reviews for: listing #58143 - Banff/Canmore, Alberta House rental

Rockies Rentals: Canmore's Largest Vacation Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (CAD) $530 - $1,000 /nt
    $3,345 - $5,850 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Awe-Inspiring Location

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

This house really has it all. The location and view are amazing. The space and facilities were great. The rock wall was unbelievable. We were a group of old college buddies (age of 35-40) that came to ski for the weekend and would without a doubt return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great vacation house in Canmore

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

We had a wonderful ski vacation. The house was roomy, clean, well equipped and located in a beautiful neighborhood. It was an easy ride to the ski hills and Banff and Canmore provided a convenient location for groceries and restaurants when we wanted to stay close to home. We'll definitely be back.


Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place to stay

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: November 5, 2013

What a great place to stay!! Our "wannabee" ladies investment club had great fun! Thank you for the use of your beautiful home.

Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Over the Top !

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

We absolutely loved our stay at this beautiful home while we visited Canmore and would not hesitate to go back. Everything about this spacious home, from the awesome kitchen, the mountain view, outdoor fireplace and the indoor rock climbing wall exceeded our expectations!! Our extended family had no negative comments about our stay and we enjoyed our time in the home with constant smiles on our faces. Thanks again for making your home available to our family.

Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The kids loved the room

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

The kids loved the room at the front to read, play cards, get away from adults. The kitchen was incredibly well equipped. I even made muffins. The Canmore Quad Tour was amazing (thanks Chuck!) White water rafting was fun. Loved the street fair on Saturday. Thoroughly enjoyed dinner at Rustica. Elk paid us a visit to our kitchen window on Friday. Did a run with Run Fit group on Sunday ... lots of fun.

Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a beautiful place

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

Thanksgiving 2009 Thanks so much. What a beautiful place. It was great to see the wildlife right out the kitchen window. The kids loved the rock wall! Thanks again.

Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for the hospitality!

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

Thanks! We had a great time here in Canmore and the house was great. As the chef for the past four days I have to say I loved it! Thanks for the hospitality!

Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 11, 2010

"Such a lovely stay in your beautiful home. Thank you so much for the warm hospitality. May you and your family have many wonderful times this summer and over the years so that when you are 72 (at least) you'll have a fabulous
store of precious memories. This weekend will always be one of my special
memories."

Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful home in fabulous location

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: December 10, 2010

What a great week, the house really made it a very special time for our family. Thank you.

Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great vacation home for family and friends!

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

"We stayed in this beautiful house for a week while in Canmore celebrating our daughter's wedding.

The sitting room and dining area are spacious and beautifully furnished.
On the balcony there is a barbeque big enough to cater for a large group - but a few more seats would have been nice.
The mountain views from the house are amazing.

Although the house is close to others, we hardly saw anyone and certainly did not feel overlooked even on the balcony.

The large kitchen is well equipped and a joy to work in. There is also a small office area with a computer as well as wi-fi thoughout the house.

The media room downstairs is a great place for relaxing in front of the tv or playing games.
We did not use the rock room or climb the wall and feel the space could have been better used in adding a third bedroom on the top floor...

The four bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms accommodate eight people and there are additional sleeping facilities for a further two-four people but without the privacy.

The house was immaculately clean on our arrival and there were plenty of cleaning materials for small scale cleaning during our stay. All laundry products are provided as well as some basic producs in the kitchen.

We discovered one pub/restaurant in a walking distance -if you can face the up hill on the way back - The Iron Goat is about 15min walk starting from the end of the road, through the wooded area, some residential streets and across a playing field. Average taxi fare from downtown was 10-12cad.

We recommend you check the small print as inviting non-residents to visit the house is not allowed under the terms of agreement. We partially overcame this problem by having other wedding guests stay in another Rockies Rentals accommodation.

We warmly recommend this property and would definately return if it wasn't for the distance from the UK and all the other Provinces of Canada to be discovered... :)"

Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Us Thanksgiving Get-away

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

"We spent 8 days at this home while skiing at the Canmore Nordic Center and touring Canmore and Banff. We were fortunate that snow arrived just a few days before we did (on November 19). We encountered bitter cold, with high temps around zero (F) the first several days. But by the end of our stay the temps were close to 20 F and much more comfortable for skiing.

The house is as beautiful as it looks. It is fully equipped. We cooked our american Thanksgiving dinner and had everything we needed. We were 8 in number - four adults and four kids ages 9-15 - which was ideal, though we could have slept two more comfortably.

The house is spacious and modern. It's perhaps a bit too spacious and spartan for my taste. Also affecting this feeling was the fact that the heat wasn't turned on properly before our arrival. The in-house temps were about 55 F when we got there and it took almost 36 hours before it stabilized at 69. We called about the heat, but it wasn't clear to us that changing the temperature remotely had an effect, though clearly, either our fidgeting with the system or the remote people fidgeting with it got it to work better. The infloor heat in the basement was most comfortable.

The basement had a TV set up with satellite/cable and we spent a fair amount of time there.

We brought our own slippers -- a must. Some additional blankets/throws for the couch areas would be an improvement. And perhaps an additional TV. We're not big on TV, but for this trip it would have been nice to have one.

Our kids loved the climbing wall, and though they didn't climb on it every possible moment, it's clear that the existence of the wall was something that was remarkable to them.

