reviews for: listing #58947 - Sunset Beach, North Carolina Condo rental

Colony II @ Oyster Bay - Condo 2BR 2BA - Birds Eye View
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Oyster Bay
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $80 - $115 /nt
    $500 - $700 /wk

sort by:

Footprints in the Sand

Review submitted: July 31, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The condo was clean and the location was great.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Our condo provides a relaxing beach vacation in a lovely resort with great convenience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Condo...TV's need to be updated

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

The condo was nice and the location was great. Only a few small issues. When we got there the refrigerator was very dirty inside. My wife and I had to completely clean out and disinfect the inside of the fridge before we felt comfortable putting our food and drinks in it. The TV's were old tube TV's and the cable service was lousy. Not a huge deal because you spend most of your time at the beach or at the pool but with small children we have to get them home and in bed at a decent time and would have been nice to have something decent to watch. You can get nice flat screen TV's pretty cheap at Walmart these days and would be a good investment for the owner. Didn't really understand why the room with the Jacuzzi tub wasn't the master bedroom. Would have been nice if after the kids were in bed to be able to use the tub with my wife buy it was in the kids room so that wasn't an option. Overall it was a nice place and almost perfect location especially for the price but talking to some other renters in the same community it sounds like you can get a more updated condo for a little more money. Might go that route next time. The pools and hot tub were great and the indoor pool came in handy on one rainy day. Loved Sunset beach and if you are on a budget and aren't planning on watching much TV this condo is a good option. Very roomy and comfortable... Just needed some updating, especially with the electronics and appliances.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our condo is so spacious, it has two Master Bedrooms that allows our guests to decide which is best for their family. Our photos on the website help depict the beach atmosphere and comfort to be enjoyed. LR TV will upgrade to Flat Screen in July, 2014.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: April 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 27, 2014

As always we enjoyed our stay at your condo. It is always the most relaxing vacation. It is very important to us to be able to play golf and enjoy the beautiful beach all in the same vacation. The condo is always very clean and well equipped. Can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad that our condo can provide a restful and fun vacation in an ideal location.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unit 109 Colony II

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

This was our second time staying at this unit. It is very clean and well supplied. It is very quiet and enjoyable to sit on the balcony with a great cup of coffee and listen to the birds. Everything that we need is close by: shopping, golf and restaurants. We feel as though it is our second home. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming.

Jim and Barbara

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Providing a relaxing beach getaway is our desire and we have many "repeat" vacationers.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A relaxing week in condo 109

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 12, 2012

We had a very relaxing week at a nice and calm spot in NC, the condo 109 was good equipped, clean and warm during some cold days.
Marlene + Karl-Heinz from Germany

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We're so glad that even on last minute decisions, we are able to provide a great beach getaway.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

awesome "mini-moon"

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

We only got to stay 3 days, but every day was great! The condo was exactly as the pictures described, and the beds and couch were all very comfortable. My wife and I mostly spent our time in North Myrtle Beach, which is only 15 minutes away. We were pleased with all the amenities of the condo, as there were all the appliances we needed and then some, as well as plenty of silverware, cookware, and cleaning supplies. The condo was very spacious, and there was plenty of room for 4 more people. We had great weather the entire time, and the pool was a little chilly, but that's to be expected in mid-May. We wish we could have stayed longer, but that's why we're already planning on renting again and staying with more family next time. Jill and Allan were very helpful! Thanks again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love the location of our condo and know that others will too. Our guests give us great feedback.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Colony II Resort Condo - Oyster Bay

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

We enjoyed our stay and found the condo to be clean and well located for our needs. Would definitely consider staying there again.

Owners response: We have many "repeat" renters who love our condo. It's in a perfect location.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Colony II Condo

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

We rented the condo for our kids & their 7 yr old daughter. The location was great - not too far from the beach and shops etc. They really enjoyed the indoor pool & hot tub as the weather was a bit cool. The condo, itself is well kept and nicely decorated. We would definitely rent this unit again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We love that our condo is in a convenient Resort with great amenities. It gives the vacationer the luxury of spacious rooms and beach cottage feel.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

We had a very nice stay Jill was very helpful answering any questions we had. Everything was clean place was beautiful would deffenatly reccomend :)

Owners response: Providing a great beach vacation with a lovely beach atmosphere is our goal. Colony II Resort has wonderful amenities.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Condo

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This condo was well maintained, it had all the amentities of home, dishwasher, coffee pot, washer/dryer, linens, sleeps 7, large rooms, privacy, pool, hottub at pool and in one bedroom. The location is great, just a couple miles from the beach, and close enough to restaurants, shops and the grocery. But not in the middle of all the busyness of Myrtle Beach, although close enough to go there for the day if interested. The best part is the affordablity.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We're so pleased that our Condo can help make a "perfect vacation".

