reviews for: listing #58309 - South Padre Island, Texas Condo rental

Beach Front Condo, 2 Ba 2 BR, sleeps 7, 3 pools & Tennis
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Saida Towers
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $159 - $359 /nt
    $995 - $2,150 /wk
    $2,300 - $2,300 /mth

sort by:

A Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

The location couldn't be better - 5th floor, closest building to the ocean with nothing obstructing the view. It's a great unit, very spacious and well equipped for most needs. There's elevator access which was greatly appreciated.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Relaxing Stay on SPI

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at South Padre Island! The condominium was in a well-maintained building located in a gated area with a friendly and competent staff. The condo was very clean and had a smartly laid out open floor plan that comfortably slept me and my wife and our 3 children. The living area is adjacent to the balcony that overlooks the pet-friendly St. Augustine grassy areas directly below and the beach a stone's throw away. The cool evening breeze made it enjoyable to sit on the balcony and watch family members swimming in the clear pool below or simply watch the vacationers enjoying the sand and surf on the well-kept beach. You must book this condominium and enjoy the same relaxing time we did.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are pleased they enjoy the condo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful view -- will definitely return!

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

The most stunning aspect of the condo is the view. When we walked in the door, we were very impressed with the condo itself -- it was roomy, especially the master bedroom. The balcony has an incredible view of the ocean as well as the pools at the facility. The facility was quiet and filled with families -- we didn't have any issues with loud neighbors or late-night parties. Our kids loved the pools and we were super close to a very nice beach -- the only thing we were lacking was the gate code to get to the beach, so be sure you ask ahead of time.

We had a small pest problem, but the owner was quick to address the issue as soon as we made him aware. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to make a hearty breakfast each morning. We made a few trips to the local supermarket to stock up on items such as paper towels, toilet paper, etc., but other than that, we had everything we needed.

We would definitely return here, even for a long weekend. It was about a mile away from Schlitterbahn and close to everything that was important to us. Thank you, Ron!

Owners response: We are glad they enjoyed there stay

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

SPI condo

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Great condo!!! Loved the shower instead of a tub, it really helped my mom that is in a wheelchair. Loved the view of the balcony. Really enjoyed my stay there,clean and well maintained. Will look forward to renting again!!!

Owners response: We were glad they enjoyed there stay

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great views of the gulf!

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2012

The unit offers great views of the gulf from the living and master bed rooms. Comfortable furniture and easy access to the beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Overall

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

Condo was great! Lovely, very well kept, and had everything we needed in the kitchen (blender, cooking utensils, etc). The facilities were great as well, with a great pool area and awesome proximity to beach access with a great view from the balcony. Ron was great and easy to work with; everything was very expedient, efficient, and well organized. Sleeping accomodations truly appropriate for 6 adults comfortably. We ended up with 7 adults instead of 8 in our party. The sofa cushions were great to essentially make a twin size comfy bed on the floor for the 7th person, but if we'd ended up with 8 adults afterall we would've been in a bit of a crunch. The fold out sleepers do not lay flat and so are comfortable for lounging, but not really full size for an adult to be able to lay flat. They're probably acceptable for children. I guess I didn't really understand what they were like. One other tiny thing I noticed was a bit of an ant problem in the guest bath/counter (even though there was a note on the counter that the condo had been recently serviced by extermination services). Incredibly minor discussion points that did not disturb our stay in any way what so ever, and I would totally love to return and stay here again! (The review that mentions the suggestion to bring extra blankets was also really helpful, but FYI: there's also a few extra blankets on top of the master closet).

Owners response: We are glad they enjoyed there stay & I will have the property manager check the ant issued mentioned.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Saida Tower II - 503 - Had a wonderful week!

