reviews for: listing #59076 - Dominical, Costa Rica House rental

Luxury Ocean View Villa with Private Pool, Tropical Estate,
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $350 /nt
    $1,400 - $2,000 /wk

sort by:

Spectacular Stay in Paradise!

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

My husband, son, daughter-in-law and I enjoyed a spectacular week at Ellen and Bernie's villa this March. Everything was even more beautiful than the pictures suggest. We all love to cook and we really appreciated how well organized and well-equipped the kitchen was. It is very much evident that the owners have put a great deal of thought into the design and lay-out of the whole house. Our stay there truly felt as if we were in our own home. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and the ceiling fans and open doors provided cool breezes at night. We enjoyed going for early morning walks - quite the workout on mountainous roads! The beaches in the area are all wonderful but our favourite was the national park. It was incredible to be able to walk for miles and see no one! The restaurants in Ojochal are amazing and rival anything we have in Toronto -only at a fraction of the cost! We particularly enjoyed Citrus and Exotica. Another treat was watching the sunset (Margaritas in hand) at the Hotel El Castillo. I guess the highest recommendation I can give is that within two days of returning home we had re-booked with Ellen for next March!

Owners response: Patti, thanks so much for your wonderful review which expresses so well how we want guests to experience our home. It's so gratifying that you appreciate all the thought and care we have put into our home. We look forward to having you back next year! Pura Vida, Ellen

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Beautiful villa/Beautiful country

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

We recently enjoyed a wonderful stay a Villa Mariposa. Ellen and Bernie made every effort to make our stay easy and delightful.

The house, pool and surrounding property are very clean and well maintained. The kitchen is well designed and fully equipped to prepare a lovely meal. When dining in we ate outside on the patio while enjoying the beautiful ocean view. The calls of the animals and birds in the morning were delightful to hear and awaken to.

We dined out at two of the restaurants in Ojochal, Citrus and Exotica and had fabulous meals in both. Ventanas beach nearby was also a great experience. We made two day trips from the house. One was to Manuel Antonio National Park and nearby Quepos and the other to Sierpe where we took a boat tour down the river. In each case we were amazed by the animal and bird population.

We were at Villa Mariposa in early February and had great weather. We hope to return soon.

Donnette Peltier and Chris Noble - Massachusetts

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review, Donnette and Chris. So glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will be back soon. Ellen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise found

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

This was my 4th trip to this exquisite, beautifully appointed villa. Being situated high on the mountain provides for wonderful breezes and stunning views of the ocean. And where else can one enjoy the antics of the monkeys swinging thru the trees while floating in a pool!
Truly a piece of paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Charlotte for sharing this lovely review. I am so happy to have you back at the villa and enjoying all the things that we love. I look forward to welcoming you back again. Ellen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, relaxing, romantic

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

This was my second stay at Villa Mariposa: I knew within minutes of my first visit two years back that I was likely to return, given the remote and romantic location, and the remarkable natural splendor that surrounds the property.

My first impression, this time as the last, was how peaceful and comfortable the villa is. Whether lounging by the pool or enjoying lunch on the covered patio, your eye is captivated by bright blue butterflies and hummingbirds dancing through the garden. Every amenity is taken care of, from a kitchen stocked with every possible implement to take advantage of cooking locally-sourced fish and vegetables, to umbrellas for the brief rain showers, CDs and DVDs to entertain, and ceiling fans inside and out to keep cool. Other thoughtful details include ample beach towels, tea-light candles for romantic dinners on the patio, tupperware containers to bring lunch to the beach and personal safes to store valuables.

This trip was in honour of my partner's birthday and it proved to be the perfect place to refresh, celebrate and rejuvenate. We spent as much time enjoying the pool as we did the local beaches at Ventanas and Uvita.

Highly recommended.

