reviews for: listing #58674 - Seattle, Washington House rental

Spacious Sunny Townhomes: (2 houses) A Walker's Paradise
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ballard
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $136 - $350 /nt
    $950 - $2,450 /wk
    $3,800 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Disappointed

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

This property has great potential. It is attractive and is well located. We found it not well serviced and in need of maintenance. We reserved it for eight people. When we arrived it had four bath towels and the closets were locked. When called, the owner brought more towels and temporary door racks to hang clothing. We later discovered the kitchen very well equipped for cooking but inadequate for eating - not enough glasses, coffee mugs or cereal bowels for eight. The toilets plugged five times - fortunately plungers were in bathrooms. The provided barbeque had no propane. The bedrooms had very dim light bulbs - impossible for reading. We had family representing three generations and none were able to get the TV to work. The owner is very pleasant and cooperative on the phone and I hope he will make this into the desirable destination that it has the potential to be.

Owners response: Hi Janet, thanks for your review. As explained, the closet was locked for your safety because we had to repair damage to the drywall and the repair was not complete. I wish you had called during your stay to let us know you were unhappy, we would have corrected everything right then and there. The TV is working, you had it on the wrong input. We are creating a troubleshooting sheet as you are not the first to experience difficulty. There were less than eight towel sets through an oversight on our part. Apologies for that. We provide towels for eight. The glassware has been replaced, again our apologies for not catching that, we were preoccupied with getting the drywall repaired. We have tested the toilets and everything works fine. We are removing the barbecues as they are rarely used and difficult to keep clean.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just wonderful!

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

My family and I had the best time in Seattle, and with all the sight seeing we did, it was just wonderful to look forward to staying in a home away from home. This apt was clean, spacious, comfy and we lacked nothing. The neighborhood was lovely with all its mature trees and blooming flowers. I not only would recommend it, I WILL be back, thank you

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Early Family Christmas

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2013

The space was great for our family gathering for an early Christmas with our grown sons and some friends from Seattle. It was great to walk to breakfast at the Portage Bay near the Ballard locks or the Hi-Lite firehouse restaurant, shopping and the Bay movie theater and many local dinners and shops. The home's layout is a bit different on three levels but that allowed us all privacy The table was great for computer work, eating and card games. The decor is a bit bland and the blankets were placed on top of the comforters because the purchased comforters were too small for the over-sized mattresses, which were very comfortable. Everything was very clean and having a washer and dryer was great. We would stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable Property - Worked well for our family

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 20, 2013

The owner, John, was very pleasant to work with throughout the process. We had an infant with us, and he provided a pack-n-play for the baby to sleep in at no extra charge. Overall, the property was comfortable for our family. This townhouse is split into 3 levels, with bedrooms upstairs & down, and the main living room/kitchen on the mid-level. This worked out just fine for our group, as we spent most of our time together in the living room, but had a relatively quiet "escape" to our respective bedrooms.

My only (very slight) wish was that we had known the garage isn't actually large enough to fit a car. To his credit, John was upfront about this before we arrived, but the listing had led us to believe we would have room for our two rental cars: one in the garage, and one additional space. We parked one car in the space outside the garage, and one other on the surrounding residential streets. We never had much difficulty finding parking, so this didn't turn out to be a big concern, but a future renter out to be aware of it.

The amenities were pretty standard for a VRBO home, and it was perfectly clean when we arrived. All in all, it was a lovely stay for our family. Thank you, John!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great owner, great location, lots of beds, but a few (hopefully) isolated incidents.

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

THE GOOD:
First of all, John, the owner, is fantastic. He is courteous, responsive, and helpful. The house itself is perfectly fine, we had a team of 6 people staying there and there were plenty of comfy beds, lots of hot water and a good sized kitchen. The location is excellent as well - close to the ocean and lots of trendy restaurants as well as a grocery store only one block away.

THE BAD:
We experienced a series of unlucky incidents (at least I hope they are only unlucky). The internet was terrible, up one minute down the next 5. We were there for a technology conference, so this was a real drag for us as we didn't have internet on the showroom floor, and needed it when at home for the night. According to John it was Comcast for the entire area. Regardless, over 6 days we had very, very minimal internet.

