reviews for: listing #5842 - Union Pier, Michigan House rental

Luxe lakefront w/WIFI,fireplces, Hot Tub,90 min frm Chicago!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $299 - $699 /nt
    $2,199 - $3,699 /wk

sort by:

Sanctuaire

Review submitted: October 7, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We just came back from spending a long fall weekend at Sanctuaire. We've coming to Sanctuaire for the last several years since it is so close to our home to Chicago and a relaxing retreat. The website does not do Sanctuaire justice- its much better when you are there! Its stunning.
Also- we've rented vacation homes before and deal with owners/rental agencies who have no clue how to treat its guests. Sanctuaire is run like a Swiss watch. Sanctuaire is very professional and well maintained. I think it is a bargain when you understand everything you are getting- a beautiful home, amazing private outdoor hot tub, and lovely touches for the guests.

Helpful votes: 72 / 81

 

Amazing Home for Wine Country Relaxing

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

This beautiful home is tucked away in a super quiet area that is abo that is close to many conveniences- - drug store, super markets, and easy access to much of wine country.

My wife and I just returned from another visit to this house. We have been there before and will come back again - it's that nice. It is furnished with conveniences you most likely don't have at your home. The kitchen will blow you away with its appliances and supplies- the Owner is a chef when not practicing law and you benefit from this! The home is immaculately furnished like you don't expect to find in a rental. If you think the rental rate looks high, then you haven't seen what you get. Besides, when you see the kitchen you will want to eat in and the end result is you probably save at least $150/day on food costs.

The walk to the parks and Lake Michigan beach is fun and you may see deer, wild turkeys and other of nature's wildlife. We prefer to stay onsite and enjoy the smaller lake and fish and use the boats that are included in the cost. There are also a few amusements that the younger set will enjoy.
The home is in the heart of the wine country and lots of local sustainable produce markets and farms. This would new a great place to stay if you wanted to see all the Southwest Michigan's wineries, as they are all only a short drive away. This house has a great location that is secluded with privacy.

The house was spotless and the beautiful Hot tub in the back yard facing the lake was relaxing, sparkling and well maintained.
This house would be great any time of year, for a family or couple, a great alternative to expensive hotels. We even stayed an extra night it was so relaxing!
We think you will enjoy this luxury rental and maybe be a repeat guests as we are.

Kudos to you, Mona.

Randy and Lillian.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxing long weekend

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

Was a wonderful getaway for a long weekend. House is fantastic and is equipped with everything needed. conveniently located for visits to Lake Michigan and only a short drive to Chicago. Is a great place to stay for a relaxing weekend in a quiet setting with numerous options for daytime activities.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love to hear back from our guests! Thank you very much!

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Quiet, peaceful and close to home.

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Our small family was looking for a quiet lake with access to great local flavor and Lake Michigan beaches. We usually travel 7 hours to northern Wisconsin to find this kind of peaceful place in the woods, but were looking for something closer to home. Sanctuaire fit that bill perfectly. The absence of noise we sought was met and exceeded by the gorgeous view from the three-season porch. An abundance of cozy, oversized couches and chairs invited us to sit sometimes for hours and gaze at the scenery with a cool glass of something or a morning cup of coffee (she stocks freshly ground beans, God bless her). Our 8 year-old and his buddy wasted no time calling their beds and then speeding down to the lake for a swim, jumping with joy when they spotted the float they could paddle over to and climb. Mona takes great pride in keeping the home meticulous and full of conveniences. Take her advice and pack light...you will find that you need very little to fully enjoy your time here.

Owners response: Its great to know that you felt right at home in our Sanctuaire and that it also became your Sanctuaire so close to your home! Whether first time tourist or experienced travelers like you, we do everything we can to make sure every guest feels at home and we always feel better hearing that we have succeeded. Thank you very much!

Helpful votes: 11 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My 30 day Military Leave-from Afghanistan

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

HI Mona- I'm back in Afghanistan. Thank you for a wonderful stay at Sanctuaire. My family loved it!

The house was wonderful, a dream come true. I set up the camera one morning in the rain and pointed it at the lake to capture the peace and serenity of Sanctuaire, just so I could have a piece of it to take back here with me.


Thank you for allowing my family and I to share your little piece of heaven!
https://www.homeaway.com/haod/121.304919.409433/reviews/list.html#!

Paul

Helpful votes: 8 / 13

 

Best Kept Secret in SW Michigan's Wine Country!

