reviews for: listing #58168 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee Cabin rental

Smoky Mountain Tower - More Space, Less Rent, No Add-on Fees
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Chalet Village
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $169 - $209 /nt
    $1,014 - $1,463 /wk

sort by:

Our Birthday Weekend!

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

We had a great, but short stay at Smokey Mountain Tower. It was my husband's birthday, so we took the whole family with us to celebrate. The 2 younger kids loved the game room and hot tub, while our older teens loved the pool table. Everything was just like online and everyone had their own space. The only suggestion I might have is to add a bunk bed in one of the bedrooms for younger siblings (boy/girl). The weather was great and the view from the top was fabulous! We would highly recommend this place. You won't be sorry.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Won't Find A Better Value!

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

After hiking and spending a night mid-week at Mt. LeConte Lodge atop Mt. LeConte, this was a great place to call home base for the weekend, relax and enjoy our family.
PROs:
The 6-person hot tub on the deck, the pool table and game room, our unexpected basket of welcome snacks, 4 spacious bedrooms, washer and dryer, well-stocked kitchen, awesome view from the Tower deck, open kitchen/family room layout allowed for plenty of social interaction for our big family. We also took advantage of access to the Chalet Village North Clubhouse and Pool. Nice place to cool off on a hot summer day, swim and relax - it's only a quarter mile away, but you may prefer to drive due to the step hills.

CONs:
We had no problem sharing 2.5 bathrooms, but if you weren't family - it might be an issue. We didn't mind, but some might take issue with the steps leading to the top floor tower bedroom/washer & dryer and deck. The deck on the main floor didn't have room for much more than the hot tub and small table. We had hoped to have a large deck area where we could all sit while drinking coffee in the morning or at dusk. Kitchen table was built to have a leaf - but we couldn't locate it. We would have enjoyed sharing meals all at one table - instead of spread out at several different areas.

Bottom Line: well worth the money - a true value to rent directly from the owners, compared to using a rental management firm that tacks on additional fees, security deposit and cleaning costs. We've stayed in chalets that had better views, prettier decor, etc ... But this was the best priced option for our large family on this trip. Dave and Marcia were both very responsive as we were booking - thank you for sharing your home. Unfortunately, we didn't see any bear, but no doubt they were in the area. Great memories!"

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Family Gathering

Review submitted: July 20, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We were blessed to have the space and amenities that allowed our family to gather and enjoy each other and our week together. There was plenty to do at the cabin with the hot tub, pool table, and games, but also the swimming at the club just capped it all. A blessed adventure!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful cabin and wonderful owners!

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

This cabin is HUGE and is is very beautiful! It was also exceptionally clean. We had a small problem with the air conditioning on the top floor, but we called and the owner called us back in a VERY short amount of time and had it working again. There was even a small basket filled with individual bags of chips and snacks on the counter when we arrived. The owners were wonderful when we called them about the air conditioning and when I emailed them a few weeks before we left with some questions. There is absolutely nothing negative I could say about the cabin, the owners, or my experience here. The cabin was gorgeous, and the owners made the rental experience as easy and painless as possible. We love Gatlinburg and will definitely rent this cabin this next time we come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful cabin exactly as described!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

We arrived to a wonderfully clean and spacious cabin! Everything was exactly as described and everything was wonderful. We are definitely planning on staying here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great value

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

We were at the Smokey Mountain Tower for three days and enjoyed our time there. The location is a little challenging to get to but the directions provide by the owner was very good. The hot tub and kitchen were very nice and well supplied.The beds were very comfortable and the openness of the living area was very attractive.The only problem we had was that the two and one half bathrooms were en-suite. The couple in the fourth bedroom without a bathroom had to go into another bedroom to use it. Not a problem in the daytime but late at night it was awkward . it is probably not a problem for a family but for 4 couples it can be a problem.Overall the house was great value for the money and we would recommend it to our friends.It is located just outside Gatlinburg and you can go to the Great Smokey Mountain Park or the craft shops without having to drive through the town itself. It is also located near the trolly stop if you do not want to drive into Gatlinburg. It is in a very quiet neighborhood but still 5 minutes from town.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ron

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Very disappointed to arrive at the cabin and find three out of the four heat pumps not working. And the service man was there until after midnight and still had to come back the next day to fix the last heat pump . No response from the owner for apology and they have my cell# and e-mail. Much any less any refund. I personally will not rent this cabin. Had I known that there was a heating problem I would not have rented this cabin in the month of Feb.

