reviews for: listing #58310 - Nemacolin, Pennsylvania Townhome rental

On Nemacolin Grounds- Golf Discounts, Free Wifi
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Nemacolin Resort
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $170 - $340 /nt
    $1,135 - $1,980 /wk

sort by:

The Best

Review submitted: August 6, 2014   Date of arrival: August 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights with our daughters, ages 4 and 6. My husband and I have stayed in the lodge and chateau many times and this stay was by far our best. The condo was very clean and well stocked. I'm a very particular person and immediately felt comfortable. Barbara was both professional and hospitable which made our stay that much better.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great long weekend

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

This condo has two units that you can rent, a one bedroom and a two bedroom. We rented both for our whole family and it was perfect. Much better than renting three rooms in the hotel as we all got to stay together but had more space. It was also much more affordable.

The shuttle picked us up and dropped us off right at the condo, although there was parking everywhere on the property if we chose to drive. The adventure center and main resort were also walkable (within 15-20 mins).

The condo owner Barbara has also thought of supplying everything you could want from coffee to shampoo and conditioner.

The resort itself has tons to do, lots of restaurants, activities, golf, and even a petting zoo for the little ones. There is also plenty to do offsite from white water rafting, visiting Falling Water, and even local restuarants.

This was really a great trip and a great deal for the family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A cozy getaway

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

My husband and two kids rented this condo for a spring break getaway. It was such a wonderful break from our hectic lives. Everything was perfect at the condo. Comfy couch, wonderful comfy beds and soft, clean linens. Oh and lots and lots of yummy food nearby. We loved the Falls City Pub in Ohiopyle, to die for cheese fries! Also, the salads at the Tavern are yummy! The condo is close enough to drive or shuttle to all the activities while giving you a sense that you are in the woods. There is stream running through below the deck outside which just added to the ambience. I felt relaxed from the moment we entered into the condo, it has such a great relaxing energy. :) My kids loved this condo and can't wait to come back. They were already asking to come back in the summertime. Thanks Barbara for a wonderful vacation spot where we were able to make awesome memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Too Good To Be True.....But it is!

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the two bedroom condo for three nights. We would not hesitate to stay here again. There is a calmness to the place. Exactly what we were looking for to rest and relax and a get away from our hectic daily lives.
When you first walk into the condo, your eyes are immediately drawn to the beautiful stairway leading upstairs. Its a tastefully decorated loft bedroom with a private bathroom, large closet, and a playroom for kids. If you don't go up the stairs, there is a hallway on the first floor, and off of the hallway a second bedroom with its own bathroom, a closet for hanging your coats, and a larger closet that that a stacking washer and dryer combo, and at the end a beautifully decorated living room. The living room has large windows, a sliding glass door leading to a wooden deck with chairs, a wood burning fireplace, a television, a dining room table to the far right leading to the a galley kitchen. The view from the deck or windows from the living room exhibits a forest of trees, in which we saw deer everyday eating leaves and resting.
Everything you need is here. The only thing you need to bring are your clothes and some food if you want to cook. There are towels/washcloths, shampoo/conditioner/body wash, blow dryers, flat iron, Q-tips, hair products, corkscrews, wood for the fireplace, laundry detergent, board games to play, there are even robes for the adults in each bedroom closet.
The resort was of course amazing as well, but we would not have enjoyed our stay as much if it were not for the comfort and cleanliness of the condo. The owner is wonderful and very willing to please her guests. We highly recommend this condo and would give it 10 stars if we could. You will not regret staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: March 8, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

What a wonderful stay at Nemacolin. We loved the Nemacolin property--food, day care, skiing, shopping, children and family activities--and we loved coming back to our very comfortable and much less expensive lodging. What a deal! We stayed in the lower one bedroom unit--with a lovely view. It is one of the nicest one bedroom ever. Well decorated and very cozy but not too small--we had our 2 and 9 yr olds with us. We will be back! Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Winter wonderland!