The fridge stopped working - something John warned us might happen only once we arrived in Seattle. We lost a little bit of food in the freezer. To John's credit, he followed up immediately and offered to bring us whatever groceries we lost. I do hope the fridge gets replaced - it is a pretty big inconvenience.

If the above incidents hadn't happened I would have given a 4/5 maybe a 4.5. At the end of the day, if I came back to Seattle, I would consider talking to John again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Wow, our first less than 5/5 review in over 5 years. Sorry Caley.
Comcast insists we have 23mbps and everything is working now.
Although the fridge has been working fine since your stay, we have replaced it with a brand new fridge to avoid future surprises. Thanks for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to Seattle.
John

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comfortable home away from home!

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

Our daughter was getting married in Ballard so we chose to rent the house for a week for our family. The house was very clean and the owner was very responsive to the one problem that we encountered. The only negative was that the owner did not communicate well before we arrived so we did not know how to get into the house and we needed to call a few times before the call was picked up. This created a little bit of tension, but other than that our stay was perfect.
The house is well stocked and the owner has thought of everything that we would need to spend time away from home. House is very conveniently appointed in Ballard. Just a short walk to the grocery store and Starbucks. The charming shops and restaurants of Ballard are only a 10 minute walk as are the Locks. The town of Ballard has many vintage stores and great restaurants. If you are Australian we found the best Aussie Pies in the USA right there in Ballard.
We had rented a car, but chose to walk everywhere. A great place for a vacation and for peace and quiet. We would definitely choose to stay here again.
A word of warning for people who have trouble on stairs - the house is a tri-level, so you need to be able to climb stairs. My husband and I stayed in the ground level room, but we still needed to climb stairs to get to the bathroom and to the living area. Our 4 adult girls stayed in the top level of the house so had no problem with the stairs, however if you have young children I think the stairs could be an issue. We enjoyed the exercise :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful base for family wedding

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

This townhouse was well equipped, very clean, and the perfect base for family members attending a wedding together. We had a minor issue with the wifi, and John was on top of it immediately. Communication before, during and after the stay was excellent. The hardwood floors and bright, airy environment contributed to the high-end feel of the place. The neighborhood is good, and you can walk to just about anywhere that you need to go to. The beds were comfortable. I can't think of anything that we would change about the townhouse. We would come back here in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, especially for kids

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

We were originally looking to rent in Seattle but was glad that we found this house in Ballard instead. John was great to work with. The house is in an excellent location. We were able to walk to restaurants, grocery stores and coffee shops. The Lockes are closed by. That was a hit with my son. The biggest bonus was that John had high chair, pack and play as well as baby gates for my 10 months old which saved us from bringing all that with us. I would totally rent this house again. In fact, I will be checking availability after I finish this review for our next visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

VIP treatment

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Ballard townhouse to start house hunting for our upcoming move to Seattle. The townhouse was very clean and comfortable. We would have bought it and moved right in! John is very impressive and kind and we chose him as our agent to help us buy a house.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Home Away From Home (California)

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

We stayed here a few different times, and each and every time was just as enjoyable as the last. John is very accomodating and makes sure you have the most memorable experience. John's pricing is very fair and well worth every penny. Thank you for such an inviting, well-maintained, completely accomodating, warm home. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay(s) and will definitely be calling John when we are back in Seattle!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent time

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

My husband and I spent four nights in September. The house is so comfortable, clean and lovely. We loved that John provided high chairs, cribs, baby gates and even toys for our twin grandsons. The location was perfect for us near Swedish Hospital. Thanks again John for making us feel so special.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

June Family Graduation

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

This property certainly lived up to the description and more. It felt comfortable, clean, and almost new. We loved Ballard and felt the location was a plus. The townhouse had loads of room for our big family of 9. It was very convenient to have a washer and dryer in the townhouse, especially since we had 2 babies. John was so helpful to get gates, highchairs, and a Pack and Play for them. There were paper goods for us when we arrived, extra chairs for the table, and everything we needed in the kitchen. We had no trouble parking on the street with our second car. I highly recommend this townhouse!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Working With John Manning

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

We've stayed at John's Ballard Townhome in the past, in May of 2011. Having had such a great time and wanting to attend the same Regatta in 2012, we booked his property again for this coming May. Inspite of our best laid plans, we are unable to travel to Ballard this year and John has been great to work with in understanding our needs, canceling our reservation and returning our rental deposit in both a professional and timely manner.

