reviews for: listing #58949 - Mission Beach, California Townhome rental

Mission Beach Villas
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $180 - $270 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,895 /wk
    $3,750 - $7,560 /mth

sort by:

Lovely condo RIGHT NEXT to the beach!

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

Bill was super accommodating of me and my friends, we had a two night stay for a laid back girls weekend. Every phone call and email interaction was easy. The condo was exactly as described, with it being literally 30 steps to the gorgeous beach! Parking wasn't too hard to find, especially towards the evening, and while we could really only fit one small car in the VERY tight garage, it was still convenient to have that too.

There were so many amenities at the condo, from a pretty fully stocked kitchen (just need to bring your own food, and if you're a picky chef, your own knives and special cooking utensils) to a washer/dryer, new beautiful bathrooms (the master had dual shower heads), beach towels, bikes, beach chairs (bring your own beach umbrella), literally almost everything! There are several TVs throughout the house, a great BBQ and patio set on the balcony, and even lots of wine glasses for our mimosas! Like I said, they really thought of almost everything.

The futon was not terribly comfortable but luckily the couch as is was already super comfy so one of my friends just slept on that (as she snores loudly, haha) and the rest of us utilized the two beds in the downstairs bedrooms. SO COMFY! We were surprised how very comfortably we all slept! The street/beach noise was definitely loud at times, but not too bad considering how close the condo is to everything. And be sure to keep the doors closed, as there are a lot of flies in the area. Also, the door locks are a little tricky to navigate, but Bill so patiently walked me through it and we were fine after the first couple of tries!

Again, we had an excellent stay, all the girls were impressed and had a lovely time. I could have stayed at this condo for weeks. I'm even considering bringing my family back for a beach staycation sometime, even though we're from San Diego! Thanks again to BIll for a wonderful stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

ANOTHER AMAZING STAY!

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Yes, we stayed a second time this Summer and had ANOTHER amazing vacation. This time the boys took surf lessons through PB Surf Shop and ended up renting boards for the time we were there. So, besides riding skateboards, riding bikes, they got to surf! Weather was wonderful and looking forward to going again a couple of times next Summer...ALREADY BOOKED...ENOUGH SAID!!! :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

MOST AMAZING!

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

The best vacation ever!! Much better in person and the location is much more than amazing! The proximity to the beach (a house away) and not having the noise and people on the Boardwalk right in your face was nice. The little beach store (even met the owner, Bob) and bike/surfboard rental shop is literally across the street...way too convenient! Love the fact there is a garage for parking/storing bikes and beach chairs, private patio with BBQ with table and chairs for outdoor dining, upgraded amenities and cute beach décor! We brought our bikes and never moved our car...we ate and ate and never gained a pound due to the riding we did! We also have the property for another week in August and can't wait! Great family trip!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous! Amazing! Perfect!!!

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

This condo is absolutely FABULOUS!!I read the reviews before I booked this condo and they were so 'right on'.The condo was even more then words can really describe. You could throw a stone from the patio and hit the beach it is so close and the bay is less then a minute walk. I have stayed in an Ocean front condo in Mission Beach and actually liked this one soooo much more. You are close to the water but don't have people walking by and staring into your livingroom. The decor is extremely tasteful and warm. Every piece of furniture is very comfortable and so are both of the beds. No lumps or valleys in any of them! :)Everything was spotless!! The kitchen is incredibly well equipped. Bill has every gadget you may possibly ever need. There is not only a blender but a Magic Bullet as well!, plenty of glasses, mugs, plates, silverware so you don't need to run the dishwasher until it is actually full. The cookware and prep bowls etc are also plentiful as well as quality stuff. The large deck was great. There is a nice set of patio furniture out there in addition to some very comfortable chairs that were great for reading in and just relaxing. The grill is really nice as well. We called Bill when the propane was running low and he was going to bring over another tank right then and there. Bill and Glenna have made this into the best vacation condo my family and I have ever stayed in. My only hesitation in writing this completely honest review is that it will be booked up when I want to rent it again. HaHa. (Would love to keep it a secret). All I can say is that whoever rents this condo will be very,very happy they did. Thank you Bill and Glenna for an absolutely wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family vacation!

