reviews for: listing #5858 - Bar Harbor, Maine House rental

Unique Nature Inspired New Home Next to Lake in Acadia Park
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $800 - $3,450 /wk

sort by:

Great house and location, highly recommended

Review submitted: August 2, 2009   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

Our family stayed here in June 2009, and based on our experience, would recommend for anyone looking for a great vacation home.

The property is new, very well maintained, clean, and as described. In fact, the photos do not quite do justice to our favorite features including an excellent kitchen and a screened-in porch with a quiet, serene view of the surrounding woods.

The location is convenient to access both the park and nearby activities like Long Pond and Beech Mountain.

The owners were terrific to work with and helped with many great tips and advice before and during our stay. They also provide loads of current local information, organized in a big file box with maps, brochures, menus, etc. The small library of books was handy as well - covering everything from bird watching to sea kayaking and hiking guides.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great home, great location!

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

This was our best vacation ever! Jennifer made the welcome easy and was very helpful in recommendations for places to visit. Long Pond is a 5-10 minute walk from the house. My kids (ages 5,7,9) were in heaven for the week. When not swimming in Long Pond or canoeing or exploring the wooded area of our home, we were hiking in the mountains (Beech Mtn -- 15 minute drive to this fantastic hike), Acadia Mtn, Flyinig High Mtn., Wonderland, South Harbor, and much more. The vistas atop the mountain are amazing! And kids loved the hikes.

The home is immaculate, full of every amenity possible and high end. Take a look at the pictures!

Cant wait to come back --- we haven't even touched the other things to do here!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful House in Mount Desert Island

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

My family (1 toddler, 2 adults) recently stayed at Fern Way and couldn't have been more pleased with the stay. We would recommend for anyone looking for a great vacation home.

The property is new, very well maintained, clean and has an amazing view of the woods. Pictures do not do this house justice.

Fern Way was equipped with everything a family with young children would need. We loved knowing we didn't need to bring anything for our child. Toys, cups, more toys, pack and play etc. We loved knowing we could eat breakfast lunch and dinner at home and enjoy the scenery of Fern Way or drive a couple of miles into town and enjoy Bar Harbor.

Fern Way had everything and anything we would need for a stay. Fresh towels, blankets, cooking utensils, BBQ pit, comfortable bed, TV, etc.

Fern Way was tucked away from the city of Bar Harbor but close enough for us to visit every day. The location is so peaceful especially coming from the busy life in Houston.

My daughter loved the Long pond which was at the end of the road. It was perfect for kayaking, canoeing, or my daughter's favorite, just throwing rocks in the water.

We hiked mountains, visited parks, played on the beaches, and enjoyed a little bit of all New England weather (It was hot, cold, raining, and cold again!)

The owners were terrific to work with and helped with many great tips and advice before and during our stay. Jen even had blueberry jam for my daughter which she loved!

Definitely recommend this vacation rental to anyone wanting to get away and enjoy the scenery of MDI in a wonderful comfortable enjoyable house.



Erica, Dylan, and Olivia (Houston, Texas)

Owners response: Erica and Dylan,
It was certainly a pleasure to met your family and I’m delighted that Olivia had such a good time. My kids still love to head down to Long Pond and toss rocks into the water (and feed the ducks and swim at the beach and go kayaking and have a picnic and watch the stars…) Your review truly touches on all the most advantageous aspects of Fern Way as a rental property. The location is so private and quite and yet really close to all the areas of the National Park and various towns on Mount Desert Island. We have attempted to set up the house with all the amenities and supplies that one could need on a vacation. And finally with our vacation services, lists of recommendations, and guides, the house binder full of local menus, brochures and maps, and of course being available to give any particular advice anyone might be looking for, we hope to have made available any helpful information we could. I’m delighted that Fern Way was a successful rental property for you and we certainly hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for such a kind review. Jen and Adam Wales, Mountain Sea Properties

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

BEAUTIFUL SERENE/SECLUDED GETAWAY

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

This was our sixth time to Mount Desert Island for vacation in the last 15 years.
The house was awesome, spacious,very quiet other then the noise we made.
So nice to come back to after being at Acadia or Bar Harbor during the day. Nice just to relax, read, take a nap before going out on the town for dinner. Very well located to all attractions. Jen and her husband were very accomodating and a wealth of information if there were questions. We even went out on the pond in a Canoe one day and took our lunch (pond is in walking distance). I loved sitting out on the screened porch with coffee early in the morning and listen to all the birds and sounds coming from the woods around us. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who really wants to relax and truly be on vacation.I have already passed the property details to friends who have asked me where we stayed. Thank you so much for everything.

