reviews for: listing #58806 - Gulf Shores, Alabama Condo rental

Gulf Front, Remodeled, Big Screen, Wifi, Best Location
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Boardwalk
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $112 - $275 /nt
    $784 - $1,925 /wk
    $999 - $7,700 /mth

sort by:

Fantastic Time!

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: August 3, 2014

Accommodations were wonderful and the beach beautiful. It was our grandchildren's first trip to the beach (7 & 10 yrs. old) and they loved it! Thank you for sharing your beautiful property with us. Excellent location!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation

Review submitted: June 26, 2014   Date of arrival: June 18, 2014

This two bedroom unit was perfect for our family vacation. The kitchen had all the amenities we needed to feel right at home. The view was beautiful! This unit is conveniently located near many excellent restaurants and lots of activities for the entire family.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great condo!!!

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 29, 2014

It was wonderful, the view was great and the condo was exactly as described will definitely be going back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

awesome vacation

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 4, 2014

We had a great time at the beach. The condo was everything we wanted. It was in a wonderful location, right on the beach. It was very pretty and comfy. Saw dolphins from the balcony while eating ! We watched 2 mardi gras parades. What fun! We've never seen anything like it!!! The things they throw. We got over 400 strands of beads, stuffed animals, lots of moon pies etc. We had a blast. Excellent seafood at many different restaurants. Condo was excellent. The owners were great to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks, come back and see us

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

vacation condo

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 4, 2014

What a great condo! Just like the pictures show. Very clean and well-maintained. Near lots of great restaurants. Really enjoyed the Oyster House and Lambert's with the throwed rolls. Saw 2 mardi gras parades: they were wonderful. Walked the beach every morning and picked up shells. Saw dolphins one morning. The balcony on the condo was perfect. It was a great vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A fabulous condo in Gulf Shores

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

A fabulous condo with a to-die for view of the Gulf. The property was exactly as listed; updated furniture, everything we needed, well maintained, clean and neat. This perfect condo included immediate access to the beach, parking, restaurants, stores and town. Our stay at Boardwalk made it a fantastic New Year's holiday.
All four of us seniors, gave this a Five Star rating.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for taking time to say such nice things about 886. We have owned the condo since 2004, almost everything has been replaced at least once. We are on our third master bedroom mattress and third couch. We will not let our beautiful property be anything but first class. I have been rewarded for our effort by satisfied customers that enjoy their time in our condo, come back to see us and say nice things, thanks so much for your business. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Ramona and Courtney

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

We had such a wonderful time, everything was great. We wanted somewhere to rest and relax and this is just what we got. We will definitely be staying here again if you will allow us. Thank you for a wonderful experience!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo!!!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Awesome condo!!! We loved the decor and the view. The kitchen was well stocked with anything you need. The condo was clean and well maintained. We watched dolphins swim every morning and night from the balcony!! The view was fantastic. We would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful, Awesome, Beautiful. Pleasant, Relaxing

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Yes, Not enogh words to describe the our stay at Gulf Shores. View was wonderful, Condo was Was AWESOME fit all of our needs, Ocean was Beautiful with nice sunsets and sunrises.Larry and Jan very Pleasant to deal with and thank you.... Was one of the most relaxing vacations my husband and I have ever taken..
Thank you so much
Steve and Holly Hadra

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Just Awesome!

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2013

My husband and I had the best time EVER at 886 Boardwalk! The condo had everything we needed, space included; absolutely beautiful. Our favorite part of the condo was the view. This was our first time to Gulf Shores. We're already planning next year!

Larry and Jan, you were a pleasure to work with. We'll be contacting you soon about the 2014 season!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jessica, The last couple of years more and more folks are discovering Gulf Shores. Jan and I have tried to provide well decorated condos for our renters to call home in Gulf Shores and in doing so have been blessed with great customers like your family. Don't forget we now have two condos in Boardwalk and one next door in SeaWinds. I got your email about next year, we will try to make next year as memorable as this year. Thanks again. Jan and Larry

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Awesome condo!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

Our stay in this condo was awesome. The condo itself is very nice but the best part is the view from the patio. We started each day with coffee on the patio.
This condo is very conveniently located close to lots of stuff to do. We took our grandchildren, and they loved the HangOut. We spent 3 of our 7 night there.
Mr Grossman was so easy to work with, this was a very pleasant experience. I would definitely recommend this condo to anyone considering heading to Gulf Shores. Everything you need is there!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

vrbo 242686

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

Excellent communication with owners. The condo is centrally located with most of our outings within walking distance. We had a wonderful time and would recommend this condo to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Sherry, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. Great Vacation don't just happened. There are ingredients just like a recipes that win your praises. Start with well decorated and furnished condo, add in the best location and an owners who are committed to making your vacation a great memory. Sounds just like Boardwalk 886 and 585. Please come back and see us. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Love this condo!

