reviews for: listing #58210 - Washington, DC House rental

Shaw Historic District aka Logan/U Street NW - 2BR 1BA Home
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Logan
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $245 - $345 /nt
    $1,595 - $1,795 /wk
    $3,695 - $3,795 /mth

sort by:

Amazing House, Great Location, Cooperative Owner

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

Put simply, this is an incredible house that is absolutely perfect for any group of 4-6 people. I'm a DC resident, and recently rented this house for my family to use during a 4 day visit here. The location is ideal for DC--1.5 blocks from the Metro (subway), very close to the National Mall and all of the monuments and museums, and in a historic, safe neighborhood full of great restaurants and nightlife. Few other, if any, neighborhoods in the city offer this combination. The proximity to both the subway's Yellow Line and 14th street make getting here a breeze from National Airport (DCA). Parking is plentiful on the block; we were able to park directly in front of the house every single time.

The house itself is gorgeous; it is apparent that the owner puts a lot of care into the home. The bedrooms were both large, but the main bedroom was absolutely huge and had large windows allowing for plenty of sunlight. The living room area is well-furnished and comfortable with a flat-screen, DirectTV, and plenty of chairs. The kitchen is extremely well-stocked; we prepared a large meal for 7 easily. The gas range is nice, as are the dishwasher and stereo system. There's plenty of room outdoors and a large charcoal grill as well, with the charcoal provided. Laundry machines are available also. Architecturally, staying in a historic rowhouse like this is far more interesting than a generic hotel room.

In addition to the house and its great location, Jayne is an extremely friendly and communicative person. She promptly responded to my initial inquiries and affords an extremely convenient payment method (PayPal), and even accommodated an early check-in request. In the house she provided a document showing great locations to eat and sight-see with a map for those not from the area. I checked on several other potential rental homes, and absolutely none of the owners were as expeditious and nice as Jayne.

Overall, I highly recommend this house, and will definitely be renting it again should I have a group of visitors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great Location

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This townhouse is in a GREAT location! Only 2 short blocks to the U Street Metro. The neighborhood was usually quiet. It is really quite charming. It is decorated nicely and was very clean. It felt like a home and not a spartan rental. Jayne is so easy to work with. She responded to emails promptly before we arrived, and returned phone calls quickly when we had questions once we were there. The A/C was more than adequate. One thing to be aware of...as is typical in this age/style of home the stairs were fairly steep and may not be the best choice for young kids. We only had 2 small issues. We would have preferred to have window covering on the front windows to provide some privacy at night. The living areas are above street level as shown in the pictures so it's not a huge issue. Also, the bathroom has a clear glass door. The shower and toilet area are blocked from view but the sink area is next to the door. Again, not a huge issue, but something to keep in mind.

We would certainly stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lori and party were delightful guests. I appreciate her mention of the 2 concerns and want to say that she is not the first to mention the shortcoming regards the need for window treatment in the LR and also the glass door on the bath. If you have a sense of humor, it might amuse you to know that when I first purchased the property, I had a neighbor who also made it known that he thought I needed a window treatment on the front LR. He would stand outside on the sidewalk and call my name and yell out, "Hey, Jayne, I need to talk to you about X,Y,Z." :-)
I will try to address these items asap. Thank you again for your nice review.
Safe travels to All,
Jayne

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

thank you

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

Thank you for having us at your lovely home.
Tom and Kellie

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

quite a discovery !

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

We stayed for one month with 4 adults and a baby in the house.
It appeared to be a good choice.
For us, Europeans, it was nice to stay in a typical American styled house. It is nicely decorated, complete with nice paintings of Jayne herself who had well taken care of us. The location could not be better; 2 blocks away from the famous U-street where you can find all kinds of small restaurants and, what's more interesting, this is the area where so many famous jazz musicians started their world famous reputation i.e. Duke Ellington, Ella Figerald, Dizzy Gilesby etc. etc. Still nowadays there are quite a lot of jazz clubs in this area.
A metro station is only a 5 minutes walk nearby. Grocery shops, pharmacies etc. all near.
In short, should there be an opportunity to stay in Washington for a longer period, we certainly will stay there again.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: To the Kraal family,
Thanks so much for the pleasant review. I enjoyed having you all and have not had more gracious guests. If ever I stopped by, there was always an offer of hospitality which was extended with kind sincerity.
Your appreciation of the artwork, interiors and enthusiasm about the neighborhood history was also a highlight for me. It has been very nice to know you and I hope to see you again.
Jayne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Location Location Location

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

As a business travel who likes to combine business and pleasure on longer trips I like to do a vacation rental rather than a hotel. U Street proved to be the most amazing find. First of all the house is beautifully kept. Jayne has a keen eye for decoration. The space is great and the backyard was my favorite. I loved the privacy and the ability to eat out in back was great. Best of all was U street nightlife only two blocks away. While the house is quiet and lovely. The metro is also closely so you are only a few minutes from all the DC attratactions. U street has a lively Jazz scene and great food. I highly recomend this beautiful home and want to thank Jayne again for her hospitality and kindness.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review