reviews for: listing #5901 - Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Condo rental

*AUG Special* $249/nt.* BEACHFRONT.-3 Bdrm./pool/view
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Luna Encantada
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $700 /nt
    $1,400 - $5,000 /wk

sort by:

AWESOME BEACHFRONT VILLA A-2!!! - CENTER OF TOWN!

Review submitted: August 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this fabulous beachfront condo for a week this summer. It was obvious that there were several recent upgrades to this unit, with a total replacement of the 3 zone central air conditioner, and a new stainless steel stove and dishwasher. We were very pleased at this fact because we had read several reviews about unreliable air conditioners at Luna. During our stay we were exceptionally cared for by Edith, the onsite guest-service manager who was able to answer any questions about the complex and local area. The condo is poolside with breathtaking views over the infinity pool and Caribbean. We loved sitting out in the morning with coffee on the shaded balcony and later in the day it was sunny. It was great to work with Richard, the owner/manager and he was able to answer our many questions. He also guided us into some fantastic day trips to the many theme parks and Mayan ruins. I would definitely return to this condo and there is no doubt that this is a fabulous location of the beach, within the center-of-town!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A bit disappointing this time

Review submitted: May 25, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2014

Luna Encantada is in a beautiful location in Playa del Carmen. The condo was quiet at night but within a stones throw of 5 th avenue. This was our 2nd stay in A2 and we were somewhat disappointed. On entering the condo we were hit with a very strong smell of mildew. This tended to lessen with the AC on but never really got to the point that we did not notice it. 2 out of the 6 kitchen stove nobs are broken and do not actually turn off the gas which we found to be unsafe. We in fact had left the oven gas on inadvertently all night, thinking it was off. The dishwasher is rough. The bottom rack does not slide and the top rack does not seam to clean the dishes as they continually came out covered in sediment despite the fact that we rinsed the dishes well prior to washing. The furniture and the art work were very nice and comfortable although the throw cushions probably need a wash or replacement as some of them had a fairly strong odour. All in all, we had a very nice vacation in Playa del Carmen but would have difficulty recommending A2 as there are others in the complex that do not have these issues.

Owners response: This is the first "disappointing" review in 7 years of rental history. The musty odor occuried because of a water leak in the planter box from the condo above. All the condos in the 24 unit building have had problems with cracked and broken range/oven controlknobs. The management team has spent many hours trying unsuccessfully to locate and replace the knobs. They simply are not available in Mexico. I have notified the management team to replace the range/oven and the dishwasher as soon as possible. We change out the sofa and chair throw cushions every six month, however some renters are hard on these little comfort items. Many of the owners have simply removed them completely so they are not even an issue. Remember how everyone use to complain about airline food? Nothing to complain about now, since meals have been removed!
Finally...some people are hard to please! "All in all" as the renters state they had a very nice vacation!! Their three major issues have been corrected and I hope they will give my condo a second chance. PLEASE TAKE THE TIME TO READ THE 23 FIVE STAR REVIEWS! A 23 TO 1 RATING IS NOT SO BAD

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous vacation!

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 23, 2014

Our family just returned from a great week in Playa! This condo is wonderful, well equipped, excellent location and very comfortable. The beach is right there, as well as being an easy walk to dinner, shopping, just anything you would want. The owner made everything very simple, was helpful and very easy to complete the details. The on site staff is great, if you need anything, they are there to help. If we return to to Playa, I would not hesitate to rent this condo again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect retreat in Playa! This condo has it all!

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We had the most fabulous visit to Playa! The best decision was to stay at Richard's property, for so many reasons! The condo itself was amazing...beautifully furnished and maintained, spacious and a view to the welcoming pool and beach. We sat out on the balcony, ventured to the private beach w/ an attendant to help if needed, and steps away from 5th Avenue where we discovered some of the best restaurants! It was a haven for us...so private and not at all like the huge hotels and resorts that were overwhelming. We walked everywhere, even the bus from the airport let us out a few blocks from the condo.

The kitchen was great, fully equipped, so we could prepare a few meals no problem. The cleaning staff was such a treat...discreet and thorough and LOTS of towels after the beach and pool. Free wifi and phone calls made it nice that I could check on my business back home AND receive call if needed.

We felt very safe and treated like VIPS...the front gate was always locked and manned, and the staff was so friendly and helpful. Next door is the Fusion Cafe with amazing breakfasts and snacks..so convenient. Richard was so helpful in suggesting day trips and fun ideas. Our only complaint is that we couldn't forget our jobs and responsibilities and stay longer!!!

