reviews for: listing #58765 - Carlsbad, California House rental

4BR Private Tropical Pool & Spa Oasis. Walk to Beach/Village
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Carlsbad Village
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $390 - $490 /nt
    $2,400 - $3,400 /wk

sort by:

casadelsol happy!

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at the Casadelsol vacation home!  The house was even better in person than the picture. Everything was so clean and they have everything a person could want available. Cool decorating in bedrooms, great DVD collection, wonderfully stocked kitchen, bathrooms, bikes, etc! With seven adults I thought we would feel cramped, but we didn't!  With the excellent centrally located location we enjoyed the Zoo, Torrey Pines, Mission Beach, Venice Beach, Hollywood, LaJolla, and of course The Carlsbad area and the lagoon. The kids used the hot tub, pool, and bikes and played basketball at several local parks. Thank you for all the tourist info - offering maps and directions and the personal attention answering questions of how things worked.
Owners returned damage deposit promptly!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect and more......

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

We had a fantastic time at this home. The best for our family ever. The bikes were great, the sleeping arrangements perfect, the pool and hot tub were wonderful. We did use the bikes and also walked a lot. If someone cannot walk a lot, like myself, it was a short ride to many things.The town of Carlsbad was fun with lots of restaurants and things to do.

The park down the street was good for our 2 1/2 year old. He also loved the fire engine and put out many 'fires". We hit the beach daily, usually all morning and then back home for a nap. Sometimes we went to the beach near 3. It was always fun and parking was not a problem.The boogie boards and wet suits came in handy.

The photos were clear and the description accurate. Everything was clean and easy to locate what was needed. The back yard is lush with tropical plantings, many pool toys and more tables and chairs. It is charming.

It seemed to me that the owners had gone out of their way to provide everything a family could possibly want. We would definitely like to come back.

Thanks for all your assistance and we all wish you the very best.
Ann and Jim, Becky, Todd, Oliver, and Emily, Andy and Gina, Jon and Nyla Jane

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Wonderful to hear your family enjoyed your stay so much. We had a wonderful warm summer with long sunny days and the ocean has stayed warm through Fall this year. We hope to see you again next summer.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

A great spring break!

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

This venue was all that was advertised and more. My three adult children, their children and I had a terrific time and Casa del Sol greatly helped to faciliate this. We expected it to be convenient to Carlsbad and the greater San Diego attraction, but with five small grandhchildren, we spent more time at the house than perhaps other visitors. We enjoyed the pool, the hot tub, the well landscaped yard and neighborhood, the well equiped kitchen, the bicycles, the childrens beach toys, the convenient access to Carlsbad, the patio with its grill and fire pit, and the family room with its fireplace. I gladly recommend this facility to my friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. We really enjoyed meeting you and your family. Seeing 3 generations enjoy themselves at Casa del Sol is one reason we maintain our home away from home for others to enjoy! We are very happy you had such a great time. Take care & enJoy!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Do yourself a favor and stay here!!!

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

We had a fabulous, relaxing experience. The kitchen was so very fully appointed!! Nothing was missing! We L-O-V-E-D having the pool and hot tub right out the back door. The yard is exceptional! So beautiful and tropical. My brother Jack didn't like the beach after the first day. The water was too cold for him to swim in the ocean, so he spent most of each day in the pool!! He really, really enjoyed himself! Carlsbad Village is so quaint, yet eclectic...so quiet, yet so full of life....Thanks for making every effort to make your home away from home our home away from home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much! Yes the heated pool and spa really help warm up the stay when the ocean is in winter/spring hibernation mode. We also love how the Village is quaint and quiet yet still eclectic and full of life. Experiencing an Old California beach town is still possible in Southern California! We also enjoy staying at our home away from home every chance we can get! Thank you for your kind words & enJoy!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Amazing vacation rental!

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

We had a great time at Casa Del Sol! The house was perfect. Very well equipped and inviting. The pool and spa were great. The location was really good for all our day and nighttime excursions. The owner's are very friendly, and checked in with us to see if there was anything else they could do to make our stay more comfortable. I'd highly recommend this vacation rental to anyone looking for a house in the Carlsbad area.