Craig, Christine, and Emily Adams (Lancaster, Pennsylvania)

Owners response: Craig, Christine and Emily-
Thank you so much for your kind words. I too just love the screened in porch, it's my favorite room in the whole house (which is why we put a futon couch out there in addition to the dinning table- sleeping out there is just fantastic!). I’m really glad you enjoyed Fern Way so much. What you touch upon, the quite and privacy yet convenient location to all areas on Mount Desert Island (best of all being Long Pond) is just what we wanted to create when we designed and built the house in that location. I certainly hope we’ll be a stop for you on your future trips up to Acadia; it was a pleasure to meet your family. All our best, Jen and Adam Wales

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Child Tested - Mother Approved

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Our family and close friends (3 adults, 5 childen) spent 5 days and 4 nights at this beautiful and clean rental home. We arrived prior to the designated check-in time with a cranky toddler, and the owners graciously allowed us into the home so that our 3 year old son could take his much needed afternoon nap. The home and yard were perfect for our 3 year old as there were no breakables in the house that he could get his hands on, no traffic to worry about outside, and plenty of yard to run around in. He very much enjoyed the sandbox equipped with a dozer, truck and shovels as well. The home had everything necessary to sustain the life of two adult women, two teenage girls, and two "tweener" girls as well.......read into that two nice showers, large mirrors, and plenty of space. The home is close enough to surrounding towns that my 3 year old son and I were able to travel around very easily at 5 am to check out the lobstermen loading their boats, vessels coming out of dry-dock and being lowered into the ocean, and area businessmen preparing for the summer season. Likewise, the women were able to go shopping in Bar Harbor and do "dinner-out" without a lot of traveling. Travel in and out of Acadia National Park was simple and we could vary our "tour" of the area as we came and went. We would strongly recommend this home to large families and ones with small children. We had a relaxing week without the worry of breaking something in home or having our children feel out of place. To quote my 11 year old daughter, "this is better than the trip to Disney!"

Owners response: Todd and family-
Better than Disney!!!! Wow, that might be the best compliment we've ever gotten!! I know we must be doing something right if I can beat Mickey and the gang. That really just melts my heart. I am so glad that Fern Way worked well for your family and the whole gaggle of girls. Also nice to know that we were able to get your in early, a tired and cranky toddler is never a good thing. I completely agree with you about the central location of Fern Way. It really is located in such a wonderful part of the island. The nearby village of Somesville is so beautiful and Long Pond, just a short walk from the house, is one of the best swimming spots on the island. Just like your family experienced, it’s so easy to explore all of the areas of Acadia on both the east and west side of the island. Fern Way is no more than 10-15 min from anywhere on Mount Desert Island. It was a pleasure to meet you and the whole family. I certainly wish you the best and please do visit us again. Jen Wales, Mountain Sea Properties

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable, Convenient, and Beautiful

Review submitted: July 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying here for about a week in July. The home was comfortable for 8 adults (including plenty of "move-around-space" without feeling cramped). The location was great! Close enough to attractions (Bar Harbor, Carriage Roads, etc.) but far enough to get away from all crowds. Less than 5 minute walk down to perhaps the best (and biggest) pond I've ever seen. Or sit on the porch with a book and zone out looking into the trees. All in all, could not have asked for a better rental experience and would go back in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Fern Way was a wonderful home to stay at for our family vacation. The property is well maintained and spacious easily accommodating 8 people.
The owners were very helpful to work with and provided all the information we needed on local activities, sightseeing and hiking destinations along with local restaurants.
I would go back to Fern way for another vacation and recommend this to friends and relatives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A lovely base from which to explore Acadia!