We look forward to staying in John's Ballard Townhome property again in the futue and look forward to seeing John and his son when we do!

Thanks again John!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fantastic Seattle Vacation

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

My wife & I brought our Daughter, Son-in-law & 3 Grandsons to Seattle for a week's vacation as they had never been there before. We could not have found a more perfect place to stay. We'd had a rental car reserved but canceled it because we were so convenient to everything we needed. Grocery store (2 blocks), Bus stop (3 blocks), Downtown Ballard (5 blocks) and the Ballard Locks (7 blocks).
One of our best finds was the KISS Cafe' on Market St. on our way to The Ballard Locks. They had a wonderful selection of Northwestern Beers, Fantastic sandwiches and it seemed like a nice neighborhood place that was kid friendly. The grandkids would have eaten every meal there if we would have let them. Another place the kids enjoyed was Stone Gardens (has Rock Climbing Walls) that was between The KISS Cafe' and The Ballard Locks.
John was a delight to deal with. Very accommodating. The residence was very clean and had all the amenities we needed. We highly recommend this Walker's Paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wedding

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

We stayed at the townhouse, with family, for our daughter's wedding in May 2011. It was wonderful. Everything was clean and well kept. It offered plenty of living space and we all were very comfortable. Walking to the grocery store worked out perfectly. It was close to the bus line downtown for travelers to explore during their stay.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Definitely Recommend

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

I agree with the other reviewers. The unit is as described and the owner is very responsive. The best part is the location. My adult kids and I walked to numerous bars and restaurants and had a great experience! Market Street in Ballard is very hip and charming! Don't hesitate, if this unit meets your space requirements, go for it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

We had a wonderful experience with this rental. The owner was warm, friendly and available. The accommodations were very nice, in a great location, and met all of our needs. There was a minor drain issue with the house, and the owner attended to the problem very quickly, and with no fuss!

We absolutely would stay here again, and you should consider doing so as well!

Thank you for a great, hassle-free stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

We loved to stay at this wonderful place!!!
It has everything you need for a comfortable trip!!
A lot of space, but also very cozy!!!
It felt like being at home :-)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful, convenient Ballard townhouse

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2010

The Ballard townhouse was ideal for our family over the holidays. It was easily walking distance to downtown area. Many restaurants are nearby as is a market. The unit was clean and well maintained. We would happily stay in the unit again. The owner of the unit was very responsive and thoughtful. A walking trail is easily accessible.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ballard house

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

My family stayed in this house in October for a week. This was the first time I have ever done this and this house was the best. The description on the website is very accurate , the house is clean and stocked with enough towels and sheets. The owner John was easy to get along with and accessible for questions. My daughter lives in Freemont and we stayed in this house for a week before she got married. We were able to relax , visit the locks , there is a grocery store close by and Ballard is a great town. The best was being able to park in the driveway. I would more than recommendt anyone staying here.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Best Place Ever

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2010

We were here for a week for our daughter's wedding. We shared with my sister and her family, one of whom was the three year old flower girl. We were extremely comfortable. We found the place to be immaculate and very well appointed. The kitchen became an opportunity for real cooking. We entertained the family of the groom for a lovely meal. We prepped the food for a rehearsal barbecue. My sister baked and decorated 190 cupcakes for the wedding! The walkability of the neighborhood and the convenience of the shops was wonderful. John was an excellent host. We surely hope we can stay there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic townhome in the heart of Ballard

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

This review is quite tardy, but hey--better late than never! I stayed at the townhome with four other people in February, and it was perfect! Right next to Market Street and other prime Ballard locations, this townhome was exactly what we were looking for. Spotless, spacious, bright, and very cozy (but not small by any means)--we had an excellent trip and looked forward to coming 'home' each night. John was super friendly and went the extra mile for us. Thanks so much for everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect location for an amazing location