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

I have traveled to many places in my life and have been to Union Pier/Harbor Country/Southwest Michigan a number of times in the past six years, but I have NEVER expierienced an ambience so perfect that one has to experience it to believe it. No matter what I say, it will not do this wonderful property justice. I will try. The quiet and serene private lake. Private and secluded. The smell of the flowers and trees, the beautiful natural light inside and outside the house,, attention to detail, beautiful wood work, art, a beautiful kitchen with appliances and flatware, silverware, and glassware that are beautiful as much as they are functional, a comfortable beds, a beautiful 3 season room with comfortable blanket all create a very special environment. I dare to say that had it rained my entire stay, I would have been content to stay in the cottage and enjoy a property that the owner obviously holds dear.

The property was clean, the amenities were beyond what one would find in a four or five star hotel, and all claims by the owner in the listing were accurate and truthful. The pictures accurately portrayed the layout and beauty of the cottage.

I must say, I was as surprised to find that Sanctuaire itself is located in a quiet wonderful neighborhood to stay and I found a number of excellent eating options although I must admit, I did cook one meal in the cottage due to the fact that there are wonderful farmer's markets. For those who like it, I found Tabor Hill Winery Restaurant an excellent choice. The Chinease restaurant was also a great place to enjoy other ethnic cuisine.

I hope to stay at the cottage again this fall.

Thank you Mona. I will be sure to come again if your cottage is available.

Owners response: Thank you for your comments and glad you had a great time at Sanctuaire. We appreciate that you took excellent care of the house. We look forward to having you and your family stay at Sanctuaire in the near future.

Helpful votes: 11 / 16

 

Truly amazing= you will win back your LIFE!

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We stayed at Sanctuaire twice, each for one week. This cabin is truly a treat, and you will do yourself a big favor staying at Sanctuaire, as it is amazing. Having traveled all over the world, and being very familiar with all sorts of lake houses in Southwest Michigan as well as mountain resorts and cabins, this home stands out as being the best. Travel reviews are always difficult to compare, what is great for one person is not so great for another. In this case however, it is different. This home is absolutely amazing, and I dare to say that most peoples' own homes are not as nice as this exquisite retreat. To call it a cabin is an understatement as it is fantastic, with everything perfectly fitting, from the views, to the location, decor, cleanliness all the way to a beautiful welcome basket, down to cooking dishes, plates, herbs and anything you might not even have thought of in your own home during a well-planned Holiday. Do yourself a favor, and if you are looking for a great escape, stay at Sanctuaire. I haven't had time to write this review earlier, but nevertheless, with the upcoming Holidays, as much as I would like to keep it as "my best-kept travel secret", this cabin (I would rather call it a Chalet, as they are so gorgeous) will provide for an unforgettable vacation. I know, words come easy, but this comes from a seasoned traveler and it is very sincere. Feel free to contact me for further questions, and Mona, thanks again for everything! It was certainly one of the best Christmas Holidays I ever had. One last note, having all the outdoor privacy and expensive Outdoor Hot tub at Sanctuiare, sitting in it at night when it snows, is the best. You will win back your life. This review is the result of an amazing experience, and it should reflect it, I hope I was able to find the right words.

Helpful votes: 12 / 17

 

Relaxing, perfect vacation - we hope to come back!

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

We stayed 2 weeks at Sanctuaire. We were 6 people, extended family: 4 adults and 2 children, all hoping for what the property promised, a sanctuary. Even though our expectations were high after looking at photos on the website, we were thrilled on our arrival. The owner, has painstakingly thought through every detail of what you might need or want for a perfect holiday, from modern, fully stocked kitchen and comfortable beds to the extravaganza of a gorgeous hot tub, boats, out door grill, WIFI, and of course, the Plasma TV with Surround Sound and lots of DVDS(!) We all used the gym which made eating the beautiful croissants and pain de chocolat from the local bakery (thank you Sandra Kays;-) less guilty!The owner and the local contacts were very easy to get in touch with, and helpful, had we any queries. Our children learned to swim in the lake during our stay and we enjoyed visiting the beautiful farmer markets that were held in different towns in the vicinity. We would warmly recommend Sanctuaire to anyone who wants to enjoy a hasslefree, relaxing holiday. We have nothing to complain about, and our standards and expectations were very high. I just hope it won´t be impossible to book again!