Owners response: Thanks so much, Lisa, for sharing this wonderful review which captures the relaxing, romantic experience of the villa. Sitting on the covered terrace just watching the ocean and natures dance through the garden is so captivating. Great to have you back at the villa. And we look forward to welcoming you again many times. Ellen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Breathtaking!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

The house is just as incredible as it looks in the pictures. Spacious, comfortable and peaceful. Ellen was extremely helpful from the onset and Ben and Heather who live within walking distance were there whenever we needed them. We awoke to the sunrise and birds chirping every morning. The house has everything you will need, including a phone for emergencies and to make reservations, wifi to research local places, and a dvd player just in case you need a night in. The pool was great too, and featured such an awesome view. The only think that I would suggest is to check in to the house before 5pm. It begins to get dark around 5:30pm and it is almost impossible to find the house for the first time in the dark. Also, use the magazine that the house has for local restaurants, they were spot on.

Owners response: Thanks Tyler, I'm so happy you enjoyed your honeymoon stay at Villa Mariposa. It is wonderful to have the privacy of the villa for romantic dinners and all those great restaurants close by as well. To your point about arriving before dark - I encourage guests to arrive before it gets dark to make the drive easier and fully enjoy their first experience of the villa, but for later arrival, all you need to do is make prior arrangements for a later arrival or call ahead if you have been delayed so Ben or Heather will meet you at the highway entrance to our road to escort you up to the villa after dark. Just let us know. I look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary.
Pura Vida, Ellen

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We have just returned from our 2 week vacation at Villa Mariposa and have had a wonderful vacation. Villa Mariposa is everything it promises from the description and photos and even more with the fantastic surroundings and jungle sounds. Sitting around the pool enjoying the beautiful gardens, watching the humming birds, the migration of the butterflies, colourful parrots and toucans and occasionally the monkeys was just wonderful. It is difficult to pick out the highlight as we experienced so much. Scuba diving off Cano Island and being up close to at least 30 white tipped reef sharks, giant turtles and mantas was an amazing experience and the dive crew from Mad About Diving in Uvita were great. I thoroughly recommend also the horseback riding to the waterfall. Incredible value for a day out and suitable for all ages. Our youngest at 9 years old just loved his horse and our oldest at 17 years old joined the locals diving from the waterfall. Beaches, national parks, beautiful walks, there is something for everyone. And when we were not BBQ'ing dinner on the terrace in the evening we enjoyed some great dinners in Ojochal. I can particularly recommend Azul and Citrus, beautifully prepared food. Ben, the property manager, was extremely helpful when we needed him although the villa is so well maintained there is little to bother him with! Thanks again for a wonderful place for our vacation, our first time to Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you, Andrew. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation at Villa Mariposa. You have certainly outlined a great itinerary for other vacationers to follow. Lounging by the private pool watching the flocks of birds and butterflies are also some of our favorites things and so much part of the vacation experience. The horseback riding to the jungle waterfall and swimming in the natural pool at the base just adds to the Costa Rica experience. I look forward to having you come back again to Villa Mariposa. Pura Vida, Ellen

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Magical

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

This is my third time back to the villa and I so enjoy the beauty and charm of the Ojochal area in such comfort and style.
The villa is perfectly appointed, well designed and with its many small, thoughful touches it makes it a wonderful place to stay.
We look forward to returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Charlotte, it was great to have you back! Magical is such a great way to describe the experience of being at the villa and the Ojochal area. We do put a lot of thought into our piece of paradise and the memorable experience our guests will have so thank you for acknowledging that. Pura Vida until the next time, Ellen

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Secluded, relaxing property with great view

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 6, 2012

This is a nice house that is exactly as advertised. We enjoyed the quiet and solitude of the area, though you're never too far from the nearby attractions of the beaches and small towns.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wesley, Thanks for your review. So glad you enjoyed your time at the villa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Away from it all

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

Villa Mariposa was everything we hoped it would be. It was a very private location, extremely well maintained and true to the luxurious pictures you see on the rental listing. Our group included 4 adults and 2 children and we had plenty of room. At first I was concerned that there would be no air conditioning, but the higher altitude of the property and ocean breezes made for comfortable lounging during the days and sleeping at night. The house also had high quality ceiling fans to keep it cool during the hottest times of the day.

