reviews for: listing #58155 - Princeville, Hawaii House rental

Waioha "Joy" in Hawaiian
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $375 - $600 /nt
    $2,300 - $4,200 /wk

sort by:

Best of the Best

Review submitted: July 14, 2008   Date of arrival: June 15, 2008

My family and friends stayed at this beautiful home during our 25th Wedding Anniversary Celebration! It has absolutely everything you would ever want in a house! It was spacious and cozy at the same time. The beds were heavenly, the hot tub rejuvenating and the pool table a big hit with the 4 teenagers! After sun, fun and snorkeling, it was wonderful coming back to the relaxing spray of the outdoor shower and sitting on the patio to watch the sun set over the pristine golf course. This was the favorite pastime for my golfer husband. The owner was excellent to work with and went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. I recommend staying at least 2 weeks, there is so much to do on the North Shore! My favorite was zip-lining at Princeville Adventures. The teenagers went scuba-diving with Ocean Quest. They have professional teachers who even though it was my 14 year olds first time scuba-diving, he felt at ease and enjoyed the experience so much, now he wants to get certified. I won't get started on the golfing, but my husband says you have to do the Ocean course on the Makai! Thanks for a great memory!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Our hope is that everyone will enjoy themselves as much as these guests. We will do whatever we can to make your trip easy and fun for all.

Helpful votes: 18 / 19

 

Dreams Came True

Review submitted: May 31, 2014   Date of arrival: September 18, 2013

Although our Family stayed Waioha last September, I'm writing this review now on May 31, 2014, because our youngest daughter was just married. In this time of celebration we were all in agreement that we would all like to return to Waioha where our dreams of a relaxing vacation came true last year!!! It is beautiful, spacious, with lots to do together as a Family. We didn't sight see much but enjoyed spending time together playing billiards, swimming in the pool, and relaxing in the jacuzzi. We even had a cookout on the patio grill. We are now dreaming of next year when we can have our new Son in law experience what the rest of us have been raving about. We look forward to once again journeying to WAIOHA, where our Dreams Came True!!!

Owners response: Mahalo!!! We're glad you are savoring such great memories!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly a home away from home!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

We took an adult family vacation to paradise and found this wonderful home to be the perfect gathering place. Mornings together planning our day's activities over coffee, dinners together when we wanted to just have a casual evening of rest. Quick drives every day to a different beach to spend the day, or watch sunsets and sunrises were always on the agenda. This home was clean, well maintained and the staff was quick to assist if we had a question or problem with anything.

This property was spacious and allowed us to spread out and really relax. Thank you for a great start to our New Year 2014!

We'll definitely return, it was a great visit!

Owners response: Thank you and we look forward to having you return!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

Mahalo Linda for a wonderful time in your beautiful house! Waioha house exceeded all of our expectations. The house is conveniently located in Princeville, spacious, beautiful, & there were so many small touches (night lights in the kids' room, travel books to borrow, games to play, etc.) that made our stay enjoyable. The view of the Makai golf course & ocean was stunning. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen well stocked, & ventilation with the trade winds made the house always feel the right temperature. The kids loved the pool & I enjoyed running along the trails along the Makai golf course.

Mahalo for a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Home for a Kauai Vacation

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

This review is long overdue. We stayed in the home while attending a large family reunion on Kauai during the 4th of July week in 2013. We reunited with three of my first cousins who I had not seen for over 30 plus years. We also met the Hawaiian side of our family that included hundreds of auntie, uncles, and cousins we had never met before. There were six of us staying in the four bedrooms, the best feature was each bedroom had it's own bath. The house itself is fantastic and well maintained. On our first day there, the maintenance staff came by to change some burned out light bulbs, and they also helped us to adjust the timer on the pool hot tub, which was turning on by itself at times. Apparently the cleaning crew had summoned the maintenance people while the were preparing the home for our arrival. each of the bedrooms is very roomy, one down stairs, and three upstairs. The home sits adjacent to a golf course and I sat out back on the massive back lawn close to the green, and as I smoked my cigar, I shouted "In The Hole" each time a player hit their approach shot to the green.
The kitchen is supplied with everything you need to prepare sandwiches or a gourmet meal. In fact we invited some of our other cousins over for a pot luck bar-b-que one night and had an enjoyable meal. We made use of the pool table and had a little friendly tournament. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the home. The home is located on road going into the Westin and the St Regis hotels. I would recommend this home to anyone visiting Kauai for any reason.

Owners response: Mahalo and we are so happy you and your family enjoyed themselves!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A very true feeling of the Island

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

This home is everything you can ask for! It is beautifully decorated and the layout is fabulous. We had our children with us ages 17 to 24 they had a fabulous time. Each having their own bathroom was a joy in itself! The pool table, pool and hot tub after great beach and sightseeing days was an added bonus as well. Everyone had their own space to unwind. The kitchen is a dream. We cooked a few nights and ate outside on the patio the foliage out there is just beautiful! The market and great restaurants are extremely close.
The 11th green of the Makai Course is right out the back door. My husband and I spent time setting outside watching the golfers and many mornings having our coffee. The view from there and the Lanai upstairs is brilliant.
We all kept saying "what a great house this is". It made our trip extra special!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Ohana found!!