Helpful votes: 11 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Lovely Stay- Thanksgiving

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Hello Mona,
I am sorry that I am so late in getting back to you after arriving back home. We had a wonderful time at your delightful home. Our Thanksgiving week was a warm and meaningful family time for both Carol and myself, as well as our children and grandson. Your greeting touch of the wine was appreciated, as was the abundance of towels, and bedding.
The hot tub was great and it was very well maintained. The service men came by three times during our stay. We used it every night and even caught the full moon. it puts on quite a light show at night with the pumps going and the temperature was very relaxing.
As you know, we had our turkey and celebrated Thanksgiving on Wednesday. The weather was great on Thursday with a high of 61 degrees, so we canoed, and rowed your boat all around a very quiet Singer lake. That night we started a fire in the fire pit and all had smores and many stories to share.
We took walks all around the farm and orchard areas, sat on the pier and watched the lights reflecting on the water, and ate out at Wheatberry, Red Arrow Road house, Tabor hill and visited a brewery in Sawyer, and Journeyman in Three Oaks.
The many fires in the fire place helped to set the right autumn atmosphere for us. We had a delightful time and the only mishap that I can think of was that after our daughter, her husband, and 3 year old son left. My wife and I were cleaning up everything the next day and picked up things of theirs like toys and a set of mittens, etc. We also picked up your "Cock A Doodle Christmas" by Will Hillenbrand, by mistake. Please deduct $16.99 from our deposit as it looked to be a new book. Our little Elijah enjoyed it so many times, I thought it was their book!
We are very pleased that we found your get away home, which was truly a Sanctuaire for us.
Sincerely, Carol and Chip

Helpful votes: 27 / 32

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home away from Home!

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

The Sanctuaire is the perfect combination of comfort and rustic charm. What a lovely home in a picturesque and secluded location. Romantic yet very family friendly as well. We felt the level of service and attention to detail far exceeded most rentals and we look forward to returning in the future!

Helpful votes: 27 / 32

 

The Perfect Retreat!

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Sanctuaire is a spectacular getaway for couples or a family retreat. While located close to home (about 90 minutes outside of Chicago) it felt worlds away. The home is situated in a very private setting with picturesque views of both the lake and the woods. There is something to do for everyone, including fishing, swimming, relaxing in the hot tub, sitting by the fire, or simply enjoying the many beautiful sitting areas within the home. If you need a change of scenery you are just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan or the many cute towns nearby. If you are looking for a well taken care of home with special touches not normally offered in a rental cottage this place is for you. The master suite is amazing and the loft beds are a blast for the kids. It also offers a second private bedroom on a separate floor. Enjoy your stay! For our family it was truly unforgettable and we look forward to going back every year!

Helpful votes: 34 / 39

 

Private and beautiful for our family of 4

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We usually head to the Outer Banks, but this year wanted somewhere closer to home so our teenagers could still work but spend time with their parents. Sanctuaire was what I was looking for. Mona kept saying "this isn't your ordinary lake house"....and she was on target. I didn't have to take much, or do much. I loved the collection of music, books, and movies; the soaps and even toothpaste! Nice towels, awesome kitchen...even condiments so we didn't waste buying them.

But the best part....the lake. Clear, warm, clean; gorgeous. There were days the only people I saw were 2 boys swimming the length of the lake daily. I loved the raft for quiet sunning afternoons on the lake when we didn't head to Lake Michigan. The hot tub was excellent for views and relaxing. We did one fire outdoors before mosquitos chased us in, and I didn't try the indoor jacuzzi, but could have used a whole another week to enjoy this home. I felt safe, even when by myself one night, and my teens loved it for the two nights they came up. Mona's recommendations for eating out were spot-on; (Tabor Hill, Wheatberry, and Tosis) We always love this area ("God's country", we call it) One night we saw people walking to the nearby wineries, and if we were fisherpeople, we would have been in heaven. I was happy just watching taps each night at sunset in Weko Beach down the road. Communication was great- we received a call from Mona 24 hours after we arrived, and my security deposit was in my hands less than 48 hours after check-out. Perfect.

Helpful votes: 31 / 36

 

Sanctuaire: An Exceptional Vacation.

