reviews for: listing #58905 - Key Biscayne, Florida Condo rental

Ocean Breeze
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $200 /nt
    $2,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Last Minute Savior

Review submitted: August 14, 2014   Date of arrival: August 7, 2014

What a place! My friends, pup and I lucked out finding this place. We had been victimized by the craigslist scam and needed to find a place quick! It just so happened that Ginny had an apartment that was available within our time frame! Key Biscayne was an island full of surprises and the location of these condos allowed my friends and I, and pup, to take full advantage of it all.

The condos are literally located a walking distance from the beach, park, delicious Cubano food, bar, and grocery. Even more, they're located a short driving distance (10-30 mins) from the dog beach, Bill Baggs State Park, Miami core, and Miami South Beach. I don't think we could've been any happier with our location.

The affordability of this unit shouldn't demise the quality of the space. We had plenty of room and all the necessary tools to make the most of our experience. The kitchen was filled with accessories that allowed my friends and I to make dinners, helping our college friendly budgets. The pool is set behind the building allowing it to be is private and was very cool. We had plenty if beach towels and comforters to support our every need. It was completely stocked for our active lifestyle there.

Ginny was a sweetheart and very enjoyable to interact with. She was professional and yet laid back. She was flexible, in terms of our Key West situation, and allowed us plan our trip thoroughly. She made us all feel comfortable and at home. I would recommend this space to anyone seeking a simple adventure that has no bounds to how simple it may be.

Thanks, Ginny!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice surprise!

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: June 2, 2014

Just spent a couple of days here with my parents. They loved it! Ginny was very accommodating and informative regarding activities (even providing a map of the area/ surrounding areas- Bayfront Park and South Beach are not far) and restaurants. Too bad the weather did not cooperate however had there been sunshine Ginny had beach chairs/ cooler/ ice packs and beach towels (alot of linen available) ready for us! It was nice having a real fridge as oppose to mini ones as well. Winn Dixie was less than 15 minutes away by foot and we were able to stock up on breakfast items/ keep leftovers, etc. There are restaurants in the area however you should do your research ahead of time if your are on a budget, some places are costly. If you are into fast food like Burger King/ Mc Donalds etc, I have to say I did not run into any so really do your research.The park being next door provided a nice way to work off some of the food we stuffed ourselves with! We did not do much cooking, except a light breakfast, but there is a stove, microwave and coffee pot. I would update the kitchen utensils and pans but this is a vacation so eat out! My parents took advantage of everything including the heated pool a couple of hours before check out. We also had our own parking space which was nice. There is also a CVS nearby and a gas station up the road. Give yourself some time to get use to the area and beware of the golfcarts. The residents and some vacationers are quite fond of them and scoot around often and quickly. The golf carts facilitate parking, especially at Winn Dixie and other neighboring plazas. There are alot of children so be vigilante and adhere to the speed limits. Overall, it was a nice trip for us and we enjoyed exploring Key Biscayne. Thanks again to Ginny for helping us out!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sisters getaway

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 3, 2014

Had such a wonderful time! Ginny is a sweetheart and around when you need her and not when you don't! The beach is walking distance and condo is right near the community park. We loved it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

a lovely holiday

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 2, 2014

What a lovely place to spend a wonderful holiday! The location of the condos (we spent a total of 5 weeks in 2 of them this year) is just perfect - all stores and a supermarket, as well as nice restaurants are in easy walking distance, to say nothing of the beach access (next to the Ritz-Carlton!). Our darling host, Ginny, was extremely helpful and always present. But what we appreciated most was the wonderful heated pool - our first destination in the morning and last in the evening. I haven't felt as good in at least 15 years…
We would certainly recommend this to our friends, and hope to return next year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Corner of Paradise

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 6, 2014

I left the buzz of Miami behind to arrive at this quaint apartment in the most peaceful and safe location just footsteps away from good restaurants, shops, and most importantly the beautiful beach. I enjoyed biking through the parks staring at stunning sunrises and sunsets and exploring the island from the water by boat. Amongst all, what made it so special was Ginny's friendliness. It was very difficult to leave and I am looking forward to returning.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Cozy Condo