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the weekend and the condo! What a beautiful spot...big, bright windows, everything was so clean and well-appointed. Much roomier than the photos make it look. We couldn't have been more comfortable! The playroom was such a bonus for our two four year olds. We also rented Barbara's lower one-bedroom unit since we were two families, and it really felt like one big condo. It snowed and snowed and snowed. I don't think it stopped snowing the entire time we were there. It was gorgeous. Looking forward to returning in the summertime.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pleasure to stay at & work with!

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

We just returned from a two night stay in Barbara's one bedroom unit, which was clean and well stocked. It was our first trip to the resort and we enjoyed using her discount to golf and the convienence of the shuttle stop just up the street to take us to other resort activities and restaurants. Barbara also went out of her way to arrange for a DVD player on our second day after I spoke to her and mentioned we could not get the on in the condo to work. Great stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best stay at Nemacolin so far!

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

This was our third year staying at Nemacolin and it was our most enjoyable one. Barbara's condo was immaculate and no detail was overlooked. She provided quality laundry detergent, soap, shampoo, lotion, towels, etc. we stayed in a $700 a night room last year and were happier and more comfortable in her condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great times!!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

Highly recommend this condo I have spent past two simmers here and could not be more happy w/ my experience Place now feels like home The resort is amazing and you get to use all the resort has to offer as if you were at the chalet. Barbara will extend her discounts to you to take advantage of and is a pleasure to deal with I will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Highly recommend!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

My husband and son and I stayed at Barbara's Nemcolin 2 bedroom condo for four nights. We had a fabulous time. The condo is very well appointed: WiFi works flawlessly (which is good since there is no cell reception for calls), beds are really comfy, the kitchen is fully equipped and the condo is located in a quiet spot. Although the property is privately owned, guests enjoy unrestricted access to all Nemacolin has to offer. We took advantage of Barbara's greens fee discount. She arranged our tee times! We also visited the spa and fitness center nearly daily, again, at Barbara's reduced rates. In addition, we did the chair lift at the Adventure Center, visited the casino, and dined at Aqueous. We also toured Fallingwater, which is a very easy 20 minute drive. Nemcolin offers nearly any recreational activity you can think of and Barbara's condo provides a terrific base from which to explore the offerings at an exceptional value. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Girls' Weekend

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

There were eight of us who rented out both condos for our girls' weekend and we had a wonderful time. The condos were well maintained and had everything we needed to make it a fun, memorable weekend. The location is perfect-the resort shuttle was available to take us everywhere in Nemacolin Resort. There is so much to do that we may have to return...three days was not enough time to do all we wanted to do. I would recommend this property to anyone who wants the extra things a condo provides that a room in the resort does not offer as you get that plus all the resort activities and amenities.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Very comfortable stay

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

I chose to stay in this condo because there were four adults and one two-year-old with us, and staying in a hotel room just seemed too limiting. We were so pleased with the condo. I rented both units, and they both were clean, comfortable, and very well-stocked. It was great to have a big fridge, a working stove, a grill, and-- bonus!-- a washer and dryer! We loved that things like paper towels, detergent, etc. were included as well. My son had a great time at the house-- running up and down the stairs, looking at the "fairy" statue by the front door, and playing in the litlte playroom alcove-- a bonus not even mentioned in the listing. This property is also very close to all of the Nemacolin activities-- the zoo train, the mini golf course, and the tennis courts/ restaurants. We walked many times, and there is a shuttle stop just up the street. (The shuttles were often few and far between, but that's Nemacolin's problem.)

I had a lot of questions before coming, and the owner was very responsive about everything. It is definitely a well-maintained place. We would stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful condo, gorgeous resort!

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

My two children and I spent last week at Barbara's condo and we had a wonderful time! Not only was the cabin clean and cozy, but Barbara went way above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. She was readily available via phone or email with any questions we had, and extremely friendly. We loved the view from the back deck and loved the condo decor as well. The resort was a perfect getaway for me and my 12 and 14 year old... we enjoyed horseback riding, zip lining, ropes courses, the amazing safari animals, bowling, swimming, the spa, shooting and archery, to name a few. There were so many fun activities to do we could barely pack them in! We will definitely be back, and would definitely choose to stay at Barbara's condo again... I highly recommend this vacation rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation home rental