Owners response: Ron was correct in his assessment of the situation. We had installed new wi-fi thermostats and had been testing them for days. But our tests didn't pick up the failures because the temps were changing, due to ambient outside temps. We should have called him, but both our property manager and maintenance man told us that he was satisfied with their efforts. I have since spoken directly with Ron and he assured me he was satisfied with my response. In fact, he said he was going to call to have this review removed. But even so, we continue to work very hard to satisfy our guests, and we appreciate Ron's honesty in telling us about his experience. From what we have learned from talking with Ron, we believe we can make our guests' experience even better - which has always been our goal.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Terrific time!

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

Great cabin~clean, spacious, fun for all ages, close to trolley stop, minutes from Gatlinburg, great view, nice hot tub,helpful-accessible owners.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family of 8

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

Cabin was as described on the website description. Although the cabin was not new, it was clean. The children loved the pool table and air hockey. Our granddaughter called the top floor her "Princess Suite".
Would definitely recommend.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Recreation and Relaxation - All in One!

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Super easy to rent! The owner was easy to contact with questions and responded promptly. The home was in a beautiful location in the Smokey Mountains of Gatlinburg. It had plenty of room, comfortable beds, t.v.s in every room, games, and a hot tub. All linens were provided, as well as, laundry detergent and dish soap. We loved all of the extras, including the snack basket that was left for us. The location is in between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, so it is in a very convenient spot! We had a wonderful time and felt right at home in Smokey Mtn. Tower.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A very Satisfying Experience

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

It was a very pleasant and satisfying stay in the Smoky Mountain Tower. Though, we had a very short stay, we absolutely enjoyed the cabin and our stay in Gatlinburg/Smokys. The view of the mountains was breathtaking from the balcony of the cabin. Cleanliness was spot on. I will absolutely recommend this cabin to my friends and family and will definitely stay in Smoky mountain tower if I visit Smokys again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House...great vacation

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Smoky Mountain Tower. The house is spacious and clean. The space was larger than we really needed but our children enjoyed each having their own space. We were out and about quite a lot exploring the area but it was great to have a nice home to return to at the end of our adventures. We cooked in most nights...always easier with young kids to have familiar food available. The place could use a little more cookware but we got along with what was there. We felt right at home in this house and our own home feels a bit small now that we are back! The boys miss the air hockey, foosball, darts, and pool...wow, that was a lot of stuff! I packed all of the things I usually take when we rent a place like hand soap, dish soap, laundry soap, tp, paper towers, and was surprised that the place was really well stocked with items. We saw one bear in the neighborhood and one on a hike...definitely bear country! We took one trip to the clubhouse to use the pool...it was nice! We enjoyed the mountains...hiking each day. It was an easy drive from the house to get to the Park. We took the shorter hikes...usually about three miles round trip...all were longer than we are used to but not too much. There were many people on the trails telling you it was worth it. Mostly we went to the waterfalls...the kids loved the opportunity to get so close...when I say so close I mean soaking wet! (I think our favorites were called Grotto and Laurel Falls) Really beautiful...can't even choose which pictures to print from this trip because we got so many great ones! We also enjoyed Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. The towns would seem too commercial on their own but with the amazing mountain hikes and great vacation house it was a good balance. I was happy to be staying away from the business district. It didn't take long to get to and have some fun but it was great to escape back to the beautiful mountains afterwards.(Our boys loved Magiquest...we went twice) We actually stayed at the Christmas Inn in Pigeon Forge before arriving at our rental...I would recommend that to anyone needing just a taste of Christmas in July...it was beautiful and the Partridge in a Pear Tree restaurant across the street was surprisingly good...pleasing both the kids and adults! I usually like a beach vacation but this was every bit as enjoyable...we may need to alternate! Our kids loved this house and we would DEFINITELY rent it again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved it!!!