I am already saving for my next vacation to Playa, and I will most definitely stay in this absolutely stunning condo..truly a perfect place! Thank you for a week in paradise and a rejuvenation to my body, mind and spirit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Serenity,Class,Location!!!

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the condo in Luna Encantada. We have stayed in many condos in playa and it doesn't get any better than this! The location the pool and the condo are superb. The owner Richard was so easy and so nice to work with. I recommend this to any and everyone for a safe beautiful classy place to stay in Playa!
Gracias and enjoy
Shane

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mexicano Cielo - Mexican Heaven

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

Welcome to my Mexican Heaven. From the decision to rent a condo instead of going to an all-inclusive resort Richard has been incredible. The description of the condo was spot on, the directions perfect, the photos do not Luna Encantada justice - it is more beautiful. The condo was well maintained & clean w/housekeeping every other day (don't forget to tip). The beach is kept in order by Adin, Luna Endatada secret weapon. Adin will attend to your every need & his wife, Monica gives a fantastic massage (my husband had two). Richard gives you restaurant & activity recommendations. Our favorite restaurant is Fusion located next door - great food. Please check our all the other condos on other websites - Richard offers the best deal. We are already planning next year and hope to stay longer than just a week.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: WOW....please tell your family and friendsw about the "oasis" feel of Luna Encantada!!! Warmest regards Richard Felser...vacation specialist

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

CLEAN PROFESSIONAL RUN PROPERTY

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION...THIS IS A VERY PROFESSIONAL RUN PROPERTY MANAGEMENT.
MAKING PLANS FOR NEAR FUTURE...EVERYTHING IS SO CLOSE, INCLUDING WALMART AND MEGA SUPERMARKET...THIS PLACE IS AWSOME...WE VIRTUALLY HAVE ZERO COMPLAINTS.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Outstanding Condo!!!! Wow!!!!!

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

You have an outstanding Condo! I have been going to Playa del Carmen for almost 25 years, but I have always stayed at a hotel (mostly all-inclusives like Riu Palace or the Royal), so I almost consider myself a transient resident. This was the first time staying in a condo and I certainly prefer that to the hotels. Obviously, the location of Luna Encantada is unmatched by any other condo available. Fusion was a great night spot and right next door. We cared for your condo like it was ours and really enjoyed just sitting on the belcony and enjoying evening cocktails with the sound of the waves hitting the shore. It seems like you could solve most of the worlds problems from that belcony :-)

My favorate activity was drinking Habana Club 7 year old Rum from Cuba. It is the best and can't be purchased in the States.

Thank you very much for your generosity, communication and professionalism. We will certainly recommend your condo to others and I will check back with you when returning with my family.

Owners response: THANK YOU...for the glowing review of our beachfront condo! We feel that our condo complex (Luna Encantada)is the best on the beach due to our incredible center of town location. Our condos are large and all overlook the heated infinity pool and Carribbean toward Cozumel.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location, Beautiful Condo, Very Comfortable!

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2011

My family and I just got back from a wonderful trip to Playa. This condo at Luna Encantada is absolutely wonderful. Beach front, ocean views, very clean and comfortable. We've stayed at other condos in the building but like this one the best, because of the patio furniture and the ability to enjoy the morning shade while drinking coffee (the condos that face directly east have too much sun exposure in the early morning to enjoy patio sitting). There are 3 bedrooms and it would be perfect for two-three couples. You can hear the waves from the ocean from the master bedroom. Luna is right next to Fusion (they even wait on you at the beach) great mango margs, hummus, guac and pico di gallo. The condo is perfectly located a block off of 5th avenue and very close to great restaurants and bars. I'd recommend to anyone!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AWESOME VIEWS AND GREAT BEACHFRONT LOCATION-CENTER OF TOWN

Review submitted: December 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

Staying at this condo was a delight for my family. It is so beautifully decorated and supremely comfortable with all the amenities that one could wish for, even 24 hour security. The infinity pool is gorgeous and looks right out to the Caribbean. The location of the condo has to be the best in Playa. It is a short stroll to 5th avenue and the night life yet is not at all noisy. The ferry to Cozumel is a five minute walk away and Parasailing is available just down the beach. We really enjoyed the Fusion beach restaurant located right next door. The meals were delicious and the evening entertainment very enjoyable! When we return to Playa del Carmen we will most certainly contact Richard to rebook this unit. Not only was it top of the line but Richard made the booking process so easy. I hightly recommend A2 at Luna Encantada!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BEST of the BEST!! ....A2 at LUNA ENCANTADA

