reviews for: listing #5889 - Yosemite, California House rental

Hot Tub,Golf Course near Yosemite
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Pine Mountain Lake
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $200 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,450 /wk

sort by:

Very cozy family friendly home

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

We stayed here while visiting Yosemite. The house was very clean and inviting. The kids loved playing air hockey and ping pong in the evenings and we all thoroughly enjoyed using the jucuzzi. We saw deer grazing on the grass in the back and front yard every moring and night. The owners were very helpful and made themselves readily available by phone. We will definitely stay here again.

Owners response: Thank you! So glad you enjoyed your stay and your welcome anytime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay close to Yosemite

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

We found the house very clean yet friendly. The hot tub was great in the evenings to relax away the muscle strain of each days hiking and site seeing. We used the barbeque grill and had great dinners "at home". The deer were a constant delight. We even saw a mother with a new speckled fawn walk across the front lawn. The pine mountain pool was a great way to cool off after a hot day at the park. One day it was 109 so the pool felt great! The town of Groveland in itself was fun to see. We ate at one of the historic bars, the Iron door grill. Very cool historic place. We enjoyed our stay and recommend this property to anyone wanting to see Yosemite and the gold towns in the area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful weekend getaway

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend birthday getaway at this house. There were seven of us - 2 adults and 5 children and there was plenty of room for everyone. The evening we arrived we ate dinner on the back patio and there were deer sitting in the shade of the golf course. My kids thought that was the best thing ever. The spa was a nice was to relax in the evening and the kids couldn’t get enough of the game room. We need to come back in the summer so we can enjoy the beach and the pool. The owner was very responsive to our requests and inquiries. We even left a book behind and she mailed it back to us. Kathy defiantly went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect spot for our family!

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

What a perfect spot for our family to be together. Close to Yosemite, wildlife all around and the comforts of home. We felt completely comfortable here. I have 3 grandchildren - the oldest is 4 years old. Everything we needed was here; games, room to move around and video's for quiet down time in the evening. There were deer outside the back door every morning. Everything we needed for cooking and clean up were readily available and the house was sparkling when we arrived. I cannot say enough about how pleased we were with the house:-) I highly recommend and am planning a girls trip for the fall!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Three Generations

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

We were a family of a Grandfather, Mom, Dad and three teens 15,16 and 17 coming from Upstate New York. The house was super clean and orderly with enough room for all to find a place to relax. All our needs were met and found the community very helpful. My daughter had a golf lesson and the boys enjoyed the pool, as Mom relaxed by the pool and Dad and Grandpa enjoyed a refreshment at the bar. Yosemite was beautiful and the drive was enjoyable to the gate. Wish we had stayed longer, maybe in 2012.
John and Shirley, Thank you again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home away from home!

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay here. Yosemite was a spectacular experience and it was nice
to come back to a very warm and cozy environment. The grill and hot tub were perfect for evening dinner and relaxation and the ping pong and air hockey table was also much appreciated. The owners really thought of everything and even left us a welcoming basket! This truly is a wonderful experience to include in your Yosemite planning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...a deer was sitting in the drive....

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

We arrived at your beautiful home and a deer was sitting in the drive - we don't see many deer at home in the UK, the girls couldn't believe it!
Yosemite was wonderful, we drove up to Glacier Point, went rafting, and did a couple of easy walks. Our highlight was being lucky enought to see a bear!!
Thank you both for everything.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved....

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

We loved staying in your home - very comfortable and in a great location, convenient to everything. We especially enjoyed watching the deer over coffee in the morning on the back porch!
Thanks for helping to make this a wonderful family vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time!

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

We had a wonderful time in your home. Yosemite was spectacular and this was the highlight of our trip so far. The house was very well-equipped and the spa was perfect during this cold weather. We all felt very at home here, and feel rested and ready to continue our trip around CA.
Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect place for family with young children

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 25, 2010

We were delighted to find a well-stocked kitchen and the cleaniness of the entire house. The cleaning lady is very responsible. The two futons in the living room really helped because 2 of my kids need to sleep alone. The owners even provides a computer with internet service and working printer! Supermarket down the road has everything you need. Swimming pool was amazing and the kids had lots of fun there. I would recommend this property to families who like to eat at home, because the golf course view is wonderful.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

So much more than we expected!!!!