Review submitted: March 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

I always read reviews but rarely write them- our experience was wonderful. I had to share. You will not be sorry you chose this property for your vacation get away. Everything you need is within walking distance on this quiet beautiful island. Our condo had its own private patio for eating all of our meals and a pool nestled behind the complex with water temperatures kept pleasantly warm The condo came equipped with all the essentials we could need- including plenty of beach towels, a cooler, beach chairs and even a sun umbrella. The kitchen had the essentials for preparing meals. What we didnt have, Ginny, the owner was kind to offer to share. Ginny was the best part of the trip. Always available (she left a note on her door to let us know where to find her), GInny was as bright and pleasant as the FL sunshine. If you are looking for an affordable island get-away, look no further. You won't be disappointed

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just Perfect

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: December 3, 2013

My husband and I were doing some work for a client at the Ritz Carlton and stayed at this condo for our Key Biscayne Visit. Very Clean Unit, Comfy Bed. Good Size Kitchen GREAT LOCATION--steps to park, perhaps 1/4 mile to beach but no farther (walking distance), steps to bike rental location.....very convenient ! Very Clean, Very Convenient to everything~what more could you ask for. It was just the two of us, but I believe the sofa/futon in the front room would fold out if you had children with you

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

This place was exactly what i was looking for! A beautiful, comfy and safe place in walking distance to everything - the park, the beach, grocery store, coffee shop, restaurants. What more could i ask for? Ah yes, Ginny is a real sweerheart to top it all off! Can't say enough about her and her place. Can't wait to come back! Thank you! Carla

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great to be back!

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

We were thrilled to find this vacation rental, it was perfect for our family (my husband and small daughter). I lived for several years on the Key and it was our first time back since having our daughter. We really wanted a place that had all the essentials (we could stay in and cook if we wanted and could walk everywhere we needed to go on the Key). The parking is right at the door (so no Miami parking hassles!) and the on-site pool was so relaxing for an evening swim and our off-beach days. The small patio is a perfect size and would be fantastic for morning breakfasts and evening meals or hanging out, especially during the great months of January-April. Our daughter absolutely loved being able to go to the community park every day, which is a playground goers dream. We also can't say enough about the owner, so friendly and helpful--she even provided beach toys for our daughter who built sand castles with them with great enthusiasm. We hope it is available every time we return, which we hope to do much more often!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent apartment in perfect setting.

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 9, 2013

My brother and I stayed in one of these apartments over the summer of 2013. We are both medical students from Glasgow and were visiting a hospital in South Miami. When we arrived the apartment was immaculately clean and the owner Ginny was extremely welcoming. The apartment consists of a bedroom with the option of double or twin beds, ensuite bathroom and a living room/ kitchen area with cable tv and all the cooking accessories you could need. There is a private front garden with an outdoor dining table which is very comfortable to sit at in the sun. Round the back garden there is a well looked after, large pool and sun lounge area with plenty of deck chairs. We cannot say how much we enjoyed our stay at this apartment. It is situated right beside Key Biscaynes central park which was perfect for exercising in. The beach is a few minutes walk away as are free public tennis courts and a supermarket. Any help you need to make your stay perfect will be provided by the owner Ginny. She was extremely kind, knowledgeable about key biscayne and Miami and understanding of two less than tidy medical students.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

...we'll definitely come again!!!

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

Since we've been to Miami three times we decided to do something else.
Instead of booking a hotel at Miami Beach or Downtown we had the idea to stay at Key Biscayne,
which we knew from our former vacations. We didn't regret this decision!!!
The apartment was just perfect. It was clean and cozy, nothing was missing!!!
And Ginny (the owner) is soooo great! Always helpful and kind...
We'll definitely come again!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Lovely honeymoon

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time on Key Biscayne and would love to be able to return. It was a very clean. We stayed in a nicely decorated one bedroom apartment with everything we needed. The pool was heated and private. The apartment was within walking or biking distance of several good restaurants, parks, grocery store and the beach. Ginny was a excellent host very helpful and friendly, she asked daily if we needed anything feel free to ask. We really enjoyed the neighborhood as well as the island. We went during the week of Easter and the island had many churches for us to chose from within walking distance. The bikes that Ginny let us use during our stay allowed us explore the islands state parks and beaches. It is about a 10 minute drive to Miami and maybe 1-2 hours to the middle keys. They were fun day trips, but we most enjoyed our time relaxing on the beautiful island beaches and pool side by the condo. My husband and I would not hesitate to rent from Ginny again and hope to do so again soon! If your looking for a quite clean get away Ginny's condos are the place to stay on Key Biscayne!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

