reviews for: listing #58124 - Whitefish, Montana Cabin rental

River Meadow Ranch
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $395 /nt
    $1,695 - $2,495 /wk
    $5,600 - $9,000 /mth

sort by:

Perfect family vacation home!

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

This is a beautiful log home with lots of charm, character and space in a gorgeous Montana landscape. The photos on this site were very accurate but the property is even more beautiful in person. Views out every window and western decor inside this spacious home made this the perfect multi family gathering spot. We had 6 adults and 5 grandchildren, our family reunion was accommodated in style. The owner was attentive to every detail making this home the best vacation spot one can imagine, nothing has been left out of this clean, well maintained, warm family friendly home! This home has the feel of a cozy and inviting family property. Lots to do here, the big yard, with a nearby river and even a gentle horse, is complete with lots of outside games and places to explore. The caretaker and owner were both so nice and went the extra mile to make our family reunion perfect. This was my first experience with a VRBO and I was so impressed! We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family-Food-Fun

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

WOW! Is the only way to describe our week of family-food-fun time at this ranch style home. There were 14 of us ages 3 to 63. The pool table was a great attraction for the 15 and 17 year with their dad. The 3,8,9 year old and granpa had a great time feeding the horse found on the grounds. The kitchen was that of a chefs setting in that there was nothing missing from pots to utensils. Add on the outdoor firepit (the grands roasted marshmallows with the granchildren) , all 14 played horseshoes and the grands couldn't stop cow gazing (every morning and afternoon).

There care taker was great as well in that he supplied information (in addition to all of the brochures/pamphlets set out the travelers) regarding local things to see and do.

We were there for a full week and my 9 year old grandaughter cried when it was time to leave.

To the owner we say THANK YOU for making our first away from home "Family Get Together" one to remember

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Property.

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

We were an extended family with three families and stayed in the "big" house. Plenty of space for the 10 of us (ages 11 to 62). The configuration of the five bedrooms and four baths worked ideally for us. Plenty of bed space and hot water for showers. Bed linens and towels were of great quality. A large dining area with a table for 10 was able to accommodate us all for meals. The kitchen was well equipped. We needed to pack light so the availability of the washer and dryer in the home was much appreciated. The large wrap around deck was very nice. Enjoyed watching the kingfishers feed in the pond located behind the house and the beautiful sunsets to the front of the house. All was very neat and clean. Also very new. We loved the home and would certainly recommend the property for a stay. Very smooth and easy with making the arrangements with the owner. We would definitely come back on a return trip to Montana. Spent three days in Glacier National Park which was totally awesome. Ate at the Three Forks in Columbia Falls which restaurant was recommended by our whitewater raft guide. Excellent food was had by all.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

Excellent!!!We stayed in the new house on the property for our family vacation. I can't begin to describe how wonderful it was. Close to many activities, such as zip lining, white water rafting and Glacier National Park. Fishing was wonderful, catch and release Northern Pike. I wanted to LIVE on the deck, it was a full wrap around deck, with more than enough seating. We views were spectacular. Elk in the morning and deer at night. I would HIGHLY recommend River Meadow Ranch to future vacationers. For those who love to shop it was very close to both Kalispell and Whitefish.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

25th Destination Anniversary Family Gather

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

After selecting a log home as our intended destination to visit Glacier National Park, my family was delighted with the accomodations. There were 7 adult family members sharing the home. It was a delight to see after viewing the internet pictures. Both the owner and caretaker were most helpful in accomodating our vacation needs, including the hot air popper and bird books. Evening walks took in the local cattle and nearby elk farm. Fishermen were successful in the slough behind the house. We also did the WITT (Walk in the Treetops) on the nearby Whitefish Mountain plus enjoyed a sibling lunch at the brewery in Whitefish, walk about the town shops and located some delicious gelato in the chocolate shop. Visits to Glacier National Park were done most days and it was a pleasure to return to the log home for evening meals on the outside deck. The calm, quiet, rural location was very enjoyable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Gorgeous Getaway Home

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

My husband and I spent a week in this cabin as a part of our motorcycle trip. The location was perfect, allowing us easy daily access to Whitefish, Kalispell, Flathead Lake, and Glacier National Park. After a long day of riding, it was a short drive to return to the serenity of the cabin with longhorn cattle next door and elk across the road. The log home itself is beautifully furnished and decorated, very clean, and is well designed to accommodate large groups or small. A beautiful, spacious, and fully equipped kitchen allows multiple cooks to work together. No photo can due it justice. Fred and Kirk were extremely helpful and friendly. I was very impressed, and would highly recommend this rental property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A Little Taste of Montana Heaven