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

I have been coming to Sanctuaire nearly every summer since 2000, My last visit was in August 2011. Sanctuaire is secluded and private, yet, close enough to everything in the area that you might want to explore. The home is very comfortable and clean. It is obvious that the owners take great pride in their property. Amenities include a washer and dryer, WIFI, beautiful fireplace, satellite TV, DVD player, high-end sound system, and an incredible outside hot tub with a view of the lake. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare and serve a meal. The 3 season room is perfect for sharing meals, reading, or playing board games. The lake is great for swimming, canoeing, and fishing. You can have your morning coffee on the dock or toast marshmallows at the fire pit. The view from the loft will blow you away! The hosts are wonderful people who go out of their way to ensure that you have a relaxing visit. I highly recommend that you book Sanctuaire for your next vacation, retreat, family gathering, or romantic weekend with that special someone. You'll be glad that you did!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 22 / 27

 

Sanctuaire: An Exceptional Vacation Experience

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

I have been coming to Sanctuaire nearly every summer since 2000, and I have always had a wonderful vacation experiece there. My last visit was in August 2011. Sanctuaire is private and secluded, yet close enough to everything that you might want to explore in the area. The home is very comfortable and clean, and it is obvious that the owners take great pride in their property. Amenities include very comfortable beds, a washer and dryer, a wonderful fireplace, WIFI, satelite TV, DVD player, high-end sound system, and an incredible outside hot tub with a view of the lake. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare a meal and serve it. The 3 season room is perfect for sharing meals, reading, or playing board games. The lake is great for swimming, canoeing, or fishing. You can have your morning coffee on the dock or toast some marshmallows in the outside fire pit. The view from the loft will blow you away! The hosts are wonderful people who will go out of their way to ensure that your visit is relaxing. I highly recommend that you book Sanctuaire for your next vacation, retreat, family gathering, or romantic weekend with that special person. You'll be glad you did!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 10

 

Sanctuaire: An Excetional Vacation Awaits You

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

I have been coming to Sanctuaire nearly every summer since 2000, and I have always had a wonderful vacation there. It is secluded and private, yet close enough to everything you might want to explore in the area. The home is very clean and comfortable, and has outstanding amenities to include very comfortable beds, a beautiful fireplace, WIFI, satellite TV, DVD player, high-end sound system, and a wonderful outside hot tub with a view of the lake. The lake is great for swimming, canoeing, or fishing. You can have your morning coffee on the dock or roast marshmallows outside in the fire pit. The 3 season room is wonderful for enjoying meals, reading, or playing board games. The view from the loft will blow you away! The owners are very proud of this property and it shows. They are a pleasure to deal with, and will go out of their way to ensure that you have a great stay. I highly recommend that you book Sanctuaire for your next vacation, retreat, family gathering, or romantic weekend with that special someone. You'll be glad you did! Mick Cockerill, California

Helpful votes: 11 / 16

 

Truly a Sanctuary!

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

I first rented Sanctuaire last fall and couldn't wait to get back this Spring. We were there on a beautiful Fall week and were able to visit the nearby wineries, buy some local pumpkins and produce, canoe on the lake, enjoy a bonfire and relax in the hot tub. The lakeviews were amazingly beautiful and we felt truly relaxed. The kitchen has everything you need and we also visited some restaurants. The home is on a serene lake and is warm and inviting. It is not to be missed!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much and perfect guests! You have a beautiful family and took great care with Sanctuaire. Please remind me to give you "Friends and Family" Discount next time you visit. This discount is reserved for exceptional guests who we encourage to return.

Kindest Regards, Mona

Helpful votes: 21 / 26

 

Just what the doctor ordered

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

Thank you for your generous hospitality. After two weddings and two college graduations within 6 months combined with a busy life with four children, we were looking for rest and relaxation. To our delight, Sanctuaire had just what we needed. Inside It was "stocked' well so daily life was easy. The interior decor was both beautiful and restful. The lush, green natural surroundings and quiet, peaceful lake completed the perfect place for a week of relaxation. The surrounding privacy was appreciated. The busy, demanding world seemed far away. Thanks again for a wonderful week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 21

 

Terrific Vacation!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

My family just returned for a week in this terrific vacation spot. The pictures on this site did not completely paint the beautiful picutre of the large open space that encompassed the Kitchen, Living Room, and Three Season Room. The screened porch overlooking the lake was a great spot for eating all our meals, morning coffee. A 2 person seat on the dock was perfect for watching sunsets. The house was immaculate and well stocked with the basics that were needed for the vacation. The couple watching over the cottage were attentive and helpful when needed and unobtrusive the rest of the time! Dealing with Mona, the owner, was always a pleasure. Mona wanted to be sure we knew that Sanctuaire is not the "hot" place to be; nightlife is limited; there is no "corner" store. We have stayed in Harbor Country and Singer Lake in the past and it was as clean and beautiful as always! The lake has very few boats in proportion to the size of the lake and swimming, non-motorized boating, fishing and tubing, is worry free in terms of concern about other boats being too close. We did dine out. Great restaurants in the area! Tabor Hill Winery just down the street, Brewery in Sawyer and Wheatberry (!!!!) for great microbeers and BBQ was DELISH! All-in-all, the rental it fit us to a "T". We spent time together boating, swimming, and playing board or card games. Our children enjoy being together and prefer NOT to go sightseeing although they did travel 30 minutes to see a movie. For us, the spot was perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 17