Owners response: We are happy you enjoyed your stay! Fall is such a great time to enjoy the Carlsbad area. Thank you for your kind words and hope to see your family again soon!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great family house

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We had a wonderful family stay at Casa Del Sol with our cousins from Norway. Plenty of room for everyone. Some things we enjoyed included the pool (especially the kids), the bikes were fun to ride into town and the ability to do laundry at home was great! The convenience to many attractions was great and the house was very nice and homey, but not so fancy that you had to worry about touching anything. Very kid friendly! We looked at many properties from San Clemente down to La Jolla, and this home was roomier, had a pool, most reasonably priced and was close to the attractions we wanted to do.

Owners response: Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Casa del Sol. We have many Europeans stay during the summer and actually year round. They really appreciate the Old California feel of Carlsbad Village and Casa del Sol! Biking through town and along the beach adds to the Euro feel of the area - add in the great year round weather, Casa del Sol, the private pool and we have many happy guests!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Lovely Summer Vacation

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

We loved everything about the house and location. It was so easy to bike or walk anywhere, and morning jogs were wonderful. The whole house was spacious and had everything we needed. We were a rather large group, and everyone had enough space to be comfortable. We especially appreciated how helpful Kervin was with household needs and area information. The kids were in paradise here and our beautiful weather meant the moms and nannys got tan too! Thank so much - I pronounce this a lovely vacation.

Owners response: Great to hear you were able to bike and walk everywhere, we enjoy walking & biking every chance we can get! Glad your large group was comfortable in the spread out single story home. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great getaway house

Review submitted: March 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

We wanted to have a place to gather with 6 adults and relax...this was the perfect house. The pool and hot tub are wonderful surrounded by lush landscaping. The house was very comfortable and had lots of extras for our use. Our hosts Kervin and Patty worked to make this easy for us so we could enjoy our week away from home in Washington State. We really enjoyed ourselves!

Owners response: We are very happy you enjoyed your stay! Great Great to hear you were able to use the pool & hot tub daily...Also that you biked to the beach several times. Hope to see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fabulous vacation home

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

What a wonderful escape at this vacation home! Beautiful house, backyard with lush garden - it was nice to see greenery and flowers in bloom! We really enjoyed the excellent pool & spa and of course the ocean. We had a blast with the bikes - it felt like we should have been in Europe. We enjoyed every minute! Thanks so much! Ben, Shelly, Chris & Tracy & Kids from Alberta, Canada

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Great to hear you were able to enjoy the green yard with pool & spa! Every chance I can get I bike through Carlsbad Village and along the beach - a wonderful blend of European charm and SoCal coastal beauty.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

wonderful vacation home!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

Our stay at Casa del Sol was relaxing and fun-filled! Your house is equipped with everything one would need - excellent beds and linens, a fully stocked kitchen complete with utensils, pots, pans, spices, coffee, tea. A great selection of games and DVDs, super comfortable sofas and a lovely fireplace and much to my surprise eco-friendly cleaning and household products! The kids loved the pool and hot tub and we enjoyed the lush and gorgeous garden. We also appreciated the beautifully set table and bottle of wine and chocolates on arrival! Some other highlights - Legoland, San Diego Zoo, the French Bakery for croissants, and Nozomi Japanese Fusion for dinner. Thanks again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: It is great our friendly NorCal neighbors are able to have fun, relax and enJoy Casa del Sol. We are happy we can share our little oasis with families such as yours! Thank you for the review!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

USA Trip 2011

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Thank you very much for the warm welcome to your Casa del Sol. We enjoyed very much the pool, the jacuzzi and especially the backyard with the flowers and birds. Thanks a lot from 7 Germans.

Owners response: We always love it when visitors travel so far and can enJoy themselves at Casa del Sol in California! Danke schoen!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

What A Wonderful Time!

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: March 2, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Casa del Sol. We arrived in March and really appreciated the welcoming touches in this very warm home. Went to the Zoo in San Diego, Universal in LA and Wine Country in Temecula - beautiful countryside! Visited Old Town in San Diego, a must see to appreciate the Mexican flavor. Took several walks to Carlsbad Village. Thanks for the hospitality and making our stay so comfortable. We hope we can come back and enjoy the leisure of this home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Sounds like you got to see a lot from LA to SD! Our central location makes it very convenient to visit Southern California attractions.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Place! Great Location!