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

This condo is our favorite place the stay while in Gulf Shores! Has everything you need and within walking distance to some great places to eat. Larry and Jan are wonderful owners making sure our stay was perfect! We will be back next year!

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AWESOME

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

We could not have picked a better place to stay! The condo was well furnished, everything we could have possibly needed was there. Beautiful views!! The best beds ever!!! Fun town with a lot to do!! The owners were wonderful and very helpful to work with. We plan to make this a yearly trip!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad we could be part of a great vacation. Come back and see us

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Another Great Stay!

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

Second year in a row at Boardwalk, even better then last year! The updates and repairs to the place were nice, we loved going to sleep with the patio door open listening to the surf. Hope to return again next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Michael, we really appreciate your business and kind words. You are always welcome and don’t forget to ask for the past customer discount. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review of Boardway 886

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

My family and I stayed there the beginning of May. The condo was just beautiful. It was clean and conveniently located. We opened the patio door the minute we arrived and didnt close it until we left. It was fantastic sleeping and eating meals on the patio watching and listening to the ocean. Everything was bright, clean and comfortable. We noticed there were some items that other renters had left and we did the same. We left some children's sand toys for future kids. If you want a really nice condo at a great location, try renting here. We will definitely be back in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks a bunch for your review and the gift for others. We never know who leaves items but it seems like there is always an addtition when we visit. Thanks Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My stay in Gulf Shores

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

I visit Gulf Shores once a year and I stayed at Larry's condo for the first time in 2013. I absolutley loved it and will be booking it again next year. Very nice and clean, and the owner extremely helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to tell others about Boardwalk 886. We own 3 condos. When we had one in Seawind and one in Boardwalk we would claim to provide about the best furnished and decorated units in those buildings. Of course now that we own 585 and 886 in Boardwalk I really hate to say one is better than the other. 585 has all new tile, paint, furniture and decorations. It is Gorgeous, but 886 still has the best view. Thanks again. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

June 22-28th 2013

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Loved the condo, Thanks so much Larry and Jan!!! It had everything we could possibly need and the view from the balcony was B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L!!! Hope to visit again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words. Also remember we just bought Boardwalk 585 and completely redid the entire condo. We now have three choices when you visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Boardwalk 886

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Great Condo, very clean, highly recommend it for everyone. Good location, on the beach and close to everything. Owners were good to deal with. The pictures are accurate for the listing. Lots of good restaurants.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Spring Break 2013!!!

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

Beautiful place to stay. Everything you could ask for and then some. Great location with an amazing view!!! We went with a group of people who stayed in many different condos in the area. Every person that came into our condo commented on how much nicer our accomodations were than theirs. We will stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: That makes us feel great when we can make other renters jealous of our renters.. So many folks think that all condos in a building are about the same. We just purchased 585 and it had a new kitchen with granite and was nicer than most. We are still putting another $17,000 in to totally redo everything but the kitchen. We decorate our condos so that our renters feel special when they are on vacation. That concept has worked and we have been rewarded with the best renters, who take care of our condos and come back to visit often. Thanks so much for taking time to tell others of your experience. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Condo & Great location!