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

we have fallen into the rental trap a few times when renting private homes which is what we prefer to do on vacation and we chose the Americana based on reviews and couldn't have been happier :) A lot of places list internet access, AC, games for children, well-stocked kit, etc only to have you check in and find out ac is not working or is actually just a whole house fan (NOT comfortable), games are few and incomplete and internet means bring the laptop and a lot of patience for dial-up but a comp w/flat screen monitor was even included. . from the moment we walked in and found our thoughtful little gift basket to the next morning when I went to bake my son's bday cake and didn't have to go in town looking for cupcake pans which I forgot and they provided, there wasn't one detail Kathy and Kurt didn't think of. "Well-stocked" doesn't do justice to their kitchen. . The beds were super comfortable, everything was clean which tends to be a problem with some private rentals, kitchen appliances were new and every utensil or pot/pan you could think of was provided, and not ancient, questionable ones like we've seen before, gas grill definitely a plus as opposed to charcoal and the layout was perfect for our 2 families-open and welcoming, but just enough separation if you need it :) She even left a recipe book and details on everything to do in the area although we found it perfectly fine to stay in and enjoy family movie night and the hot tub after a long day at Yosemite. . We saw deer everytime we left the house and in the morning on the course and even saw the albino deer which was gorgeous!! Security staff was friendly, lake is a 5 minute walk,nice and secluded since it's private I think. .My boys are hard to please and they asked if we could just live there and fish on the lake instead of coming home,lol :) Our trip was very last minute and Kathy couldn't have been more helpful or accomodating and just genuinely nice. If you are coming to yosemite you owe it to yourself to stay here, all you need to pack is your family and clothes!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: July 17, 2009   Date of arrival: July 17, 2009

Our stay here couldn't have been nicer. Everything is clean, organized, and the home is well-located. The owners are attentive to your needs and are very hospitable.

Our kids especially enjoyed the beach with the water trampolines and the yummy food at the snack bar. All of us loved the water to swim in within Yosemite. You could stay a LONG time here and not get bored!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: June 20, 2009   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

Kurt and Kathy,

Thank you so much for the use of your beautiful home for our annual family vacation to Yosemite! After many years of staying in Curry Village and showering in public showers and eating out of coolers, it was HEAVEN to go back to your home and have a hot, home cooked meal, relax in the hot tub, watch a movie and melt in your comfy beds! The basket of "treats" was very thoughtful and enjoyed by all. I loved your recipe book. I copied one of your recipes and left one of my own. Thank you so much for a wonderful vacation. I'm sure we'll be contacting you in years to come!

Don & Janet Huffaker and family

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: September 4, 2008   Date of arrival: September 4, 2008

We enjoyed our stay. The owners of the house have thought through every small wish one can have while being away from home. The house is very comfortable, everything was provided for and we just had to bring food and enjoy the stay. The beach is literally 5 min within walking distance and the view on golf course is great.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 2, 2008   Date of arrival: August 2, 2008

We loved the house. We had a great time. Our kids loved the air hockey and ping pong table as well as the lake. It was so peacful there and we are definitely planning on coming back. If you can make time it is worth taking a trip and doing the sugar pine railroad dinner/train ride, especially if you have kids. A little long of a car ride on the way home but well worth it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 28, 2008   Date of arrival: June 28, 2008

we loved your house it felt kind of like home. the home was very well stocked, we could have our guests over for dinner and not worry about not haveing enough plates or silverware. The little things that you dont't think of like;note paper, laundry soap, spices, we only needed to bring our personal items. The kitchen is very large and well stocked with all the utinsels and appliaces we could use.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 13, 2008   Date of arrival: May 13, 2008

We have visited this vacation home twice now, and it is perfect in every way. The home is very spacious, clean, well-stocked and professionally decorated. There are many extra touches such as games for children, tourist books, and internet access. This last visit Kathy even provided mini snack bags which were great for our daughter as we were traveling around the National Park. Try this vacation home and you will agree that the owners have thought of every detail. We can't wait to stay there again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 5, 2008   Date of arrival: May 5, 2008