Quaint and extremely clean rental loctaed in the heart of Key Biscayne. Ginny was beyond helpful and we attribute the success of our vacation to her suggestions. Fantastic place to stay and highly recommended. 15 minutes to downtown Miami, 1 hr to the Everglades and about 1.5 hrs to the Keys. Great location.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great winter escape

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 20, 2013

We had a great time at this apartment on Key Biscayne and would love to be able to return. It was a very clean and quiet, basic one bedroom apartment with a poolside patio table. The pool was heated and private. The apartment was within walking distance of several good restaurants, a park, grocery store and the beach. Ginny was great to work with and very helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed the neighborhood feel of the building, as well as the island. The bikes that Ginny let us use during our stay allowed us explore both state parks and beaches, as well as the neighborhood streets and lovely homes in the area. It is about a 20 minute drive to South Beach and maybe 1-2 hours to the middle keys. They were fun day trips, but we most enjoyed our time relaxing on the beautiful island beaches. I would not hesitate to rent from Ginny again and hope to do so again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Sally and Steve

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

A lot of fun. Had a great time and are definitely coming back. Ginny does a great job and are looking forward to the new heated pool. Our favorite part was breakfast outside on the porch each morning. The two State Parks had great beaches and sunsets.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great stay in Key Biscayne

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

This has been our greatest vacation so far. The pictures are true to life, so our apartment (#15) looks exactly the same.
We are a family of three - 2 adults and a 4 year-old child. For us it really felt like coming to Grandma's house - totally relaxing, calm and quiet. The location is great, close to stores and the park and Crandon boulevard. The beach is about a 10 minute walk, but we had it almost all for ourselves, there were so few people there.
It was such a wonderful change from noisy and hectic New York City life.
We definitely plan to be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Great Escape!

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

My husband and I cannot speak highly enough of our visit in Key Biscayne and our host Ginny. She really did go out of her way to make our stay comfortable and we were very appreciative of her kindness. Her local knowledge was also valuable for figuring out the best spots to visit.
The cute, cozy cottage was exceptionally clean and provided everything we needed for our visit. The bed was really comfy and the private patio under the trees was lovely spot to relax.
It was in easy access to local shops and restaurants on the Island but also South Beach restaurants and shopping are just a quick drive across the bridge if that is what you’re looking for….
It really is a beautiful tropical getaway that we would definitely recommend and visit again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous trip

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 30, 2012

This is my second time in 3 months to stay in this vacation apartment here in Key Biscayne. I was so happy to find something reasonably priced on this beautiful island. I found this place peaceful and quiet, as well as clean, functional and comfortable. The owner/manager lives onsite and was always available and very accommodating when I had any needs or questions. I will really miss her.

I love the very central location and easy access to everything. It is right next to a lovely park and community center where the local people bring their children and community events take place. There are also three nice churches, several wonderful restaurants and basic shopping all within easy walking distance. Even the beach is within easy walking distance. There is a nice private swimming pool hidden in the back that was also always clean and refreshing and enjoyable.

Staying in this residence gave us a chance to experience life on this island amidst the families who live and work here. It was such a wholesome and crime-free environment. We got to know a number of local people who were all just delightful. This has been a unique experience and one to be valued.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

an excellent vacation

Review submitted: September 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

A great place to enjoy both an island tranquil paradise and a thrill of a party city, Miami. Beautifull views of Key Biscayne beach are astonishing, so as snorkeling and walking along the shore. South Beach restaurants and shopping are just a quick drive across the bridge. Tennis courts, gulf courses, and a state park are within walking distance. Huge mansions give an idea of local wealth
The apartment is a real and hard to find bargain with all the amenities and comforts that will satisfy families and single travelers.
Very recommended

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

We stayed for four nights in this cozy Key Byscaine apartment. We were within minutes of Crandon Park for tennis, golf and kayaking. It is next door to a beautiful park and kids playground. The apt. was clean and there is laundry facilities and a pool that was basically almost just for ourselves, plus the beach at this time of the year is wonderful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great getaway!