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at your home! The weather was beautiful and the home was so close to everything! Carlsbad was charming and it was a perfect location to enjoy the beach. We ventured into San Diego several times and the convenient location made for a short drive. With 5 adults and 2 kids, the house offered so much room that we were more than comfortable. We could even all eat at the same table it was so big! And lastly, we loved the back yard and used the pool, jacuzzi and grill daily. What a nice way to relax! Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy you got to enjoy the home amenities - backyard pool, jacuzzi, BBQ daily! And ventured out to our beautiful local beaches and enjoyed the convenient access to San Diego.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great!

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

We had an amazing time here at Casa del Sol in Carlsbad. The house is simply fantastic and the best place for holiday relaxation. A lot of great things to see around here - La Jolla, San Diego, & Laguna Beach. Boogie boarding at Carlsbad Beach was a new experience for us - great fun! Shopping at the Carlsbad premium outlet & Westfield Mall - we got to bring an extra suitcase home. We also enjoyed Universal Studios and the Studio Tour. We came back to Norway with a lot of good memories.

Thanks to Kervin and Patty for all help and useful information.

Hopefully we will return one day

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are always happy when Europeans can visit us & experience a relaxing California beach town. Enjoy the pool & spa, visit all the great cities & attractions along the coast & come back to Casa del Sol!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Fun in the sun at Casa del Sol

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

From the Berkeley Hills, to the beauty of Tahoe, to the sidewalks and shores of Carlsbad Village, nothing was as delightful and beautiful as the graciousness of Kervin and Patty Krause....Enjoyed! We had a great time! It was an awesome week - great weather!! Only complaint - not enough time to do all the fun activities the area offers. We’ll have to come back again. So much fun...Fish House, Legoland, boogie boarding, pedicures, surfing, bike riding, the Zoo! Trader Joes, French pastries, San Luis Rey Mission, Mission beach, frisbee, walks on the beach, margaritas, family, fun. Thank you for making your home available, so we could experience all of the above!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: We love having our northern neighbors from the Bay Area come down to enjoy our wonderful coastal slice of paradise! Great to hear you explored so much of San Diego. There is a lot to see and do...

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome place!!

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

You have an amazing house. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We love all the bright colors and the coziness. Thanks for the warm welcome, the stocked fridge and preparing the home for us. We loved the large wooden dining table where we could sit and hang out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

True what they say... location, location location!

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

Had an awesome time! Wow, what a beautiful, convenient, relaxing place to stay. GREAT location! Legoland, Lagoons, beaches, and everything else we wanted were so close (if you go don't wait until the last day to go check out the pier like we did)! The accommodations were very comfortable for 5 adults and 3 kids, with room for more! We'll definately be back! Description/Pictures did not do the place justice. We could have spent all week just at the house and had a great timely. Owners were great, answered any/all questions promptly and professionally, even got the deposit back promptly. My family was very pleasantly suprised, and we travel a lot (timeshares, camping, hotels, etc). We try to not go to the same place twice, but after this my wife and I agreed that this WILL become a yearly or bi-yearly vacation rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very happy you enjoyed your stay! Great time of year to experience the area. Wonderful to hear your family had such a great time at the relaxing home - we enjoy it whenever we can! Hope to see you again in 2012!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

EXCEEDS expectations!

Review submitted: March 26, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We had a great time and an awesome vacation here in Carlsbad! We enjoyed the warm weather and appreciated the break from a cold Nebraska winter. The house was a perfect location for outings to Sea World, Legoland, and of course Disney. We also spent more time that we thought we would here at the house, it was just so comfortable. The pool and hot tub came in handy. It was a little chilly a couple of days, but the heated pool and hot tub saved the day. Everyone agreed the accommodations were exceedingly nice and CLEAN! We used to kitchen for a majority of our meals and it was stocked with extras that made it easy! Hoping to come back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! It is great you got to enjoy the home more than you expected! Yes, Patty loves to cook and keeps the kitchen stocked to make every meal memorable. We hope to see your wonderful family again soon!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Loved it!!!