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

This lovely log home with its great stone fireplace and beautiful floors is tastefully decorated throughout in Western themes that the five of us, including two grandboys aged 7 and 9, enjoyed greatly. I delighted in the horse themes especially with real horse farms so near us. The site is amazing with green pastures, brilliant yellow fields and deep blue mountains in the distance. Every vista is just great. The location was perfect for exploring Big Mountain, Glacier NP, Whitefish and Big Fork. Fred and Kirk made sure that every question and need was answered. All the neighbors were so welcoming - and we even had our own little horse roundup one morning when four local horses escaped their fences. Every aspect was delightful. We really enjoyed Loula's in Whitefish for breakfast and lunch. And Big Fork has some great art, including Thorsen's studio and the Art Museum. We would highly recommend this home and hope to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Even more beautiful than the pictures!

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

This gorgeous property was perfect for our group of six adults and eight children ranging in age from 1 to 14. There was so much to do that we hardly needed to leave the property! From pool, games and movies inside the house, to volleyball or horseshoes in the yard or grilling out on the gigantic deck, this place has so much room to spread out, play and relax! We especially enjoyed sitting around the fire pit one evening listening to the long horn cattle lowing, the elk bugling and the coyotes yipping.
When we did venture out, we did the Avalanche Lake hike in Glacier which was 100% worth the 2-mile climb to get there - stunning beauty! We also enjoyed bumming around Bigfork, MT (and not just because we are from Bigfork, MN!) and swimming at Tally Lake campground beach (about 15 miles away). The Shak in Whitefish has the best BBQ we've ever eaten!
Fred was so helpful in making our stay possible and I also have to say what a wonderfully honest person his housekeeper is. One member of our group lost a diamond stud earring during our stay and the extremely thorough housekeeper found it snagged in one of the rugs and mailed it back to us within the week! Glad to know there are still people of that integrity in the world.
Thank you Fred, Jodi and Kirk for a wonderful vacation1

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for a Family Get Together

Review submitted: December 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We live in Montana, and have never rented a vacation home before. In planning a family wedding in the area with extended family coming in from out of state, we found this property on the internet. When we drove up to the front door and entered this home we knew it was perfect for 9 adults and 2 small children. The house was beautifully decorated, completely furnished, kitchen and large area for our Thanksgiving meal. All of our relatives loved it as much as we did. Because we were in the area for a wedding we did not venture out to the closeby Glacier National Park, or the ski area. We have spent lots of time hiking in Glacier, Rafting the Flathead River and winter skiing and know the area well, this house is in a great location for exploring and very quiet. Thw owner was very honest in his description of the home, and made sure all of our needs were met, would highly recommend this to families visiting the area, and hope to stay there in the near future. We positively loved it, a 5* Rating.
Dea & Brad

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

From California

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

What a great place to stay! We rode our Motorcycles out from California to see the beautiful sites around the Whitfish area. We wanted a place that was comfortable with a lot of room for the 9 of us after we did our day rides seeing all the sites! This place was it! With the views from the back deck, the BBQ and all the room on the deck to sit, this was the favorite place to hang out and relax! Some of them did some fishing in the Creek in back of the cabin and they cought some big Pike!
The picture's don't do this place justce! Great detail to the decor inside makes it warm and welcoming! Not much more can I add that all the previous comments haven't already said, I agree with them all!
It's a short Drive to Canada, Glacier park (start from the east side) Whitefish, Kalispell, Flat Head Lake, Kootni Falls (awsome) and the swinging bridge, there is so much to see and do.
Fred was great to deal with before we went. He was in town while we were there and he was right there if we needed anything!
We will definitely recommend this place!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Wedding

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

I was looking for a place large enough to accommodate our families who were meeting for the first time, and who, unbeknownst to them, were coming to our wedding. River Meadow Ranch seemed to fit that criteria and didn't appear to be overpriced like some of the places I looked at. The house is in the middle of farm land with an elk ranch, dill field, and long-horned cattle on the same road - all this rural living with no smell to boot. And better yet, no neighbors too close to feel as if they are on top of you. I thought the house was a lot nicer than the on-line pics showed as well. The ad says this house sleeps 11, but with the assistance of Fred, the owner, we were able to sleep 13. He was more then willing to work with us and was always responsive when I contacted him, whether it be via email or phone. The local couple who takes care of the house maintenance and cleaning were also very nice and responsive to all of our needs. The house was large enough to accommodate approximately 50 people at our wedding, but was small and cozy enough that our family was able to have a wonderful time. And I guess I should mention that Glacier National Park was not too far (maybe 30 - 45 min.) from the house and was pretty easy to get to. River Meadow Ranch was a wonderful house to stay at and we will definitely be back. Thanks Fred, you have a great house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved It