We especially loved waking up in the mornings with the sounds of the jungle and spotting the howler monkeys in the nearby trees. We spent most of our time on the terrace and ate every meal outdoors. Amazingly, there are very few bugs - no mosquitoes at all (not like Ontario)! It made for wonderful, lingering dinners. We also did many of the recommended tours and suggested local restaurants. All were terrific! Most of the tours are family run, so it was especially great to meet local folks. Everyone was so friendly. The Villa Mariposa property managers, Joan and Mau, were very responsive and will gladly help if you need any assistance.

There is a dirt road that you need to take to get up to the villa off the main highway. You really do need a 4 x 4 on the hill terrain but it did not stop us from traveling out and about regularly. Even though the property is secluded, there are grocery stores, restaurants, gas stations and anything you could possibly need just a few minutes away. We felt very safe and welcomed everywhere we went.

One recommendation is to consider your flights in/out of Costa Rica before you book the property. Depending on when your flight arrives in Costa Rica, it may be too late to make the 3 hour drive from the airport as the sun sets earlier in Costa Rica. You might want to consider staying at a hotel in San Jose the first night. The highway to Villa Mariposa is completely safe and paved, but may not be something you want to navigate for the first time in the dark. I would suggest the same with your departing flight - you may want to plan to stay in San Jose on your last night depending when you fly out.

Our stay at Villa Mariposa was such a memorable family experience and we would absolutely recommend this vacation property to others.
Carrie
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Carrie, Thanks for the lovely, thorough review of your stay at the villa. So great to hear you had a terrific time and a memorable experience. That's what our paradise is about. As mentioned, we do recommend arriving before nightfall which is 6PM. The highways are excellent but the signs and lights are limited so seeing the landmarks that we note in our directions, not to mention the scene views along the way makes the trip more enjoyable and there is no need for GPS. Luckily there are direct flights out of Toronto that arrive before 2PM which gives enough time to enjoy the drive to the villa in daylight.
Pura Vida, Ellen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

FEEL AT HOME ON VACATION

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

Talk about breath taking.....gasp!! I was in "awe" from the moment I walked through the doors of Villa Mariposa. Not to mention the beautiful coastal drive from San Jose to Ventanas. The 4 x 4 Montero Sport came in handy.

The website shows and gives details about the property and it looks exactly as it shows, very nice and clean. Loved the privacy! Joan I must say that your website is very detailed and gives the much needed information for vacationers from dining, shopping to the tourism.

The Dome restaurant was a favorite, we dined for breakfast and lunch. We missed the farmer's market but still had the opportunity to enjoy some fresh lobster and shrimp.

We tip our hats off to "Mau" the property manager he was very attentive with accommodating all our needs, our car battery went dead and Mau was there for us immediately to help us get the car running again, what a cool dude!!!

We did the ATV bike mountain tour in Uvita. What a thriller! We also enjoyed the Nauyaca Waterfall tour and lunch at Don Lulo's home. The boat ride from Sierpe to Cano Island was nice too.

Oh how we miss waking up to that beautiful sunrise looking out at the ocean and watching the sun set after returning from our daily outing. Not only would we revisit this villa but we would "absolutely" recommend it to family and friends.

This will be a vacation we'll never forget or the occasion. Fred reached his milestone here by celebrating his 50th birthday.

Thanks for sharing your home away from home with us.

Fred Williams & Kim Way
Atlanta, GA

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review, Fred and Kim. So glad you had a great trip. What a wonderful way to celebrate your 50th birthday. Ellen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise in the "Jungle"

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

Talk about breath taking.....gasp!! I was in "awe" from the moment I walked through the doors of Villa Mariposa. Not to mention the beautiful coastal drive from San Jose to Ventanas. The 4 x 4 Montero Sport came in handy.