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

This was our first visit to Gulf Shores & it was fabulous! The condo was perfect! The view of the water was gorgeous. Tastefully decorated, the condo was very clean and well maintained. Everything we needed was available! Restaurants and shopping were all within walking distance. We had 5 teenage boys with us (ages 14-19) and there was something for everyone! We will definitely be back! Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, come back and see us. We just purchased Boardwalk 585 and it will be equally as nice as soon as we finish with construction. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Gulf Shores Condo

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Great Condo, clean, excellent view, Gulf Shores has plenty of good restaurants. I would recommend this condo on your next vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: thanks Jeff, we know our job is to make sure your vacation is a great one. Please come back to see us. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Condo rental #58806

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

The condo was in perfect order as described, clean, well furnished, organized and pretty! The balcony looked out onto the ocean with white sandy beaches as far as your eyes could see. And even better, Sea and Suds was right below for my husband and I to eat at as well. The food was great so we went there often! Even though our stay was rainy and windy this did not keep us from going to the areas Mardi Gras along the gulf shores. We truly loved all of them and we left with over 325 beads and other surprises. The temp was lower than usual in February, as we were told this, but, seeing as we came from weather around 10-20 degrees, we were still happy for 60 degree weather! We ate at so many establishments while visiting but we knew we could come back to our wonderful condo and fix our own if we wished. We used the washer and dryer daily. We ate breakfast at the beautiful glass dining table, we sit out on our balcony in the nice comfortable chairs and watched the time pass!. It was so serene and beautiful, so rewarding to know that we chose well when we chose this condo! Can't wait to come back and we will rent from Larry again! Thanks for everything! You made our vacation complete!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, So glad you made us a part of your vacation. Yes, we truly appreciate your business but we also enjoy sharing our condo with those that are so appreciative of what we have done to contribute to great vacations.
Come back and see us. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LKG, Missouri

Review submitted: February 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

As always, this unit is very clean and comfortable. King bed is the best in master and queen is also comfortable. TVs for all to use. Updated baths and plenty of kitchen supplies. The location of Boardwalk can't be beat....walk to several restaurants and the others are within a 5-10" drive. Outlet Mall is only 15" up hwy 59. Thanks Jan and Larry, we'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Snowbird

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

Great location.. Nicely furnished and updated. Good restaurants nearby, especially Mikee's and Desoto's and Bahama Bobs. We would return

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: I love it when folks who had been going to southern Florida for vacation try Gulf Shores and love it. I knew you would. Glad you enjoyed your month at our condo, someday we would love to do that. Please come back to see us. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Condo

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

We had a wonderful time. I walked on the beach every day. Saw a stingray and even found a perfect skeleton of a little crab.

The condo was beautiful and very homey. We tried some of the local cuisine and shopped at the outlet mall. But for me it was the beach.

I brought back some sand for my daughter and told her she had to return it to the beach; they are really looking forward to going some day.

I did not expect such a nice condo. The pictures are usually better than the actual place, but this time it was the opposite.

Thanks for a wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I like that, you assumed it was not as good as it looked and enjoyed 886 even more when the condo was even better than the pictures. That was nice. Come back and see us. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great time was had by all!

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

Excellent condo....great view, wish we could have stayed longer. Entire condo was fully equipped with everything needed inside or on the beach.....nicely furnished. Kitchen was great and provided all the necessities for cooking breakfast or blending cool drinks to enjoy on the beach. Several grocery stores just a short drive away, made it easy to stock up for breakfast and lunch. We ate dinner out each night....Sea n Suds was convenient (and fast) but we also enjoyed Tacky Jack's (dinner and music...the barge shots were fun) and Gulf Shore Grill. We had a good time at the Hangout too...had drinks and listened to a really good band - nice job covering Adele (all but Tacky Jack's was within walking distance).

Highly recommend this conveniently located condo - there were six of us (parents and four adult girls ages 18-23) and we were comfortable. Owners were very responsive and helpful in providing information.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A great time was had by all!

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

Excellent condo....great view, wish we could have stayed longer. Entire condo was fully equipped with everything needed for inside or by the pool or on the beach.....nicely furnished. Kitchen was great and provided all the necessities for cooking breakfast or blending cool drinks to enjoy on the beach. Several grocery stores just a short drive away, made it easy to stock up for breakfast and lunch. We ate dinner out each night....Sea n Suds was convenient (and fast) but we also enjoyed Tacky Jack's (dinner and music...the barge shots were fun) and Gulf Shore Grill. We had a good time at the Hangout too...had drinks and listened to a really good band - nice job covering Adele (all but Tacky Jack's was within walking distance).

Highly recommend this conveniently located condo - there were six of us (parents and four adult girls ages 18-23) and we were comfortable. Owners were very responsive and helpful in providing information.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place!!!

