reviews for: listing #58307 - South Padre Island, Texas Condo rental

Near Beach Condo, 2 BR 2 BA, sleeps 6, Pool & Hot Tub
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Las Verandas
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $129 - $239 /nt
    $835 - $1,435 /wk
    $1,900 - $1,900 /mth

sort by:

Absolutely Awesome for Family of Six

Review submitted: July 31, 2009   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

This condo was very comfortable and well kept. My husband and I have four children and they just loved the bunk room. The washer and dryer came in very handy. The home decor made us think we were in a model home. The patio has a view of the pool. The condo is located away from the busy business sector of the island and so we had no noise issues. Excellent place to stay! I'd stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great place, convenient location to beach & bay.

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 10, 2014

The location was ideal, convenient to the beach and bay access. Very close to Sea Turtle, Inc., and the Nature Trail/Birding Boardwalk - which were nice, additional activities for the kids. The condo was clean & well kept and everything in working order. Only drawback for the kids was the pool was small and always full (lots of other guests that weekend) but we spent most our time at the beach. I would definitely stay again and would recommend.

Owners response: We were pleased that they enjoyed there stay

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation!!!

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

The property was very clean & well maintained. Close to all the activities you would want to do. Very comfortable for a family of 5. The WiFi and cable television made it extra nice. Owner was easy to communicate with and my deposit was refunded within 2 days of my departure.

Owners response: We were pleased they enjoyed their stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded our expectations

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

The condo was even better than we expected, everything was clean and well maintained, and the furnishings were very nice. everything you needed was furnished; and a beach access point was only a short walk away.

Owners response: We are pleased they enjoyed there stay

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Close to the Gulf and away from the crowd

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

This is a very special place. A nice winter getaway for northern state residents. The condo is cozy and quaintly furnished. It has a comforable king bed, a beautiful kitchen and living area with ample storage space for your things. Other condo tenants we met there were friendly. We intend to return next year.

Owners response: We are glad they enjoyed there stay and are coming back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

This was our first stay on SPI and we are glad we rented this condo. It was clean and very spacious. The decor was very appropo. Being within walking distance to the beach was a plus. Any questions we had were answered quickly. The premises is very quiet and we may rent again at this location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are pleased they enjoyed there stay

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

very nice

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

We have used VRBO for several years in different States. We are a large family and hotels are just not practical for us. We love these type condos as they feel like our very own vacation home. This condo was very clean and comfortable. Ron was very easy to work with and the entire process was smooth and professionally set up.It was nicely decorated too. I do have a few recommendations. Replace the worn red chair. It does not make a good first impression. It would be nice to have a few basic supplies available. I always pack groceries for several meals if we drive, but things like salt, pepper, paper towels, dishwashing detergent are usually available. Even coffee can be found in most condos. We have an SUV and we struggle to fit 6peope and all our gear. Its great not to have to find room for toys if the condo has a small supply. A trip to the Blue Marlin store cost over $50 for these basic necessities. I left what we did not use for the next renter. Also a small supply of board games and such to keep a large family entertained in case it rains or we just feel like hanging out at home. Bring beach toys and towels. I did not pack these( once again relying on past experience that these are usually available) and had to go out and purchase them. We would definitely stay here again, just be more prepared!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We will be relacing the chair and will access his oyther suggestions.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceptional Every Time

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

We are frequent visitors to this little slice of heaven on earth. It never disappoints and makes us feel as if we are at home on the beach. We also invited my parents and brothers family this time around and they enjoyed it every bit as much as us.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad they enjoyed their stay

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great month !!

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

I am a local resident of the Rio Grande Valley, and I have spent several summers on SPI. I was in search of a new condo... and was lucky enough to discover unit 108 at Las Verandas. I have two teenagers and I admit I was skeptical at first due to the lack of a designated beach access. I was worried for nothing! This location is close to the beach assess on White Sands street, which doesn't require you to drag your stuff a mile in fluffy white sand! The condo is walking distance to Claytons which has become the "new" hotspot for teenagers as well as adults looking to enjoy some good music. I found the place exactly as the photos indicated. Nicely decorated and clean. The ground floor location makes it easy to come and go. The gated community provides privacy as well as safety. Having the pool right outside the balcony was a blessing when I needed a break from teenagers! I spent the month here, so wifi was greatly appreciated as I could work on the patio while enjoying the SPI sunshine. We did encounter a few minor problems in the beginning with the dryer vent and the sleeper sofa. These were addressed immediately and a new sofa bed delivered the very next day. We had a wonderful month here and my children were sad to leave. Definitely planning to return next summer. Thanks Ron !