The website shows and gives details about the property and it looks exactly as it shows very nice and clean. Loved the privacy! Joan I must say that your website is very detailed and gives the much needed information for vacationers from dining, shopping to the tourism.

The Dome restaurant was a favorite we dined for breakfast and lunch. We missed the farmer's market but still had the opportunity to enjoy some fresh lobster and shrimp.

We tip our hats off to "Mau" the property manager he was very attentive with accommodating all our needs.

We did the ATV bike mountain tour in Uvita. What a thriller! We also enjoyed the Nauyaca Waterfall tour and lunch at Don Lulo's home. The boat ride from Sierpe to Cano Island was nice too.

Oh how we miss waking up to that beautiful sunrise looking out at the ocean and watching the sun set after returning from our daily outing. Not only would we revisit this villa but we would "absolutely" recommend it to family and friends.

Thanks for sharing your home away from home with us.

Fred Williams & Kim Way
Atlanta, GA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise found

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Truly a visit to paradise. The villa is perfectly located in the rainforest with stunning ocean views and tropical breezes. Well appointed with attention to detail, this property is perfect for a couple(s) or families looking for a vacation in paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words, Charlotte. Yes, it feels like paradise every time I am there. Ellen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

very nice house, view, and pool

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

My group of 4 adults enjoyed our week stay....we wish we could have stayed longer. The house is in very good shape and had all the amenities one could want while on vacation in Costa Rica.
The surrounding wildlife, views, pool are lots of fun. We really enjoyed the farmers market in Uvita, especially the fresh tuna.
The owners and property management are all very easy to work with, and answer any questions or concerns in a prompt mannr.

Do rent a 4 wheel drive as the road up to the house from the main highway is a mix of gravel, and rock and is very steep in places. We had a Toyota rav four 4 wheel drive vehicle, and the drive up the road to the house took between 10-12 minutes, and the drive down took between 8-10 minutes. Many of the roads in the area are gravel/dirt roads and some are very steep, so be prepared. We felt it was worth it to be in paradise, and we felt as if we were in paradise while staying at villa mariposa.
We would stay here again and would recommend villa mariposa to our friends and family.

Owners response: Joel, glad you enjoyed your stay in paradise and great feedback on avoiding renting a RAV4, we have had issues with those vehicles as well. We've had good success with the Daihatsu Bego and Toyota Prado with much faster and more comfortable rides up and down the mountain, usually about 8 minutes. By the by, our road is renowned as one of the best maintained gravel roads in the area. We are very fortunate that this spectacular, unspoiled southern Pacific Zone of Costa Rica is now easily accessible on a great new paved highway. Thanks for your positive review. Pura Vida, Ellen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Villa mariposa is awesome!!

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 28, 2012

I couldn't have asked for a more professional owner and manager! The house was amazing! The view in the picture doesn't do it justice! I was impressed how many amenities were in the house. It was like I was staying at my parents house while they were away! Thank you Ellen and Mau!! I will be staying at villa mariposa again in the near future. Don't short cut and rent a car we got a 4x4 and it was needed. Thank you again! One love Jared

Owners response: Jared, thanks so much for your review. So glad you had a great trip and enjoyed your stay at our villa. And yes, access to our gorgeous mountains and pristine beaches in the southern zone is best with a 4x4. Great to hear you will be back soon. Ellen