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

Beautifully and practically appointed, this home welcomes you when you first walk through the door.

The open layout and spacious "en suite" areas gave our family both gathering and retreat areas, a beautiful and comfortable home to return to after our Kauai adventures.

With its understated elegance and feng shui vibe,this home blends perfectly with the Ohana that describes the effects this island has on its visitors.

Owners response: Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Looking for paradise?

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

If you are looking for paradise and a wonderful overall trip, book a trip to Kauai and book this home. First and foremost- the layout of the home is perfect to provide privacy to multiple families and/or adult children. My parents, sister and her husband, and our family of 4 (spouse and 2 teen age boys) rented the home. The boys shared the upstairs room that had 2 queen beds, all the other couples had their own king size bed and all 4 bedrooms have full bathrooms which provides plenty of privacy. Two of the upstairs bedrooms open out onto a balcony and the downstairs master bedroom opens onto a patio. Just this layout makes for a wonderful opportunity to enjoy being together- playing pool, cooking, lounging in the hot tub- but also the ability to relax in privacy for "downtime". The gourmet kitchen is perfect to cook your fresh catch of the day without stepping on top of one another. The home is beautiful- the owners act more like gracious hosts and this combination makes for a win/win situation. The pictures shown are very true to the beauty of the home/landscape/and décor- a big plus is the washer/drier of course and the beach supplies in the garage- ice chests, beach chairs, umbrellas- all so handy after all who will pack those? Saves you from having to purchase them.


Do yourself a favor and book this home and prepare to make special memories. This was our 2nd trip to the island and our first time to rent this home. We will definitely book the home again for our next trip to the island.

Owners response: Thank you so much!!! You love all the things we do about the house. Please come again--we'll be waiting to hear from you! Mahalo, Linda

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Adult vacation

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

OMG! This house was awesome... There were 8 total guest and never did we feel like we were on top of one another....the rooms are so beautifully laid out, the open space to sit around talk was so nice. Every thing in the description was right on, the only thing that bummed us out was the resistance pool was not working, but other than that none of us were ready to leave the island or this house.
I had to mil Linda while we were there and she responded so quickly, which was so nice...wasn't nothing big but her response just made it better..
We pretty much went to Costco and bought our food and come back and either BBQ or made dinner her beautiful kitchen...
Our adventures this trip were the zip line, OMG try it if you haven't so fun and the guides are great.... sky dived and again just awesome...we did a dinner cruise...there is so much to do,and it always felt so good to come back to the house and enjoy what it offered..
You will not regret renting this home for your next visit to kauai....

Owners response: Mahalo, I'm so happy you had a wonderful time! We are so happy to be able to share our home and reviews like this make it extra special! Please come back and see us again, there is more of Kauai to discover!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mom's 70th Birthday!

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

10 of us for 10 days this house worked, open plan and plenty of room. Kitchen worked excellent for us. The BBQ needed cleaning but worked great after we cleaned it. Pool was great for the kids,even when it raining. We all enjoyed the house Mahalo!

Owners response: Aloha, thank you and I'm glad you had a wonderful time. I'm sorry about that BBQ--very unusual for our wonderful housekeeping team to miss that, but I guess accidents can happen. Please come back and stay again--we give one night FREE to returning guests! Mahalo

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent choice!!!

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

We have stayed elsewhere in Princeville before, and while very nice, it didn't really compare to the benefits of this house. We rented it for ourselves and our grown children and spouses, 7 of us in all. We will stay here again when we get to come as a family again. The pictures and descriptions are right on, maybe even not as good as it really is. We all felt very at home and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. There wasn't a one of us that wanted to leave when the time came. The owner is extremely easy to work with and was very responsive to any issues that arose. If the house size and price fits your needs/budget, you can't go wrong with this beauty. Thank you, Linda, for sharing your beautiful home with us. One thing in particular to address, if you are people who want to cook and maybe have a number of helpers who enjoy cooking as well, you won't find a better kitchen for that. The island is huge and best yet has a second sink in it. Plenty of seating around it as well. We only ate two meals away from the house, so you can see we really used it. Mahalo

As a point of interest, the Prince Golf Course was open this year as opposed to 2011 when we came last. I can't address the golf, though my men said it was pretty unforgiving, but the restaurant/bar was wonderful. We did the happy hour food and drinks, and all was very good and the prices at that time were reasonable. In fact, my husband and I are headed back in about 6 weeks (without the family) and plan to eat there several times.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Louteal! I am so so delighted you and your family enjoyed Waioha!! We always feel like it is such a beautiful home, but sometimes don't want to "toot our horn"! I agree with you about the kitchen--it is nicer than the one we have at home here in California! I'm looking forward to your return!
Linda

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Group of friends stay

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

Staying at Princeville was a wonderful experience. This house was clean, fully equipped with everything a group of people could need (including snorkels, boogie boards, washing powder, kitchen utensils etc). Each bedroom has an ensuite which made it easy to share out rooms without it being "unfair" to anyone. The house was large and well set out. The decor was tasteful and Linda was very helpful and easy to organise the trip with. She provided the group with reccommendations and was prompt with answers. I highly reccommend staying here. For a large group this was the perfect way to see the island - great for nights playing pool and talking in the jacuzzi and much much nicer than staying in a hotel.