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

The condo was great. It had everything we needed for our stay, including beach chairs and umbrellas, which was a nice bonus. Oh, and the beds were very comfortable!! The place was clean and up to date.
The Sea n Suds restaurant was a great place in walking distance and right on the beach, plus, served breakfast. There were several other great places to eat very close. Basically, everything you need is within 5 minutes.
There was also a nice dolphin tour close, which was very fun.
Thanks for a great vacation and I would definitely go back and would recommend it.

Owners response: Thanks, I think we will try that Dolphin tour several folks have said it was great. Always check to see if the Blue Angles are practicing - now that's a great show. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved the Condo!

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Loved the condo! Everything you need. The weather didn't cooperate for us much (20" of rain Friday thru Sunday) but at least the sattelite and internet didn't go out, and Monday was beautiful. Enjoyed the balcony very much. Big comfy king bed in the master bedroom with nice views of the gulf. We are already looking foreward to another trip! Try a pizza from Old World Bakery, and another little tip, if you dont want to cook a full meal, Surf n Suds has take out appetizers at dinner time that we took advantage of a couple times, and can get them ready in about 10 min (the fried zuccini is awsome)!
Travel advisory: There is road work along interstate 59 in several spots, down to 1 lane for about 12 miles in one spot so plan on some slow downs,

Owners response: Thanks, We will have to try the Old World Bakery. We have started eating at Papas Pizza, They have live music, good prices, I think a lot of the locals go there. I had a 12 0z rib eye there last week and it cost around $11. Sea and Suds also has a Breakfast buffet in the summer. Only about $7.95, can't beat that. Come back to see us. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Trip!!!

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

We came to surprise our daughter and her family who were coming down. And it couldn't have been more perfect. From the first time I spoke with Larry, the trip was exciting. The condo was beautiful and furnished with everything you could possibly need. It was everything described and more. The no hassle check in and departure was such a blessing. Coffee in morning and wine in the evening over looking the ocean from the balcony was a great de-stressing time. We ate at the Pink Pony Pub for the first time and were taken by how good the food is. You should try it. Of course, no trip to the beach is complete without a visit to Sea n Suds and Lulu's! Thank you Larry and Jan for being wonderful hosts and hostess. We have found our home at the beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad everything worked out and thanks very much for you business. Larry and Jan.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

CAN'T WAIT TO RETURN!

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

What a great place to stay and let the gulf wash your cares away! Larry and Jan's beautiful condo has it all. Great location, close to everything. Nicely appointed condo with all the comforts of home. My Husband and I, along with another couple spent lots of time on the balcony listening to the surf, watching the dolphins with our morning coffee, eating most all our meals, playing scrabble, dominoes, cards, having cocktails you name it, when we weren't on the beach or playing golf on the wonderful area courses we were sitting on that balcony with Flaccido Flamingo and his girlfriend Rosa La Rumorosa! (The names we gave the cute little flamingo decorations on the balcony table.) Plenty of room for our group of 4.
The Sea and Suds Restaurant located right in front of the complex recieved most of our dining out business. Great food, resonable prices and wonderful service. Ask for Tweety, he did a great job as our server! Weekend nights can be really busy but they can handle it. Just grab a beverage and enjoy the view of the gulf and they will get you in and out with remarkable efficiency. But if your like us you might just hang out a bit and enjoy a beverage or several in our case. [Don't judge we were on vacation. : ) ] We also enjoyed Tacky Jacks in Gulf Shores and Happy Harbor across from Flora-Bama. The best place to see a sunset is from the deck at the Happy Harbor Restaurant.
Gulf Shores Golf Club is very nearby and was in beautiful condition. The greens rolled so true. Don't forget to pick up a few peanuts in the proshop to feed the fox squirels that will walk right up to you and take them out of your hand. If you don't mind an hour drive through some beautiful pecan orchards, we also played at Rock Creek. Very nice course!
Boardwalk 886 is everything we could have hoped for! Thanks again Larry and Jan for your hospitality! We hope to be your guests for many years to come!

Zac Brown must have been here when he wrote... " I've got my toes in the water, my a** in the sand, not a worry in the world, a cold beer in my hand, life is good today, LIFE IS GOOD TODAY!!!!!!!