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

We stayed in a very cozy one bedroom cottage-like home. It was very clean and charming. Had everything we needed. Location was perfect. We were able to walk to restaurants and grocery store. When we chose to drive somewhere it was no more than a 5-10 minute drive. Would recommend for a low key but very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful vacation apartment

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

We stayed here for nearly a week and enjoyed it immensely. The apartment was perfect! It was very clean, well decorated with personal touches and some unique curios, lots of room to lay about and very comfortable bed. The owner was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area, and was most helpful. The apartment is on a secluded street near many beautiful homes and within walking distance of several beautiful beaches. The island itself is quiet and beautiful, a wonderful respite from the busy Miami scene. Hope to visit again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

This vacation was my second stay at this fabulous getaway on the Island Paradise of Key Biscayne. I really can't say enough--the apartments are immaculately cleaned, Ginny is such a welcoming host, and the peaceful luxury of "the Key" is at your doorstep. We packed a lot into our vacation here including the beach on Key Biscayne, the Key's shops and restaurants, a drive to Key West, and the famous Miami South Beach. We couldn't have asked for a better vacation, and can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Simply Perfect Apartment in Key Biscayne

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

This was the perfect accommodations at one of the most beautiful places in South Florida (Key Biscayne). The description provided was exactly what we encountered and the owner Ginny was the best hostess anyone can ask for. You are within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, groceries, bars, beach and if you feel adventurous Ginny has bikes available for use as well. We will be back and hopefully soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Stay

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

My wife, our dog and I had a wonderful time at this location. The apartment was clean, efficient and provided all we needed for a relaxing stay. Breakfast always included delicious oranges and mangos from the nearby Winn Dixie. The pool on the property was private with sparkling water.The area was safe and picturesque. Every morning we would take our dog for a walk on a different road which was always delightful with all the beautiful flowers and vegetation. The Village Green is behind the apartment and on our last night there was a outdoor European Film Festival we enjoyed. The beaches were ideal with clean sand and turquoise water. The owner Ginny went out of her way to make us enjoy our stay. She was helpful, pointing out many parts of the island that we could enjoy. All shops and restaurants are easily walkable. South Beach and Miami Beach with all their frenetic activity are only 20 minutes away. Enjoyed walking to the Cuban Cafe on Cransdon Blvd for cuban coffee. One of our better vacations, would definitely return in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Stay In A Cozy Apartment

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

This place was perfect for our needs. It is perfect for a couple or small family. The owner, Ginny, was very helpful and made the process seamless. The space was more than adequate and had all the necessary accouterments. Overall an excellent stay and we would definitely return and recommend this to our friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Island Paradise - Best of All Worlds

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 14, 2011

As a former Key Biscayne resident, I can attest to the island's allure and unique lifestyle. It's the best of Miami and has earned its Island Paradise status.

Ginny's rentals are clean, comfortable, cozy and in a perfect location.

It's a great place to hang out and a great location to walk to the majority of the island attractions.

Ginny is an expert on all things Key Biscayne. She and her faithful, four-legged companion Bijoux are charming hosts.

My dogs and I had a wonderful stay. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A great place to vacation!

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

We absolutely loved this property. Ginny was a wonderful hostess and the apartment was great! The location to the beach, and stores, restaurants, etc. can't be beat. You are close to all the conveniences, but it's such a quiet location you'll feel as though you're at a secluded resort. Ginny, the owner, made sure that we had everything we needed, gave us tips on where to eat, what to see, where the best beaches were and ensured all was perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better place for a romantic getaway and hope to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Charming and Relaxing

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

My wife and I loved staying here. It is clean, has a perfect location, and friendly people. We were there for about a week and it was perfect for us since we didn't want to drive. The property owner Ginny was so kind and offered us some spare bikes to ride around town. She even took us for a boat ride around the area. I couldn't have asked for more! I would highly recommend this condo to anyone looking to have a great vacation. No matter what you want to do, Key Biscayne is the perfect location. Close to Miami if you want to enjoy the city, close to the beach, and absolutley beautiful. Would definitely come back here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay!!!