Owners response: Mahalo--we have been fortunate to share our home with so many others--it always feels like we make new friends,every time someone stays in our home. We do hope you come back soon--we give a FREE NIGHT to all returning guests!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best vacation ever

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

I highly recommend this house, its roomy, comfortable, beautiful, great location and has everything needed for all your adventures. I cannot wait to go back to this home! Thank you Doug and Linda for sharing your home with us.
Terri

Owners response: Thank you! Come back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Most Amazing House

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

We had the most amazing time at this most amazing house in Princeville! We each felt like we had our own suite/hotel room as each bedroom is beautiful with a master bath. In all the vacation homes we have been in, we have never had this set up. There are so many places to go in this house... patio on the golf course, private patio with pool and hot tub, sitting room upstairs with another patio/balcony, living room, pool table area, dining area, and the best kitchen ever for entertaining and sitting around the island eating and talking. There were so many extras including very nice garage for car, lots of beach gear, top-of-the-line washer/dryer. We loved how we could open all the windows and doors and get that beautiful indoor/outdoor feel as well as that amazing Hawaiian breeze. We loved taking walks in the morning around the neighorhood and to the town center for groceries, coffee, views! Beaches were very close and the most amazing of anywhere else on the island. Anini Beach was our very favorite, perfect for smaller children. Thank you so much for a wonderful vacation and wonderful home!

Owners response: Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Number 1 overall experience

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

When I first saw this property, my wife and I fell in love with it. We couldnt actually afford it, but Linda and her husband were very reasonable. They talked to me and gave me a deal after not even knowing me and I was treated with much respect. Linda's house is absolutely as beautiful as the pictures. They keep their house well maintained and it is in a quiet beautiful neighborhood. I would definately rent this house or at least from this couple again. I have already referred this house to several of my friends and they plan on taking a vacation to Hawaii next year. I hope others get the opportunity to rent this house from these people. You will understand the wonderful experience I had the pleasure of enjoying

Owners response: Mahalo for your kind comments. This young man was in the service and planning a trip with his family on leave. He was so polite and kind! I'm glad he had a wonderful time. Most of our guests are completely surprised with how beautiful the house is, and how hard we work to make it a beautiful home away from home. We hope you will come again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An Amazing Home!

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Waioha. The owners have made sure that the home has every amenity you would need. The house was very clean, open, spacious and well kept. The kitchens and bathrooms are all beautiful and clean. I especially loved looking out the window at the beautiful green mountains every morning when showering. The upstairs balcony is such a perfect place to relax and drink a glass of wine or read a book. We also loved that there were beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, coolers and snorkels to use so we didn't have to buy anything or rent anything. We will definitely be back and truly enjoyed our stay. The owner was very nice to work with as well.

Owners response: Aloha and Mahalo, thank you and we are so delighted that you enjoyed our home. I hope you will come back again. We do give a free night stay to all returning guests!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

This Home Beats ANY 5 star Hotel!

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2012

You really can not ask for a better place to stay! The beds and pillows were comfortable for all the members in our party (7 adults and 2 children). The house is incredibly clean and spacious. All the amenities that you would need in a home and to go hang out on the beach. My 9 and 5 year old woke up every morning and headed straight for the pool. Then they had to go into the hot tub because, "it was there". Some of the adults would drink their coffee on the lanai upstairs where the red crested cardinals would join occasionally. The golfing is spectacular! The convenience of having a grocery store two minutes away can not be beat. There is a play ground walking distance to take small children. Oh, and their favorite treat was the shaved ice! Warning though, one is huge. All in my party kept commenting how wonderful the house was. I couldn't agree more, that is why I would give this place more then five stars if I could. Thank you Linda and Doug.

Owners response: Thank you Deb. I'm so glad you were able to stay with us! My husband just goes nuts over the beautiful condition of the golf course since it's renovation. We're heading back in November, can't wait to be there again. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Mahalo

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Linda. Your home was all that your web site said it would be...location, size, furnishings, ammenities, comfort...it had it all. And of course Kauai itself is the best of the islands and Princeville is the best of Kauai. We look forward to renting from you again in the future. Thank you. Bill & Jeanne, San Diego, California

Owners response: thank you Bill, we look forward to your coming back to Waioha--don't forget you get a free night for being a return guest! Mahalo, LInda

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous house and Location

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

Kuai is a very special place and so it is the house. Myself and my family really enjoyied it and we were so much feeling home here that we never visited a local restaurant for dinner. The house is very well placed in a peaceful and beautiful area. We really liked the remodeled golf course there. Quite expensive but once in a while it's worth playing in a PGA Championship class golf course.

I highly recommend this house, it was just perfect to us.