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

This Laurel Ponds condo is one of a kind - and the owner is also one of a kind. The listing is accurate - the unit is so clean, well maintained, and all sorts of little extras - shampoo, coffee, tea, nice glass ware to enjoy the local wine - that allows you to leave your worries at the door and just get down to the business of relaxing and enjoying beautiful Nemacolin. The listing photos are very current and very accurate - and oh that leather chair - we had fights over who was going to get to sit in it. Given that we were there to celebrate my mom's birthday - she always won out. The owner provided us with a news email prior to the stay - the information and instructions were helpful. The condo pool is close - except you wouldn't want to be on the road with one car coming and one car going. We loved the ability to just hop the shuttle up to the resort and be in the mix - but then hop the shuttle back down - away to our private oasis. Didn't try the casino - we enjoyed the spa and the restaurants and Ohiopyle too much. Food and service at Autumn restaurant at the resort was A+ - if you enjoy seafood this is the place to go.

Thanks for making our stay hassle free. We plan to be back - and enjoy all that Laurel Ponds Condos and Nemacolin has to offer in the fall.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Great Escape

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

My wife & I loved our stay so much that I rented Barbara's condo for my wife's parents in May and I just reserved a weekend in June as a mother's day gift for my wife. We cannot wait to go back to Barbara's cozy condo in the woods. The rate is very affordable & worth every penny. Barbara is a wonderful person to talk to, extremely accomodating to make our stay a fantastic experience. Thanks again Barbara, you have a customer for life.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful condo!

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

We absolutely loved Barbara's condo! It was so comfortable and nicely decorated and the playroom was an added bonus! The grounds were lovely and the free shuttle made it very convenient to get around the resort grounds. We had a truly wonderful and relaxing weekend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

girl time/family time

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

A perfect retreat> I stayed at the one bedroom for a girlfriends weekend and am returning to rent the whole unit for a family whitewater rafting weekend. Everything is fresh, clean and updated. I have stayed at Nemacolin in various spots for the past 20 years and B
arbara's place is cheaper and nicer than the condos rented by Nemacolin. There are even games, movies and magazines for a rainy day!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weekenders

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend! Her place was very warm and inviting! We loved the fireplace and of course, the spa.
Barbara was very helpful with any questions.
Would absolutely return!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Rental!

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

We spent a long weekend at this condo, what a great choice! The rental was clean, comfortable and well stocked with everything you could possibly need! The playroom was so cool and the decorations were excellant. The location was also very nice, quiet and beautiful with the fall colors all around in the big windows it felt like we were outside. Even though we were not able to spend much time on the deck the furniture was very comfy. We enjoyed golfing on the Links course, we got a great discount due to the owner's membership at the resort. Overall you can't go wrong with this rental and this resort is great for everyone to visit, so much to do!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Condo: Great Place to Vacation

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 fabulous days and evenings at the Nemacolin Resort and this condo was the perfect place to stay. It is in a beautiful wooded area but with in walking distance of the main hotel. We spent one evening having a nice dinner on the back deck, very serene and peaceful. The restaurants and the facilities at the resort are outstanding and the golfing is world class. The condo has all the amenities you will need and the owner is terrific at making any arrangements you may need prior to your arrival. We only wish we had more time to spend and we will definitely be back in the very near future. I would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean attractive condo in Nemocolin.

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

My husband, son and I rented this condo for Labor Day Weekend. Our reason for being in the area was to see FLW's Fallingwater. I was so happy to find the listing for this condo online. The rates charged by the Nemocolin resort for a two bedroom condo (not to mention for a hotel room) are much higher, and the "nice" inns in the area were already blocked out for wedding parties. This condo turned out to be the perfect fit. It was clean, attractive and the beds were very comfortable. It was also so nice having our own terrace and washer/dryer. The owner was very pleasant to deal with. While there, we ate at Autumn, the Tavern and the Caddyshack and were very impressed with the food. (We also tried eating at a local inn, but it was not so good.) In terms of activities, my husband and son took shooting lessons, and we also used the bowling alley, the mini golf and the pool reserved for the townhouses. Oh, and we also went to the wildlife show which was fun. I would definitely recommend this condo for anyone planning a visit to the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