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

Easy to relax!
Clean, comfortable, laid back, & central to everything!!!
Especially enjoyed the availability of bicycles:)!
You won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing and safe base for exploring the Miami area

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

This is a great place to base yourself for exploring Miami attractions and beaches if you want to come home every night to a safe and laid back place, as well as enjoying Key Biscayne itself. We stayed in unit 9 for 3 nights at the end of May. Unlike some other VRBOs on the island this is not a high rise building-it’s a one story group of three small, older buildings, almost bungalow in scale. Its very low key and intimate. There is a pool in the back (some more trees/shrubs in the nearby barbeque area would make it even more inviting). The property is located near pleasant Village Green Park. The walk to the beach is about half a mile or 10 minutes (or a couple of minutes by bike). The owner Ginny is a long time resident of Key Biscayne and is very nice and helpful and lives on the property. She has a couple decent bikes to lend out which we really appreciated and used constantly in our evening explorations of the quiet residential streets as well as the numerous bike paths in Cape Florida Park (nice place to see sunsets) and Crandon Park. There are also bike shops to rent bikes if you want something more fancy. The nearest beach is the one in front of the Ritz hotel-its nice and adequate, but not very wide (beaches in nearby Crandon park are wider, but get busy on weekends) and the water is not as blue on the Key compared to the beaches in Miami, and there was also no surf while Miami beaches had 2-3 foot waves. Our room was spotless, quiet, comfortable and very well maintained. For inexpensive, basic, large-portion Cuban food, with outdoor seating, try the place immediately on the right as you enter town from the north. Overall, a great stay-we would definitely come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay !!!

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

Nice pool area in back.Short walk to the beach,Clean,Quiet,Ginny was very nice lady,It was a stay on the weekend and a really neat walk to the beach,everyone was around the corner in the park T-Ball and Soccer Roller Blading and exercising.
Saw beautiful birds on feeders in yards (Parrots),My kids were excited when an Iguana(about a foot long) scurried thru the path to the beach.
Beach was great... absolutely beautiful.Neighborhood is quiet at night.
Just a fantastic stay.
Thank you Ginny

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Orchids Blooming

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

What I miss most about Key Biscayne is coffee on the lovely, shaded patio, surrounded by palms, plants, and a blooming orchid, while the church bells chimed a gentle reminder of the passing morning. Just back from a month in our little cottage by the park and thinking we need to stay longer next year. We have stayed on Key Biscayne for several years at various hotels, but it was great having a full kitchen, plenty of storage and a comfortable sitting/dining area, as well as the patio.

We walked on the beach every day, lunched by the ocean and read by the pool. The pool was beautifully maintained and my husband and I had it pretty much to ourselves since the locals seemed to think it was too cold to swim in. It was as warm as any pool in Massachusetts in August!

We had a hard time leaving the Island, but did manage to visit Viscaya (fantastic!), the Coconut Grove Arts Festival and Robert is Here!, as well as take a great trip to "Red Sox Nation South" for a spring training game with our daughter.

Many great restaurants both on the Island and across the bridge in Miami. We enjoyed the quiet stroll and fresh fish down the street at Vito's and spent several breezy evenings at Rickenbacker Fish Company watching the boats in the Bay.

We loved the quiet and seclusion of the beach (Bill Baggs) and its clean facilities. A lot of restoration work has been done at the lighthouse and we enjoyed seeing its progress.

Ginni, our landlady, was available, responsive, accommodating, but never intrusive.

We also thoroughly enjoyed the Farmer's Market across the street on Saturdays with its local food and musicians. We read the local papers and charted the daily tides. We ate real oranges and tomatoes. And before we left, we gave Ginni our deposit for next year!

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Key Biscayne, Island Paradise

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a month long vacation in Key Biscayne. Our condo was perfect in many ways – a quiet, clean and charming one bedroom, one bath, combined living room and dining area, and cute kitchen with all the equipment we needed to prepare our meals. Our unit also had a comfortable pull-out sofa which was perfect for an additional guest who joined us for one week. The location was ideal, next to a community park which we enjoyed walking through on a daily basis on our way to local stores, restaurants and the beautiful white sand beach with free access. The pool was very pleasant with chairs, tables and umbrellas where we could relax, play board games, and visit with other guests. We appreciated having an internet connection, cable TV, DVD, towels and linens included. There are bicycles available to borrow as well as a charcoal grill conveniently located near the pool for grilling locally purchased fresh fish. We particularly enjoyed being in a one story building rather than a multi-unit, high-rise condo and having to use an elevator to reach the outside. This location is cozy – only 15 units – and we frequently had the pool entirely to ourselves. Ginny, the owner, lives on the property and is available should any of the guests need anything. She is very accommodating and is knowledgeable about the area and had some great suggestions for activities and restaurants.