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The house was great, plenty of room and privacy if needed. We really like the sunroom with the pool table, we used it several times a day. The views from the decks are awesome, espeicailly the upper one. Having three bathrooms and a washer & dryer is a big plus. Would stay again and will recommend to family and friends. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best cabin ever!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

We stayed in a few cabins while traveling to different places over the last two weeks. We are glad that we stayed at the Smoky Mountain Tower for the longest period because it was by far the best in terms of its space and amenities. My kids loved the air hockey and pool table. We enjoyed the hot tub and swimming in the nearby club house as well. It was very very well equipped. The smokies is amazingly beautiful and there is a lot to do in Gatlinsburg, and the nearby areas. We will definitely plan another vacation to come back here. There are just too much to see and do. We probably will stay in SMT again, if we can manage to book it. It is a very popular cabin and well priced. I searched through many cabins and realized that they were small and overpriced. This one is not. The only thing that concerned us is the drive uphill. There are a few sharp turns, but if you plan your days well and come back to the cabin before dark, the drive will not be as difficult. Thank you Dave and his family for sharing the cabin with us. May God bless you all abundantly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay, beautiful view, lots of room

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

The cabin was great and everyone was very easy to work with. It's a little difficult to get to with all of the sharp turns and steep incline, but it's worth it for the view from the top deck. The photos on the website do not do it justice. We spent the weekend in the cabin for a girls' trip/bachelorette party and had a great time. Plenty of bedrooms for a big group to stay as well as couches in the living areas. I would love to go back, or recommend this rental to someone in a similar situation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Gatlinburg Getaway

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

We have stayed at the tower several times. Dave is excellent to work with and just couldn't be nicer. We have a large family and the tower is a super place to have everybody close but with their own space. The home is always clean, functional and well stocked with anything you may need for your stay. The location is great. Just a few minutes to either Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge and since it is on top of a mountain, the view is excellent. I would highly recommend at stay at the tower to anyone, especially larger groups and familys. We sure feel at home there.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Vacation Made Easy

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

We had a great time in the Smoky Mountain Tower. The setting is gorgeous. The property spacious. The kids loved the game room, playing pool and the hot tub helped us all unwind. The owner and team are VERY responsive. The biggest problem we had? Leaving!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Smokey Mountain Weekend

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

We (my wife, daughter and myself) recently enjoyed a wonderful long weekend at Smokey Mtn Tower. To sum it up from the beginning, the house totally exceeded all my expectations. As good as the pictures looked and the descriptions sounded, they did not do justice to the real thing. (All too often, it seems to be the other way around.) I could have stayed in the sunroom all day long. The view from the balcony on the tower was out of this world! I can only imagine what it looks like now as the leaves are changing. The house was well appointed throughout. The bedrooms are situated so that each room is rather private. We had fun shooting pool in the sunrom and my daughter really liked the game room.
If there is any down side, it would be the drive up the mountain to get to the house. If you are not accustomed to mountain driving, it may present a challenge to you. I will say though, that the drive is totally worth it and Dave provided excellent directions.
While you're in Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg, be sure to eat at the Old MIll and then shop around afterwards. Some other great places to eat that we have "discovered" are Bennetts BBQ, Huck Finn's (great catfish) and Mamma's Place.
We look forward to staying at Smokey Mountain Tower again in the near future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family vacation spot

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Smoky Mountain Tower is a great place for families. Its large accommodations were perfect for our family of six. We really liked that everything we needed was provided. The only thing we had to do was bring food.

The owners are very friendly. Any questions we had were promptly answered by e-mail. This really made us feel welcome and comfortable before we arrived. We didn’t have any surprises – everything was just as we expected based on our review of the web site.