Jacopo

Owners response: Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sunbathed in Beauty and Comfort

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

We arrived with great anticipation at our holiday accommodation in Princeville. The photos on the internet gave us an idea of the excellence of this home and we were not disappointed..in fact my family of 8 adults and 2 grandsons all went WOW as we stepped through the entrance way. The next 7 days were spent relaxing beside the pool or playing snooker or watching the golfers battle it out on the 11th hole (we always applauded if they sank the ball), going to the beach or just relaxing on the patio or in the jacuzzi.... The best thing was that we all had our own slice of paradise in our bedrooms with its own bathroom which proved a blessing when we all had to prepare for my sons wedding. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a home away from home and a slice of heaven thrown in. Liz & Phil Genford ..Sydney... Australia

Owners response: thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A beautiful home!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 26, 2012

Great place! We hope to return someday.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved this home!

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

This is truly a beautiful home in a beautiful neighborhood. Everything you need is there, spotlessly clean and in working order. Loved the views of the golf course and ocean from the back of the house. The layout provided plenty of privacy for our family group of eight adults, yet the living and dining areas, the lanais and patio offered the perfect opportunities for together time as well. Not to mention the fine pool table, the hot tub and the resistance pool. Bright and cheery, tastefully furnished with a real eye for quality. Conveniently located – easy walk to Princeville Shopping Center, where there are restaurants, shops and a grocery store. We especially liked the coffee shop Lei Petite. Can’t say enough about it all – absolutely loved it! The owners are great to work with, as well as the housekeeping and maintenance staff. Would not hesitate to rent again or recommend. A real paradise!

Owners response: Thank you Lori--sounds like you found a new coffee shop for us to try! We always look forward to our old favorites and the new ones that are yet to be discovered--just like the hikes and beaches we enjoy...so little time, so much Kauai! Have a terrific Thanksgiving!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 19, 2011

We've stayed here twice and love this home! The kitchen is spacious and beautiful, the home is well furnished, 3 families stayed here very comfortably. We especially appreciated the well-stocked beach supplies - chairs, mats, coolers, toys. There is a grocery store walking distance, and lots of beaches nearby.
We also enjoyed sitting on the patio sipping coffee and watching the golfers go by!
Thank you to Linda for all the Island information you sent before our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Aloha Deborah, and I'm so glad you found Waioha as nice the second time around. It is an utmost compliment to have guests return! Please come back again when you visit our beautiful island.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Dream Vacation Home

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2008

Our very first trip to Hawaii was for my Husbands 50th Birthday in December 2008 and we stayed in this house. There was the two of us, our Son his wife and baby and our nelwy married Daughter and her husband. Each couple had their own romantic wing and privacy. We happened to be there over Christmas and I can honestly say that that will be one of the most memorable Christmas's ever. The kitchen is a dream and was perfectly equiped to cook a big Christmas dinner. The decor is tasteful and very inviting and we all had so much fun playing pool at night. This house caters for all needs (including excellent books to read on the beach) all we had to pack was our clothes, sun tan lotion and then buy food when we got there. This is truly a dream vacation house in paradise :) Thank you for sharing your beautiful home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Izzy, so glad you had a memerable trip. We are on island now with our adult children and having a blast. Always feels so good to be here....Come back again--remember I give a free night to returning guests! Linda

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Mahalo Kauai

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

We just got back from our vacation and want to say it was the best we have had! The house was beautiful and the pictures just doesn't give the house the justice it deserves, it is a great house. Close to the shopping center made it easy for both eating in or dining out. We celebrated our 35th anniversary along with one of our daughters birthday and the house and the island was a great way to celebrate both. We will truly remember our stay at your house and will gladly recommend staying there to all. Thank you Linda for a life time of memories and for all of your help and information.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha and Mahalo! So glad that you enjoyed your stay in Kauai. We hope you will come back again, and remember, we give a free night to returning guests!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

The house was beautifully appointed. Furnishings were superb, as was the kitchen. The position of the house is wonderful, overlooking the golf course. We cannot fault the property at all. Mahalo Linda for letting us stay in your fabulous home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Than you Jan, I'm so glad you were happy with your stay. We are so happy to share our home with others! Mahalo, Linda

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Home Away from Home

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

I stayed at the home for 4 days in October. My friends and I could not have been happier! Here's what we liked the most:

-Pool table, hot tub, swimming pool, boardgames, flatscreen tv, bbq, wifi...you could practically stay at the house during your vacation and never get bored!
-Every bedroom is a master with a beautiful bathroom. Having this space is wonderful.
-Beach toys, chairs, coolers all available for use. Going to the beach was so easy--everything was there in the garage!
-Beautiful kitchen with all the supplies you need--we cooked a lot and always had just what we needed. I also loved that the pantry was stocked with spices, sauces, and all the basics so you don't have to buy those while on vacation.
-Large, modern washer and dryer. Nothing is better than being able to wash clothes while you're on vacation, especially when you're spending time at the beach and on hikes.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful, Beautiful Princeville

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 29, 2010

I rented this home to accommodate four couples traveling. We love Princeville and wanted to share this area with our three other set of friends. We stayed at this lovely home from Sept. 29 - Oct. 3rd and the house was perfect in every way, especially since each couple had their own bedroom and bath. We have some very very special memories when all eight of us cooked in the hugh, well stocked kitchen every morning and almost every night. The sunsets over Bali Hai are breathtaking and always spectacular.
The guys loved the pool table in the late afternoon and it still allowed the girls to still be present while they had their own fun.