Key Biscayne is a wonderful location which has many outdoor activities, good restaurants and boutique shopping and is very safe. We really enjoyed both natural parks; Crandon Park to the north and Bill Baggs State Park to the south. In addition, Miami is a short 30 minute drive away.

I definitely recommend our condo and would love to rent it again next year. The only thing I would change is the length of our stay. We will stay for at least two months because one month was far too short.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

When is a month not really a month?

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

Ginny tries very hard to make each unit as hospitable as possible. We stayed there the month of February. They are small at maybe 400 square feet and the complex was built in 1955. The unit we were in was very clean and decorated in an eclectic, yard-sale-chic style. The pool area is nice, but the pool is unheated and I think I was the only person to clean any of the furniture during the month.. The location is superb with a large park on one side and a pretty quiet street in front. It is an easy one half mile walk to a gorgeous beach. Groceries and restaurants are found within that same distance. Crandon Park and Bill Baggs Park are more than a mile away, but certainly worth the longer walk or bike ride. Crandon Park has a world class tennis facility and there is a gold course also. If you do a lot of cooking, you may need to do some additional planning.

Overall, the kitchen area is substandard. The utensils are basic and few. The fridge, toaster, microwave and coffee maker are basic, but adequate. However, the main burner on the small stovetop could not be made to stay in a level orientation. There was no blender or food processor, no sharp knives and the skillet was warped. Only one measuring cup and no measuring spoons were in the unit. There is only one grill for 6 or 8 tenants, so don’t plan on using it every night. You need to supply the charcoal and any tools you may need. You should also plan on cleaning it.

The TV is really old and the DVD no longer connects well. Very basic cable is included. Wi-Fi is included, but it has spotty connectivity. About half the units have a private patio, the others have no private outside area. The bed was comfortable, firm and there were ample linens. There was great water pressure in the shower and enough hot water. The on-site coin operated laundry is convenient. After arrival we learned the actual pet policy is no more than one, less the 20 pound dog. I would say the attitude is “pet tolerant”, not pet friendly. But Key Biscayne residents are pretty irresponsible when it comes to dog waste, so I understand.

We did not learn of great misunderstanding until the 28th of the month. Ginny agrees that a day is about 24 hours, but a week in not 168 hours (7 days), her week in only six nights. And her month is a day less than I thought. So, we were horribly surprised when she told us we need to leave that day. She really needs to make this policy very clear to her renters.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Place to Stay!

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

I had the best experience staying at these cute and cozy apartments on Key Biscayne. Right next to the park, a short 10 minute stroll to the beach, and a quick walk to the grocery store, restaurants, and coffee shops. Ginny, the owner, was so accommodating and kind and was a pleasure to have so close. I stayed in her apartment for over 2 months while I was down on assignment working in Miami. Even though I was here for work, I felt like I was on vacation here! Key Biscayne, while just a short drive to Miami and South Beach, is a world away. It is so quiet, safe, and just a peaceful place to be. I highly recommend the apartments!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location & Bargain

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: January 11, 2011

Just spent 23 days at Ocean Breeze and loved the fact that we could walk to places like the grocery store, parks, restaurants and beach while everything else Miami has to offer is just a short drive away. Units are not luxurious, but they are well kept and clean and are a HUGE bargain on this pricy island. There are even bikes available! Only gripes are the hourly daytime church bells across the street and some street/park maintenance noise, but most travelers are probably not going to be as noise sensitive as I am. It was nice to hear kids out having a good time in the well utilized park next door and the talking birds across the street. It is surprising how many kids are on the island. Key Biscayne is a great place to take children. We felt very safe at all times. If you are serious beach people, you may not like the 10-15 minute hike to the beach but we were ok with it. Not much nightlife on the Island but we enjoyed visiting the Ritz across the street and the Latin band and rum bar. Otherwise, you have to drive off the island to find places like Tobacco Rd, Little Havana (don't miss!), and Van Dykes on the South Beach pedestrian mall on Lincoln, but the short drive off the island offers spectacular views that never get old so it was no problem for us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: Our Dear guest Brian had an injured back when he arrived.
This injury is so painfull.Even an 8 to 10 minute easy walk to our private
beach would seem like a hike.Barely audible church bells from our tiny Community Church made him grumpy.