Hi,
I wanted to thank you to provide a wonderful home during our vacation. We 3 couples really had a great time together. The house is really close to the park and our stay was as much fun in the house as it was in the park.
Thanks for making ours a momorable vacation and our best wishes

Abhishek

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 4, 2008   Date of arrival: March 4, 2008

Dear Kurt and Kathy,
We just want to thank you for the wonderful time we had at your home. we found all your personal touches made us fell so wellcome and comfortable. Weve always wanted to x-country ski Yosemite and now we have!
Dave and Vicki, Medford, Oregon

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 25, 2007   Date of arrival: July 25, 2007

July 25, 07
Kurt & Kathy
Upon entering the "Americana" we were all oohing and aweing! We were thrilled about everything! We were pleasantly suprised by all the special attention to details. Although we came here primarily to lounge at the marina, we thoroughly enjoyed every moment inside the house, out at the hot tub, playing ping pong, riding the provided bikes, and sitting around the table and fellowshipping with good friends. We feel so blessed and would be honored to be able to come back "home" again!
Thank You!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 22, 2007   Date of arrival: July 22, 2007

July 22, 07
Kathy & Kurt
I was truely impressed with your patriotic decorating choices. The home was absolutely stunning, both inside and the surrounding wildlife and forrest. Two must dos. Taft Point, amaazing overlook and cliffs. And Carlon Falls, where you can swim in a gorgeous pool under a waterfall!
Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 15, 2007   Date of arrival: July 15, 2007

July 15, 07
Kathy & Kurt
We had a wonderful time here in your lovely home. The house is so comfortable and has everything necessasy for an enjoyable relaxing experince. The wildlife was amazing!
John & Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 7, 2007   Date of arrival: July 7, 2007

Thanks for letting us use your beautiful home during this part of our CA trip. With the 100 degree heat it was nice to have a spacious, well appointed home to "chill" in.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 4, 2007   Date of arrival: July 4, 2007

We were truely blessed by our stay in your wonderful home! The accomodations were perfect for our family. The "extras" were wounderful and the Community has so much to offer.
God Bless,
Tom, Diane Michael, Mike Dana JC and Jaden

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 1, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We loved your home! We have been to PML for the last seven years and it was the first time at your house. We were all so pleased! You definitely make your guests feel welcome. You have gone above and beyond what most owners do and we appreciate that and can't wait to come back!!
The Cranshaw's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 17, 2007   Date of arrival: June 17, 2007

We had a great time in your fine house. Our family enjoyed staying here very much. We have been to Yosemite, and have enjoyed the local surroundings, especially the deer and birds.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 17, 2006   Date of arrival: December 17, 2006

Kathy & Kurt,

I had a great relaxing time with my 2 boys Cameron & Nicholas. Your home did feel like a home away from home. We came to visit Yosemite for the fourth time & ended up spending more time in Pine Mountain. Loved the lake & the beach.

Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 17, 2006   Date of arrival: December 17, 2006

Dear Kurt & Kathy,

I've rented in PML for the last 7 years and have never stayed in such a wonderful, warm, clean, and welcoming cabin like yours. Everything is perfect!

Thank you for the welcome bag of goodies. I enjoyed pizza last night at Two Guys (best pizza in all of California). Enjoyed an incredible hike to Vernal Falls, enjoyed walks around PML, napping, and more.

It was a perfect break for me from my full life as mother of 4 and husband who just recovered from cancer.

Love in Christ.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 15, 2006   Date of arrival: October 15, 2006

House is very warm, welcoming and comfortable.
There are many extras such as games for kids,
bikes for riding and a lovely deck with an amazing
hot tub. Secluded beach is literally 1 minute away.
Large, well-equipped kitchen makes cooking a
breeze and the gas grill works very well. Space feels
large and homey. Clean house. Deer walk around
back yard often. You should stay here for the
ultimate relaxing and comfortable vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 14, 2006   Date of arrival: October 14, 2006

Wow!! What a great place to relax. Love the place, and it felt like we were staying at a "home" not a rental.

