reviews for: listing #58951 - Kailua, Hawaii House rental

Comfortable Kailua Home
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Coconut grove Kailua
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $275 /nt
    $1,575 - $1,925 /wk
    $5,100 - $5,500 /mth

sort by:

Stacy R.

Review submitted: June 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 2, 2014

We were very happy with choosing this house as our vacation rental. We have two older teenagers and we were close enough to the beach that they could walk there at their leisure. Boogie boarding at Kailua beach was a must each evening. This is not a super fancy place but is a comfortable house, in a quiet neiborhood. The outdoor shower, grill, hot tub, deck and beach toys were all so handy for us to use. When you open up the windows and sliding doors, that wonderful breeze cools the house down quickly. We never had to use the air conditioners at all. Derrik the caretaker was great and took the time to give us hiking ideas. We loved Kailua and getting away from the crowds. It was everything that I was hoping for. Thanks so much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Owners response: Aloha Stacy,
Thank you for taking such great care of our home.
Derek also really enjoyed meeting your family and plans to start offering surfing lessons.
Hopefully you can come back one day and he can teach the teens to surf.
We hope to see you again one day.
Much Mahalo's!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Travelers from Alaska - Very Happy with Kailua VRBO!

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 26, 2014

We just returned from a ten (10) day stay at this VRBO in Kailua. We found all of the information and pictures listed in the VRBO description to be accurate. The Owner did a great job with all of the details and arrangements since this was our first experience with a VRBO. Everything was clean and in good working order when we arrived. Our favorite things about this VRBO were the large deck in the back and the open design between the kitchen, dining room and living room. I would definitely recommend this property to my friends and relatives. The caretaker of the property is a wonderful young man who attends a local college and is the son of the Owner. We enjoyed the short walk to the beach and the excellent restaurants such as The Grove, Buzz's, Morning Brew, Assaggio, and the Baci Bistro in Kailua. The neighborhood was very quiet and everyone we met were friendly and welcoming. After visiting Honolulu, Wikiki Beach, Polynesian Cultural Center, and Pearl Harbor, it was always good to come back to our "Kailua Home". Many thanks to the Owner! We hope to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Aloha guests,
It was wonderful having you. Thank you for taking such great care of the house.
Please come stay with us again.
Mahalo,
Lisa & Brett Fillmore

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A lovely stay in Kailua

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 9, 2014

This home is exactly as advertised. Clean, modest and a great value. I travelled with family and it was perfect as a comfortable home base to explore the island. Kailua beach is incredible. Miles of soft white sand - in and out of the water. No strong currents while we were there and it is just a lazy 15 minute walk from this home through a residential neighbourhood. The beach is perfect for family of all ages - even in the rainy season. Kailua town is a 20 minute walk away and offers anything your heart desires in a safe, friendly and casual atmosphere. The owner's son, Derek, lives in the cottage in the back yard and was quiet, polite and very helpful when approached. I would easily refer anyone to this home looking for a reasonable, comfortable and laid back launching point for enjoying the island - or even just a beach vacation.
Kailua is not a big late night town and neither was the neighbourhood while we were there (two weeks including a long weekend), so if you're looking for a rowdy party stick to Waikiki. If you're looking for safe, quiet island fun, you're in for a wonderful treat!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha!
We are so happy you had a wonderful stay and really hope you come back and choose our property again. All returning guests get 10% discount. Thank you for the lovely words. Derek is very happy he could be of assistance.
Mahalo,
Lisa & Brett Fillmore

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls trip

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

4 of my girlfriends and I decided to take a mini vacation but we didn't want to stay in the tourist areas so we found this cottage which we really loved! The cottage was very cozy and felt like home. We booked this place because it was near kailua and lanikai beach. Lisa, the owner, was very sweet and helpful and responded very quickly when i emailed her with a question.

Pros: Everything about this cottage that was written in the details was pretty on point so when i got there it was what I expected, Lots of sleeping area, provides beach amenities in the backyard that you can bring to the beach, neighborhood is quiet, house is minutes from a lot of good food spots.

cons: 3 bedrooms and only 1 bathroom (which doesn't have AC; AC is not central air), AC unit in the kitchen/living room is weak, no light on the front porch so it was hard for us to unlock the door at night, washer and dryer was not working well so we ended up hanging our towels up and air drying them (I told Lisa about it and she had someone come to fix it)

I would definitely stay here again if it is available upon my next visit! Thanks lisa for accommodating us!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

Thank you Lisa, we enjoyed staying at your house. Close to one of the most beautiful beaches. Lots of beach equipment , great place to stay with family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Adorable home away from home!