My family and I love visiting Nemacolin frequently. We have rented through VRBO before and have always had a pleasant experience. This was the fifth summer we have taken our vacation here and we absolutely will be returning. Barbara was extremely helpful from the moment I contacted her about the one bedroom condo.
My husband couldn't join us for this trip so it was perfect for myself and our two children. We brought our bikes with us and rode all over the resort. The condo is so close to the zip line, mini golf course and of course, Paradise Pool and PJ's. We have also come up in the winter to experience the skiing and the gorgeous scenery. This year we went white water rafting on the Middle Yough and it was an amazing time!The kids are begging to return! Thank you Barbara for being so helpful and we look forward to coming back in the winter and next summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent 2 bedroom condo

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

We rented the 2 bedroom condo last weekend and could not have asked for a better experience. Barbara (owner) was so helpful and responsive to all of our questions. The condo and all of its appliances, kitchenware, beds, etc. were clean and in great condition. We didn't have a chance to use anything on the grounds, but it was a perfect location for what we wanted to see (Falling Water and Kentuck Knob). The attention to details like extra towels, bedding, robes, cleaning supplies, shampoo, iron, etc. was much appreciated! We were going to book in a nearby hotel, but I am so happy that I received the VRBO e-mail with a link to this condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulously Fun getaway

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

This condo has it all. We have rented many places and couldn't believe all the amenities Barbara has. We rented both units and it fit our group of 8 perfectly. The kids loved riding the shuttle bus to all their activities. The adults loved the quite surroundings. You don't need to bring much. The condo has everything you have at your own home. We have been visiting Nemacolin for over 10 years and this is our new place to stay.

Thank you Barbara for sharing your lovely place.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls mini vacation

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

I wanted a "girls mini" vacation for my teenage daughter and her friends over the Easter break, I contacted Barbra about renting her condo. She got back to me within a few hours to make the arrangements. She provided me with all the information I needed me to plan the perfect "Mini" vacation. Right down to a local grocery store to get supplies! The condo was "AMAZING", beautifully decorated and clean! We had a FANTASTIC time at the resort itself, visiting the shops,spa and pool and had a wonderful dinner at the resturant "AUTUMN". The girls especially liked the resort "shuttle" bus driver (Helen)who they requested to take them around the resort to the various activities. I recommend Barbra's condo for a special adult getaway or a family weekend as the condo is centrally located within all the resort ammenities. Thank you so much for a wonderful time!we had a blast!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Blast!

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

My husband and I really enjoy our long weekend stay from Feb. 11 to Feb. 14 (and we didn't even know it was Winterfest Weekend!). We rented the bottom half of the condo and my first thought walking in the door was "I love the decorating." We had so much fun........Friday night at the ski lodge checking out the ice sculpting and listening to a Reggae band, Saturday bowling and playing bubble hockey and spa treatments on Monday. We laughed and laughed as the 13 inches of snow fell that weekend. We starting reciting lines from the movie Ground Hog Day with Bill Murray! Thanks Barbara for making our stay feel like home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great holiday weekend!

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

We rented the downstairs 1 bedroom condo for New Year's Eve weekend this year and were very pleased. Barbara was very professional and offered us all of the information we would need for our weekend getaway. The area where the condo is located is beautiful. A stream runs in the back and large stones and foliage surround you. The condos are located very close to the Chauteau and we even took a walk from our condo around the resort. It was so peaceful. Even in the winter, we were pleased with the surroundings!

The inside of the condo was very clean. Everything was as pictured and getting in and out was just as Barbara said. The bedding was luxurious and clean. Even the pull-out couch was comfy. Imagine, two children ages 10 and 11 sleeping in until 11 a.m.!!