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

Staying at this condo was a delight for my family. It is so beautifully decorated and supremely comfortable with all the amenities that one could wish for, even 24 hour security. The infinity pool is gorgeous and looks right out to the Caribbean. The location of the condo has to be the best in Playa. It is a short stroll to 5th avenue and the night life yet is not at all noisy. The ferry to Cozumel is a five minute walk away and Parasailing is available just down the beach. We really enjoyed the Fusion beach restaurant located right next door. The meals were delicious and the evening entertainment very enjoyable! When we return to Playa del Carmen we will most certainly contact Richard to rebook this unit. Not only was it top of the line but Richard made the booking process so easy. I hightly recommend A2 at Luna Encantada!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: THANK YOU...for the glowing review of our beachfront condo! We feel that our condo complex (Luna Encantada)is the best on the beach due to our incredible center of town location. Our condos are large and all overlook the heated infinity pool and Carribbean toward Cozumel.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

FAB-ULOUS location with beautiful views A-2

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

My family and I stayed at Luna encantada unit A-2 for a week over the New Year holiday. The view out the balcony over the (heated) infinity pool and Caribbean toward Cozumel was incredible! The lavish furnishing, fixtures, and art work in the condo were of top quality. The owners recently installed hurricane window/doors throughout, which completely cutout any outside noise. This allowed us to enjoy the bustling atmosphere outside and then retreat to our luxurious condo to relax and get a peaceful nights sleep. The condo and property were very clean and in order.

It was a pleasure working with Richard the owner and I would highly recommend this condo and will come back soon. In closing I think the biggest feature of the place is the closeness to 5th Ave. (half a block) and the small intimate size of the comples (24 units).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great review for a favulous condo..Regards Richard

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Luxury in Mexico

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: February 13, 2009

Hi - we stayed at Richard's property in February, 2009 and could not have been happier. The condo is in the most perfect location in Playa, right on the beach and a few blocks from a Walmart with a grocery store. We were exceptionally comfortable and well cared for! Richard's recommendations for the van pick-up in Cancun as well as the day tour of the area (including lunch and the local sites in Tulum and Cenote snorkeling) were fantastic. I hope we can stay again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: June 20, 2009   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

Location...Location....Great Condo!!! Doesn't get any
better than this in Playa del Carmen!! Richard it was a
pleasure to work with you!! We had a blast! Thank
you and hope we can come back soon! :) Pati B.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 26, 2009   Date of arrival: January 26, 2009

What a wonderful unit, nicely furnished and very comfortable. A corner unit with afternoon sun, open ocean view. Very functional for our family of 5, plenty of space, perfect access to 5th Avenue. Active, fun bar/restaurant next door (Fusion) with good reggae--from this unit, no loud noises heard. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 23, 2008   Date of arrival: September 23, 2008

The condo is a dream! We had the most wonderful time. We spent Christmas 07 at Luna Encantada, it was PERFECT!'
The place is gorgeous, the people that work there are very very friendly, location was more than perfect. Oceanfront, plus main street (fifth avenue) steps away from the condo.
The best place to have a family vacation!
We can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Condo, Great Location

Review submitted: September 23, 2008   Date of arrival: December 22, 2007

We stayed her for Christmas 08. Great condo and absolutely fantastic location. We viewed several other condos while on this trip and this condo is by for located in one of the best areas in Playa. You have the beach on one side of the condo and 5th avenue on the other side of the condo. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Playa. Scuba diving is also located near the condo and they will pick you up in the boat right in front of the condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for the glowing review! Our 3 bedroom, beachfront condo overlooks the infinity pool and Caribbean and is only half block from the famous 5th Ave. It is a very private, gated complex close to everything. The premium maid and guest service allow the vacationer to totally relax and enjoy this Mexican coastal town. Luna Encantada is 3 blocks North of the Cozumel ferry in the center of town. You can be picked up right in front of the condo for fabulous scuba diving and fishing in the Caribbean. Regards Richard Felser..owner/internet manager

Helpful votes: 28 / 29

 

Review submitted: January 6, 2007   Date of arrival: January 6, 2007

SPECTACULAR!! We stayed there for 7 days over
Christmas and didn't want to come back. Right on
the beach, stunning view of Cozumel and infinity
pool. Aircon and very stylish furniture and
Indonesian decor. Perfect for couples, famlies or
just friends. No better location. Half a block from
5th Ave.with cafes, shops and restaurants to dream
of. Not as commercial as Cancun and still gives you
the Mexican feeling. Central to Xcaret and easy
access to the Mayan Jungle. We liked it so much we
are looking at returning this summer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 27, 2006   Date of arrival: December 27, 2006