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

My family and I absolutely loved this house. It was very comfortable for my two daughters, husband, and mother-in-law. Everything you need is right there...We all felt way too comfortable here and miss the island and this house. The pictures and description are accurate and the property is nice and clean. I loved driving up and seeing all the beautiful plant life in the yard. The red flowers are absolutely gorgeous. We loved grilling in the back yard, hanging out on the deck, and relaxing in the jacuzzi. Everything is close by...and we loved the fact that the beach was just a short walk from the house. We had a blast and we would definitly rent this house again. Thank you Lisa.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great home

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

This house was great for us and our family! It was clean and comfortable. There were toys for our grand kids to play with, and lots of beach toys as well as a kayak, surf boards and a red wagon to pull to the beach! A second bath would have been nice, but we managed with just one.

The beach closes to the house is an awesome beach for young children.

We would happily rent this home again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Location

Review submitted: April 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

This property is fairly close to Kailua beach, but not easily walkable and there aren't very many sidewalks - so not a great idea to walk there with young kids. The house is equipped with many amenities, as detailed in the property listing. However, the photos aren't exactly current - it's a comfortable rental but those pictures must have been taken when first furnished and the BBQ is in need of some serious parts replacement or to be replaced altogether. We didn't use the hot tub, but it was certainly a nice option to have. The owner's son lives in a little cottage right in the backyard, fenced in, but that still impacts on the feeling of privacy...

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Aloha Mark, thank you for staying with us. I will address replacing the BBQ right away. It is only 10 months old but in Hawaii everything metal looks much older. I did replace the couch with a sofa bed because people kept requesting one and I replaced the tv with a flat screen tv. The living room has been recently painted with a new color. I just uploaded all the new photos showing the new furniture the new paint in and out. Everything else in the house is the same except for the wicker chair that had to be replaced with the papasan. Kailua is still considered country and we like it without all the concrete sidewalks of Waikiki. I provided a red wagon with little seats to walk the little ones down to the beach. Many people think a 12 min walk to the beach is short some think it's long. It really depends on if you like to walk places. I have walked it in under 10 minutes.
In regards to there being a caretaker on the property, The state is passing new legislation requiring an owner or caretaker to be on the property for vacation rentals. It was not my choice. It is stated on the website so as not to surprise anyone. The caretaker is my son and stays at our home most of the time, but fulfills the requirement by using the studio once in awhile. We put up a solid fence and plenty of plants to make it as private as is a next door neighbor as the houses are not connected. It is much safer having a caretaker also. Vacation rentals can become targets by vagrants if they are empty every so often from an opening in the bookings. I hope you enjoyed your stay in Hawaii.
Mahalo

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Nice vacation home in Kailua

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

My family and I recently enjoyed five nights in this property and had a good time. The home was well furnished with full kitchen, wi-fi, etc. The biggest strength is the 10 minute walk to an excellent beach. The neighborhood is also very quiet, a major plus for sleeping. There were six of us, so one bathroom was a limitation, but still workable. All in all, a good experience, and one I would recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha John,
I'm so happy you had a great vacation.
I am planning on adding another bathroom in the future.
Thank you for choosing our home and we hope you come back
in the future.
Mahalo,
Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great time, nice home

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

This house worked well for our family. There were 7 of us, two were kids. The house was clean & comfortable. Would have been ice to have a second bathroom, but we made it work. The walk to the beach was longer than we though it was. Ok for the adults, but a little far for the little kids. Had canoes, life vests, snorkel gear and sand toys. Really enjoyed our time there! The beach is a great beach for the kids!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Aloha Janet,
Thank you so much for choosing our property.
We hope you visit us again in the future.
Mahalo,
Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location, perfect for a getaway!