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Enchanting Villa

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

We had a wonderful time in Costa Rica at Ellen's Villa. It was so beautiful and perfect setting for our family. The villa is situated in the middle of the jungle with beautiful view of ocean and greens. Each day, we woke up with only the sounds of birds and animals. It was a very peaceful and magical experience. She had everything we needed in the villa from beach gear to Wi-Fi. We really appreciated the high quality towels and linens. The villa is right near a charming little town called Ojochal. Even during the holiday season, the beaches nearby were never crowded, and it was the most beautiful beach we have ever been. We travel quite a lot to Asia and Europe but this was one of the most beautiful places we have seen. We were pleasantly surprised by the high standard of restaurants. We loved the French fusion and Italian restaurants in Ojochal. Home made pastas and 7-course dinner was amazing. We did Don Lulo's horseback ride to Nauyaka falls. It included breakfast, lunch, tour and horseback ride. it was a very memorable tour. We really appreciate Joan and Mau, the property managers there to answer any questions and offer suggestions. They came right over when we needed their help. We would love to come back again. Thank you for offering your place Ellen!

Owners response: Thank you so much, Aiko! It is an amazing place. So glad you enjoyed the villa and had a wonderful time. Ellen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise in the Jungle

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

My wife and I recently spent two weeks at Villa Mariposa and would highly recommend this property. The house is immaculate and comfortably sleeps 6. There's even a 4th room (office) that can be used to sleep 2 more! The layout of the home is terrific with two bedrooms at one end of the house with a bathroom in between. The master bedroom is at the other end of the house with a huge ensuite bathroom. A perfect layout for two couples/families. There's even a small TV/DVD player, wireless internet and washer/dryer for laundry.

Overlooking the pool you have incredible views of the Pacific Ocean including the Whale's Tail! Each morning the jungle comes alive with the sounds of birds and animals singing for about 30 minutes. We really enjoyed having our coffee each morning poolside and watching the birds and animals come alive. This home has it all including a barbeque and a complete kitchen. We spent all of our time sitting outside beside the pool......day and night! In addition, no detail was spared from driving directions to San Jose as well as recommendations / reviews of local restaurants. Our two favourite restaurants were Citrus and Exotica. In addition, the pizzas at Mamma e Papa were fantastic.

The location is central to many activities in the South Pacific region. With the new highway recently completed, Manuel Antonio National Park is only an hour away. We would also highly recommend a trip on horseback to Nauyaca Waterfalls...... 30 minutes from the house. The golf course at San Buenas is only 20 minutes away. There are 9 holes open at this time and although course conditions are not the greatest, it certainly has the potential to be a good course once completed. Other than Manuel Antonio our favourite beach was Ventanas.....which also happens to be the closest to Villa Mariposa. At low tide you can walk through the caves!

It is with mixed feelings that I post this review because selfishly, we'd like to keep this oasis as our own secret! This was the first time that my wife and I rented a home for a vacation and I can't imagine that we'll ever stay in a hotel again. Our stay was so enjoyable we are considering purchasing property in the area and plan on returning to Villa Mariposa again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review Mike and Stoya. Yes, nature puts on quite a performance and morning is one of the prime times for birds and monkeys. It sounds like you experience the magic and have been captivated by the area as so many of our guests are. Pura Vida, Ellen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing Villa

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

We loved the feeling of being all alone in the rain forest. Watching the humming birds at the pool every morning quickly became a tradition. Our 4-wheel drive got us easily to and from the magnificent restaurants in nearby Ojahal and the wonderful nearby beaches. If you want to relax, eat well and walk the beaches, this villa is comfortable with great views while surrounded by the wonders of the Costa Rican rain forest. The Villa book contains lots of useful information. Unfortunately, wifi access was challenging.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Thanks for your review, Yes, it is wonderful to be surrounded by the rain forest and a delight to see the hummingbirds close by. As to the Internet, maintaining a luxury property in the jungle does have its challenges, it is unfortunate I did not hear about the issue sooner, there was a change with the local ISP which caused the issue and you will be glad to know we have addressed it with them and added a new router which is making the connection much easier.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A gem of a villa