It was great being able to go to the pool each day. There are 3 clubhouses within a few miles and each had friendly staff as well as other activities like tennis, ping pong, shuffle board, and foosball.
We were very happy to be close to Gatlinburg instead of Pigeon Forge. We stayed for a week and only went to Pigeon Forge once. There are lots of fun things to do in Gatlinburg and we went to the mountains on three different days. The hike to Grotto Falls was our favorite. We’d also strongly recommend a visit to Clingman’s Dome.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome!!!

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

The Tower was spacious, clean, and the view was remarkable. My kids love the games and pool table. Everyone had there own personal space. Ajnd the drive up to the Tower was an exicting and thrilling.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very good people to work with.

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Our recent stay of five adults and three childdren made this a perfect place for size. All enjoyed the pool table and we loved sending the kids to the "tiny" sound proof game room. We placed Nana in the tower and four flights for six days worked off all calories. The drive up really feels treacherous, but we made it. It was worth it after 44 years of trying finally seeing the bears (3 sightings and 5 bears {3 cubs}). The owners are terrific to work with and the price is great with no add ons. The home is older and the kitchen will be a little tight, but when you are having fun, who cares. I would have liked a little more outdoor space for the kids to play, but again we were busy lots of the time. We recommend the aquarium.
They Reynolds/Riek clan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Totally Relaxing!!!

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

We really enjoyed our time at The Towers. The view from the upper deck was great and the sunroom was very relaxing. I think all who stay here will be very happy with their decision to rent it. We saw 2 bears on the property and 1 within the community. The gameroom was fun for some down time. Very high up on the mountain but to get the views you need to be. Very convenient to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. Great home away from home!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Comfortable home with Mountain Views

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

We loved having this home to relax and unwind in on our vacation. It has nice mountain views but the view is from the top of the tower. The rest of the home is surrounded by woods. It's at the top of a mountain and the drive up and down is lots of turns and about 7 minutes long. We found this home very comfortable with lots of room, very clean, and homey.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Smokey Mountain Tower

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

We were in awe as we approached this property! The photos online really did not do it justice! Everything was clean and we felt at home immediately. The location was perfect! Right between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge and easy access to the trolley stop. The soundproof gameroom and pool table were a hit as well as the hot tub on the back deck. We saw a Momma bear with 4 cubs, twice and another lone visitor off the back deck. Lots of wildlife! The ease of booking and checking in were great! The owners were so nice and provided us with timely and friendly service. We are hoping to make this a yearly vacation spot and will recommend it to everyone we know.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best of the best

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

Smoky Mountain Tower was a great place for 3 senior siblings and spouses from various parts of the country to get together for a relaxing few days. The owner was super good to work with and the price was very good. I appreciated being able to also use a credit card, which makes it simpler to book, and no cleaning fee was an added incentive. We definitely would return and also recommend it to our friends. Having rented homes several times before, I found this experience to be the best we have had.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect getaway!

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

First I would like to thank Dave for making the booking process so easy!
There were 6 of us and this cabin was perfect! Nice and roomy! Everyone loved it! The cabin is pretty much right in between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. This was my first time in the Smokies and I loved every minute. The cabin is up the mountain a bit, as Dave advises, you should definitely find it in the daylight for the first time.The pool table was a big hit with the guys. They were playing before the car was unloaded. We didn't have a lot of time to get in the hot tub, but it was used the first night, the teens loved it!!!
I would definitely recommend this cabin to anyone that wants to stay in a home away from home.
Also, if you are traveling with any vegetarians, we had two with us, I highly recommend Taste of India in Pigeon Forge. They have a large vegetarian menu.
We will remember this mini-vacation for years to come.
Thanks again Dave!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect mountain getaway property!

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

This gorgeous home in the mountain is everything our family could have wanted for our Spring Break vacation. Plenty of room for us to all come together for games/movies but also our own individual spaces to read/listen to music. Home was clean and well-stocked and had lots of activities for us to enjoy in the evenings. Views from the balconies were phenomenal and the hot tub was so refreshing. Can't wait to come back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You have my families vote!!

