This is an awesome vacation home nestled in the trees close to the a national forest. We loved the spacious, well-kept home. The owners had great rapport and made sure our stay was confortable and pleasant. This home is not too far from the hustle and bustle of the city and casinos. There is lots and lots of space and the kitchen is huge. There is also a nice laundry room big enough to sleep a few more people. This is truly a must to rent while in Santa Fe! Thanks Skip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Glorieta in the Pines-Awesome Vacation Resort

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

This home away from home is nestled in the woods. It is clean, well-managed, and spacious. It provides lots of room for several families and is far enough from the hustle and bustle of Santa Fe, but close enough to enjoy it as well as the casinos. The home is cozy and has a clean fire place. The owners have a rapport, are helpful, and are easy to contact. We loved the house and will return next year with our family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, peaceful setting.

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Glorieta in the Pines was a perfect retreat for our Thanksgiving family get together. The house is spacious but very cozy. The house was well stocked and very clean. We appreciated the movie collection in the house as well as the lovely fireplace. It only took us 15 minutes to get to the Cerrillos Exit in Santa Fe from Glorieta in the Pines. We would highly recommend this home and hope to return in the near future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

peaceful retreat

Review submitted: August 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

We had a great time staying at the house for a week. It was very peaceful and there was easy access to trails for running and hiking with our dog. The patio is also great for outdoor entertaining. The house is large and there was room to spare even with 6 adults sleeping there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful family vacation

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 23, 2010

When planning our tip to the Santa Fe area we wanted a place that was large enough for our family to stay together (not two separate hotel rooms) and had a yard for our children to play. Glorietta in the Pines fit our needs perfectly. It is large, warm and inviting. The downstairs has a open style family room with a fireplace. There is a tv with satellite and dvd player; ceiling fan. Seating is a sofa, comfy recliner and rocker style chair. Next to the family room is a full kitchen and breakfast eating area with a table and four chairs. Across from the breakfast area is a dining area with another table and four chairs. Off of the kitchen is a half bath and large utility room with a washer/dryer, plenty of counter space to fold clothes, and an iron and ironing board. The master bedroom is off of the family room. It is furnished with a queen bed and large dresser, nightstands and lamps. There is a ceiling fan. A generous master bath contains jacuzzi tub, shower, and large walkin closet.

The upstairs area has so much room for sleeping! There is one room with a queen size bed and plenty of room for a large air mattress. Then a bathroom with shower/tub combo and double sinks connects to another vast bedroom where other air mattresses can be set up. Off of these two bedroom is an open area with a single bed and plenty of room for other air mattresses. The upstairs was perfect for our children. They had so much room.

The house is completely stocked with plenty of toilet paper, paper towels, bathroom soap, kitchen soap and dishwasher soap. Skip even has washing machine detergent, stain remover, and dryer sheets in the laundry room. The kitchen has salt, pepper,sugar, as well as some tea, coffee, and hot chocolate Each bathroom is stocked with a blow dryer and plenty of soft towels. Extra blankets and comforters are in the closets. Games such as Jenga, Scrabble and Yahtzee are ready for playing.The house has radiant heating in the floors for cool mornings. The windows open to let in the lovely breezes during the day.

The backyard has a patio with table and four chairs. There is a new gas grill that we loved and used every night. There are two hummingbird feeders that brought us beautiful hummingbirds to admire. The forest is full of pine cones, "fossils", and wonderful treasures for little ones to find.

Thanks, Skip and family, for being thoughtful and attentive hosts. We can't wait to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Spring skiing

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

We visited Santa Fe over the Easter weekend as a group of 9 people in the mid-20's and were very impressed with the up-keep of the house and the arrangements for extra bedding. The location and surroundings are peaceful and serene. The fire place in the living room was very welcome after a day of rafting and skiing over the weekend. Over all it was a great first time experience with a vacation rental and we look forward to doing this again next year. Highly recommended for adventure seekers who want to stay away from the busy city areas.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Skiing At Santa Fe

Review submitted: March 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

Great place and location. Large rooms, clean and well kept.
You will not be disappointed.
I would recommend to family and groups.
Property keeper is freindly and helpful.
Dirt road entry could be wet due to rain/snow.
We managed with 2 wheel drive car.
I would return for a stay.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

White Christmas

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

My family and I rented the cabin for our Christmas vacation due to the fact that we live in San Antonio, TX and most of our children have never seen snow. This was the most wonderful vacation we've had in a while. The pictures did not due this property justice. As we drove up it was beautiful with wrap around porch nestled in the mountains amidst all the trees. The property was clean, well maintained and ready for move in. The owners really did a wonderful job of prepping the cabin for our stay and made sure we had plenty sheets, comforters, towels, etc... I would I highly recommend this property to anyone who was thinking of a mountain get away Spring, Winter, Summer, or Fall. We were up in the Winter and enjoyed snow tubing, hiking, sledding, and hanging out at the outdoor fire pit by night. We were minutes from Santa Fe and enjoyed the plaza,the shops, museums, the train, and local sight seeing. We were also not to far from Taos and enjoyed visiting the Pueblo and watching them do thier ceremonial dances. I know our family plans to go back in the Summer and enjoy some more of the outdoor activities this location has to offer such as horseback riding, hiking, a high ropes course, zip lines, paint ball, rafting/kayaking, and so much more. This was worth the money.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great House, Great Hospitality

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

The owners were extremely helpful even before we got there. Another family (4 people) wanted to join us and Skip added 10$ to the price... and got extra beds and mattresses for us. The house is big and very roomy. Very clean and already heated upon arrival. Secluded in a beautiful forrest, short ride to Santa-Fe and one minute away from the I-25. The house is several hundred feet from the road.
The only problem we encountered was that our friends came with a sedan that sled on the ice while trying to go up the dirt road from the house to the main road. We had to ask for help from the neighbors to pull the car to the street. Our minivan easily climbed up and so will any SUV or truck. When there is no ice there should not be a problem.
Overall it was a great experience and a bargain price. We will definately try to book it again next time we are in Santa-Fe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review