 

Wonderful Vacation!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

Thank you for your generous hospitality. After two weddings and two college graduations within 6 months combined with a busy life with four children, we were looking for rest and relaxation. To our delight, Sanctuaire had just what we needed. Inside It was "stocked' well so daily life was easy. The interior decor was both beautiful and restful. The lush, green natural surroundings and quiet, peaceful lake completed the perfect place for a week of relaxation. The surrounding privacy was appreciated. The busy, demanding world seemed far away. Thanks again for a wonderful week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 14

 

Peaceful and Quiet

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

My family just returned for a week in this terrific vacation spot. The pictures on this site did not completely paint the beautiful picutre of the large open space that encompassed the Kitchen, Living Room, and Three Season Room. The screened porch overlooking the lake was a great spot for eating all our meals, morning coffee. A 2 person seat on the dock was perfect for watching sunsets.

The house was immaculate and well stocked with the basics that were needed for the vacation. The couple watching over the cottage were attentive and helpful when needed and unobtrusive the rest of the time! Dealing with Mona, the owner, was always a pleasure. Mona wanted to be sure we knew that Sanctuaire is not the "hot" place to be; nightlife is limited; there is no "corner" store.

We have stayed in Harbor Country and Singer Lake in the past and it was as clean and beautiful as always! The lake has very few boats in proportion to the size of the lake and swimming, non-motorized boating, fishing and tubing, is worry free in terms of concern about other boats being too close.

We did dine out. Great restaurants in the area! Tabor Hill Winery just down the street, Brewery in Sawyer and Wheatberry (!!!!) for great microbeers and BBQ was DELISH! All-in-all, the rental it fit us to a "T". We spent time together boating, swimming, and playing board or card games. Our children enjoy being together and prefer NOT to go sightseeing although they did travel 30 minutes to see a movie. For us, the spot was perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful, restful retreat

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

Five friends and I just stayed at Sanctuaire for our annual weekend "retreat." The house couldn't have been more perfect--the location was fairly close to town and so easy to get to, but felt like it was more remote, because it's fairly secluded and right on the lake. Speaking of the lake, it was fun to sit down by the lake in the provided lawn chairs, and have a bonfire! The house itself was spotless, with plenty of room for us to spread out (it's the first time we've ever each had our own bed!), and lots of comfortable places to sit.
Plus, the family who rents out Sanctuaire were extremely responsive throughout the rental process--I have no complaints about their communication.
With its scenic setting and view, and its accommodating layout (both inside and out) and the excellent communication, we're looking forward to returning next year!

Helpful votes: 9 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I want to live here!

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 12, 2011

I love this place. My husband and I were very pleased with the property and the city. This was our first time to use this website and I am so happy with the service and the house. It is an ideal retreat type home. It was just perfect for us and very quiet and romantic.

Helpful votes: 8 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Wine Country Retreat close to home

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

This property is amazing, peaceful and beautiful. It has plenty of room to cook, relax on the back porch and listen to the sounds from the lake. It is within close distance to restaurants, wineries and antique shops. It was clean, in great condition, and the owner made sure we had clean towels, and a very clean kitchen when we arrived. The bedding was also extradorinary, and many windows to let in lots of light and fresh air. We are definitely coming back! PS We reccommend doing the 17 mile bike and wine trail just bring a pack so you can purchase wine along the way!

Helpful votes: 9 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wish we could have stayed longer!

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

My girlfriend and I spent a week in Southwest Michigan and when booking the trip we knew this place was going to be to our taste, but I don't think we expected to enjoy it as much as we did. In fact we felt so comfortable and content in this house that we had a hard time finding reasons to go out at night. We had friends from Sawyer over for dinner one night and they were enamored with this place as well.

The kitchen is wonderful and the patio area is ideal for relaxing meals in the morning and evening. The living room, dining area and bed rooms are spatious and wonderfully comfortable. The decor is all well thought out and charming. The WIFI, satellite TV and surround sound music, 3 season room, gas grill and washer/dryer also proved to be very useful bonus features.

