reviews for: listing #58495 - Waikiki, Hawaii Studio rental

Polu Hale - Gorgeous ocean view studio - Sleeps 2/4
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $120 - $150 /nt
    $720 - $900 /wk

sort by:

I call this my home in Hawaii

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

I never wrote any reviews in my life.
I just got back from Hawaii yesterday and this is the first thing that I am doing after I unpacked all my luggages.
I and my husband couldn't believe what we were seeing when we walked in to the place.
Everything was as it was written, so clean and organized.
We will definitely come back on next trip to Hawaii.
We couldn't ask for more but just wished it had come with free parking :)

Just a few things that I want the owner to know:

1. One of the snorkelling gear set is missing a mask.
(we went to Hanauma bay and found out that a mask was missing and had to walk all the way back to the parking to get money to rent a mask :( )
2. The door doesn't close very well. On the first night, we came back from a grocery shopping and so shocked to see the door wasn't closed. Checked out the unit immediately but everything was find. We just let the door go thinking that it would just close but you have to pull real hard to close it.
3. The keys didn't work well.
A few days after arrival, we realized that one of the key didn't work. So we used the other key but on the last day none of them worked. It was right before the check out time so we were so freaking out and ran to the front dest. Thank got they made a copy. We went up but still not working. Went down again and they fix them up and this time they worked. Phew!
4. The shower handle needs to be pulled real hard!
5. The parking fee is $25 per day not $20

Other than that I couldn't ask for more! (Maybe the parking ;))
We are thinking of going to Hawaii next year already and we will book this place again for sure!
Thanks Gerard for sharing your lovely place with us.
(There are some Musubi in the fridge I forgot to take them with me Sorry! But bottles of water and juice we left them for next people)

Thanks again and I will talked to you soon ;)

Alvi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfectly located condo furnished with Aloha

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to Hawaii and staying in a condo. The condo is very nicely furnished and everything has been thought of; whenever we thought we needed something, we would look in a cupboard or the wardrobe and there it was. The view was amazing, although being scared of heights I didn't get too close. The only small issue is that the air con seems very loud and we could not sleep with the door open as I was too scared (long way down).
It was also great being able to have breakfast in the condo as I was worried about eating every meal out. Actually eating my cereal with that amazing view was pretty unbeatable.
We can't wait for our next trip to Oahu and will definitely stay at Gerard's amazing condo.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

Very nice location right next to waikiki beaches (one street to Kalakaua avenue and Kuhio beach park). The studio is very clean with a nice view to the sea and the diamond head. Also the studio is very well furnished (beach accessories, kitchen, ...) Owner is very helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place to stay in Waikiki

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

My husband and I had a great time staying at the Polu Hale condo for two weeks. Everything was clean and well stocked with things that we needed. The king size bed was very comfortable and the large screen TV was a nice touch. We enjoyed the goodies that were supplied by the owner (coffee, chocolates, caramel corn, tropical juice. etc.). The only thing we might have as a negative is that our one door key did not always work on our condo door or at the front entrance on the main floor. We appreciated the fact that Gerard accomodated our late check out with no problem. That certainly made our last day in Waikiki a lot more enjoyable. We would certainly consider staying here again. We tried the Blazin Steaks restaurant (below the Mexican restaurant) and it was great ... would recommend the Steak and Shrimp ... delicious !!!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Waikiki Condo

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

I have stayed in many Waikiki hotels and condos over the years, and the Polu Hale condo is by far one of my favorites! The location is great, 3 blocks to the beach and walking distance to many restaurants and shops in the heart of Waikiki. The accomodations are clean and comfortable - I love that the sliding doors open almost completely to the balcony, which has a spectacular view of the city (and the water too!). Gerard was fantastic, able to fulfill my last minute reservation and need for a late check out. I will stay here again, especially because I didn't have time to enjoy all of the ammenities...hot tub on the roof, snorkeling gear in the closet...The best part is, the price is right :) THANK YOU!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Could not have been happier with the place

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

My wife and I chose this property because it appeared to have everything the two of us would need for our week long Hawaiian dream vacay for our 10th wedding anniversary. I could not have been happier with the place!!! King size bed! HUGE TV (with a Wii)! A kitchenette! Great views from the Lanai! Roof top pool and Hot tub! Literally a minutes walk from Legendary Waikiki beach! It was fully stocked with everything you'd need for a day on the beach (Boogie boards, dive masks, swim fins, snorkels, even beach towels and mats!!!). We left our two girls (6 and 3) at home for this trip, but soon realized we could have brought them and all 4 of us would have been VERY comfortable. There was a trundle bed for additional guests and a room dividing curtain for privacy. Right outside the main doors is a FANTASTIC restaurant called "Blazin' Steaks". YOU HAVE TO EAT THERE!!! INCREDIBLE FOOD!!! We will definitely be returning for another holiday in the coming years and my wife and I would not think of booking anywhere else!!! :D

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Waikiki- Great Hawaiian feeling!