The scenery is absolutely beautiful. Top score also goes to the kitchen, which was modern, clean and well equipped.

The house as a whole was very clean. Infloor heating in the bathrooms was nice."

Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Mountain Property & Breathtaking View

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

We enjoyed a fantastic week-long vacation here & are already planning our next visit! There was lots of room for everyone to enjoy different activities and areas in the house at the same time and still have privacy. Peaceful, relaxing, beautiful.

Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Fabulous Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

This was our first time to the Canadian Rockies and it was fabulous! The rental home at Silver Tip Heights is beautiful, convenient to everything you would want to do yet private and not in an area that has significant tourists. There was ample room for our extended family and we would highly recommend it!

Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful, relaxed family retreat for all ages

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

The whole experience renting this house was exceptional - the prompt and courteous service at Rockies Rentals, the beautiful house exactly as presented on the website, and all the little amenities included in the house. The only surprises were all good ones. The house was spotless, absolutely well equipped in the kitchen and the playroom, including foozball, table-top hockey, table-top tennis, board-games. The heated bathroom floors were a big hit. A perfectly stressless family reunion, with plenty of room for us all to spread out and relax. Extremely quiet location. We had 3 huge buck elk grazing next to the house on our first night. When we sadly had to leave, as we were getting into the car, my grand-nephew waved to the house and said 'bye bye mansion'.

Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sunil's feedback

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

The house was very well located and so was the service. One great thing was we were given 2 passes into Banff NP, thus saving us a bit of money and daily hassale. All things considered, the home and service was great...the price, hmm, a little pricey.

Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

"House is more than excellent, it should have ten star ratings. It has all the amenities and the house is well equipped with all the kitchen necessities.
The view from living room and upstairs bedroom is like no other.
Park passes they had saved us time and money.
The owner has equipped the house with everything that is required in daily life.
We have been visiting different countries for the last ten years and renting either apartments or houses, this house was the best."

Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lots of room for the whole family to hang out in t

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

Had a really great lunch at the Chateau Lake Louise the prices were good and the food excellent but the view was the best. Murietta's in Canmore was another great lunch with mountain views and good food. Banff Springs Mother's Day Brunch was awesome!!! What a great way to take your family to see the Rockies

Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

Getting in and out of the house was a breeze. The house is incredible, with a great view, and was large enough for our big family. Location is great - not far from the highway. Would absolutely rent again.

Note from Owner: This review was originally posted in our property Guest Book. All property reviews can be reviewed at our website

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Very Nice Home with a Couple Minor Flaws

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

This is a new, very roomy, contemporary home that was fun to live in. The view from the living room windows and the decks is outstanding. The large, high-ceilinged living room itself was impressive. The property managers were VERY cordial and friendly There was plenty of space for everyone although I thought the layout was a bit inefficient. I also felt the colors used in decorating (grey walls and grey stone) and hard surfaces (causing even quiet conversations to echo) prevented a feeling of warmth that would have been really nice to have. There was only one TV in the house--which was OK for us, and maybe one too many for some--but seems unusual for a house of this size and rent range. We selected this unit because it was the only four-bedroom we could find making late reservations and found it to be satisfactory but would probably see what other options were available should we return.

Owners response: Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit to Canmore. The views from the Silvertip Heights property are certainly quite stunning. Perhaps we can convince the owner to add an accent wall or two for those of us that can see colour (the owner is colour blind, and quite modern in his styling -- thus the grey minimalist motif). All of our privately owned units have only one TV. Those homes are used by the owner's family when visiting, and they usually prefer to be outdoors as much as possible (or gathering as a family when watching a movie). Our resort units tend to have a TV in each bedroom, in addition to the living room. We are always looking for ways to improve our properties, or wondering which type of units we should add to our inventory. We do have other properties available with more TVs, and each with a unique layout. I've always loved the colour palette at our Quarry Retreat property.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

What a great place to stay!! Our
"wannabee" ladies investment club had
great fun! Thank you for the use of your
beautiful home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

Thanksgiving 2009

Thanks so much. What a beautiful place. It
was great to see the wildlife right out
the kitchen window. The kids loved the
rock wall! Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: October 9, 2009   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

Thanks! We had a great time here in
Canmore and the house was great. As the
chef for the past four days I have to say
I loved it! Thanks for the hospitality!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 12, 2009   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

The kids loved the room at the front to read, play cards, get away from adults. The kitchen was incredibly well equipped. I even made muffins. The Canmore Quad Tour was amazing (thanks Chuck!) White water rafting was fun. Loved the street fair on Saturday. Thoroughly enjoyed dinner at Rustica. Elk paid us a visit to our kitchen window on Friday. Did a run with Run Fit group on Sunday ... lots of fun.

Owners response: We are please to hear your family enjoyed the amenities and visiting wildlife.

For others reading this comment, here is more information about the local attractions mentioned:
Canmore Quad Tours: canmorequads(dot)com
Rustica Steakhouse: rusticadining(dot)com
Canmore Street Fair: Occurs on the Saturday of the Labour Day long weekend, annually in September.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: July 24, 2009   Date of arrival: July 24, 2009

Such a lovely stay in your beautiful
home. Thank you so much for the warm
hospitality. May you and your family
have many wonderful times this summer
and over the years so that when you are
72 (at least) you'll have a fabulous
store of precious memories. This weekend
will always be one of my special
memories.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review