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

The Villa Mariposa was even more charming than the descriptions and pictures posted on the internet. The property was lovely, set high up on a hillside (a bit of a rough road to get there, but we quickly got used to it in our 4 wheel drive) overlooking the ocean and surrounded by greenery and birdsong. Local stores supplied all of our grocery needs and we rarely strayed from the gorgeous pool and magnificent view. The wide range of movies and music supplied at the house were a delightful surprise and entertained us many an evening. The house was well laid out, the furnishings comfortable and the property exceptionally well cared for. Plush towels - both bath and pool - were a nice touch, as were the binoculars, bird books, poker chips and puzzles. The local restaurants were exceptionally good - 5 star and we visited a little French pastry shop several times for breakfast. The Mystic Dive shop in town provided our teenagers with scuba training and we saw sharks, lesser devil rays, schools of fish and dolphins on our day trip to Cano Island. The local beaches were beautiful - not at all crowded and excellent swimming. We plan to return in the near future as the property got two thumbs up from all three of our kids.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your comments. Sounds like you have fallen in love with the villa and the area as we have. You will be glad to know we and the neighbours have the road repaired annually so it will be smoother sailing next you are there.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Villa Mariposa

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

The pictures of this beautiful villa are totally accurate, the view and house are outstanding, top notch. The Villa was very clean, comfortable and private, we were 2 couples. It was equipped with everything we needed. The owner and property managers were very helpful in arranging our trip and making sure we had a great time. We enjoyed the local zip lining, beaches, restaurants and little of town of Ojochal. It was an adventure and trip we will remember for a long time. The weather this time of year was not too hot or rainy and it was not crowded at all. We felt like we had the place to ourselves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: J&C,Thanks so much for your review. Yes, the Green Season is is a magical time to experience the lushness of southern Costa Rica with a greater variety of birds, wildlife and blooming orchids. It's quite wonderful that most days start off sunny in the morning which is the ideal time for tours and activities. The rain is then usually conveniently scheduled for late afternoon's so you can have lots of adventures before a well deserved siesta followed by a gorgeous sunset. Pura Vida, Ellen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Villa Mariposa

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2010

We loved our stay. Every minute of our vacation was an adventure. The house was perfect. I've never slept so good. The trails and streams around the house provide great adventure and scenery (except for monkeys, which unfortunately we saw none). The view and pool were incredible.

I would highly recommend a few activities to your future guests. The OSA Mountain Village Canopy Tour is only about 25 minutes from the house and Chris and Stephanie are fantastic. Their website is www.osamountainvillage.com. Also, we spent an entire day (7am to 5pm) fishing, snorkeling, lunch on the beach at Cano Island, more fishing, and then spotting the humpbacks with Aldea Del Rio guide service in Sierpe (www.aldeadelrio.com). Everyone caught a good fish and seeing the humpbacks was a perfect finish for the day. Then, we met Drew Mattison of Rancho DiAndrew while eating at The Dome, and he took us on a small waterfall tour in the mountains above Uvita where we could jump in the pool from above and swim the rapids. He does several longer tours, but we met him late in the afternoon and only had time for a short one. He also offers nighttime jungle tours with explanations of plants and wildlife. He's a great guy and his site is www.ranchodiandrew.com.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Good to hear you enjoyed the villa and had lots of adventures you can recommend. There is so much to do in the area and the new canopy tour is getting rave reviews. As to the monkeys, they came by in the early afternoon while I was there so they may have come by while you were fishing or snorkeling or swimming in waterfalls. Pura Vida! Ellen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A beautiful, private retreat

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

Villa Mariposa is everything it promises: private, romantic, beautifully designed and exceptionally clean.

Two things make this property a stand-out: one is the location, high on the side of a mountain, under a canopy of tropical foliage and butterflies with an ocean view just over the edge of the swimming pool, yet within short driving distance to exceptional restaurants, grocery stores and beautiful beaches. The other is the outside terrace, where day or night, you can lounge, entertain, enjoy delicious meals of locally caught fresh fish, swim - and even shower.