I hope he is all well next year since he mentioned how much he loved it here and would like to return.

Ginny

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice Condo

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

This is a great condo for a week in Key Biscayne. Clean and comfortable. There is a small, well equiped kitchen and two nice TVs. Good neighborhood for running or walking in the morning or evening. Safe area. I would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great way to get away...

Review submitted: December 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 10, 2010

I recently spent a week at this property and it was everything I had hoped for. It was cozy, clean, and had all of the necessities. We were just blocks from the beach and had the freedom to jump in the car when we wanted and buy groceries. The room was quiet and peaceful. The area restaurants were quite good. It was quick and easy to get to Miami but it felt like it was a world away. The beach felt like it could have been on island anywhere in the world. I would recommend this to anyone that asked, even my closest friend. As someone who works in residential management, I am not easy to please.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Location, Relaxation, & Beauty

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

This apartment on Key Biscayne was extremely comfortable and immaculate too. I did not have to clean anything, at all, upon arrival. The fully equipped kitchen and bathroom and floors throughout were spotless! The on-site manager, Ginni, was always accomodating, and all the locals are quite friendly. They can be seen driving golf carts around the village with their children and dogs as passengers. The apartment's location could not be better...just a few steps and you are inside a gorgeous nine acre park where you can be amoung runners, bikers, walkers, and playing chilren. And it's only a block from all the specialty shops and many fantastic restaurants! The private beach is also quite lovely and only a few minutes walk. Spending several weeks here was simply not enough. I can't wait to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fully Enjoyable!

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this charming condo. The property is very clean, equipped with all necessary amenities and in the perfect location – next to the park, on a quiet street and very close to the beach.

The owner, Ginny, was wonderful and very helpful. She lives on the premises and is always available if needed. She not only gave us a personal tour around beautiful Key Biscayne, but even took us out for an unforgettable boat trip.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend the place for everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Take 2 Brits, 1 Key Biscaynean and a small dog....

Review submitted: October 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

Great place! Perfect condo, sunshine, our own blue pool to dive into before breakfast - well if you're my friend that is. I prefer just to sit by the pool and enjoy my coffee and toast under the palm trees. What are those birds flying overhead? They're beautiful. And all these lovely flowers on the trees....bliss.

First time in Key Biscayne and already we feel we've made a friend in Ginny, our landlady. She introduced herself to us when we arrived in the pitch dark, tired and hungry and has been a star ever since. Condo was great – charming, really clean, everything you needed and Ginny had got us in coffee, bread, milk and eggs for our breakfast. In the evenings, we treated ourselves to eating out just round the corner in one of many restaurants within walking distance.

Went to the beach every day - just a walk through the lovely park at the back of the condo, down to the white sandy beach and turquoise blue sea. Fabulous darling!

So, we've had a fantastic time....even visited The Everglades with Ginny's help: rode on one of those Air Boats and saw real alligators - always wanted to do that - and next day we careered round Miami Bay in a boat at about 100 miles an hour! Fantastic. Swimming off a sandbank, looking back at the skyscrapers of Miami, surrounded by millionaire playboy cruisers and accompanied by stalwart little Bijou, Ginny's adorable dog, swimming manfully up and down in his own little lifejacket! Where else could you do that? Thank you Ginny - and thank you Bijou for a wonderful time!

Highly recommended for a real Floridean experience

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best bang for the buck in exclusive Key Biscayne

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

We enjoyed our stay even with our two daughters sharing the day bed! It was meticulously clean and charming in a great location on a quiet, street next to the park in beautiful Key Biscayne. Ginny was wonderful - she was helpful and available. She lives on the premises and is available if needed. The complex is small and not the Ritz but perfect for any family and easier on the wallet ;) it's right next to a lush park and he beach was a short and pleasant walk.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

PERFECT GET AWAY

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

I needed a place to go that would fit my needs and the owner provided excellent service. The unit was clean, lots of amenities and was in a great location. Just 1 minute to the park and short walking distance to beach, shops and dining. The owner made us feel at home, was wonderful to deal with and accommodated us perfectly. I would highly recommend anyone staying there. It was well worth staying there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Truly an island paradise