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

My husband and a few of our friends recently stayed for a 6 day getaway... we had a wonderful time. The house located in beautiful Kailua, just a short walk from the beach and grocery stores. The hot tub came in handy after a long day of sightseeing around the island and the kitchen was spacious and perfect for making breakfast before heading out! We would definitely stay at this house again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

This place is a great place to stay with a family. Has plenty of room and is near the beach. Very clean and Lisa is very easy to deal with. I highly recommend this place to anyone. Sleeps many people! Enjoy!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Kaylin--we appreciate your feedback. We agree the house is ideal for mid-sized groups of 4-8 people, with a great room and plenty of backyard lanai area for enjoying the Hawaii sky. Please let us know if we can help you with future travel plans, and we'll take 5% off the nightly rate if you choose to stay with us again in 2013. Aloha, Lisa.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house in great location.

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

Description of property was accurate as were the photos.
We found the house clean and it has lots of amenities including beach towels and mats and chairs.
We were a group of 7 and the house met our needs very well. The kitchen allowed us to cook meals and eat in the dining room.
It was nice to have the space of a house and deck and yard.
A nice walk to Kailua beach which is a great beach.
The town of Kailua has some nice restaurants and a great grocery store. Convenient location for accessing all of Oahu.

Owner was helpful in booking house and arranging access.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Heather, thank you for providing us with your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed Kailua and our house. Please let us know if we can help you stay here again, and I'll be glad to offer you 5% of the nightly rate. Mahalo, Lisa.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay, especially if you have children. It was clean and just the right size. I stayed there with my husband, my two year-old daughter, my sister, her husband and their two daughters (3 and 6 years old). Having a back yard was so nice for the kids. There is a deck and plenty of room to hang out. The neighbors are very close but I personally liked being amongst the locals. It is two blocks to a beautiful beach (Kailua Beach). If you have little ones I recommend using the little red wagon at the house to pull them there. We really liked the house and Kailua. There are several great places to eat and it is a short drive to Lanikai Beach (rated one of the 10 best beaches in the world). It is also a quick drive to the Sea Life Park where there is a great luau (Chief's Luau) and only about a half an hour drive to Waikiki/Honolulu. Waikiki is is a great place if you are single and out to party but if you have a family I would recommend Kailua and this house. The only complaint I have is that the hot tub doesn't get very hot. Other than that everything was great!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great rental house close to beach

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We stayed for a week, and our kids loved having a house instead of a hotel - we could walk to the beach and go snorkeling, boogey boarding, or kayaking (with the kayaks on the rental property). It was nice being able to BBQ and enjoy eating dinner together outside on the deck. My kids also liked the hot-tub, and just being able to spread out and have a little more room. Last time we stayed at a hotel in Ko-Olina, which was very nice, but we found Kailua to be very friendly and hospitable, and sure enjoyed the east side of the island, proximity to SeaLife Park, Diamond Head, etc. The outdoor shower was nice to wash off the sand from the beach before going in the house, too, although the hose has a leak. The rental also had several boogey boards, which we used, and was a great perk.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Nice Accomodations!

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

Property was exactly as described.Lots of room for the 5 adults in our group. Located in a quiet area.Owner was very helpful...easy to contact, good directions to the property from the airport, quick to respond to and resolve some minor issues..her efforts were much appreciated!

A clean and comfortable house that was nice to come home to at the end of some long days. Would stay there again, should the opportunity arise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Dream vacation made great

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: December 10, 2009

My family came out for a vacation of a lifetime from California and Florida and the house made it a great place to stay. The house was exactly as listed. We needed some extra pillows but we picked some up and donated them to the cause. The house was just fun and great to return home to after all ten days of adventure every day. Thank you so much for the ease and fun.

Lisa gave such thorough instructions that it was so easy to get to the house and into after a long trip. Being so close to the beautiful Kailua Beach was great and made for some great pics. My 7 year old niece and 2 year old nephew loved the ability to play in the yard. The studio was great too for my brother and his wife.

Overall, just loved the place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha, I'm so happy your family enjoyed themselves and the kids had a safe place to ply.
Please come visit again.
Lisa

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Lovely House

Review submitted: February 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 6, 2009

Thank you so much for the use of your lovely home. It was perfect. We loved the deck and BBQ area. The house was very clean and quiet. It was very nice having A/C in all the rooms. My parents really loved having the private studio to themselves. We cant wait to visit again.
Debbie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha, I'm glad your family had a great time and were happy with the rental. Please come stay again.
Mahalo, Lisa

Helpful votes: 19 / 20

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review