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Smokey Mountain Tower, The view was amazing no matter what time that you stepped out on the tower deck. The view changed so much all we could do was take pictures. The price is wonderful, affordable, and better than any other that I checked. We will be back next year. You will be hearing from us again. Thank you.

Shawonna
2/4/11-2/7/11

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Smokey Mountain Tower is FANTASTIC

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

Dave is absolutely fantastic to deal with, you could not ask for better directions or communications. The cabin is exactly as described, as well as accurate photos. The place is extremely well maintained, and is the best you will find for tranquility. The sunroom was the most used room in the house. We shot pool, had our meals out there, and just enjoyed each others company. When they say the driveway is steep, believe it...however, once you master it, it's actually fun! The neighborhood is beautiful. We went for evening walks and it was really breathtaking to look across the mountains and see Ober Village and all the snow. There was nothing you need on vacation that wasn't provided for at Smokey Mountain Tower. We will stay there on our next visit, and highly recommend this cabin to everyone! Thank again to Dave, he made us so comfortable about our arrival

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Accomadations

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 24, 2011

Let me start my review by commenting on how nice the owners are. I booked by stay the same day I was to arrive. Dave contacted me to make sure that the reservations were correct. When I got to the cabin the pictures didn't do it justice. I use the word amazing because I could not believe the size of it for the price. Everything was well kelp. I never found any problems with my stay. I just didn't know what to look at first, the view from one of the two decks, to the game room, to the hot tub (although it was about 30 degrees). Direction to the cabin were easy. We drove straight to it after dark. It was truly a relaxing time. I would and will be returning to this cabin. Thank you Dave for providing a nice escape for me.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Another Great Smoky Mountain Get-Away

Review submitted: January 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

We had a great time in the mountains. The cabin was wonderful and the weather was super. We have stayed at Smoky Mountain Tower before and it is perfect for our family. There are things for the kids to do, plenty of space and great views. It was clean, well stocked and ready to go. I recommend Dave any time someone asks about a place in Gatlinburg. Thanks Dave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Thankful for our Retreat

Review submitted: December 10, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

Smoky Mountain Tower was the perfect place, in the perfect setting, to celebrate and give thanks for all our blessings. Our family of six had an enjoyable time relaxing, playing games and enjoying the view of nature in the fall! Spending Thanksgiving at the Smoky Mountain Tower was the ideal place for our family to get away and reconnect. The shops in Gatlinburg and Wonderworks in Pigeon Forge was full family fun for all of us. I would highly recommend The Smoky Mountain Tower to everyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A GREAT Place to Vacation

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: November 16, 2010

Our stay in the mountains was absolutely great! There was plenty to do around the house on the day it rained, and there were beautiful drives and hikes within easy driving distance. It was one of the most restful and relaxing vacations I have spent in several years. I would recommend it to anyone as a great time for a couple like us or a family with children!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful home away from home!

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

Our stay at this cabin was a wonderful experience and would highly recommend it. It was very roomy, larger then I expected and had a lot of extras including game room. The location was great in between peigon forge and gatlinburg so you can do activities in either area, the veiw was awesome. Will be staying here again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mountaintop Experience

Review submitted: November 12, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

When I booked the Tower, I had no idea how far up the mountain it was. The trip to the top was almost as much fun as staying in the Tower. Of course, I've always imagined myself as James Bond in a Austin Martin driving the Alps running away from some evil men plotting to blow up the world. Now back to reality, the house was perfect for us, with 2 little boys who shot bascketball, played pool, and air hocky, they were occupied the whole time. We had a beautiful 5" snowfall Saturday morning to the delight to everyone. All the amenities were great. This house is well kept, and the layout suites us to a tee. We will definately put the Tower in our future plans for the Gatlinburg / Pigeon Forge area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Smoky Mountain Tower

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 5, 2010

Just wanted to send an email to tell you that your home is beautiful, we had a great time while we were there. The hot tub was very nice and relaxing and having so many floors was great everybody had their own space. Thank you for sharing your home with us and when we come back to Gatlinburg we will for sure remember the Smoky Mountain Tower. Thanks again!!