Hope to return very soon,
Vikki Cunningham

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous condo & location

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

Went with a friend for five nights April 28 - May 3. First time back to the beach in a while, so having a nice place to stay with each having our own BR and BA was wonderful. We could enjoy time together and time alone when we needed it. Loved the sparkling new kitchen with everything we could possibly need to cook if we wished. I could have just stayed there forever. The view from the balcony was great. The Sea n Suds was so handy and reasonable...just feet from the condo and perfect place for a glass of wine at sunset. Also enjoyed Sunday brunch at "The Hangout", also in walking distance. We went to Lulu's two nights and to Cobalt, an upscale restaurant in Perdido. You cross the Perdido Bridge and turn right and go under the bridge to get there...just lovely and the finest dining we had while we were there. HIghlight of the trip was a catamaran sailboat sunset cruise on Perdido Bay from Zeke's Landing. Our condo hosts, Larry and Jan Grossman were staying at their other condo (3 BR) which we toured and loved it too. They were SO sweet and accommodating. We enjoyed visiting with them like old friends. Thank you Larry and Jan for your kind attention and lovely and reasonable accommodations. We share a love of the gulf with you. Hope to come again. Margaret and Carol

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great condo, location and hosts!

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

Went with a friend for five nights April 28 - May 3. First time back to the beach in a while, so having a nice place to stay with each having our own BR and BA was wonderful. We could enjoy time together and time alone when we needed it. Loved the sparkling new kitchen with everything we could possibly need to cook if we wished...I wish I could stay forever. The view from the balcony was great. The Sea 'n Suds was so handy and reasonable...just feet from the condo and perfect place for a glass of wine at sunset. Also enjoyed Sunday brunch at "The Hangout" (also in walking distance.) We went to Lulu's two nights and to Cobalt, an upscale restaurant in Perdido. You cross the Perdido Bridge and turn right and go under the bridge to get there...just lovely and the finest dining we had while we were there. HIghlight of the trip was a catamaran sailboat sunset cruise on Perdido Bay from Zeke's Landing. Our condo hosts, Larry and Jan Grossman were staying at their other condo (3 BR) which we toured and loved it too. They were SO sweet and accommodating. We enjoyed visiting with them like old friends. Thank you Larry and Jan for your kind attention and lovely and reasonable accommodations. We share a love of the gulf with you. Hope to come again. Margaret and Carol

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Margaret and Carol, It was nice meeting you and thanks for your great review. On your recommendation we went to the Cobalt, that place was great. We will put that on our list.It really is not much more expensive than everything else. I want to try them for brunch next time. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Michiganders

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Had a great time, condo is in a perfect location-couldn't have asked for a better vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks,come back to see us again.

Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

leeleeinla

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

very comfortable condo, excellent views of the Gulf of Mexico! this unit was very quiet, no street noise or noise from the resturant below. Do not rent chair and umbrella from beach guys very costly at 25.00 a day. This unit has very nice chairs and an umbrella instead. The Master bed is massive and VERY comfortable. We enjoyed the Little Zoo, Ft. Morgan site of the famous battle " Dam the torpedo's , full speed ahead". Best buy was Blue Reef Rentals, dolphin cruise. Food at LULU'S..Jimmy Buffetts sister Lucy, and shrimp at Doc's. I slept so peacefully, hearing the waves breaking on the shore!
We had no problem parking, even though it was spring break.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to let others know that you had a great time. Every night we are there Jan takes a blanket out on the deck and falls asleep listening to the "Sea Rush to Shore". ok it's the Gulf. We are coming down this week and can't wait. We will be staying next door at our new Seawind Condo for only the second time. Jan and Larry

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a wonderful honeymoon!