Review submitted: July 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

We spent a pleasant week at Fern Way. We were delighted with the space, the light, the quiet. Even our rainy days were wonderful, because we had this lovely haven in which to relax. It was great to have Fern Way to return to, after a day of activity in the park. The owners provided information and assistance, and prepared us well to maximize our enjoyment of the house and the surrounding area. I look forward to return trips to Fern Way!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: MM- Happy to hear that Fern Way worked so well for your group. When we designed the house, our emphasis was to work with the natural surroundings to create a "haven" (what a wonderful word to use to describe this home!) that was filled with light and able to work comfortably with larger groups but also allow people to have their privacy. It's wonderful to hear that all those goals were accomplished! We are so thankful to be able to live is such a beautiful place such as Acadia National Park and are always happy to share our passion for this beautiful little island with others. Certainly hope to see you again- Jen and Adam Wales

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Home!

Review submitted: October 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Our stay at Fernway from August 7 to August 14, 2010 was really great. We found that Fernway truly meets the standard of a home away from home!

This relatively new home lies in a secluded, private, very quiet setting and is in immaculate condition. We found the living room area in the open first floor plan with its cathedral ceiling, stone wall, unique balcony, and French doors to be a wonderful gathering place for the six of us. Otherwise, from wi-fi, to kitchen equipment, to great bedding and towels, we found Fernway extremely well-equipped for a comfortable stay.

Special features are a lovely screened porch, a great collection of books, and, most of all, very helpful answers to your questions about things such as attractions and where to get the best lobster from Jen, just up the hill!

At reservation time, I had some concerns about this location being inconvenient. These concerns were totally unfounded! Many attractions are nearby, and we found Mt. Desert Island to be quite small, distances short, and the route to places such as Bar Harbor, and eastern part of Acadia National Park lightly traveled even in the peak of the season.

This is my first vacation rental - I hope that future ones will be as fantastic!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

What a great house!

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

We had a fabulous time at Fern Way! Everything we needed was available. All the comforts of a home away from home. Gorgeous fall foliage. Luscious lobster and scallops, fresh apples…yum. Great weather, peaceful tranquility in the forest. Great hikes to the top of Beech Mountain and Acadia near by- wow.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fern Way is just a really great house

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2009

This is a beautiful, comfortable home in a private natural setting. We loved the well-equipped gourmet kitchen and open living area with lots of natural light and views of the surrounding woods. Availability of wire less internet was important to us as well. Jen was a true pleasure to work with- friendly and patient in answering our numerous questions during the booking process. During our stay, she was a resource for info about the local area. I interacted with several other rentors/rental agents while planning our vacation- Jen was the best! We will be returning in 2010.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved this house

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

We loved staying at Fern Way! This was an excellent opportunity for our whole family to vacation together and we had such a wonderful week. The house is so beautiful and cozy- it was a great place to come back to each day. We needed to accommodate 3 couples and 2 young children and the space seemed perfect. We were drawn to the style of the house- it was so beautiful and a great location. Everything with MtnSea Properties went smoothly, I appreciated the information we received and there was good communication.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Private and secluded

Review submitted: February 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We hiked, we canoed, we swam, we cruised, we dinned and we photographed…a lot! How wonderful to come back each day to a beautiful and comfortable home. It was private and secluded and comfortable for a family of 7 (5 children). The kitchen was well stocked. We enjoyed a week beyond our expectations. After we left a message regarding our interest in the rental property, we received a prompt phone call back. There was an excellent source of into about MDI when we arrived.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

remarkable house!

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

It’s a truly remarkable house! Impeccable décor and comfortable, needless to say. We were so glad that we came, stayed here, and were able to do some stargazing, something we rarely have a chance to do in our city life. Many, many thanks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

remarkable house!

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

It’s a truly remarkable house! Impeccable décor and comfortable, needless to say. We were so glad that we came, stayed here, and were able to do some stargazing, something we rarely have a chance to do in our city life. Many, many thanks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Private yet easy to get everywhere

Review submitted: October 1, 2008   Date of arrival: August 30, 2008

We loved this home and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. I did a general search on the web and this property stood out.

It was private but with easy access to the water, and a place for our girls to play and run freely with out worry that we might disturb anyone. It was easy enough for us to take off and do whatever we choose for the day. A new home was a plus too!

The house was like home away from home, everything we needed was available to us which made it easy for us especially spices and oil so that I didn’t need to purchase those items.

Jen was easy to work with and friendly and knowledgeable about things to do on the island.

Again, thank you for opening up your home to us. We had a wonderful stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review