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

I took my family for our first extended vacation to South Padre Island and spent a wonderful week at Ron's condo at Saida towers. We found the condo clean, neat, equipped with all of the comforts of home. We were a little hesitant booking this online, and with a 2 year old, a 4 year old, and 2 teenagers, a disappointment would have made for a long week. Well, we had a blast and the room was as advertised. The facilities were very family friendly, the pools were wonderful, and the beach is literally right there. This particular room offered a great view of the 4th of July fireworks that the Island puts on (my understanding is that the Island puts on a firework show every Friday night). You could not ask for a better view of the Gulf that what this room offers. Perfect. As for location, it's right after the turn from the bridge and close enough to everything you'll need. I look forward to my return next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are pleased that they enjoyed their stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome place!!

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

very impress with the unit!! great size rooms, very clean, everything is readily available in the kitchen. view from the balcony was amazing!! we felt very secure in the area as the condo are well secured with manned gate entry/exit. Definitely will be coming back. Love this place! :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: tThis is what we strive for.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LOVED this condo!

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 30, 2012

This was our first trip to Padre Island and I was a little worried about picking a complex and condo off the Internet. We were visiting family that had relocated to Harlingen- we stayed with them for 3 days and the teenagers were posting "worst vacation ever". The day we checked into Saida was like walking into Paradise! I had gone back and forth between which of Ron's units to rent. I ultimately chose 503 due to reviews about the balcony and I am so glad I did! I spent many hours on that balcony - I burn very easy in the sun. You can see everyone in both pools and the beach so I could watch my 6 teenagers and still enjoy my stay. The condo is decorated beautifully. A previous renter had broken the glass on the coffee table and a glass repair company was there the day we checked in measuring for the new glass. The hideabed was broke as well, but still had the futon chair and the teens thought that was cool! The kids took surf lessons and sandcastle lessons and had a blast. At night they went down to beach and chased sand crabs. The complex is very well maintained and secure. After my visit to Padre I would choose to stay in this same unit again. It was perfect. Sad to be back at work, I really miss that balcony!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We were pleased they enjoyed there stay. The sleeper mattress & frame in the sofa has been replaced with a new unit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Condo/beach front views!

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

My family had a great time at the condo! We decided to go last minute on a high volume weekend and this condo was still available. It says it sleeps 7 but really it fits 8. If you do have 8 people though, I would bring extra blankets. The beds are a little worn, but that spectacular beach view makes up for it! We were steps from the beach! The actual grounds of the condo has great amenities and high security! You feel very comfortable with parking. On top of that, the condo is right as you exit the bridge so there is close access to the bay restaurants,etc. The banana boats and parasailing are also right next to the condo!

I was also very pleased with the communication between the renter and I. He processed our information quickly and made sure that we enjoyed our stay when we returned home. This is a great place, great, view, and perfect location!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: The twin bed mattress will be replaced.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

overall good stay

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

We were very impressed with the condo overall. It had everything we needed. The towel service was a drawback. The only other thing that was not good was the smell of the couch. It smelled like sweaty men.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Apparently the guest did not understand that linens & towels could be exchanged any day between 9 am and 4 pm at my property manager's office that is about a mile from the condo.

We were obviously not aware of the sofa issue. We have had it cleaned and sanitized.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The pictures don't do it justice! Great condo

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

What a fantastic stay! We had a great week there. It was a clean, well kept condo. While the kitchen appliances weren't updated, everything still worked great and we didn't have any problems. The best part of the condo was the view though! The pictures on the profile don't give you a very good idea of how great the view is from the balcony. The beach is closer, the view is very open without any buildings blocking it, and you can see most of the condo's grounds as well (two swimming pools and the tennis courts). Thanks again for the great stay!