The location was ideal for us because its tucked away and quiet while also being not far from a main road leading to the vineyards. There are fantastic fresh fruit markets biking distances as well as good restaurants. Being from the big city my girlfriend and I found everything very easy to get to and we liked where this place was especially because its like having a little cottage of your own in a quiet neighborhood.

Lastly I would like to add that our choice in staying here proved especially fortunate due to the graciousness of the owner and proprietor. We discovered we had left a bag behind when it was too late to turn back and Mona and her staff were incredibly helpful in getting it returned to us within a day or two. Thank you again so much.

Our entire trip was wonderful and we won't forget it, but "Sanctuaire" was a big part of the entire experience. We hope to return again as soon as we can.

Helpful votes: 7 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved it!!

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

Dear Mona: I wanted to let you know that the Sanctuaire has to be the nicest rental home we have ever occupied on vacation! We alway use the internet to find a house because they are much more comfortable than a hotel room with kids.I know you asked if the house was adequately portrayed in your advertisements. Its even better than you advertise. Especially the kitchen. Since we do this alot, I am familiar with encountering an empty kitchen and having to buy things like napkins, dish soap, spices etc. and wasting a lot of them on a short trip.....I bought a weeks supply of these things with me to Sanctuaire and didn't need a single item. I also was amazed at the other finer touches: shampoos, soaps, wood, and the number of towels (and chuckled that no one could use that many)...

Also, I would like to thank your staff who were very professional and accomodating from the point of reservation till our departure. I was especially surprised to get a call from your staff welcoming us to Sanctuaire. I hope we have to opportunity to return to Sanctuaire again soon . I will definitely look up your company again for accomodations. Sue S.

Helpful votes: 7 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved it!!

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

Dear Mona: I wanted to let you know that the Sanctuaire has to be the nicest rental home we have ever occupied on vacation! We alway use the internet to find a house because they are much more comfortable than a hotel room with kids.I know you asked if the house was adequately portrayed in your advertisements. Its even better than you advertise. Especially the kitchen. Since we do this alot, I am familiar with encountering an empty kitchen and having to buy things like napkins, dish soap, spices etc. and wasting a lot of them on a short trip.....I bought a weeks supply of these things with me to Sanctuaire and didn't need a single item. I also was amazed at the other finer touches: shampoos, soaps, wood, and the number of towels (and chuckled that no one could use that many)...

Also, I would like to thank your staff who were very professional and accomodating from the point of reservation till our departure. I was especially surprised to get a call from your staff welcoming us to Sanctuaire. I hope we have to opportunity to return to Sanctuaire again soon . I will definitely look up your company again for accomodations. Sue S.

Helpful votes: 5 / 11

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: September 12, 2009   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

We have stayed at Sanctuaire a couple of times over the past year. It is FANTASTIC. Beautifully appointed in every capacity, top of the line everything. The home is private and conveniently located less than 2 hours from Chicago. We loved the lakefront that you can see from all the windows facing the lake, our private pier with great fishing and boating and long nights with a campfire near the lake. Everything awesome about Southwest Michigan is minutes away. We went to wineries, art galleries, antique stores, hiking, kayaking, lots of farms/farmer's markets. Lake Michigan beach is 5 minutes away. Long, white sand, beautiful beaches.

As Chairman of the largest literary event West of the Mississippi, this is the PERFECT getaway for writers, aspiring authors, and literary types.

The experience will exceed your every expectation. It is fantastic. I highly recommend it to anyone, singles, couples, families. It is terrific! Tyler H. September, 2009

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 16

 

Coming back again!

Review submitted: August 16, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Dear Mona- - We had a very, very nice time at Sanctuaire. You were right. It is very peaceful and quiet...just the right amount of serenity coupled with convenience. We tried to take in as many of the local events as possible...the Art Fair in St Joe's...New Buffalo, Sawyer, Union Pier, Warren Dunes, various Farmer's Markets, Tabor Hill and Lemon Creek Wineries and the Antique place right down the road. Looking forward to a return visit. Oh, and thanks so much for the bottle of wine upon our arrival....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 15

 

Coming back again!

Review submitted: July 21, 2009   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

We spent 10 weeks at Sanctuaire. Beautiful interior-tastefully decorated, Great location, great value, very comfortable to stay in. Its right on the Lake with fishing, swimming and boats! Incredible and awesome hot tub, laundry, kitchen facilities and kayak beach availability were great. Also we were able to book adventures right from the property. We are coming back again very soon in the fall.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review