We have already contacted Barbara to make arrangements for another weekend getaway. I cannot wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Holiday Break vacation

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

We stayed at Barbara's 2 bedroom condo over New Year's weekend. The beds were super comfortable, rooms were clean and the amenities provided (shampoo/conditioner/etc) were a nice touch. As stated by others, the door to door shuttle service was fantastic, though the location of her unit is a short walk to the spa/gym and the adventure center. The resort had a lot of activities (the family teambuilding boat regatta was a highlight) and we took advantage of many. Mystic Mountain had only 3 trails open due to lack of snow, but was perfect for my daughter who was new to skiing. The kids also did the zip line and were thrilled with their "offroad" jeep ride back to the adventure center. As far as restaurants, we liked Autumn the best. Aqueous had potential, but all of our food came out warm, not hot and the service was over the top......our waiter was trying so hard he was off-putting. We took a ride to Ohio Pyle one afternoon to look at the river and had a nice lunch at one of the restaurants in town. Wasn't overly impressed with the Wildside. They bill it as a Dave and Busters type place, but there seemed to be a lot of wasted space - could use more games. Overall had a great trip and would recommend Barbara's condo. All the conveniences of the resort at a more affordable price!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WInter Weekend

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

We have stayed at Nemacolin Resort several times in the past fifteen years. Our daughter is currently doing her fellowship at Nemacolin and our visits have become much more frequent. This condo was perfect for our family. My mother decided to travel with us as well as our two younger children and we rented the one bedroom as well as the two bedroom. The interior condo is extremely immaculate and the exterior setting is peaceful and secluded! Our daughter brought her “chef” friends over for dinner and we entertained a total of 10 people. Barbara could not have been more kind or helpful. We plan on returning as much as possible!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect spot for a weekend getaway!

Review submitted: October 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

My wife and I recently spent a terrific fall weekend at Barbara's 1BR condo (downstairs from the main unit). Barbara was prompt and helpful at every turn - instructions were always clear, correspondence was timely, and the deposit check was returned quickly. The unit was just the right size for the two of us, well-appointed and comfortable, and made for an ideal home base for the weekend. The Nemacolin shuttle service was incredibly convenient, picking us up right in front of the unit and taking us to dinner (Aqueous is a MUST).

The resort has plenty to offer, but we took advantage of other area attractions, from tours of Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob to a great hike along Meadow Run in Ohiopyle State Park and lunch along the Youghiogheny River. With the forest ablaze in color, we couldn't have asked for a better fall weekend escape. And again, Barbara's condo was an ideal home base for it all. We hope to return someday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, quiet spot within resort.

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

We had two couples and the condo was perfect. All descriptions accurate, Barbara was very helpful with advice on arrangements and local knowledge (it was our first time at Nemacolin). The condo was well-appointed and very, very clean. Easy walk to the main hotel/lodge and the outdoor center/ski area, and location of the unit was towards the end of the cluster, so pretty quiet even on a busy weekend. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic townhouse and resort

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful townhome. Barbara was so helpful and my deposit was returned quickly. I have 4 small children who loved the playroom, and enjoyed all the amenities at the resort. We did so much all weekend including rock climbing, hiking, swimming, paintball, miniature golf, bowling, and even utilized the large fire pit in front of the chalet. We felt like we had the resort to ourselves as we seldom encountered anyone else all weekend. The townhome was perfect for us, I woke extra early and went for a run to the spa to do yoga and get massages before anyone else was awake. The location is perfect, and an easy, scenic walk to both the spa/hotel and the outdoor activity area. We will definately be returning!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Getaway!

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

Our family had a great time at Nemacolin and would highly recommend this condo for familes or couples looking for a clean and well cared for place to stay. Location is great and offers plenty of room for the kids to stretch out a bit between activities. I have already recommended this location to my neighbors and we plan to return soon.

Many Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Barbara from Cincinnati

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 8, 2011

We had a fantastic family vacation and the condo was perfect. We enjoyed miniature golf, a zoo safari, swimming, hiking, playgrounds and lots of eating with our kids and grandkids. Breakfast at Falling Rock was a highlight. We are already planning another stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Something for everyone-a great family vacation