The week over Thanksgiving was perfect. Condo was awesome, daily maid service, walk to bars , food,walmart,taxi's all close. Chicago's is a must for the finest food in playa. Richard really has a great system to make it easy to enjoy his great beachfront home! We left the patio open to hear the waves, every morning you wake up to waves crashing it is truely paradise. We had a van waiting at the airport made it to the condo, stopped for groceries no problems. We will be returning soon. Adios from Al in K.C. Go Chiefs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 14, 2006   Date of arrival: September 14, 2006

My son & Daughter in law and my wife and I spent a week at Villa 2A during the middle part of August. The condo had an excellent view and everything you needed for an enjoyable vacation. It is without a doubt the best location for any condo on the beach in Playa as far as beach and 5th avenue access. Maid service was great and it was very nice to have the private underground parking. Unlike a lot of places we have stayed in Mexico, the Air Conditioning was excellent and the beds were very comfortable. It was very spacious and beautifully decorated. Richard was very responsive to all of the questions we had prior to our trip. We will definitely stay here the next time we go back to Playa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 11, 2006   Date of arrival: September 11, 2006

This gorgeous unit at Luna Encantada was fantastic. We were truly able to relax during our week in Playa. The unit was furnished to perfection. The views were magnificent! We spent a lot of time in the pool...Went to Tulum!
The daily maid sevice was great. We were able to enjoy our Mayan getaway without any worries! The location is the best!
The bar at Fusion has great margaritas and food. We did lots of shopping and enjoyed strolling 5th avenue at night.
Richard was very helpful and we would definitely return to Luna Encantada and unit A-2.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 14, 2006   Date of arrival: August 14, 2006

The Felser's condo is a dream! We enjoyed 6 days and nights in the luxury that is Luna Encantada! The views from the veranda can't be beat and the proximity to 5th Avenue is always a must for our "necessary errands". I must add that the daily maid service made all of the difference in the world. Our two boys delighted in coming up from the beach to find out what characters the housekeeper had made from their bath towels! She even used their markers to add faces! Richard was wonderful to work with and left me feeling safe and secure in planning our trip via email. We will return as soon as we can!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 30, 2006   Date of arrival: July 30, 2006

**MAGICAL** Our family rented this Luna Encantada condo for two weeks in June and the experience was fantastic! The 3 bedroom condo is beautifully furnished, very functional and the views of the Caribbean beachfront are exceptional. The location of the condo in relation to the 5th Ave pedestrian mall is great, as when you are in the condo you are isolated and then you step out of the compound and you are in the activity of 5th Avenue. The daily maid service made all the difference to our vacation. It was just like a hotel service, as they turn down the beds, arrange the soap and towels and keep the condo spotless! I sound like an advertisement, but really our introduction to Playa Del Carmen was magical, we loved everything about it and staying in this condo made it even better than we imagined it could be."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 4, 2006   Date of arrival: July 4, 2006

The condo is beautiful! This is great location, it's on an awesome beach, and fifth ave. is right there. We've been to Playa three times now and love it. We will definitely be back. We had a great time and the property managers were a very helpful. It's hard coming home after being down here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 16, 2006   Date of arrival: June 16, 2006

We stayed at Luna Encantada the last week of May 2006 for a week of fun and sun. What a great time of year and fabulous place to stay in Playa!

The condo was beautiful and private. Affording the luxury of being nearby the 5th Ave shopping district, ferries, restaurants and beach
activities while allowing us to escape to a beautiful, quiet place when needed. The condo is beautifully decorated with Indonesian decor and the spacious rooms and amenities made us feel right at home. Whether using
the full kitchen to prepare meals or snacks, sitting on the deck with a
beautiful view, or relaxing in the private setting of the pool located
beachside, it just can't be beat.

We will definitely return!

Hasta luego!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 25, 2006   Date of arrival: February 25, 2006

I just returned from visiting the Luna Encantada villas in Play del Carmen. They are right on the water and one block from the center of the famous 5th Avenue. What an incredible location and the units themselves are topnotch!
Marble floors, granite countertops, large rooms with incredible oceanviews over the infinity pool. These units have set the standard for the best that Mexico can produce.
What a place for a great vacation...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review