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

We had a wonderful experience with Kervin and Patty from start to finish! Always very helpful! The house is beautiful, and we felt right at home the minute we walked in. Very large, we stayed with another family there, and between us we had two toddlers and two teenagers and had PLENTY of room! Would LOVE to come back again! Thank you SO much for your wonderful hospitality!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Hello! We are so happy you enjoyed your Christmas in Carlsbad Village by the Sea! Although the snow is only 30 miles away in the mountains you got to enjoy the pool, spa & relaxing coastline...Thank you again!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great place with a perfect location

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 29, 2010

I looked at many homes on various vacations rental websites before settling on this home for a few reasons. Mainly this home had everything we were looking for and the owners were more than helpful: good size, pool with an awesome yard, very close to restaurants, a short jaunt to the best surf spots in the area, and the house was quiet to keep my yoga routine on track. I highly recommend staying at this house. It's clean, has all the features you need and it's in a great location. The only drawback is that I can't stay there year round.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy you got to enjoy Casa del Sol and Carlsbad Village during the best time of the year - Fall! The surfing is great, minimal crowds and we still have great weather!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful Vacation Home Close to Everything

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

This vacation home is one of the best and the owners are wonderful! The property is well-maintained, gorgeous, private and convenient to everything. This is a great value and I would highly recommend staying here any time of year. The big screen TV, hot tub and pool make it difficult to leave even for a walk on the beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always happy when guests from Northern California can enjoy our little slice of Paradise in the southern California sunshine.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Fun and relaxation in southern California

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

Great place for fun both for just enjoying the property's amenities and/or for exploring the interesting area! The house is located on a cul de sac so there is very little traffic on that street. The backyard is private because of an unobtrusive privacy fence. The grounds are well maintained and of course the pool and hot tub are wonderful for relaxing!

The interior of the house is spacious,quiet and very practical while still being tastefully decorated. The pleasant view from the kitchen windows on the backyard and pool/hotub area is also very useful when keeping track of children.

The location is really nice and so practical. For readers the local public library is only a block away! I repeatedly strolled into Carlsbad to just take a walk and also to visit stores. It is so easy go out to eat at a variety of restaurants ,that are literally minutes away, ranging from seaside cafes to fancier establishments. If you want to drive and explore the area the Interstate is only a minute away! We enjoyed the Carlsbad beach repeatedly because it is only minutes away. Legoland is accessible and our kids liked that.

The owners addressed any concerns quickly and fully. They were also very helpful and gave us useful information (e.g. about sites like Legoland) whenever we asked. As good as any concierge desk at an expensive hotel!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great to hear you enjoyed the home with your children. We are happy you walked to Carlsbad Village and enjoyed the variety of locally owned and operated restaurants and shops in The Village.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Fun in the Cali Sun

Review submitted: November 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

This place is perfect to stay. great pool close to the beach very clean.
close to the stores would stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Perfect Vacation Home

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

Just returned from a weeks vacation @ The Casa Del Sol had an amazing time. This location was beyond perfect everything we needed was provided. House was gleaming, tastefully decorated. Bedrooms really comfortable and clean, living room was laid out in such a way were everyone could crash out and watch movies. Now my favorite part the back yard which we spent 99% of our vacation swimming pool, hot tub, grill, fire pit, banana tree, tomato plants, lemon tree and last but not least the hammock. The owners were a pleasure to deal with, very approachable and answered all our question regarding the house and nearby activities. Very close to Carlsbad Village restaurants and shops and the beach. Personally we barely left the house except to go to supermarket which is walking distance.
I'd highly recommend the Casa Del Sol to anyone.....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy visitors from SF & NYC enjoyed themselves at our home! Having spent several years living in the vibrant urban intensity of SF & NYC, I know our home is a great place to kick back, unwind and enjoy the Good Vibrations & relaxing atmosphere of coastal So Cal...

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Perfect Vacation Home!

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

My husband and I spent a week at this lovely home with married children and had a wonderful time. The pictures do not do justice to either the inside or outside of the home. It is furnished and equiped with everything you need for a relaxing visit in a perfect vacation area. Close to the freeway-my husband jogged 1 mile to the beach and ran on the sand everyday. We are already making plans for a return visit. Kervin is a wonderful host who is great to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! My wife and I put a lot of TLC in our home over the years and are happy when others can enjoy it as well. Thank you for taking such great care of our home and leaving it in such great condition. Looking forward to hosting your family again soon!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Paradise in southern california

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

Staying at this home was very relaxing. Every day we woke up in paradise. We walked along the beach, went for a surf or a jog and just enjoyed the great location. We would come back and jump in the pool and hot tub. The home and neighborhood was very enjoyable. This is southern California living, if only for a while...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy you enjoyed the pool, hot tub and got to surf our great waves! Our little slice of paradise along coastal California is very relaxing yet still surrounded by plenty to do.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review