reviews for: listing #58982 - Highlands, North Carolina House rental

Whiteside Cabin - 4 Private Acres - Majestic Views
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Cowee Ridge
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $350 /nt
    $1,250 - $2,195 /wk
    $3,500 - $7,750 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Girls Getaway in Winter

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

For the past two years, my two friends and I have ditched the husbands and gone to Whiteside Cabin for three days of girl quality time. Whiteside Cabin gives us our own separate floor for privacy. (It would be an ideal cabin if you have three couples wanting their own space.) The cabin is beautifully appointed: a kitchen is filled with every conceivable tool and appliance; the bedrooms and bathrooms are furnished with high quality linens; and the living spaces (indoor and outdoor) are spacious comfortable rooms that make it hard to leave the cabin. If you rent Whiteside, you will be glad you did.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic Rental

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

This home/cabin was even better than we anticipated. It was perfect for our family of 5 adults and our 9 mo old grandson. We loved being there in the winter and look forward to using this home again in other seasons. So nice to stay in such a clean, well-cared for home. What a wonderful experience!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our Favorite Rental in Highlands

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

Good Morning Tom,
Hope you had a very blessed and happy Thanksgiving! Our family certainly did at your beautiful home in the Highlands!! We can't say enough about the comfort and warm surroundings of every room. You have really thought of everything! Our grandchildren (and adults, too) didn't want to leave:) This was our 5th Thanksgiving in a row to be in Highlands. We all agreed it was our favorite house!!! Also, the hot tub, outdoor decks, fabulous mountain views, clean and fully equipped bathrooms, thick plush towels, dream kitchen and exceptional kindness of the owner... rivals a five star hotel!!!
Thank you for your gracious hospitality!
Again, thank you so much,
Sandy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Location, Great Views

Review submitted: November 2, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2013

Our family had a super trip again this year at the Whiteside cabin. We appreciated the obvious things like the view and the location between Cashiers and Highlands, but we also liked the tech stuff: like the wireless internet and the DVR/Blu-ray. We hiked at the Whiteside National Park (which is 5 minutes from the cabin) and we spent more time in Cashiers that we thought we would. There is so much to do there. My favorite were the dahlia gardens and lakes at High Hampton Inn in Cashiers. We've been to Highlands many times, so it was great to explore other parts of the area. We also went over to Sapphire to try Canyon Kitchen. (It was awesome, but SO expensive!) Plus we rented a pontoon boat at Lake Glenville. My wife liked all the shops in Cashiers. We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Incredible Home & Views

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

Tom,

We wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed the cabin -- it exceeded our expectations. We have rented homes on VRBO before and, unfortunately, not all the homes look as good as the pictures. Your pictures and description of the home was right-on. What a treat to wake up and see the sun highlighting Whiteside Mountain!!

We thoroughly enjoyed cocktails on the deck with the cool breezes before grilling dinner. We hiked, shopped, saw waterfalls and dined...but the hottub was the best!! During our stay, the service technician arrived for his weekly cleaning of the hottub (just as you said).

It could not have been a more perfect week. We will definitely stay with you again and have already recommended your beautiful home to other friends.

Thanks, Lue & Company

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Another Great Trip To Whiteside Cabin

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

Good Morning Tom,

We had a great visit this week at Whiteside cabin with snow, cold and warm sunny days.

Paul picked up a pallet of fire wood from the landscaping business and left approximately 1/3 on the front porch. The fireplace was so enjoyable in the cold weather brought about by Sandy.

FYI--The cable service became very fuzzy throughout the house and stopped working in the downstairs bedroom so we called the cable company. What great service!
The service man arrived within an hour. He assessed all of the TVs, replaced the cable in the downstairs BR from the TV to the wall with a 'commercial' cable and reprogrammed the TV's to add the newly available high def channels.
He also provided updated TV station cards for all of the rooms with TVs.

You may be aware but thought I would let you know, if not, that the master BR shower has a steady leak from the shower head and is likely increasing the water usage.

I hope you are doing well. We're headed back to AL!
Thanks Again!
Glenda and Paul

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Views - Great Cabin

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

Thanks so much for letting us use this cabin! It was perfect from the moment we got there. The floor plan was awesome. With three levels, we were able to put the kids downstairs - let them enjoy the TV and games down there - while we visited upstairs and enjoyed the view with a glass of wine. They also had a TIVO, a first for a rental. The house was so private and quiet. I could watch that view change all day. And we loved the hot tub. It was sparkling clean... we were in it every day. Finally, we loved the location. We had never been to Cashiers and this cabin was just 10 minutes from there... and also 10 minutes to Highlands. Everything was perfect. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Highlands is Heaven

Review submitted: December 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

I really wanted my family to have a Fall holiday and we hit the jackpot on this trip. The kids loved Highlands and we also discovered Cashiers on this trip too. The hot tub at the cabin made their trip, plus the cabin had everything... fresh towels and bedding, new or newer furnishings, and the kitchen was well stocked! The fact that the master was on the main and there were 2 other levels was great for privacy and the big den downstairs was ideal for the kids while my husband I were on the deck enjoying the view with a much needed glass of wine! Great home. The pictures don't do it justice. Highlands is Heaven.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Location