Tony & Jessica S

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Tony and Jessica. We're glad you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back to Smoky Mountain Tower. -Dave

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Space

Review submitted: September 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

Smoky Mountain Tower is a very clean, large, well equipped and appointed open concept space with amazing views. We had such a relaxing time and really regretted having only allocated 3 nights for the Smoky leg of our road trip. This is a perfect location for a romantic getaway or for a family trip and is a great place to get some well deserved R&R. The owners have even taken the time to provide detailed instructions for operation of the chalet including labeling of all switches which was greatly appreciated. We can't wait to return! Thanks Dave and family for sharing your amazing space.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best vacation

Review submitted: September 16, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2010

Very cozy home with excellent views of the mountains. Quiet neighborhood. The house has all the amenities, very clean rooms and an amazing sun room with a pool table. The owners were very prompt in answering any questions or concerns we had before and during our stay. Overall, the best place we have rented on VRBO.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

For Everything there is a time . . .

Review submitted: September 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2010

Arriving at The Tower a week after my father's funeral I had few expectations. My sister and I wanted to help my mother get away and have time to regroup, reflect and grieve. The Tower provided the perfect place to do that. We had our children with us who stayed occupied with the game room, pool table, and hot tub. The community pool was also ideal with three different pools, one was convenient for my toddler and the other two were great for the other kids. The Tower itself was homey but not cluttered and overdone as many rentals I have stayed in tend to be. The kitchen was well equipped, there were places to gather as a group and also areas that were private when time alone was needed. The house location was surprisingly convenient to downtown Gatlinburg as well as several hiking trails in the National park. The children enjoyed an easy hike while the adults took a more strenuous trek. This was a difficult time in our lives that really found comfort, rest, and help in getting away to this beautiful home. I look forward to going back again later in the year to celebrate my wedding anniversary.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bigger than it looks!!

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

The owners are awesome, they left a nice wedding gift on the counter. The owners are very tenative to our needs. the place is actually bigger than the pictures . Alot of room. We got married here & it was so nice. Convienent to either town. Very nice pool!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Smokey Mountain Tower

Review submitted: June 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2010

The house was very roomy and comfortable. It was clean and well kept. The directions to the house was very easy to follow. The location was almost right in between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg so it was easy to get to all the attractions and restaurants that we wanted to visit.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful choice for Great Smoky Mountain vacation

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

It is my second visit to Great Smoky Mountain, and first stay at Smoky Mountain Tower. It is suitable for all kinds of tourist, especially groups with children.
The location is convenient, close to Gatlinburg. Very nice view from windows, and we have one bear visiting the parking lot during first evening! The place is fully equipped.
The owner is very nice, and we had a wonderful time during this stay.
The only thing needs attention is to drive safe in the mountain areas :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super vacation home

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2010

What a blast we had in this house. Even with a 2 & 4 year old there was enough room for all of us to have our own space! We truly enjoyed our experience. We never felt cramped & even didn't use all the amenities the home provided. I'd recommend this home to anyone!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Best Smoky Mountain Experience!!!

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

Pictures simply do not do this place justice! Once you step inside you will see that it is simply gorgeous! What a welcoming experience. The tower is tastefully decorated & has beautiful views! It is very affordable & worth every penny.....we miss it to this day! The owners are very hospitable and welcoming. The neighbors were all so friendly & courteous.....waving each time they seen us arriving back at the cabin! I must say that as long as these owners are renting we will be repeat customers! I thank them from the bottom of my heart for making our smoky mountain experience a very positive & memorable one!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our third trip