With the tourist season over we found this time of year a nice time to visit all the area's sights. The fall colors are at their peak and Yosemite just takes your breath away.

We would recommend taking the time to park the car and walk some trails in the valley floor.

Great places to eat-the golf club and Hotel Charlotte-fantastic.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 5, 2006   Date of arrival: October 5, 2006

Dear Kurt & Kathy,

Thank you so much for letting us use your wonderful home. We played golf--though not that well--and took a day trip to Yosemite-absolutely fantastic place & perfect weather! I loved all the deer though I know they are "pests."

This morning, as we leave, there is hard rain but so far no snow in Tioga Pass-we'll see.

Hope to see you in Medford sometime to thank you personally.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 22, 2006   Date of arrival: September 22, 2006

Dear Kurt and Kathy,

We are truly blessed to have discovered your home on such short notice. What a beautiful location! Everything was great! We can tell you really took time to think of all our needs. Thanks for helping to make out retreat enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 7, 2006   Date of arrival: September 7, 2006

Dear Kathy & Kurt,

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your PML home away from home. Very clean and very comfy. Room to do stuff yet cozy. Thank you for letting us stay here. We will come again.

P.S. Thanks for the popcorn and M&M's and the nice welcoming card. God has blessed you with the gift of hospitality for sure!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2006   Date of arrival: August 29, 2006

Dear Both,

We have really enjoyed our stay at your house.
The weather has been gorgeous, but the hot tub has saved the day.
Our visits to Yosemite in the words of our two sons (17 & 13) have been awsome.
Pizza from the 'Two Guys' saved the day on a number of occasions. Wa are now away back down to the relative cold of the world but hope to return again one day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2006   Date of arrival: August 29, 2006

The house was a great base for the last few days of our Californian adventure! We loved the space, the well-equipped kitchen, and the hot tub. The deer are beautiful ...

We managed to do a lot of Yosemite in one action packed day, starting with the film at the visitor centre, followed by a bus trip to all the valley sights & waterfalls. Then on to Tunnel View, and to the Mariposa Grove where we took the tram trip, finally back up to Glacier Point for the sunset. Dinner on the way back was well-deserved!

Thanks for all the helpful e-mails!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 27, 2006   Date of arrival: May 27, 2006

We truly had a wonderful week. The weather was fabulous, the sights breathtaking and it was a blessing to return "home" each evening for comfort and relaxation. It was a vacation we will never forget-thank you Kathy & Kurt!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 16, 2006   Date of arrival: May 16, 2006

A very warm and welcoming home. Beautiful setting with lots of deer around. Fantastic to relax in the hot tub. Would definately recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 27, 2006   Date of arrival: February 27, 2006

Kurt & Kathy,

Thanks so much for the use of your home, we enjoyed our stay very much! Very peaceful. We loved watching the deer outside. The computer allowed us to stay in touch with our families. The hot tub was very nice. We enjoyed it a lot. We felt very comfortable, everything we needed was here. We hope that we will be able to visit again. LOVED the ping pong table. Beds very comfy!!

Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2006   Date of arrival: January 2, 2006

We can't thank you enough for your hospitality. Your home is lovely! We had a wonderful time as a family. Our girls loved seeing the deer each morning. We were rained in so my husband and I just enjoyed playing games and talking. Thank you for provider a place where people can get away and have family time. May God continue to bless you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 15, 2005   Date of arrival: November 15, 2005

A wonderful clean, warm home! Very comfortable. The deer are a bonus! I would stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 3, 2005   Date of arrival: November 3, 2005

This was my first time in this part of the country and the first to see Yosemite. What a thrill! We appreciate having had this lovely home while here. Thank You.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 31, 2005   Date of arrival: January 31, 2005

Dear Kurt & Kathy
We had a wonderful time at your beatiful home. It was heavenly to soak in the hot tub expecially at night and looking at all the stars above. We look forward to coming here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 20, 2005   Date of arrival: January 20, 2005

I can't thank you more for letting us stay in your lovely house this weekend. It's my first time to live in a Americans style home and I'm so grateful that its a wonderful one. My very special and treasure experience of traveling. Wish I could stay longer here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review