We would definitely rent this home again and would recommend the property to others. Mahalo to the owners for letting us use their beautiful home and for being so responsive during our pre-rental process.

Carol & Ron, (Chicago), friends from Wales, England,
Toronto, Canada and Kona, Hawaii.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: thank you!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous home away from home....

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

We rented this house for some of our out-of-town family guests ... for our wedding. Our guests were thoroughly surprised at how gorgeous the house was and so was I. The furnishings were perfectly "Tommy Bahama-esque" and the the house was very well-maintained and well-stocked with kitchen utensils, plates, cups etc. The home has a spacious kitchen and living area where the family spent most of the time congregating while they weren't in their respective bedrooms. The best part was that each bedroom had it's own bathroom! It was conveniently close to the Princeville Center and the Princeville golf course too.

Our family's stay at Linda's beautiful home made our wedding even that much more special.

Thanks!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous home away from home....

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

We rented this house for some of our out-of-town family guests ... for our wedding. Our guests were thoroughly surprised at how gorgeous the house was and so was I. The furnishings were perfectly "Tommy Bahama-esque" and the the house was very well-maintained and well-stocked with kitchen utensils, plates, cups etc. The home has a spacious kitchen and living area where the family spent most of the time congregating while they weren't in their respective bedrooms. The best part was that each bedroom had it's own bathroom! It was conveniently close to the Princeville Center and the Princeville golf course too.

Our family's stay at Linda's beautiful home made our wedding even that much more special.

Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

casual elegance

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

We planned a 35 year reunion with school friends and were so pleased to find this beautiful house for our stay. It was spacious and comfortable for our group of 6 adults and 3 children.
We were pleased to find the house to be just as nice as seen in the photos. We were all in awe over the property and the casual elegance of the decor. The bedrooms were beautiful, relaxing retreats, each offered an en-suite bathroom and TV for ultimate privacy and comfort. We cooked most meals and the kitchen was ample in size and well-equipped to accomodate all of our needs.
Being that the house is situated right on the pristine golf course, watching the players was a favorite pastime when we were "home". It was conveniently located to a great grocery store, shops and restaurants, and this shopping center was close enough that we walked to. We found lovely beaches just a short drive away.
The homeowners have maintained their property beautifully, and Linda was very pleasant and helpful to us. We dream of returning to Waioha and would highly recommend it to anyone!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect in Every Way

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

What a perfect and beautiful home to spend time in. There wasn't a thing you could ask for that wasn't provided. The description and pictures of the home were bang on and the owner was very helpful in suggesting activities and places to visit such as the Na Pali coast, Hanalei, Waimea Canyon etc. etc. We were travelling with 2 other couples and if you wanted some space to yourself - no problem - although the overall feeling of the home was comfortable and cozy. We wouldn't hesitate to tell anyone to stay here and we will have many fond memories of our time in Princeville to last forever.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home in Paradise

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2009

This home was absolutely beautiful, just as the pictures depict. The property was beautiful...clean, well-maintained and supplied with everything one would need for a fabulous vacation. Even items we brought along because we thought we might need them, were already in the home.

We had only four people staying at the home (3 for the first four nights and an additional guest for the last four nights), so of course we had more than enough room to spare. We immediately felt comfortable and "at home" when we first walked into this nicely decorated and welcoming house. Each bedroom is a lovely suite, which was very much appreciated. We enjoyed morning coffee on the upstairs lanai each morning..The view of the golf course and the ocean in the distance was so very relaxing. Barbecuing by the pool at night and enough space in the kitchen for everyone to sit or cook without running into each other was very welcome as well. The guys enjoyed the pool table and everyone was happy that Wi-Fi was available.

There is a small pool and hot tub which unfortunately we did not use as our daughter and son-in-law (who were married on Tunnels Beach during our stay) were staying at the Westin, so we drove over there or went to the many beautiful beaches of northern Kauai. It was nice however to know it was available if we decided to use.

The owners of this home were extremely nice and helpful. I can't say enough nice things about them. I feel as if I have found new friends. They went above and beyond answering all my questions and even gave us great suggestions for fun and interesting things to do during our stay.

ReMax was also helpful. Unfortunately I left a clothing item in the home and they shipped it back to me.

In my opinion there is no more beautiful island in Hawaii than Kauai. Although we've been here before, this was definitely the best Kauai vacation ever. If you haven't been to Kauai, you haven't seen paradise and what better way to experience it then to have this lovely home to return to each evening to discuss all the adventures of the day.

My family is hoping to return once again to this beautiful home. We'd go back tomorrow if we could. (We're still suffering from island withdrawal). We highly recommend staying in this home and hope your vacation and all the memories you make will be as wonderful as ours was.

Aloha and Mahalo :)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5 out of 5 5 a great house

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: November 10, 2009

a great house
Leigh and Andre` Oahu
Review Submitted: December 16, 2009 Date of Stay: November 2009
My Family and I stayed at the house for 3 days for my birthday weekend, it is great house for relaxing, a hot tub, pool and pool table add to this of course!!