The owners provide a detailed information package about everything related to the house: appliances, emergency contact information, recommendations on local activities and places to eat. Every aspect of booking, arriving and being in the property met my expectations for professional and curteous customer service.

I have rented several exceptional vacation properties throughout the Caribbean and Latin America; Villa Mariposa easily merits its place on the top of my top-five list. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Lisa, Thank you, I appreciate all your comments. We do take a lot of care and attention to detail so our guests have a great experience when staying at the villa. Ellen

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Place to Enjoy a Relaxing Vacation!

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

What a great place to stay with great friends!

In the area there were so many activities to choose from and so many great restaurants to dine at, but we enjoyed Villa Mariposa so much we hardly left!

Our days consisted of blending up a big batch of Pina Coladas, enjoying them poolside, and grilling on the BBQ almost every night. We loved all the birds we could see from the pool deck and the sounds of the monkeys every morning.

I highly recommend this tropical home away from home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Meg and Alex, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. The birds are quite something and now that the Butterfly bushes have grown, it's delightful to lie in bed after I wake up and and watch the hummingbirds right outside the French doors. Ellen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Enjoyed Everything

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

Ellen and Bernie, your home is lovely, you have done a great job of planning your Villa. We had a lovely stay. We enjoyed everything about your home and the attention to detail. All the little things were nice to have at our disposal.

We appreciated the beautiful pool, the ocean view and all the birds. We will remember listening to Mozart while stargazing by the pool.

You have excellent property managers with Joan & Mau. We have come to know them in our 8 years in the area and believe you have the best.

This is our eighth year visiting this area and we never tire of it. Our 3 weeks went by too fast. We will certainly be calling you next time we are going to the area, and will recommend your place.
Regards, Murray & Pam

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: March 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

What a wonderful stay in costa rica...A true value for your Dollar..Nothing as peaceful as swimming in the pool, watching Toucans, as the stunning sunset reveals its self...Time to turn on the Barbque and sear fresh Mahi Mahi that was caught by the local fisherman at Playa tortuga that morning...Evening breezes, with bedroom doors open reveal the evening sounds of the Jungle for a sound nights sleep

Owners response: Thanks Bill, sounds like you really know how to appreciate paradise. Cheers, Ellen

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Villa!

Review submitted: February 24, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

We rented Villa Mariposa for one of our weeks in Costa Rica. It was everything the listing said it would be. A very clean, well maintained, high quality accommodation. There were four of us (two couples) and the villa layout worked well. The location is ideal for day trips to local beaches (which are very nice) or tours (we did Nauyaca Falls Horseback tour, ziplining at Quepos, and the guys did a fishing trip out of Uvita). There is good grocery shopping in Uvita as well as some interesting shops along the highway. The view from the outdoor living/pool area is spectacular (including the whale tail at low tide). We brought some music but I also enjoyed the cd's available at the villa. It was nice to open the french doors and let the mountain air flow through. The property managers were friendly and helpful. It was a great experience and a difficult location to leave!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Gail and Murray, Glad you had a great time and enjoyed your stay at the villa and some of the many activities this beautiful area has to offer. Ellen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great time

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 6, 2009

We had such a wonderful time at Villa Mariposa. The house is fabulous, very well laid out with gorgeous décor. We loved the pool and spent a lot of time in it. It was amazing seeing the Blue Morpho Butterfies visit the terrace most mornings. Seeing the Howler monkeys outside the gate was a real bonus.

We would definitely recommend the horseback riding tour to Nauyaca Falls which was one of many highlights of the trip. Swimming in the jungle pool at the base of the waterfall was bliss. It was also great o be able to see the Whales Tail from the villa and then be able to walk on it out into the ocean at low tide.