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We just returned from a 2011 summer trip and are ready to go back. Fred's house was large, roomy, clean, and very well-appointed. The details of the renovation are impressive, all the way down to the use of heavy gauge rope instead of toe molding at the base of the log walls. There is plenty of yard space for families, and a 10 minute drive put us in Whitefish with all the restaurants we could need. LouLa's in Whitefish for breakfast is the best you will find. Norm's News in Kalispell for burgers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Home Base to Glacier National Park and Area

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

We just returned home from what our family is calling an "epic" trip to Montana. Staying in this spacious, absolutely beautiful log home really made the vacation. Our boys (11 and 16) loved playing pool in the lower level as well as fishing for northern pike behind the house. The large deck with BBQ grill was a perfect way to relax after a day of sight-seeing. We found the house to be immaculate with all the amenities one could ask for. The rustic,lodge-look furniture was new and the beds were very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We (3 adult couples) stayed for a week in July '11 & thoroughly enjoyed this cabin. It was in the relatively-level terrain of Flathead Valley, surrounded by farmland. The whole-log construction of the cabin gave it a rustic warmth and authentic feel, yet it was well appointed with modern amenities all thoroughout -- very spacious and cozy at the same time. There were plenty of linens for all rooms, a well-stocked kitchen upstairs with lots of small appliances, dishes, cutlery, etc. plus a wet bar downstairs, a full-sized washer-dryer and a nice gas grill on the deck. There were also plenty of books to read, games (both inside and out), multiple TV's with satellite, WiFi, pool table -- just about anything you could want!

We loved the central location -- close to airport, Kalispell and Whitefish, and very convenient to Glacier Natl Park. Curt, who lives down the road and serves as caretaker, was very helpful with plenty of tips about the area; and Fred, the "back-East" owner, couldn't have been more gracious and helpful by phone. Curt advised of a great family restaurant on Hwy 2 near Kalispell called Cislo's -- food was home-cooked and very tasty, large portions, good variety in the menu, and best of all, inexpensive. Even more amazing was the friendly and efficient wait staff -- our waitress for breakfast one morning took six very different orders, never wrote a thing down, and didn't miss a beat when serving everything, even remembering who had decaf or not on the refills. It was fun to watch them in action!

During our stay, we enjoyed fishing, hiking, Glacier NP (of course!), horseback riding, visiting wineries & galleries, the Conrad Mansion in Kalispell, the Bison Range an hour or so south of the cabin, and mostly just hanging out at the end of the day at our home-away-from-home. Thank you, Fred, for making it all available -- we'd definitely recommend your beautiful cabin to one and all.

Couldn't write this without saying how amazingly friendly the people of Montana were, too. Without fail, airport staff, car rental staff, shop owners, restaurant staff -- even complete strangers -- were warm and welcoming. It was a great vacation in every respect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Beautiful Home Away from Home

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

Our family and two good friends, eight in all, spent a week in late June 2011 at the cabin. We loved every minute of it. It is a beautiful, warm home, amazingly spacious with a big yard more than ample for volleyball, frisbee and other games, in a beautiful setting. It is very well equipped, reflecting the genuine care the owners have for their guests, just as if we were close friends and they wanted us to feel most welcome. We made the trip primarily to wander around Glacier National Park, but also had wonderful experiences on Flathead Lake, and in the towns of Big Fork and Poulson on the edges of Flathead Lake. This is an ideal place for a vacation away, for anyone who wishes to enjoy the beauty of Montana and the parks and areas around Whitefish and the surrounding areas. The cabin also is very convenient to the airport. If the rating system is five stars, we give this cabin six stars.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Christmas in the Flathead

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

We stayed in this lovely home over Christmas, with our teenage children and another family ... 10 of us plus a baby, with plenty of room for everyone. We thoroughly enjoyed just relaxing in such a comfortable, spacious house; but found time to shop Kalispell, ski Whitefish, and walk in the neighbourhood. We've always loved the Flathead Valley, but finding a home like this to stay in adds a whole new lovely dimension ... it is easy and quick to get to, yet feels so isolated and quiet. The owner was great to coordinate with, and the neighbours were even very friendly! Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Place