The house looks good in the pictures but is much more beautiful in person, it was very spacious, clean and beautifully decorated, we cooked a lot and it really has everything you need. The house has amazing views of the magnificent mountains and golf course and is just a 5 minute drive from the magical town of Hanalei. We live on Oahu and have stayed at lots of vacation homes with out of town guests and this house was the best value for money.
Stay here you will not regret it!!

Everyone commented on how comfortable the beds were, you know how it is, you miss your own bed when on vacation, but in this case I could have traded mine in!!

Last but not least I found Linda incredibly accommodating, she was very helpful and kind and we are already trying to think of an excuse to stay at the house every year.

Thanks Linda my 40th Birthday weekend was perfect because we stayed in your beautiful home.

Aloha,
Leigh and Andre`

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review of Waioha on the Island of Kauai Hawaii

Review submitted: February 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2009

We have had the pleasure of staying at Waioha on the Island of Kauai Hawaii two times.

What a fantastic home!!! It is located on the Golf Course with a beautiful view and the decor is outstanding!!
The home is BEAUTIFULLY appointed, spacious and allows privacy to each couple. The bedrooms are spacious and each bedroom has it's own private bath included. We spent many hours playing pool at their gorgeous pool table, and also enjoyed luxuriating in the hot tub as well as getting our daily workout in the resistance swimming pool and we enjoyed several rounds of golf.

We enjoyed many meals on the lovely patio which is very private, as well as delicious meals close by. The location is just a short distance by car to Kahaa and has easy access to tours, boat trips, etc. as well as the beach. There is something for all ages to enjoy.

We can't imagine staying anyplace else when we go to Kauai.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Kauai Paradise

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

This was the most perfect place to spend our Kauai vacation. Slept like a baby here with the sound of surf pounding the shore line. It was hard to got out during the day as this place was so comfortable for all. We aged between ages 52 years to 9 months and all where very happy as we learned to hang loose. I suggest renting scooters. It was a great way to see the north shore and gave everyone some freedom to come and go as they pleased. Linda made everything smooth and easy as we organized this family getaway. Can't wait to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Perfect in Every Way

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2009

What a perfect and beautiful home to spend time in. There wasn't a thing you could ask for that wasn't provided. The description and pictures of the home were bang on and the owner was very helpful in suggesting activities and places to visit such as the Na Pali coast, Hanalei, Waimea Canyon etc. etc. We were travelling with 2 other couples and if you wanted some space to yourself - no problem - although the overall feeling of the home was comfortable and cozy. We wouldn't hesitate to tell anyone to stay here and we will have many fond memories of our time in Princeville to last forever.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

a great house

Review submitted: December 16, 2009   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

My Family and I stayed at the house for 3 days for my birthday weekend, it is great house for relaxing, a hot tub, pool and pool table add to this of course!!

The house looks good in the pictures but is much more beautiful in person, it was very spacious, clean and beautifully decorated, we cooked a lot and it really has everything you need. The house has amazing views of the magnificent mountains and golf course and is just a 5 minute drive from the magical town of Hanalei. We live on Oahu and have stayed at lots of vacation homes with out of town guests and this house was the best value for money.
Stay here you will not regret it!!

Everyone commented on how comfortable the beds were, you know how it is, you miss your own bed when on vacation, but in this case I could have traded mine in!!

Last but not least I found Linda incredibly accommodating, she was very helpful and kind and we are already trying to think of an excuse to stay at the house every year.

Thanks Linda my 40th Birthday weekend was perfect because we stayed in your beautiful home.

Aloha,
Leigh and Andre`

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous home away from home....

Review submitted: October 9, 2009   Date of arrival: September 16, 2009

We rented this house for some of our out-of-town family guests ... for our wedding. Our guests were thoroughly surprised at how gorgeous the house was and so was I. The furnishings were perfectly "Tommy Bahama-esque" and the the house was very well-maintained and well-stocked with kitchen utensils, plates, cups etc. The home has a spacious kitchen and living area where the family spent most of the time congregating while they weren't in their respective bedrooms. The best part was that each bedroom had it's own bathroom! It was conveniently close to the Princeville Center and the Princeville golf course too.

Our family's stay at Linda's beautiful home made our wedding even that much more special.

Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Home in Paradise

Review submitted: September 27, 2009   Date of arrival: September 3, 2009

This home was absolutely beautiful, just as the pictures depict. The property was beautiful...clean, well-maintained and supplied with everything one would need for a fabulous vacation. Even items we brought along because we thought we might need them, were already in the home.

We had only four people staying at the home (3 for the first four nights and an additional guest for the last four nights), so of course we had more than enough room to spare. We immediately felt comfortable and "at home" when we first walked into this nicely decorated and welcoming house. Each bedroom is a lovely suite, which was very much appreciated. We enjoyed morning coffee on the upstairs lanai each morning..The view of the golf course and the ocean in the distance was so very relaxing. Barbecuing by the pool at night and enough space in the kitchen for everyone to sit or cook without running into each other was very welcome as well. The guys enjoyed the pool table and everyone was happy that Wi-Fi was available.