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

We spent the week at Barbara's place in Laurel Ponds in Nemacolin resort with my husband, my 11 yr old daughter and my 14 yr old son. Her place is well appointed and well maintained. We rented the 2 BR condo for the wk and the 1 BR for 4 nights in addition--it was perfect! We took the shuttle to the adventure center and the chateau for everything, including some meals, the spa, the kids spa, ice cream, ropes course, and zip line. We stayed in and watched movies on one rainy day. When we needed WiFi, we took the shuttle to the chateau lobby. My son took the shuttle everywhere on his own. The photos are accurate as is the listing. It was very clean! Barbara was very prompt at answering all of our questions. I would definitely recommend this property to friends and family. We also visited Fallingwaters, Ohiopyle State Park, and Fort Necessity, all of which are very close to Nemacolin--I would recommend all of them. Overall a terrific family vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A True Perfect Romantic Hideway

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We arrived by our single engine plane and there the Nemacolin team was to meet and greet us..they took us to Barbara's , toted our folding bikes and lugguage right to the door step and provided us with valuable stay tips and must dos. Barbara's one bed room was ideal in everyway. It was immaculate, beautifully appointed and from the very first step inside, we felt and acted as if we were home. The back deck overlooks a stream frammed by native flora and fauna. The inside set up was more than comfy and ideal for 2. You are less than a mile from the Cheateu, but remember, the shuttle bus will come and pick you up just a few steps from her front door. We had bikes so we biked everywhere, except the night we ate at Acquous. The shuttle delivered us each way. Staying at Laurel Ponds is the best of all worlds. You have every luxury of Nemacolin with the added benefit of very affordable perfect home away from home accommodations. Everything Barbara said was 100% accurate. She sent the info and contract on time, the deposit was returned immediately and best of all, her home was perfect. Yes, we are returning in October.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Place to relax and Dine

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

we stayed at Barbara's townhouse and had a wonderful time! we rode our bikes and went to the spa and had a fantastic dinner! just re-booked the townhouse again for golf weekend. the deck is awesome and the decor is interesting! you will enjoy the benefits of nemacolin resort without the expenses of the hotel! sincerely beth and todd

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A step above the rest

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

We were delighted to spend our June family vacation at Barbara's condo at Nemacolin. The resort is absolutely amazing and Barbara's condo is the perfect way to enjoy it. Each room is filled with fun, eclectic decor that truly gives you the sense that you are a guest in a home rather as opposed to a drab hotel room. The fully equipped kitchen had everything we needed to prepare meals each day. The deck overlooks a beautiful ravine where we enjoyed looking out for wildlife each morning. The bedrooms had beautiful bedding with soft high thread count sheets and the bathrooms had plush soft towels. If you enjoy nice linens, you won't be disappointed. My family and I rent vacation condos several times per year and I have to say this one has many extras. Barbara provided shampoo/conditioner and other toiletries that are typically not included. Now, for my children's favorite part...The playroom! What a fun little hide away. My kids loved playing with the toys and writing on the walls. (such a fun treat). They "camped out" in the playroom on the provided aero bed. Another favorite was the condo pool. It was a short drive away, heated, and we hardly saw another soul there the whole week. Also we took advantage of the resort shuttle which picked us up right at the condo and took us everywhere we wanted to go. I highly recommend this as parking on the resort is very limited and why not leave the work to someone else! We will definitely be returning to Barbara's condo and I know you will enjoy it too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable one bedroom

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

My husband and I spent a long weekend in Barbara's one-bedroom unit. Beautifully decorated and furnished with everything you could want -- even though it has just a kitchenette and not a full kitchen -- it was just the kind of place we had been hoping to find. The one small drawback was a cluster of mechanical buildings (supporting the spa?) visible and audible from the back deck in early spring (just a few leaves on the trees)... but not enough of a problem to detract from the overall positive experience. Barbara was an extraordinarily welcoming and accommodating hostess -- a true pleasure to work with, who met several special requests to help make our stay a great one.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

Great condo, great location in the resort. The spa is fantastic. We had a girls weekend here and really enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Practically perfect !

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

This property is a treasure among the pleasures of Nemacolin! Our family of three adults found the two bedroom condo practically perfect in every way. It is fully furnished, stocked with all the amenities of home and impeccably maintained. It truly is located in the heart of the resort. The condo is within walking distance of the Chateau, Lodge and Spa. Imagine walking home under the stars, on a lighted path, after a fabulous meal, drinks at the Cigar Bar and an Art Tour! And that's all after a day at the Spa! We had a great stay and plan to come back with friends. Barbara makes it so easy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great time!