-Brian and Melissa

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dec 2010 Review

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

We were there for a few days after Christmas looking for possible winter rentals for 2012. We were pleased with the condo's condition and furnishings. Everything was up to date and in good condition. This unit was much cleaner than a couple of others we looked at. Weather was good the last day and in the 80's. Had not been to S.Padre before and found it a little remote in the winter time. Good communication with the owner and quick responses to questions. Would recommend this property as a good option for the price and season. Would definitely rent this one if we decide to winter in S. Padre

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

We totally loved South Padre - the condo was perfect for our family - it really felt like a home away from home. The convenience offered is unbeatable - the amenities in the condo are completely adequate for a lengthy stay with small children. Who could ask for anything more? We will definitely return to South Padre Island's Saida Towers and hopefully Ron will have a condo waiting for us. For all who go, Cheers and have a great time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful

Review submitted: June 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2010

We were able to get into this property at the last minute and what a fantastic place. This property is recently renovated and in great condition. Beds are comfortable, nice tile work throughout. Kitchen and bathrooms are clean and in good condition. Beautiful tile work continues out to the balcony overlooking the beach and gulf. Sunrise views are well worth getting up early; and by afternoon it is nicely shaded. Very enjoyable stay! Highly recommended!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very relaxing stay

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

What a great long weekend we had in this lovely condo. The Saida complex is very impressive and well-maintained. Everything was gated, from the parking lot to the beach access and there were always plenty of chairs down by the pools and parking spaces near the building. From the balcony of this unit, we were easily able to see our family down on the beach or at 1 of the 2 pools closest to the Gulf. Here's a tip - if you're going between Memorial Day and Labor Day, there are fireworks every Friday and there is a PERFECT view of them from the balcony!
The DVD player did not seem to work and the towel exchange was a little bit of a hassle, but otherwise everything was comfortable and convenient.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The property manager has assured me that the towel exchange situation will not happen again. My guest apparently did not know how to operate the DVD player as it is operating.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Stay!

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 12, 2010

We stayed 4 nights and had an absolutely wonderful time! The condo exceeded our expectations and we would definitely rent this condo again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review

Review submitted: April 18, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

We enjoyed our first visit to SPI. The condo was great - clean and roomy with a great view of the beach and pools. We highly recommend this unit to future vacationers.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 20, 2009   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

What a great place to enjoy a fall vacation. We stayed in early October and the weather was still warm and tropical. The condo was spacious, clean, nicely furnished and it was a treat to have three computers surfing the net at the same time with the furnished wi-fi. We will most certainly plan our next South Padre vacation at the Saida II, #503! Judd and Donna

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 24, 2009   Date of arrival: September 24, 2009

Ron:
My daughter and I spent 8 days in your condo and had the best vacation ever. The pools were wonderful, the condo was spacious and very clean and the balcony was amazing at sunrise. I will never search for another condo on the Island as long as your's is available. Thanks! Pat and Katie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 15, 2009   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

WOW!!! Amazing Condo ~ Beautiful Complex..... Ron was very helpful, nice, and honest. The condo was clean and neat and everyone was so helpful. If you are looking for a wonderful place that is clean and neat and relaxing this is it! South Padre is a blast! You will not be disappointed!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 5, 2009   Date of arrival: August 5, 2009

Ron,

I want to thank you for such a beautiful and comfortable condo. When we walked into the condo we were very pleased. I have stayed in several different units in Saida and yours is by far the best of them all. My first impression of the unit is that the view of the beach is perfect. Your condo has been the cleanest I have ever seen. It was nice not to see mold around the showers like in some of the other units that we have stayed. Since I am a neat freak your condo was my home away from home. My children slept like babies in the beds and they raved about how comfortable they were and to please teenagers is a hard task. We did have one small issue with the unit and the management company took care of it within 2 hours. In case you are wondering what issue, the frying pan was in poor shape and I just could not cook in it without filling the condo up with smoke. My husband and I enjoyed the use of the patio furniture at night and listening to the waves. We will book with you again, and have already given your name to our friends. Thank you again for allow us to stay in your home. Sterling & Mona

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 27, 2009   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

Thanks Ron! The condo was great, super clean and very well appointed. The whole complex was very well taken care of. We were very impressed and will rent again next time we're in Padre. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 21, 2009   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

Had a great time & the condo was just fine and will consider renting it again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 15, 2009   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

We had a great time -- this is a lovely condo, and great location. The beach was beautiful -- the swimming pools excellent -- we would rent it again in a heart beat! The Watsons

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review