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

My family stayed at this condo in March and we had a five year old and a ten month old. The accomodations were top notch and had every possible amenity. Bill & his wife even specially brought out a box of toys, books, and coloring items for our five year old in addition to beach chairs and sand pails and shovels. The day we checked in BIll told us that the prior occupants reported that the TV (living room) wasn't working and he came over shortly after we arrived to check it out. Sure enough the TV was broken and he spent the majority of his Sunday buying another TV and installing it the very next day to ensure that we one for our stay (which came in very handy for evening relaxing). The condo is just steps to the beach which was sooo convenient with children and rush trips to the bathroom or for snacks :). There was some street noise (especially on garbage day) but that is to be expected for Mission Beach and didn't dampen our stay. The condo was incredibly comfortable and homey and my five year old asked if we could move in :). Another note: When we checked out our daughter's "nite nite bear" got mistakenly left behind and we did not realize it until we were hours away. Bill & Glenna went completely out their way and took several trips back to the condo to look for the bear and mailed him back to us the very next week. Bill was also texting me about the whereabouts of the bear while on a business trip - so thoughtful. Our daughter is ecstatic to have the bear back and we just found their kindness to be above and beyond! The condo was fantastic and the owners are very thoughtful ... I would highly recommend this unit and we will definitely stay again the next time we're in Mission Beach! Thank you, Bill & Glenna!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Sweet Home!

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

This had to be, by far one of the best vacations ever, mostly due to renting this condo. We had a family reunion and having the option to have guests gather at this beautiful condo made our visits so much more enjoyable than having gotten a hotel room.

Bill and his wife decorated beautifully, and the furnishings were exceptionally comfortable. I am the pickiest person on the planet and this was perfect! Not too beachy, not too old, not too stuffy, absolutely just right. We did not have to worry about extra blankets, pillows, baby bed, boogie boards, chairs, beach towels, bath or dish soap etc. They even went to the trouble of having a basket of amazing children's toys and books available for my visiting grandson and most were brand new!

The private balcony was very inviting with a nice table, chairs and extra seating. We grilled several times on the very new BBQ and felt very safe with the baby there as it was completely walled with a glass partition. (no railings to squeeze thru)

Thank you Bill for always taking my calls (and there were a few!) since I locked myself out :) It was amazing that you always answered the phone and you definitely prepared for people like myself and had extra keys handy!

I recommend this condo to all age groups, there was definitely something for everyone and I loved that the bedrooms were downstairs and separate from the living area. It gave me the opportunity to stay up late and read/visit etc and not wake anyone else. I was pleasantly surprised that the beach/sand was just a few steps away. Although it was Spring Break, we had zero issues w/rowdy folks as I think this seemed to be more of a family area and the pier was just far enough away to avoid ALL crowds!
There was definite noise from street traffic, but nothing that kept anyone from a good nites sleep.

The pictures do NOT do it justice inside or out, it is a MUST see for sure! Did I mention that even the dishes and mugs were cute? Thanks again to the Brewer's, the host's with the most!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

I have visited mission beach and stayed here too many times to count... And I have to say this condo was so perfect! The entire condo is very modern and the bathrooms were amazing! I am very picky when it comes to staying at places; but I felt right at home! It is a very comfortable condo and the beach theme throughtout the house is such a fun added touch. I couldn't get over how beautiful the entire condo was especially the kitchen. Pictures of this condo are great but don't do the condo the justice she deserves. My favorite part about the condo was the BBQ on the patio and the dual shower heads in the downstairs bathroom :). Bill was the easiest person to get a hold of and made booking the condo so easy. I cannot say enough about this place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent place

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

Very good experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

What a gem!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

My husband and I decided to take my mom to San Diego (she was visiting from out of state). We searched high and low for a condo rental that was affordable and in good condition. This condo rental was both! Plus, it was in the perfect location! It was only a 1 minute walk to the beach/boardwalk, 5 minutes to SeaWorld, and just under 15 minutes to Midway or Balboa.

The condo itself was definitely updated with a great vanity in the master bedroom! It had a great size kitchen that was stocked with all the pots, pans, silverware, cups, plates, etc that you would need. All we did was stock up on food! The rooms were so spacious and the bathrooms were clean and updated. I personally LOVED the master shower- it had dual shower heads!

The condo is within walking distance of many restaurants and even close enough to the Mission Bay park. Mission Blvd got a little noisy on the weekend, but the windows did a really good job of blocking out the sound.