Owners response: We were pleased they enjoyed there stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

excellent

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

It was an excellent choice the owner returned the deposit after we left something that no one does it. It even had dishes, washer and dryer and a sleep over sofa in the condo. I will be back for sure cause no one bother me or my family they don't say nothing at all and I even had visitors. Thanks at all it was a pleasure to all of us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are pleased that they enjoyed their stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Condo

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 21, 2013

We have stayed at this condo for 3 winters and cannot say enough about how homey it is. The decor is very bright and cheerful.and has all the comforts of home.
The king bed in the master bedroom is very very comfy.The pool and hot tub are right outside the patio door. The courtyard is very nice and private.

The owner is very accommodating and ready and willing to help when needed ie.blender broke and he replaced immediately.

Wi-Fi works great.

Another big plus it is a gated complex.

Owners response: We strive to have everyone enjoy their stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice get away

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Only reason it's not excellent is because of the minor ant problem. And because we were greater by a giant cockroach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We have since had the pest contol company treat the condo.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pops and GeeMa

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

My wife and I spent a long weekend. Condo is in really good shape, and clean. We enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great condo

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

The listing for the condo is true on every point.It is a very bright and cheerful unit with all the comforts of home.
The unit is well maintained and the owner is very accommodating about any issues you may have.
We are planning on coming again next yr. to this same unit,as it feels like home to us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: we are glad they enjoyed there 2+ months stay

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for family get away

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

Owner was great to work with; condos are quiet with friendly neighbors; location is excellent - on north part of strip across from Turtle, Inc.; 6-min walk to beach thru Holiday Inn Express parking lot and adjacent road; 10-min walk to bird center, nature boardwalks on bay (a great place for sunsets), and convention center; condo is new, clean with open, updated kitchen; floor plan is open with living, dining, kitchen creating good space to "hang out", play games, etc.; beds and baths are fine - nothing fancy; huge closets; pool/hot tub very nice right outside door. No dvd in main room, but dvd&vhs in bedrooms. Would stay here again. SPI is great family getaway - especially liked it in the off season - great weather, no crowds, lots to do both on and away from the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are glad they enjoyed there stay and what we strive for with every gues!t

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful vacation rental

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

My family was in need of relaxation and quiet and this condo met those needs and beyond. The property was just aS described. We enjoyed being close to beach access and a less crowded part of the beach. The condo was extremely clean and well equipped. We found the washer and dryer to be a great bonus! The beds were very comfortable. We would stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: This is what we strive for.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

fantastic stay

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

My family and I are repeat rentals of this wonderful little treasure. Just a few minutes from the beach it's convienent and peaceful. We love it each and every time we stay there.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: We have lots of repeat guest.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

July 4th week

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Our stay was the greatest we have had in 20 yrs. The condo was fully equipped, very nice and very clean. I would highly recommend this unit and will be returning in the near future. The community is very nice, peaceful and quite nice for a family of 6. The pool and hot tub are the perfect size and very clean. The pictures are exactly what it looked like when we arrived. The decor is updated and in style with a bach theme. My husband and daughters really enojoyed and liked it.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

OUR STAY COULD NOT HAVE BEEN BETTER!!

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

Our 6 kids didn't want to leave!! (we didn't either) Plenty of room; very spacious. (Bigger than the pictures portray) Quiet and rarely were there other people in the pool. Equipped with everything we needed and more. Cooked in the room which saved on eating out. Better than any hotel you could find. Clean and beautifully decorated. Loved having a washer and dryer in the room. Went home with clean clothes!! THANK YOU!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: .

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

Our stay was perfect the condo was super nice and very quiet

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Had a great time!