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

It was exactly as described and shown in the photos. Gerard was very helpful. It was convenient to have the internet connection, beach chairs, boogie boards and snorkeling equipment. It was clean, well furnished with a safety box. It was invigorating to be able to see the ocean from the lanai enjoying our breakfast while watching the sunrise from the dining table or just relaxing after a long day at the beach (two blocks away), sight seeing island tour bus pick up is one block away or shopping within a block or two. Don’t forget to catch the sunrise from the roof top and a swim. Beautiful view all around!
Thank you Gerard for returning the clothes I left behind!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Retired Kangaroos

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

As a retired couple we have stayed at the Pacific Monarch on numerous occasions on different levels and this condo proved to meet all our expectations during our 10 day stay in September- The owner, Gerard, has made a genuine attempt to provide all the amenities to make your stay most enjoyable and memorable at a price very comparable to other condos in the building we have stayed at- Surf equipment is available together with beach towels, many books and games wii free wifi are all i ncluded in the rent plus a big welcome basket of local munchies( nuts, biscuits coffee etc)- The small kitchen was very well equipped and the bed linen was top quality as was the king size mattress- Our daughter and her family travelled from Sydney with us and they stayed in one of Gerard's other studios and the same comments apply for their accomodation-These condos were certainly as depicted on their web site if not better- We would certainly recommend to any of our family or friends travelling to Waikiki to book this condo!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very nice place !!!

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

Very nice place !!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

This is a great place. Location is good and very clean. It made or vacation having a plave to stay like this!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

This is a great place to stay. Great location and very nice! I would go back in a second. The owner is very friendly and helpfull.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 1, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

Thank you very much for a beautiful stay!
It was our first time to Hawaii, and our stay here made it even more enjoyable!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Polu Hale Condo

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 14, 2010

We were very plesantly surprised with our experience in this condo and with the Pacific Monarch Hotel. The photos on the website were right on, and everything was immaculate. The snacks that the owners provided were a really nice touch as were all of the beach items that they provide. We used the soft sided cooler for our drives around Oahu.
I would not recommend this condo for four adults. It is a small condo and great for two adults and probably 2 small children. The only negative I can say is that the A/C unit is noisy, and with the window open you get a lot of street noise. I was a bit disappointed that the balcony was standing room only, not big enough for a chair. But the smallness of the unit was not an issue since we were here to see all the beauty of Hawaii not sit in our room. The hotel is only 1-2 block walk to the beach and all the restaurants and shops which is great. I would definetly stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: After reading your review, we immediately changed the A/C. There is now a new Air Conditioner, quieter and more powerful.
The lanai is not very wide (2 or 3 feet), just enough for a chair. But what we like about our studio is that it has a wall-to-wall lanai, so when you open the sliding doors, it's as if the whole room was a lanai. You can feel the tropical breeze and watch the turquoise ocean waves from the sofa and the dining table.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best vacation rental ever!

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

We just spent a week in the Hale Polu, and loved it! The unit is very tastefully decorated, and the owners really did think of everything one may need during a Hawaiian vacation: brand new snorkelling gear in adult and kids sizes, beach toys and quality towels, cooler, beach chairs and umbrella, boogieboards, etc... The travel guides are recent and VERY useful (we found the best shrimp truck in them). The Hawaiian-themed board games are a nice touch as well. The Wii was an unexpected surprise as well! The beds are very comfortable, the kitchen well-equipped and the bathroom very nice! Everything is brand new, and the LOCATION can't be beat. Close to everything in Waikiki. Note that the public parking in the building offers the best rate around by far! The owners are very nice to deal with, and we definitely will recommend this to our friends and family until our next visit! Mahalo!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you!
We try to offer our guests exactly what we would like to get for an enjoyable and relaxing Hawaiian vacation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Building Needs Renovation

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

A Bright and Clean room in a good location. The owner thought of nearly everything when stocking this place with beach necessities. Something needs to done about the dated and smelly building it inhabits though.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: We try to offer out guests everything they will need for an enjoyable stay: from snorkeling gear, plushy beach towels and bodyboards to guide books, local snacks and coffee for the first day, shampoo and conditioner, DVDs, etc.
There is even a blender to make smoothies and beautiful hand painted glasses!
We are always trying to improve our guest experience, so if you think about anything missing, just let us know!

BTW: the building doesn't have any bad smell, and is well maintained. But because the units in this building have kitchens, you might have cooking smells in the pathway (but never in the room). The building is only 31 year old.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review