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

Hi Tom, the house worked out just perfectly for our stay and the event for my sister. We are on our way to the airport now. Thank you so much for making your home available to us. The keys are back in the lockbox and the house is locked but it just occurred to me that I did not set the alarm. Happy holidays to you both. Will let you know if we're able to get back to Highlands in the spring! One more thing......left several wedges of red velvet cake from my son's birthday in your freezer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Return to Whiteside Cabin - Another Great Vacation

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

This was our second stay at Whiteside Cabin, and again, we were not disappointed. Our adult children joined us and the "cabin" provided most everything we needed to have a fabulous time (we had to bring our own wine and groceries!). Everyone had their own bedroom & bath and there was plenty of room to spread out, as well as opportunities for quiet time when desired. The October scenery was spectacular and we were even treated to a pre-Halloween light dusting of snow! Time to start planning for next year...
The listing's photos and the owner's website are very descriptive of this property and its amenities. Highly recommended if you are looking for peace and quiet in a location that is convenient to both Highlands and Cashiers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Trip

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2011

We had a wonderful time in Highlands. Thanks not only for renting us your wonderful place, but also all the good advice on restaurants, shops and hikes. We hiked the Whiteside trail a couple of times and went to Dry falls, Rainbow Falls and Glen Falls. We hope to return!

Elizabeth Gratzek

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Nice Cabin - Great Location

Review submitted: December 15, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

Tom,

Sorry for the delayed e-mail, but I wanted to know that we had a great visit to your cabin. It met all of our expectations and we loved the location, decor and amenities.

Thanks again.

Best,

Jeff

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Comfortable and great views!

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

Tom,
Just wanted to let you know that we had a wonderful stay at your Whiteside cabin. Very comfortable and a great location. Hiked the Whiteside Mountain trail, had dinner at Cyprus, checked out the shops in Highlands, saw all the waterfalls on the road towards Franklin and just hung out at your "cabin", enjoying the view and the hot tub. We had a wonderful stay, and we will recommend your place to others and will consider renting it again if we ever decide to visit the area in the future.
Rob

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Love the Whiteside location

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 19, 2010

We just eturned from this gorgeous mountain home yesterday-- I feel so fortunate that we reserved it!
We loved every bit- from the furnishings, rugs, pictures, back porch view, grill and jacuzzi! We did alot of hiking - Whiteside mountain hike was one of the best secrets! We are only sorry we came by ourselves and didn't share it with any of our adult children. We will defintiley try to plan a week or two again next year!!
Congratualtions on having such a great home to share!
Marillee G.
Jacksonville, FL

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Private and beautiful - well appointed, comfortable, clean

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

I cannot say enough good things about this property. The owners are excellent to work with and the house is equipped with everything you could possibly need. The location is very convenient to both Cashiers and Highlands, and all of the activities/sights they offer. And, if you are looking for peace and quiet, this is the place. It is located on a private, access-controlled road; we saw maybe 2 cars per day while we were there. At night, you have only the sounds from Mother Nature to keep you company.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable. The view from the back deck is lovely and the night sky is spectacular on a clear night. The screened porch has comfortable seating as well as a dining area with seating for 4.
We had such a good time here, we are already planning our next trip, Whiteside Cabin will definitely be at the top of our list when we look for accommodations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Thank You So Much

Review submitted: July 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

We've stayed at Whiteside cabin twice now. Really, for the money, I don't see how it could get any better. It's so nicely furnished, up to date and everything was perfect! We really wanted a hot tub and while we were there, they hot tub ppl came to clean it. That was reassuring. They said they come every Wednesday and showed us the actual sign in and maint. log they keep by the tub. We had a bad experience before with a hot tub so this was important to us. My husband loved the new grill on the back deck...and the VIEW was just inspiring. It was so nice to get up every morning and have that view. THAT is what you want in a mountain cabin. Plus, the location was great. We spent lots of time in Highlands, but drove down to Cashiers several times too. One other benefit was the floor plan. The downstairs is just huge, a great place for the kids, (or grandkids in our case:). Big play area, TV and a bedroom and bath down there for them. We would return anytime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great mountain getaway

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

My friends and I rented Whiteside cabin for a three-day girls' weekend in April 2010. It was everything we hoped it would be from the pictures we saw online. The cabin is beautifully and comfortably furnished, and everything was in working order. The location was ideal, as it is close to Highlands as well as hiking and waterfall trails. After a day of hiking, soaking in the hot tub with the mountain view was heavenly! My only negative is that I would not rent this house if traveling with very young children. One of the three bathrooms has a tub, but the tub is so deep that it would be very difficult to bathe a young child in it. If your children are old enough to bathe themselves or take showers this is not an issue.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for that nice review. Yes, the tub is a very deep soaking tub. Thanks for staying with us! Tom

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review