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

We loved staying at this property. John, the owner is delightful and he runs a great business with his vacation rentals. As advertised, the townhome is very spacious, spotless and above all extremely well located close to downtown Ballard and the beach. We will definitely be coming back in future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Ballard Townhome

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

The townhouse is clean, well-appointed and well maintained on a quiet street in Seattle's lively Ballard district. The owner was very helpful, providing directions and photos, so we knew just what to expect. The townhouse is within walking distance of some great restaurants and pubs, including the famous Conor Byrne's. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Stay Here!

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2010

I must start off by saying that John is a most gracious host. He has a beautiful property and he knows how to take care of his renters. He is very attentive to your needs and does not hesitate to answer any questions you may have. He always gets back to you in a timely manner.

The property itself was very quaint. We were a group of 8 students volunteering in Seattle for our spring break and we all fit perfectly. The neighborhood was safe and relatively quiet. You're two blocks from the main street where the action is and about a block away from the supermarket (which is 24 hours, something that does not exist in Florida where we came from and was EXTREMELY convenient).

The price was beyond reasonable, making it a more feasible option than staying in a hostel, let alone a hotel. Definitely recommend this property for extended stays.

The bus stop is 5 minutes away and you can get anywhere by bus in Seattle. There are many things to do that are within walking distance so if you choose to get around by foot you have plenty to do!

Overall this was a wonderful stay and I look forward to going back to Seattle and having a place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: January 25, 2010   Date of arrival: January 25, 2010

This townhouse was absolutely perfect. It is
spacious, giving everyone privacy as well as great
shared space in the living room and the kitchen.
When they say everything is provided, they are not
kidding! A very well stocked kitchen including little
things like wine glasses and a blender, comfortable
beds with nice linens, tv, dvd player, cds, books,
even Monopoly! The neighborhood is fabulous and
a brand new QFC makes cooking and eating at the
townhouse a breeze - if you aren't too tempted by
all of the amazing restaurants in the area. I highly
recommend this property and can't wait to get back
to Seattle to stay there again!

Owners response: Thanks for staying at our townhome. We're delighted with the new QFC just two blocks away! Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

Our family of four stayed there for 8 days in December. The location of the home is excellent & it's very clean. The
kitchen is pretty well appointed for a vacation rental. Couple of minor issues. One day there were workers hammering on top of the house (very loud). The master bed was very comfortable but not so much in the other rooms. The linens, however, were great. Needs more comfortable living room furniture. I would definitely stay there again.

Owners response: Thanks for your comments. We've made some changes based on your feedback and thankfully won't need workers on the roof again any time soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: October 2, 2009   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

Clean, modern, close to all Ballard shops and the Locks. The best VRBO I have ever stayed at, and really the only one to which I would like to return. Nice linens, comfortable bed, a kitchen with actual usable dishes, highly recommend!

Owners response: Thanks so much, it means everything to us to get a review like this. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: September 3, 2009   Date of arrival: September 3, 2009

Our family of four plus dog had a wonderful time
staying in Ballard at this clean, spacious, well
appointed Townhome. Enjoyed walking to town for
dinner and visiting the farmers market. We will
definitely go back. Owner is kind and very helpful.

Owners response: Thanks for your business, its a thrill to get your comment, we look forward to welcoming you back - dont forget to ask for a repeat visit discount!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: August 19, 2009   Date of arrival: August 19, 2009

Our family of three had a terrific stay at this lovely home.

Close to all the sights and flavors of Ballard, this place is a perfect homebase for exploring the Puget Sound.

The home is well maintained and in a very quiet neighborhood, but just a couple of blocks away from the center of town.

The Majestic Bay movie theater and Senior Moose are not to be missed. The Sip and Ship is also a must see for great coffee and wonderful gifts.

Owners response: Thanks for your business and as our first post-remodel guest, for your patience as TVs and other stuff rolled in during your stay. It was a pleasure having your family at our home.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review