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything you would want for a quiet fall getaway

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

My husband and I wanted a quiet fall get-a-way just to relax. We got away from the rat race. This was the place to go! Jill was so great to deal with. The beach was just a short drive away, there was plenty to do if we wanted to go out. The weather was just great. The view of the sunrise from the balcony was spectacular. It felt so good sitting out there in the sunshine. I am hoping my best friend and I will be back in the winter for a get a way... Great place at a great price! Thanks Jill!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Offering a beach condo that is spacious, relaxing and energizing is our goal. We hope people will love it as much as we do.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cute Condo for our Long Weekend @ Sunset Beach, NC

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2010

We really enjoyed renting this condo for our recent long weekend trip to Sunset Beach, NC. We have been coming to Sunset Beach for several years and renting houses on the island. With us just needing 3 nights this time, we decided to try a condo! This one at Colony II worked out perfectly for our family of four! The condo was clean and comfortable! The owners could not have been nicer in working with us on check-in and check-out times! We have two small boys and their flexibility on "times" helped us out tremendously!! The condo's location is great for heading to Sunset Beach... only a couple of miles. The pools and hot tub on the property were excellent and we always had it all to ourselves! (very nice with our two loud little boys) We spent most of our mornings and mid-afternoons at the beach, back to the condo for the boys to nap and then had nice dinners in Calabash! We recommend Tony's Pizza and Ella's Seafood for kid friendly locations and GREAT food! We also played putt-putt golf in Calabash as well. For our treat, we went to a favorite spot of ours... Calabash Creamery for some delicious home-made ice cream!! Even though our trip this time was shorter than usual, we had a wonderful time and AWESOME weather! Thanks for renting to our family and for the process being so easy!! If we don't buy something in the area soon, we will certainly be renting from you again! Thanks, Andy, Robin, & the boys.... Charlotte, NC

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Providing a relaxing "beach getaway" is always a pleasure. We hope all of our guests enjoy the condo as much as we do.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our Stay at Sunset Beach

Review submitted: August 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

I loved the room, so clean, cozy, everything we needed was already there for cooking, baths, etc...The kids loved it, the pool was awesome. Everyone around the units were extremely nice. We met some great people who would love to vacation with us again sometime! I'm recommending that my mom, my sisters, their husbands and kids all take a vacation together with us next year. I would have to ask if you knew any others that rent out their condos so that we would have enough room for everyone? Thanks for everything, look forward to visiting again!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad to provide a "fantastic" condo in a relaxed setting that is convenient to everything!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Stay!!!!

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

We just recently returned from our first family vacation at Sunset Beach and stayed in this wonderful condo. It was clean and met all of our needs nicely!! Although the view noted in the description is not quite accurate since you can barely see the intercoastal or beach from the deck through the trees, the amentities of the property more than make up for the lack of a true view. Loved the location, quite convenient... the kids loved the indoor/outdoor pool and the layout of the condo is great to ensure privacy. The condo only has a DVD player in one of the bedrooms (VCRs in the Living Room and 2nd BR) so that was an inconvenience as we ended up having to watch our family movies in the bedroom vs the living room but this was not a big deal. We really loved the condo and would highly recommend the property for those wanting to stay in the Sunset Beach area without actually staying on the beach! Jill was a pleasure to deal with and answered all my questions and returned my security deposit in record time! Thanks Jill for opening your beach home to us!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our top floor condo does provide a "birds eye view" of the surrounding area with the intracoastal waterway across the street and the filtered view of the ocean in the distance. Our condo does not face another condo; instead, a wooded natural area! You'll love staying at "Footprints in the Sand".

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation at Sunset!