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 10, 2010

All we kept saying was “OH, look at this” and “You have to see this” and “I would love to meet the owner”. The townhome was more than we could have hoped for in that we were surrounded not only by tasteful and unique furnishings (not the staid, ubiquitous things you find in most rentals) but by inviting artwork and everything you could imagine to help you feel that you were graciously invited into the owner’s home. I’m not sure if the owner decorated it herself but it definitely showed good taste and a warm personality. Our daughter and her friend loved the playroom and used it as their own hideaway when they did get to spend time away from the resort amenities and activities. There were so MANY activities at the resort and Barbara, the owner’s, discount on the resort’s spa fee definitely came in handy as we made our way through the Wildside, the activity and adventure centers and the ski lodge with the kids and the wine tasting, the shops and the elegant meals without them (Barbara even arranged for a sitter at last minute’s notice). We will definitely return for summer fun and wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else. The value was fantastic. We have stayed at 4 other rentals by owners and would definitely rank this at the top.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Winter Weekend Getaway!

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

Although our stay was short, it was truly fabulous in everyway! The condo is beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean ! When you enter the front door you feel like you are right at home. It is so cozy and welcoming that it is hard to leave! We spent one afternoon snow tubing and then visited the Wildside in the evening for a family game of bowling. The other day was spent taking advantage of the spa amenities. Barbara is a wonderful owner to rent from. She answers emails quickly and answers any question you may have. You can tell that she takes pride in her property and wants her guests to enjoy every minute of their stay. We will definitely tell our friends about the wonderful accomodations we had at Nemacolin. In addition, Barbara has a book in her condo about the Hardys art work on display throughout the resort - that was wonderful and I would encourage eveyone to read through that- absolutley amazing

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything as advertised and so so so much more!

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 5, 2010

My family and I stayed at Barbara’s lovely home for 4 days and each day we spent there we discovered a new surprise, ranging from the whimsical fairy house in the hall to the miniature rock faces whose abode was the floral arraignment on the table to the children’s play room (where my five year old enthusiastically signed her name and drew on the autograph wall). We could not have asked for anything else and the condo exceeded all our expectations. We combined the units to accommodate the kids and my mother and both units were fully equipped with amenities, beautiful furniture and art pieces that made it feel like a home. They were also extremely clean. After enjoying the condo and taking in the scenery of the woodland where it is located (the brook and small waterfall were so serene and put us all, even our two teenage daughters, in a very peaceful mood) we took the free shuttle to the resort chateau. Once there, we found a perfect activity for each member of our family. From the romantic little nooks to the half million dollar pool tables to the plethora of art , the 5 star restaurants, the internationally acclaimed spa (where we used the entrance fee reduction that Barbara gave us) for my husband and me… to the ski slopes, the kids club and the extravagant arcades of the Wildside for the kids.. to just about everything for my mom… we were all extremely satisfied! We were further elated to learn that on top of all the activities available at the resort there was even more that you could do at Ohiopyle, a short drive from the resort. The oldest kids can’t wait to go white-water rafting, but for now were content to just check out the falls. Barbara was extremely enjoyable to work with and prior to our trip stayed on the phone with me for over an hour giving us valuable suggestions on restaurants and activities! We have already started discussing when our next trip to the condo will be and cannot wait to return! PS: The resort was spectacular during the holidays.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful spot in all regards

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

my husband and i spent a weekend here with another couple and had a great stay.
layout is great, cozy atmosphere, nicely appointed.
easy to get anywhere in the resort on the shuttle that arrives promptly after you call for a pick up.
great outdoor deck, fireplace, 2 baths, everything you need.
highly recommend for anyone wanting to visit nemacolin. you can stay for a much more affordable rate yet have access to all, and sacrifice nothing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent value

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

The lower 1BR unit is an excellent value. Well-appointed, clean, and in low traffic, wooded area. No stove, but micro & small fridge work fine with 2 people. Upstairs is 2 BR and some movement can be heard when occupied, but we had no issues with this. Two nice walking trail to main lodge/resort and all amenities.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

The condo was absolutely perfect. My sisters and I rented the condo for my mother's 70th birthday party. It was extremely clean and inviting. The location was perfect. We never needed to drive. When we called for a shuttle, it was there in under 5 minutes each time. Barbara was great. She gave us some great tips-especially on making restaurant reservations, spa reservations, etc...She also gave us some names of places off-property that were great as well.