There is a small pool and hot tub which unfortunately we did not use as our daughter and son-in-law (who were married on Tunnels Beach during our stay) were staying at the Westin, so we drove over there or went to the many beautiful beaches of northern Kauai. It was nice however to know it was available if we decided to use.

The owners of this home were extremely nice and helpful. I can't say enough nice things about them. I feel as if I have found new friends. They went above and beyond answering all my questions and even gave us great suggestions for fun and interesting things to do during our stay.

ReMax was also helpful. Unfortunately I left a clothing item in the home and they shipped it back to me.

In my opinion there is no more beautiful island in Hawaii than Kauai. Although we've been here before, this was definitely the best Kauai vacation ever. If you haven't been to Kauai, you haven't seen paradise and what better way to experience it then to have this lovely home to return to each evening to discuss all the adventures of the day.

My family is hoping to return once again to this beautiful home. We'd go back tomorrow if we could. (We're still suffering from island withdrawal). We highly recommend staying in this home and hope your vacation and all the memories you make will be as wonderful as ours was.

Aloha and Mahalo :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Beautiful home full of amenities

Review submitted: August 5, 2009   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

We had the best vacation! The house was beautiful and had everything we needed. There was plenty of space for our 2 families (4 adults and 3 kids). The location was perfect for exploring the island. It was great to have the Princeville Town center within walking distance. It had a post office, gas station, grocery store, restaurants & shops.

We were on Kauai for a memorial service and this house offered a respite from the chaos!

We have tld all our friends about this gem!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great home

Review submitted: July 5, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

Property just as described in the posting. Lovely home. Very clean. Lots of room to spread out. We had 4 adults and 5 teenagers or near teenagers and each had plenty of space. Pool is small but nice and kids liked it. Also the pool table was a hit. We would recommend taking along basic spices if you plan to cook. Buying groceries in Princeville was expensive enough, but add in salt, pepper, garlic, etc.... was a bit over the top. We took some taco spices but thought some basics would be in the house. They were not. All non food kitchen supplies were available. We would suggest buying groceries in Lihu'e before going to the house if you have an early flight. We found a Walmart with groceries on our way to the airport to leave. The house also lacks enough wash cloths for daily bathing without doing laundry. Televisions/stations and wireless internet were also of good quality.

We had a great time exploring the island. Snorkeling at Ke'e beach was the best. We rented snorkel kits from "Snorkel Bobs", easy rental, good equipment. We then just took them from snorkel site to snorkel site,The middle of the road set was fine. Used the book, "The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook" by Wizard Pub to locate best beaches, tours, restaurants, etc. If you want to zipline, book before you get there. They were all booked a week in advance when we called. Kids loved body boarding at Lumaha'i, although this is only safe on calm days in the summer. Also Anini beach had a great rope swing near the river.
We took the Na Pali explorer to the Na Pali coast. Great day trip, ask about 2 for 1 special if you have kids. Bit of a rough ride, adventurous but fun.
Restaurant up near and around Princeville are nothing to write home about. Lihu'e Barbeque Inn on the south shore was good. Wishing well has good shave ice and is an experience in itself.
Husband enjoyed golf at Prince course at Princeville. Excellent course, very tough golf, He says only play if you love to golf, Also expect to add 10 to your usual score.
Renting this home is a no brainer. It is a great rental. Especially good for large families or multiple families/couples. On Kauai, take a chance, go explore. Outdoor activities were wonderful, but not well marked. Use the maps, take your GPS and have fun.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha and thank you. I'm glad you had a wonderful vacation. I apologize for your lack of kithen supplies. I would also be disappointed to find that these basics were not available. We have always had basic non perishable supplies in the home such as spices, oil, sandwich condements etc. I'm not sure where they went, but we will continue to make every effort to have those things available. Maybe we had an over exuberant guest who tossed everything prior to their departure! Again, thank you for the heads up on wash cloths. We will restock immediately. Your feedback is so valuable because it helps us to continuously improve the experience for our guests. Mahalo,

Linda

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Incredible Home!

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: May 20, 2009

This house is incredible. This was our 3rd, and best, trip to Kauai. We were there for my daughter's wedding and this was one of three houses we rented. The girls stayed in this house. Wonderful accommodations. Everyone commented on how well they slept. Great gourmet kitchen as well. One thing I especially noticed was how cool the house was. Most homes in Kauai don't have A/C so good ventilation is important. This house is well situated on the golf course which provides for a completely unubstructed breeze from the ocean. I would definitely rent this home again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Family Vacation

Review submitted: April 3, 2009   Date of arrival: March 25, 2009

Just a note to say how much we enjoyed our first trip to Hawaii, and staying at your home was part of the joy. What happy memories we have of the wedding (nearby on Anini Beach) and spending time with the newlyweds and the bride's family. We were so pleased that everything a traveler needs was there for us at your home (including the speakers for our iPods!). What was really great was the layout of the house -- we could retire to our individual rooms and not be in each other's way, while others were enjoying the hot tub and barbeque area. The living room and pool table area made the family gathering really wonderful. We will definitely recommend your home to our friends and stay there again when we come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Paradise in Priceville

Review submitted: March 29, 2009   Date of arrival: February 26, 2009

my husband and I were very happy with your lovely house as it was everything we expected and more. The house is very nicely furnished and is located in a quiet, upscale neighbourhood.
we would recommend this property to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Very Nice!