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2011

My husband and I went down last year in October for our honeymoon. The condo was beautiful and so convenient to dining and entertainment. We had a wonderful time and Larry and Jan were very great to work with as far as getting in touch with us quickly after we sent them an email about the condo. They were also very sweet. We definitely be staying there again in the near future.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm glad we could be part of such a wonderful time in your lives. Yep, I think you should come back every year to celebrate. Just for the first 20 or so. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very nice Condo

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

We just spent 2 months in Fulf Shores in this condo and we had a wonderful time. The condo is clean, neat and very comfortable. We both loved the beds they were so comfortable. Thank you Larry and Jan.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Mary, come back and see us sometime. It was so nice meeting you and we really appreciate you kind words. Our best to you. Larry and Jan.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved it!!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

Our stay was amazing! The condo is gorgeous and has everything you need. The owners were very helpful and even called me back on Christmas day to help me make our plans. Aside from the wonderful condo is the breathtaking beach. We were out in our swimsuits the last week of December! The sand was so white my 2 year old nephew was convinced it was snow! The kids were thrilled to see the dolphins. We took a walk down to the pier and they saw sting rays, jelly fish, and witnessed a fisherman catch a HUGE fish. They also became friends with a few of the local pelicans. We also hit the local fish market where we bought fresh shrimp and crab legs. They packed it all up in a cooler for our trip home. We just enjoyed a wonderful New Years feast with our family back home. WE CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tami, glad we could make everything work for you. We wish you a great New Year, come back and see us again. The best deals are in March-May and late Aug through December. I remember the first time I went to the beach. I was about 10 years old and we went to St.Pete Beach. Now I know there is a difference, you just can't beat Gulf Shore's white sand, huge beaches and great reaturants.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Weekend of Nov. 5, 2011

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

We arrived to a welcome adventure in Gulf Shores, Alabama. I was able to take my granddaughter to the beach for her first time and we had a great time. Sure the weather was cold and breezy but the accomodations were great and made us feel like we were walking into our own home. We awoke to the sight of dolphins off the shore visible from our balcony and watching the excitement on my granddaughters face was well worth the trip. We did not find any faults with the condo and Sea and Suds restaurant was convienent and reasonably priced along with good food. The Hangout was disappointing since it closed at 10:00 p.m. on Friday night. Did not get to try their food.
I will definitely want to be back next summer when it is warmer.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Roger, Sorry about the weather. Glad you enjoyed the condo, come back when the sun shines. We are headed down over Thanksgiving, hope we find a few days of nice weather. Regardless, We love to walk the beach and have morning coffee on that deck. Thanks again for your business. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WALK, TALK, RELAX

Review submitted: September 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

Thank you for letting us "burn" some of Carissa's PTO at your condo. This is the second time that Dave and I have enjoyed it. The location is WONDERFUL--as described, walkeing distance to the pier and to great restaurants such as Mikee's and Sea 'n Suds. The condo itself is COMFORTABLE--again as described it was clean with many upgrades; we love the bone-china coffee mugs. The view is FABULOUS--the description and listing pictures are accurate but cannot capture it nor do it justice. We loved the 5 o'clock dolphin shows. Larry and Jan are FANTASTIC! We truly recommend this place and as Arnold says, "We'll be back!"

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Note to all, make sure you bring your binoculars to see those Dolphins. Dave and Carol, Thanks for taking the time to share you experience. I know the last time you were down it was like record cold, you deserved normal weather. We will not be down until Thanksgiving so we are really looking forward to Mikee’s, Bahama Bob's Lucy's and my favorite view with coffee or something stronger. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Coffee with the Dolphins Every Morning!! :)

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Thank you for sharing your condo with us this week. There is absolutely no evidence that these beaches had an oil spill. Absolutely beautiful! We really enjoyed seeing the dolphins every morning from the patio (at least 4-6 every morning!). It was a beautiful view! Your condo had several nice extras that came in handy (especially a little sewing kit in the kitchen drawer for a quick clothing repair!). We walked to the pier and and the Hangout each one time but we decided it was more of a drive than walking distance to most locations. Sea and Suds is sure a busy place. We had to park across the street most of the trip because parking was limited. We were not really sure how the "towel service" worked. There were a clean set of towels on the first day and I washed them throughout the week. If there is a service that was supposed to replensish these, we did not see them. It was not a big deal but if you are paying a service to come by, they didn't. We loved the granite counter tops! We hope to come back again some time and have a lot of friends who travel to this beach so we will certainly refer them to your condo!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Casey and Michael, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Just a couple of comments. There is not towel service after you get to the condo, I am sorry if I did not make that clear. I think that is standard in condos as apposed to hotels where they do offer that service. I love to watch the dolphins in the morning, I bring a pair of binoculars when we come. I think I will add that to my welcome letter as a suggestion. I love to walk for breakfast to the hangout, sometimes we walk back on the street.
About parking, those yellow cones are to keep Sea and Suds folks out of our parking spaces, if you see one blocking a parking place, just move it and park. That is why they are there. Come back and see us and thanks a lot for your nice comments. Larry and Jan.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great location with all the comforts of home! June, 2011