The property managers, Joan and Mau, were such a pleasure in helping arrange tours and take us up to the villa. We would love to go back to Villa Mariposa next year and we are recommending it to our friends. Helen and Sam, Oakville, Ont.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Helen thanks for your comments! I am glad you had such a wonderful trip with memorable experiences and really enjoyed the villa. I look forward to having you back next year. Ellen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 19, 2010   Date of arrival: January 19, 2010

Really appreciated the 3G Internet service. I could sit out on the terrace looking at jungle and the ocean view and still be connected to the world. It was fun walking along the creek on the property - lots of different plants and butterflies.

Great dining experience at Exotica and the Ventanas beach is really beautiful. Quite the find for a working vacation!

Owners response: Bryan,I am happy you enjoyed your stay and our new 3G Internet service worked well for you. I agree, Exotica is my favourite restaurant among so many exceptional ones. Thanks for all your comments. Ellen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

-

Review submitted: January 19, 2010   Date of arrival: January 19, 2010

We spent a week in the villa and loved
both the villa and this part of Costa
Rica. The villa has a beautiful pool
and outdoor dining and sitting area that
overlooks the Pacific and sunset. We
ate outdoors every meal at the villa
even when it rained as the roof
overhangs the sitting and eating areas.
The villa itself is new and well
equipped and beautiful but the outdoors
beacons. There are three furnished
bedrooms of nice size, two full and one
? bath plus an unfurnished room that can
be used with a blow-up bed fi needed.
All rooms except for one bedroom
overlook the pool. The good and the bad
depending on your point of view is that
the villa is at least 10 minutes up a
dirt road that is bumpy in places from
the main highway. This is a problem if
you want to go in and out frequently but
nice once you are settled. We took
advantage of the horseback ride to
Nauyaca Falls which all five of us
considered a highlight. We all did the
Zipline, two a snorkeling trip and one
took surfing lessons. All were nice but
did not compare to the horseback ride.
One morning two of us went into the
forest near the villa and were able to
see the monkeys high in the tree tops.
The beaches are reached easily and we
went to a number of different beaches
even as far as Dominical (about 35
minutes). The coast and mountains are
beautiful and the area is much less
developed than further north. The
restaurants were all good and most were
in beautiful locations. The one bad
part of the vacation came on the last
day. We had to leave)))-:

Owners response: Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the villa and the monkeys. Just to clarify a typo. I think you meant to write the outdoors beckons. Yes, it does draw you out to the great views from the terrace and pool. You will be happy to know the mountain road has been graded to get the bumps out and one of my neighbours up the road described it as a thing of beauty. Most people find it takes 7 or 8 minutes to get to the villa from the coastal highway. Looking forward to your next visit, Ellen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

We had a wonderful week at Villa Mariposa. The house is fabulous, so well laid out and the décor is gorgeous. We loved the pool and spent so much time in it. It was so amazing seeing the Blue Morpho Butterfies fly right in front of the terrace almost every morning. We were so thrilled to see the Howler monkeys outside the gate and even one crossing the road. The horseback riding tour to Nauyaca Falls was one of the many highlights of the trip with so many wonderful surprises along the way and swimming in the jungle pool at the base was something out of a movie. Joan and Mau the property managers were so wonderfully helpful in arranging to get us to the villa and booking tours. We will be back to Villa Mariposa next year to enjoy this piece of paradise and we are recommending it to our friends.

Owners response: Helen thanks so much! I am glad you had such a wonderful trip and really enjoyed the villa. I look forward to having you back next year. Ellen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 26, 2009   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

To anyone considering renting in the
southern zone of Costa Rica.My wife and I along with her parents and our
neighbour's just came back from our
stay at Villa Mariposa.What we found
was avery well equiped house that made for a very comfortable stay.The pool
was a major hit that we all enjoyed
on a daily basis.The house is spacious
and therefor the flow worked really well.We found a very well stocked kitchen that had everything we required.
All in all I can highly recommend
this location for you vacation.
Sicerely
Oliver Jahn

Owners response: Oliver, Thank you for your kind comments. I am so glad you had a wonderful stay. Ellen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review