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

Our family consists of my wife and two daughters ages 11 and 4. We had an excellent time at the beach and this condo was one of the main components of our trip. To my wife and I, the pictures seemed to make the place appear smaller than it actually is. My brother had rented a condo right off the beach at the same time we were down there, and their place had cost about the same, but had about half the room for the same numer of people. My wife and I appreciated the proximity of the beach (very walkable) with respect to the condo. There are many restaurants within a couple of miles of the condo and Sclitterbahn is only 4 miles away. The master bed is comfortable and the kids loved their bunk beds. I also had an event come up and had to shuffle a couple of days and the owner had no problem with it... he was very helpful. Overall, it is a very clean place and I would stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great value/location

Review submitted: May 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

We have rented from this owner several years. We like the location of condo, the accomodations, and the value. The owner is VERY responsive. On occasion, we have pointed out a MINOR problem, and he gets it fixed ASAP.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Condo

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

My husband and I were real pleased with the condo. Everything we needed was available. Being on the first floor gave easy access to the pool and hot tub. The pictures on the site were very accurate. Well maintained with very comfortable couch and amazing king bed. along with plenty of dishes and cookware. The owner was always available to answer any questions or problems, Would recommend this to our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2 THUMBS UP

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

This condo was an excellent choice for my family. 2 Adults, 5 kids, conveniently located on the island, and steps away from the pool. We had the best vacation, and definitely look forward to our next trip to South Padre Island. Service was excellent!! Will definitely stay here again. Thanks for the awesome memories....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WONDERFUL!!!

Review submitted: June 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

When "buying" something online, you have to trust the pictures and the comments made by others. All I can say is the pictures don't do this gorgeous place justice ;o) And all the other reviews were right on the money! My family and I were blown away how beautiful and clean it was.
The King size Master suite was hard to get out of in the morning. It was SO comfortable! The 4 twin beds in the bunk room was great for the 3 teens and the king hide-a-bed in the living room was perfect for our oldest daughter and 2 grandboys. There was plenty of room for everyone.
The A/C kept us plenty cold and the kitchen was fun to cook in. All we had to supply was the food. The washer came in handy as well. I loved the patio being next to the pool so we could relax and watch the kids swim. The wireless internet was a welcome addition for the laptop. Cable was nice, although we didn't have much time for TV, which was one of the main objectives for vacation. I love the non-smoking fresh air and friendly staff. We will definantly keep this on the top of our lists for returns!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Las Verandas, SPI, Texas March 2010

Review submitted: April 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

Our stay was very enjoyable and this condo is supplied with everything we needed, including plenty of dishes, cutlery, etc. and with the full kitchen we made most of our meals during our stay. Well-decorated and maintained. The full-sized washer and drier were very useful and reduced our luggage by at least half.

The location of the condo is perfect: close to the beach yet far enough from the spring breakers area that we never had trouble sleeping, even during Texas Week (Thank you for not renting to spring breakers!).

My wife and I found the neighbors (many of whom are regulars) to be very friendly and helpful. The free Wave Island shuttle is phenomemal - we came without a car and did not miss having one at all; how could you when there's a free bus the length of the island and to Port Isabel (for WalMart and H-E-B) every half hour!

Very enjoyable! Will defintely return in the future!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

We just stayed in this condo the 2nd week in August and this was our first experience with a condo rental. I was so impressed with the cleanliness and the decor. I have to admit I love nice hotels and if I am vacationing, I want comfort and nice amenities. I was so pleasantly surprised with this particular condo because its decor was that of a model home complete with granite counters and the kitchen was truly stocked with everything necessary as well as the rest of the condo. It was a pleasure not having to worry about anything we "forgot". We used the washer/dryer, iron, coffee maker, wine glasses, etc. I did feel like we were home and it was so nice to be able to have breakfast and lunches at the condo, so we could eat healthy and provide stability for the kids. My children LOVED the bunk beds and "their room" complete with TV. We didn't have to fight over bedtime and they thought they were on a perpetual slumber party. We all loved the spacious living room and the 2 baths. Everything was so nicely coordinated with darling beach themes and the master bed was so comfortable we started calling it "the cloud". I had concerns about doing this all on-line, site unseen, but it is even nicer than it appears on-line. I would recommend it to anyone-especially those with children, as my kids still "miss their condo". It was one of the most relaxing vacations we've had, and I do believe it was because we didn't have to rush around and go out for every meal and were able to relax and work around the kids schedules. This is by far with best price we heard of once there. We visited a more expensive condo of a friend (directly on the beach) however for $350 a night, it was dirty and looked well-lived in and very out-dated. I will gladly walk a block to the beach for space and cleanliness. We'll stay again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it

Review submitted: July 21, 2009   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

Our stay was so enjoyable. The comforts of home welcomed us with great decor, ammenities to meet our needs (pool, spa, washer dryer, internet, full kitchen). We made many meals in and enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review