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

A wonderful tropical location. A small community with all the amenities needed for a relaxing vacation. The area is great for biking and walking. Everything is close by. The beach and ocean are uncrowded and stunningly beautiful. Lots of restaurants and take-out places. The condo was very clean and had everything one might need for a relaxing stay. The pool area was a quiet area for hanging out. The Sony Ericcson tennis tournament was on during our stay so it was really easy to ride our bikes to it and take in some fantastic tennis. We also played tennis on the local courts nearby. The owner lives onsite and was very helpful and friendly if we ever had questions or concerns. Truly a special location in Florida. I would recommend this property to friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 29, 2010

The Ocean Breeze is a home away from home. It is a cozy, well kept, quiet and very convenient shaded condo that sits on a quiet residential street next to a village park. It is walkable to the beach and grocery store and close to Higs Beach and Crandon Beach. You wake up to the sounds of birds, with breezes blowing through your room. Ginny VAlls, the owner, lives on the premises, and is more than hospitable. Overall the place has a warm, homey feel, that the high rise condos can't match. I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Key Biscayne - Here we come!

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

Do you want to enjoy Key Biscayne and by pass high-rise living? We recommend these apartment gems which include everything you might need. Attractive and spotless, with an uncrowded pool area for relaxing/having a bar-b-que, the management is friendly, extremely helpful and on-site. With an ideal, close to everything location, you can enjoy various beaches and everything the Key and nearby Miami have to offer. Good food, water sports, entertainment, the Everglades, shopping or just plain taking it easy. We come back year-after-year for a fabulous, time-out vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming tropical paradise

Review submitted: August 19, 2009   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this rental property! It was spotlessly clean, charming, equipped with all amenities, and in the perfect location - close to bustling Miami but on a quiet, lovely street in secluded, low-key, beautiful Key Biscayne. Gorgeous! The owner, Ginny was warm and wonderful - she was not only accomodating, but went Way above and beyond to make our stay a pleasant one - on our first day here, she actually ran home on her lunch break to give us a personal tour of the area! She lives on the premises and is always available if needed. The pool area is hidden in the back - we had several wonderful, private swims to cool off at the end of the day. The complex is small, I believe there were only 15 units, and surrounded by lush tropical foliage, as if we were not in Florida but some exotic isalnd. The beach was a short walk away - just a 7 or 8 minute pleasant stroll through the adjacent park and side streets. We highly recommend this property to all Miami visitors - So much better than staying in a crowded Miami hotel or bustling South beach. You can visit almost anywhere in the Miami area by traveling only 15 or 20 minutes from your own tropical paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 16

 

Best family vacation

Review submitted: August 15, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We have been coming back year after year to this beautiful condominium. The management is always available for anything you need. The apartment is always very clean! Everything we needed was also available to us. I highly recommend this vacation rental

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Best Getaway Ever

Review submitted: August 7, 2009   Date of arrival: February 2, 2008

An exceptionally clean, quiet, well furnished condo that you can call your own for a few days, a few weeks, or even a few months. The condo has all the amenities needed, such as a full-sized refridgerator, stove, dishes, pots and pans, full bath tub/shower, air conditioning, tv, and nicely furnished. I loved the fact that I could get away from it all, but yet be within 20 minutes from downtown Miami. It was fun to head on over to South Beach and check out the night life and then be able to come back to my clean, quiet apartment, and have a great nights sleep. Another plus, there is a washer/dryer on the premises, which for me, is a godsend; since I stayed 3 weeks. Even though I didn't use it, the outdoor pool was spotless, the garden was lush, and well maintained. The manager was very congenial, prompt and helpful with any questions that I had, either regarding the condo or Key Biscayne. My favorite restaurant was Sushi Siam, a Japanese and Thai cusine within walking distance from the condo. It is in the same shopping center where the huge grocery store is. I absolutely loved the Community Center which was approx. 1 block away across the park. I worked out on weights and machines, took Yoga classes. There are also aerobics, belly dancing, beading and pottery classes, and a small cafe which serves delicious gelato. I found out too late in my trip that you can take an express boat from the middle of the bridge in Key Biscayne to Key West and it only takes 4 hours; so much faster than driving! If I could, I would go back to stay here year after year. It was the perfect getaway among lush, tropical warm white sand beaches in a peaceful location that was away from all the hubbub of the larger cities on the mainland, yet close enough to it all to be endlessly entertained if that is what's desired. I highly recommend this place to my friends and family and now, of course to you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review