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

Thanks again for sharing Smoky Mountain Tower with us. We had a great time. This is our third trip to Smoky Mountain Tower. We love it here. The fireworks were great and it snowed on New Year's Day. We hope to be back next year.
PS - No bears!! We looked for Papa Bear but he was not to be seen this trip.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable Place

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

What a nice comfortable place to stay while visiting the area! The sunroom, hot tub, fireplace and tower room make for a great stay. It is hard to believe it is so close to town. I guess bear must frequently be nearby. We heard them but didn't see any this time. At least, not yet!
This place and the way you rent it is certainly refreshing compared to the cabins managed by the property management companies, not to mention the run-of-the-mill hotels and condos. A great value!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your Smoky Mountain Tower is beautiful!

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

I love the lighting inside and the fantastic views from the windows. The framed photos are great! Thank you for making this vacation special for me.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you!

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 6, 2009

Thanks so much for the use of your home. We have had a wonderful family weekend here. May God bless you today and always. PS - it snowed Friday night. It's gorgeous when it snows!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our third trip

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

Thanks again for sharing Smoky Mountain Tower with us. We had a great time. This is our third trip to Smoky Mountain Tower. We love it here. The fireworks were great and it snowed on New Year's Day. We hope to be back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable place

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 18, 2010

What a nice comfortable place to stay while visiting the area! The sunroom, hot tub, fireplace and tower room make for a great stay. It is hard to believe it is so close to town. I guess bear must frequently be nearby. We heard them but didn't see any this time. At least not yet!
This place and the way you rent it is certainly refreshing, compared to the cabins managed by the property management companies, not to mention the run of the mill hotel and condos. A great value!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

excellent rental

Review submitted: January 12, 2010   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

My family and I have stayed here 3 times over
the past few years and Love this property.
This home is very roomy and clean. We hope
to stay again at mountain tower in the future.
This property is highly recommended by our family . Bring your binoculars from the tower room you can see the ski slopes and actually see people as they are skiing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The place we stay when we're in the Smokies...

Review submitted: March 17, 2009   Date of arrival: March 6, 2009

We had a blast 2 weeks ago on our 3rd stay in the "Mountain Tower." We first stayed there back in October. I brought the wife and kids with me. In late January, my 2 brothers and I stayed there for a quick ski weekend. Then, 2 weeks ago, I stayed with the wife/kids again. We had the opportunity to stay in another home, but my wife told me she is falling in love with the "Mountain Tower." I can see why. The home has plenty of room. We could enjoy spending time together while the kids spent time playing in their room. The pool table was great, and gives us lots to do in the home. We also enjoyed the hottub on the downstairs deck and the jacuzzi in the "tower" upstairs. My wife enjoyed sipping coffee in the morning and watching the sunrise over the mountains. The view is one of the best I've seen in a rental in the Smokies (and I've been in quite a few.) The location is perfect, right between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. You can also drive directly to the National Park without ever going through either city to avoid the occasional traffic. Mountain Tower is "the place we stay when we're in the Smokies." I highly recommend it!

Raymond

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 17, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

The "Mountain Tower" is the perfect getaway, whether you are looking for a weekend away without the kids, or a fun family vacation. We've stayed there a couple of times, and I can honestly say I hope we can spend ALL of our future trips to the Smokies in "Mountain Tower" from now on. If you are looking for location, this is the place to stay. The home is between Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. You can hit either town in a few minutes, or you can drive straight to the national park via the bypass and not see either town on the way there. If you are looking for a great view, I challenge you to find a better view, or a more effective way of taking in the view than the "Mountain Tower." The entire top floor is designed to take it in. You can sit out on the wrap-around deck and sip coffee while looking at the smokies. Or, you can soak in the jacuzzi with the windows looking right out to the mountains. Even downstairs, you are nestled in the mountains, with beautiful views of the trees and the open mountains from the recreation room, or the hot tub downstairs outside on the other deck. If you are looking for a value, this is one of the better values I've seen around. I've stayed in a NUMBER of cabins in the area, and this is by far the best all-around package we've stayed in. I highly recommend checking into the "Mountain Tower."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review