We were all truly impressed with the unit and with Bill's professionalism and accessibility. He is honest and was very easy to work with and to contact.

We have already claimed this condo as "our place" and will definitely rebook when we visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

What a gem!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

My husband and I decided to take my mom to San Diego (she was visiting from out of state). We searched high and low for a condo rental that was affordable and in good condition. This condo rental was both! Plus, it was in the perfect location! It was only a 1 minute walk to the beach/boardwalk, 5 minutes to SeaWorld, and just under 15 minutes to Midway or Balboa.

The condo itself was definitely updated with a great vanity in the master bedroom! It had a great size kitchen that was stocked with all the pots, pans, silverware, cups, plates, etc that you would need. All we did was stock up on food! The rooms were so spacious and the bathrooms were clean and updated. I personally LOVED the master shower- it had dual shower heads!

The condo is within walking distance of many restaurants and even close enough to the Mission Bay park. Mission Blvd got a little noisy on the weekend, but the windows did a really good job of blocking out the sound.

We were all truly impressed with the unit and with Bill's professionalism and accessibility. He is honest and was very easy to work with and to contact.

We have already claimed this condo as "our place" and will definitely rebook when we visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

New Years Weekend in San Diego California

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Group: There were a total of 4 of us work colleagues and we decided on coming to sunny San Diego for our New Years long weekend holidays.

Location: We searched many condos in the Mission Beach and Pacific Beach area, and let me tell you I am extremely glad we booked with Bill because his location could not be anymore perfect! Right next to the beach, yet situated within a quiet neighboring community so it was truly the best of both worlds.

Also very important to mention: there is a convenient deli/convenience store literally across the street from Bills condo they carry everything you could possibly require there.

Service: Bill was nothing but professional throughout the entire booking process and was very accessible for any clarifications or notifications. He also provided us with a 24/7 emergency number in case we had any questions or concerns.

Unit: VERY well kept and well stocked with all of the essentials from kitchen cutlery to bathing towels. Loved the beach theme throughout the entire condo and sunny decorations. The patio was perfect for relaxing after dinner.

Overall: I highly recommend renting Bill's unit, it truly is a hidden gem and very reasonably priced for its value.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Stay

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

This was a great experience for our family of 4. We originally booked for 5 nights, but had the opportunity to stay for 6 and jumped on it! Bill was great to work with and was easy to get a hold of. The condo was in an excellent location close to the beach, yet far enough away to not be bothered by the loud noise of the boardwalk and ocean walkway. We are planning on returning next year. Very close to Sea World and other attractions for the family. Thanks again Bill, we enjoyed it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Two time winner

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

We have stayed at this townhouse two times and are contemplating when to go for the third time. The beach is very close and clean. You could not ask for better location to anything you want to do in San Diego. We usually drive downtown to the Gaslamp District to Petco and see a Padres game. It's only 10-15 minutes away. Also, the condo it is not on the main boardwalk where all the loud acitvites are going on. It's one street back and quiet at night. The place has everything except the food in the fridge. I'm a little picky when I travel and stay places. This is top of the line great. Highly recommended. Just don't rent it when I want it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Christmas Holiday 2010

Review submitted: January 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

Our family of 4 had a perfect time. Santa came for a visit and even the tooth fairy for our youngest.
The unit had everything you could need while away from home. We had WiFi access to check our emails, a blender for our margaritas and lots of space to spread out when we all needed our own space. The boys played their Wii on the downstairs bedroom TV, while my husband watched football in the master and I enjoyed some HGTV on a night or 2. We walked down to the rollercoaster park. We played football on the beach with our boys. All of this footsteps from the unit.
The unit really offers anything you could want when traveling to a fun city. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay if you want to be right in the mix of it all on Mission Beach. There are also resturants and bars you can walk to if you like. The owners really have the unit stocked with kitchen essentials.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mission Beach

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2010

We went to San Diego to see our son graduate from Marine boot camp. This seemed like a better option then a hotel room. I could not be more happy with that decision. The only time I needed my rental car was for the graduation and the zoo. This is truly a walk/bike everywhere location. One building from the boardwalk/beach. Just a very short walk down the boardwalk to several restaurants.
We had such a great time I'm considering a return visit in a month or two as my son now heads back next week for MOS training.
Thx again Bill

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review