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 22, 2010

This is a great vacation spot!!Close to everything you want to do and the fishing is great!!We had a great time in Montana and would like to thank Fred for letting us stay in his great home.We plan on going back next Sept!!Thanks,Fred

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved it

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 31, 2010

We spent 4 nights here and really loved it. I sincerely wish it had been longer. The house is very nice and very cozy, especially for a 5 bedroom. It is easy to get to. It is not totally secluded, but does feel quite private and there is very little traffic on the dirt road.
It is conveniently located about half way between Whitefish and Kalispell. The airport is not far away and of course Glacier Park is near. We very much enjoyed Glacier
I have spoken with the owner several times and he is as nice and friendly as anyone can be.
We would love to go back some day and I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends.
Mike in Georgia

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place to stay multi-days for 2 families!! For all ages!

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

My best friend's family and mine vacation out west every 2 years or so. We usually "rough it" for a week in the backcountry hiking and camping then look for a larger house with all the amenties for the "relaxing" part of the vacation. We found Fred Goldsmith's restored Montanta log home on VRBO and it was a huge hit with our group. First, the house is situated so each family can have a floor - each floor has a large room for the parents then there are 3 other bedrooms for the kids. Lots to do - 4 TV's including 2 flat screens with DVD and Dish, pool table and great deck to relax. The home has been painstakingly restored and has many beautiful things orderning it. Kitchen appliances are top notch with plenty of accessories. Plus big gas grill on deck with lots or patio furniture.

The property is in the west part of Flathead Valley ranch county and you are surrounding by working farms as well as large vacation homes which is pretty neat. If you fish, hold on, the slew of the Stillwater River is on the property and is full of large Northern Pike. We fished on 3 occasions in the slew and caught 25 pike each time between 2 and 8 lbs. Great fishing for experienced and inexperienced a like. Just remember to use metal leaders with big spinners!

Location, while you are definitely in the country, you are close to everything. Both Whitefish and Kalispell are about 5 miles (15 min away) and Glacier is between a 30-45 min dirive (West entrance). Other nearby things to do are Whitefish Resort (about 30 min), rafting the Flathead (30 min), Flathead Lake (30 min) and the Majestic which has rodeos, races and concerts (about 10 min). Shopping is all over.

Lastly, the owner Fred Goldsmith, was readily available before and during our trip to answer any questions as well as has a local guy down the road (Kirk) that can help with most anything while you were there.

Great place and pretty unique!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We are going back!

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

We stayed at this beautiful log home last year and loved it. This log home is one of the most beautiful rental properties we have stayed in. The home was very clean and very spacious. We rented the home with 2 other families and everyone had their own space and bathroom. We are returning this winter for another stay and would recommend this home to anyone. Fred is a great person to deal with and very accommodating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect week in NW Montana!

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

This spacious log home was a perfect fit for four couples who used it as a home base for visiting Glacier National Park as well as other area offerings. We spent a wonderful week exploring, sharing meals on the deck and enjoying the beautiful views!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spotless, convenient, quiet home in ranch country

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

The moment we arrived at this thoroughly refinished country home, we knew it would be a great place for a vacation. The home is spotlessly clean, beautifully refinished. And Quiet! Aside from an occasional car passing on the nearby stone road, the sound of cattle lowing is all you hear.
Nearly everything in the house is new: kitchen, bathrooms, bedding, etc. Everything works! Pool table in the basement!
Some of our time we decided to just stay at the house and enjoy the quiet. Walks on nearby roads revealed a herd of farmed elk; longhorn cattle; and beautiful scenery.
There is lots to do. The home is about 30 minutes or so from Glacier National Park - one of the truly outstanding national parks with breathtaking scenery. Glacier alone could occupy an entire vacation, with many opportunities for hiking, boat rides on Park lakes, driving adventures - and incredible views. You will likely see grizzlies and brown bears, at a distance, and rangers are happy to instruct you on safe ways to walk through the Park. Outside the park there are other forms of entertainment: lakes; sports, etc.
Overall we could not have been more pleased with this beautiful home and this area of Montana for a vacation. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 27, 2009   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

We loved it here! Everything was perfect. The cabin, itself, was beautifully decorated and had every amenity. The view was like heaven on earth.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review