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: February 19, 2009

House was perfect for our group of eight adults. Everything was as described, quality furnishings and well maintained. Great value! Would highly recommend.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

More than the comforts of home...

Review submitted: March 25, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

While it was a short visit, the 3 couples in our travel group had an exceptional time. First class accomodations, very relaxing surroundings. The kitchen, hot tub and pool table created plenty of social encounters. The bedrooms allow each couple a very private and five star "hotel" environment.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A home that makes adults and children happy!

Review submitted: November 11, 2008   Date of arrival: August 23, 2008

Our stay at Waioha House was just delightful! The house is EXACTLY as pictured and described on the website. It is maintained in spotless condition, with all the amenities needed for a very comfortable stay. The simple, elegant, furnishings and open design allow kids to move around without parents constantly fretting about what they could destroy. The result is everyone gets to relax and have fun.

The four master bedrooms with bathrooms make it the perfect spot for several families or extended family. There is enough space and privacy for everyone.

The location is just perfect! It is walking distance to the Princeville Center and a very short drive to some of the most beautiful beaches. Secret Beach is a must visit-- although it is a hike down to the beach, it is stunning and really a sight to see. The calm Anini Beach is the perfect place to just relax by the ocean or learn to snorkel.

Finally, the owner was so helpful in trip planning and gave us many fun suggestions. One of our favorites was sunset at the Princeville Hotel-- sitting in the bar watching the sunset with drinks and appetizers made a perfect evening!


Shareen from Oakland California

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Week - Great house

Review submitted: October 28, 2008   Date of arrival: October 10, 2008

We found the Waioha home to be everything we had hoped for and more. There were 3 couples and we were perfectly comfortable and felt at home immediately. The location was ideal. Close to activities, shopping, some good restaurants, and the North Shore. It was a pleasure making arrangements with the owner and they were more than accommodating. I read these reviews with some interest when arranging for a place to stay. i don't want to sound too enthusiastic, but this home is way above anything the ads indicate. If you want an outstanding adventure in a beautiful home in paradise, this is it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful Princeville and Kaahumanu Place

Review submitted: October 9, 2008   Date of arrival: September 27, 2008

Thank you Linda for allowing me and my family to make your home our home. My 23 month old grandson, kept wanting to go back to "Hawaii Home". Your home is beautiful and everything is as advertised. My 85 year old mother found the premises easy to navigate and had the "vacation of a lifetime. When next visiting Kauai, I will be sure to see if your beautiful home is available for another stay.

Thank you again for a wonderful holiday!
Dennis

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

June 08 Vacation

Review submitted: June 23, 2008   Date of arrival: June 6, 2008

We spent a week with our family (daughters, husbands and grandkids - 9 total). Had a great time in this beautiful home. Property clean and well-maintained, description accurate and everything in proper working order. Home owner very responsive to our questions prior to arrival. Kids loved the lap pool and pool table. Location was perfect. Couldn't have asked for more. Would definitely recommend this property for vacation rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

AMAZING

Review submitted: June 7, 2008   Date of arrival: April 30, 2008

I went to Kauai with my family which was 6 adults and two teenagers. The pictures of this beautiful home do not do it justice in the slightest, it is just so much more beautiful than pictures can even describe. Everyone had plenty of room and it made our whole vacation. I would recommend that anyone that has the people to fill the beds rent this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 5, 2008   Date of arrival: March 5, 2008

Thank you so much for such a beautiful home for us to stay in while celebrating
our mother's 90th birthday. The architecture and interior design both get a "10"
and all of the amenities you provide are well appreciated. We cannot think of
anything more that might be needed. Kauai, as ever, was beautiful and we look
forward to returning soon

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2007   Date of arrival: August 29, 2007

Your home was a wonderful place to come back to after a very long day. Our
son and daughter in laws was perfect and we will return again. It was great to
have all of us in one place, and not scattered all over the island. Your home is
beautiful and was perfect for our family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2007   Date of arrival: August 2, 2007

We had a wonderful time in your fabulous home! Our family on the run non-
stop, and it was heavenly to come "home" to swim or play in the pool. This is
the only way we could have survived Kauai with our four kids! We fell in love
with Kauai four years ago and I'm sure we will return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 16, 2007   Date of arrival: July 16, 2007

Great home! Very warm and comfortable. Beautiful and full of first rate
furnishings. We all enjoyed our stay here very much. We have been coming to
this island for 30 years and hope to return to your home again. Aloha.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 14, 2007   Date of arrival: June 14, 2007

Thank you for providing such a beautiful home for our vacation here in Kauai!
We thank you for all of the beach toys! After spending time all around the
island, this is our favorite area. ( The Phillips family of 7)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review