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Me, my husband and 2 boys want to thank you for trusting us with your place. We did something fun every day like parasailing, dolphin cruising, fishing off the pier or trying a new restaurant! We enjoyed down time playing your scrabble game on the balcony. The condo had all the amenities for us to cook when we weren't eating out. Your place was clean and comfortable. The only complaint I have is the balcony door gets stuck. This was our first time to the area and we loved the location. We loved the pier but recommend driving there. We tried to walk there one evening but felt it was too long to be away from the kids so we turned back. I especially loved Doc's Seafood, Steamer's Gulf Shores, and Lulu's for the atmosphere. If you go to Lamberts, expect fun, a wait, and lots of food. Thanks Again!!!

Kathy and Joel and boys

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks you very much for your comments. We have worked on that door before, we just put new lock on so maybe that changes things, We will have that fixed again. We never know these things until folks tell us so thank you for making our next guest stay more enjoyable. Buy the way I love to get up in the morning and walk to the pier but with children I fully understand that driving is a better option. If we get tired walking in either direction we just walk back on the road. Come back and see us again. Larry and Jan.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

Thank you so much Larry and Jan for sharing your condo with our family!!!! This was our first visit to Gulf Shores and we will be coming back!! The condo is just as nice as it looks in your pictures, very neat and clean. My favorite part of the condo was the balcony where we sat & watched dolphins play every morning. The location is absolutely perfect. Everything we needed was in walking distance. Our favorite place to eat was Sea-N-Suds, everyone there was so friendly! We spent most of our time on the beach relaxing and I loved that it wasn't very crowded. I can't thank you enough for the best vacation we have ever had!! I look forward to coming back year after year.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Yep, Sitting on the deck with coffee is a great way to start the day, or a cold one in the afternoon. Thanks for your business. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Views

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 24, 2011

Loved this condo. It was updated tastefully and had a very homey feel. Views from the balconey were great and we loved sitting out there in the morning with our coffee or the evenings with a nice drink. This was my first time at this particular condo and I'd love to go back next year. Thanks Larry and Jan.

Only suggestion: If you stay longer than a couple days, bring extra TP!! :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind words, Please come back to see us.

I have checked with our cleaning folks and made sure they understand the level of service we expect. Please understand, we have a great crew and they do a fantastic job but we pay them a little more than the going rate and we do so with the understanding that our guest must have a great experience. As for as I'm concerned lack of supplies is the same thing as a dirty counter top.

We only have one rental condo. I really think we pay a lot more attention to customer suggestion and complaints than the average owners who have many more units. Thanks again for your business.

Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girl's Trip

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

We had a great trip. The condo, beaches and weather was beautiful. The only thing I would have changed was going during the "Hangout Festival".
I would rent this condo again and hope too next year. One of the best places we have ever stayed at during our trips. (we have been going to Gulf Shores every year for almost 20 years)
The owners are great folks to do business with. I would recommend this condo to anyone who wants to stay somewhere that is clean and well kept. Thanks again and we'll see you next May!!!!!!! Kathy, Margaret and Sue!!!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your nice review, hope we hope to earn your business again in the future.
Larry and jan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Stewart's

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

Thanks for a great weekend at the beach. We've stayed at the boardwalk for years and this is our first time to rent from Larry and Jan. This was the BEST condo. Just as pictured. We love Sea n Suds on mullet night. And we love that you can walk to so many good places to eat and shop. Gulf Island Grill was great too. Try the Gulf Island Ya Ya---wonderful. Crico's lunch buffet was also a favorite. Thanks again for renting to us. We will be renting again soon.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review. Most folks enjoy our condo and leave us a very nice note in our condo book but very few make the effort to come back here to tell others how they enjoyed their stay. We have spent thousands of dollars to upgrade our condo and we will continue to do so. I am headed down next week and we will address the next upgrades we are making. Come back and see us and we really appreciate comments and business. Larry and Jan.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