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

We just recently returned from our first family vacation at Sunset Beach and stayed in this wonderful condo. It was clean and met all of our needs nicely!! Although the view noted in the description is not quite accurate since you can barely see the intercoastal or beach from the deck through the trees, the amentities of the property more than make up for the lack of a true view. Loved the location, quite convenient... the kids loved the indoor/outdoor pool and the layout of the condo is great to ensure privacy. The condo only has a DVD player in one of the bedrooms (VCRs in the Living Room and 2nd BR) so that was an inconvenience as we ended up having to watch our family movies in the bedroom vs the living room but this was not a big deal. We really loved the condo and would highly recommend the property for those wanting to stay in the Sunset Beach area without actually staying on the beach! Jill was a pleasure to deal with and answered all my questions and returned my security deposit in record time! Thanks Jill for opening your beach home to us!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

awesome place to stay

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2010

This was our first time ever staying at the condo and at Sunset Beach. We were soooo pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Everything was absolutely awesome and very clean. It was very close to the pool that was never crowded. Everyone was so nice that we met. JILL always responded back very fast to any questions that I had. The beach was even better and much cleaner than others. All in all we have found a new place to stay!! We can't wait to go back.... hopefully in the next few months. Thank you so much for a great experience. We look forward to many more!

Owners response: Providing "awesome" vacations is our goal with this lovely condo. Perfect location for a fantastic vacation. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

wonderful family friendly condo

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

My family and I rented the condo for memorial day weekend.

The condo was clean, well-equipped and comfortable.

We were extremely pleased that the condo was family-friendly and we did not have to worry about the safety of our 3 year old.

We would rent again!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: So glad your family had a wonderful vacation and our beach home added to the pleasure. Jill

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

Jill, the condo was lovely, and we really enjoyed our stay. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just What We Wanted

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

Jill, we've just returned from our trip........Thank you for providing us a wonderful retreat. Your condo is just what we wanted ....close to everything,great amenities,and very comfortable.We walked the beach, golfed,shopped,took in the One Show,and ate too much. Thanks again for your hospitality......We hope to visit again soon. ...............Mike

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Condo

Review submitted: March 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

Thank you for the use of your condo, it was awesome. You've got a really nice place there. The weather turned out pretty nice, and we had a great stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Family Time

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

Thanks for a wonderful time there! We had a blast!

Shannon

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Don't Want to Leave

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2009

You are so right about not wanting to leave. With the storm off shore and an abundance of sun in the prior days, we spent today off beach and doing a little exploring.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Kayaking - well appointed Condo

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

The weather was beautiful and your condo was so comfortable and well-appointed! We had a great time at the beach and kayaking! Thanks for everything!

Bonnie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at your lovely condo. On a cloudy day we took a day trip up to Bald Head Island and saw "Old Baldy" Lighthouse and the island from a golf cart- fun! Ate alot of seafood from Calabash! Your place is nice and clean and just as described. We stayed here with another couple and enjoyed all the nice features of this "home away from home."

Owners response: We're so glad that you enjoyed the condo and the local fun things to do in the Sunset Beach area. Thank you for nice compliments. Allan & Jill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 23, 2009   Date of arrival: August 23, 2009

What a great time at Sunset Beach and your Colony II condo! It was an easy drive to the beach and maybe too close to Calabash...it made eating shrimp every night a little too easy! It was great to come back from the beach and spend a little while at the pool. The outside pool was perfect after the sun had gone down and the inside pool was refreshingly cool in the hot afternoon. We had everything we needed in the condo and we're so appreciative of your opening your beach home to us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 2, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

The condo is lovely, very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed our stay there.It is so peaceful, especially in the evenings on the balcony, no hussle,bussle of traffic,or noise, but relaxing on the balcony with a cup of coffee and the tree frogs.We have stayed at one place or another at Oyster Bay for the last several years and will continue to return there on our trips to Sunset Beach.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 26, 2009   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

jill, we enjoyed your place so much. We specially liked the amenities you had. The place was clean and very nice. Also I noticed you don't mention it but you can actually see the ocean. We had binoculars so being able to see it via the deck was a real plus. Thank you so much.
eddie and Linda

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 11, 2008   Date of arrival: November 11, 2008

In years of travel this was about the nicest accomodations we have stayed at. The location is quiet and beautiful; the condo was immaculately clean and welcoming. The owners are hospitable, warm and friendly to work with. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 6, 2008   Date of arrival: October 6, 2008

We've already received a phone call from our guests staying this week at our condo. They say it's "beautiful" and they "are so comfortable" and it "really is lovely".

We're so glad to know that our guests are having an enjoyable week at the beach and that our condo makes it even more pleasant.
Jill and Allan Mize

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review