I would totally recommend this to a friend. We plan on going back and renting from Barbara again. There are so many activities at Nemacolin-something for everyone at every age. The spa was one of the best spas I've been to. The restaurants were excellent-be sure to make dinner reservations at the upscale restaurants. We ate at Autumn-excellent food!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great getaway with teens

Review submitted: August 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Hip and tasteful, super comfortable condo. The owner Barbra was wonderful and gave us great tips on things to do while in Nemacolin. We have two older teens and they had a blast spending time with us parents white water Kayaking, mountain biking, zip lineing and fishing. Nemacolin provided us with comfort and surrounded us with luxury and close by Ohioplye gave us adventure and an unforgettable time.
The Washington Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Condo in Beautiful Resort

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

Absolutely wonderful accomodations at a wonderful resort. Condo was beautifully decorated and extremely clean with everything you need for a get away! Perfect location to resorts ammendities. Owner was wonderful to deal with! Pool was perfect for kids and adults, golfing fabulous and the little town of Ohiopyle is a must! Otherwise plenty to do without leaving the resort!

Thank you again for sharing your home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We ALL loved it!!!!

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

Three couples and a baby stayed at this wonderful condo!! The view out the window is absolutely beautiful and the resort amenities kept us all entertained, even the 9 month old! We did the zipline, rented bikes to see the animal habitats, ate at the nice restaurants, did the climbing wall, played tennis, used the pools, indulged in the spa massage, made great dinners at the condo and took a lot of great walks! It was memorial day weekend and everything turned out wonderfully thanks to Barbara's lovely home (and attached home). The bedrooms all had their own bathrooms and they were separated enough to provide privacy for different schedules. We also visited Falling Water which is so close by.

Barbara was wonderful to interact with via email and so accommodating...she recommended a great flea market! The home was clean and so many perks, like boardgames and dvds! We enjoyed an afternoon of "Bring It On".

The only downside is that we all wanted more time there...so much to do and such a relaxed home environment...highly recommended all around!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

More than I expected!!

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

The townhouse exceeded all our expectations. It has such a wonderful ambiance- great for us, and from the looks of the play room, I'd say great for kids too. I felt that we were welcome guests in a gracious home. There is such attention to detail and the whole place is so tastefully decorated - with comfort, wit and great bedding. There are so many extras that I never thought would be in a rental property. I even borrowed the reading glasses as I forgot mine. The place is so neat and yet inviting. Of course, the resort is amazing, and we experienced it all for less than half what it cost us the last time when we stayed at the resort. We will be regulars here. I can't wait until the summer.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely Wonderful

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

We stayed for almost a week. We had an absolute wonderful and relaxing time. We have stayed at other locations on the resort and this place was the best. Quiet, private and beautiful area of the resort. So convenient for everything. We were able to enjoy sit and enjoy the private deck that overlooked the wooded area and enjoyed room service delivery as well! It was a fantastic experience and plan to visit again as soon as we can. If you want to relax with nature and have all of the luxuries of the spa and resort this is the place to stay. The condo was very clean and well maintained. The gym was included in our package, but I only used it once b/c we were outside on the trails that were close to the condo. However, the gym was very clean and up to date on equipment. The lunch was a bit pricy at the gym, but it was all organic and healthy.

We enjoyed coffee and breakfast every morning on the deck, followed by a nature hike and then on to the adventure center - the Zip line was the best. By afternoon we hit the spa for absolute relaxation. At night we enjoyed the various restaurants or room service. We were liked the steakhouse the best. On one night we actually cooked and just stayed in. Highly recommend!
Dana C.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

We discovered Nemacolin last year and it has become one of our favorite getaways. There is so much to do. We found this condo online and have stayed there 3 times. We love it! It is a good size for four adults. It is very clean and perfect for a comfy getaway. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review