Two couples just returned from staying here for a week. It's exactly as pictured and good for couples. The location is the best with a great gulf front view. Beach was wonderful, large pool and deck. We ate at almost all of Larry's recommendations and put on a few lbs! It was so good to be able to walk to restaurants/beach bars and not always have to drive. Papa Rocco's was the best for pizza and live entertainment. Shopping was good at the Tanger outlet mall. Thanks Larry and Jan for sharing your condo with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks Linda, I'm Glad you enjoyed your vacation. Come back and see us. Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exactly as pictured!

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 11, 2010

We rented the condo the week of October 11-16. The unit was clean, and beautifully decorated. The location of this place is excellent. It is literally right across the street from several surf shops, restaurants, bars, etc. We enjoyed dinner at the Original Oyster House, Lulu's, and Lambert's in Foley, AL. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather, and spent most of our time lounging on the beach, or swimming in the ocean. We observed many different kinds of fish, dolphins, and stingrays. We enjoyed our stay a great deal, and will most likely be back next year. We absolutely fell in love with Gulf Shores!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our Home Away From Home

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 18, 2010

We have been staying at Larry & a Jans condo so many times that it like our second home. The condo and location is the best in Gulf Shores. Love Sea & Suds, Bahama Bobs, Lulus, and the oyster house. Everytime we book the condo Larry has made improvements to it. Last time a new couch, dishwasher, & refrigator. Just can't say enough about the Condo and the Grossmans. Will be back for at least two more trips next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for you review Bob and Maxine. We stayed at a number of condos in Gulf Shores before we made our purchase. It was rare to find an owner that kept their property in top shape. We vowed that when we were the owners we would keep our condo in the shape that made us comfortable when we stayed. Many of our renters just assume other are the same, thanks so much for your continued business and the appreciation for our efforts.

Larry and Jan

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Condo, Excellent Location, Great Owners!!

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

My daughter wanted a trip to the beach for her 13th birthday, and she wanted a location that was on the beach, close to the Hangout, and "in the middle of things". We couldn't have asked for a better location. You're within walking distance to several of our favorite restaurants. Your condo is beautiful and has everything we could have needed already there. The beach was beautiful, the weather was nice, and your condo was perfect. We will definitely be coming back to your place again!! Thank you for being so nice to work with.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

GREAT VACATION IN BOARDWALK 886

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2010

Larry, we had a wonderful time at the condo.Condo was clean and well maintained,the only exception was the back door is hard to open.I suggest shopping at Surf and Style,Beach Bazzar,in Orange BEach Al's 5 & 10.Food Sea and Suds wasn't good for us.You Have to go to LAmbert's Cafe to eat. The Hangout is great for family fun.I would recommond you go to see the Blue Angels On Tuesday or Wedsnesday(is the only time they practice 8:30).LArry was great to work with .We came on June 15-19 when the oil was supposed to be there it wasn't .All around VERY nice stay.Our only real complaint was not the condo, it was NO FISHING but that's BP fault.The condo is a few steps to the beach.Wonderful view from balcony. Hope this review helps in your choice of where to stay.We will be back to stay but, not intil the fishing has opened back up..

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Angel!, I'm glad you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you again, we will work on the door, I promise. I hope you got to try the pan grilled shrimp at MIkeey's, that's my favorite. Sea and Suds is a great on property convenience and a fun place to grab a frozen drink but there is a better food elsewhere like Bahama Bobs and The Hangout. Larry

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We'll be back

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

This is a wonderful property! Larry could not have been easier to work with. We worried about the oil spill but we were kept up to date and saw no oil, hope it never reaches the beautiful beaches. We so enjoyed our stay, condo was beautiful and convenient to restaurants we loved The Pink Pony and shopping at outlet mall. Our group going back, Gulf Shores won vote for next year. So much to do so little time. Thanks for a great time!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Review submitted: July 5, 2009   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

First time ever in Gulf Shores. What a wonderful vacation!!! Don't think I'll ever go back to FLA. Condo was great with beautiful view, dolphins playing in the mornings. Owner was very cooperative and easy to work with. Overall top-of-the-line experience!!!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review