reviews for: listing #59169 - Zion National Park, Utah House rental

Harmony House at Kolob Canyon
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  New Harmony
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $200 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

We love Harmony House.

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

This was our second stay at the New Harmony house. Both years our grandchildren (8-13) came too. At one point we had 4 adults and 3 children in the house, and there was plenty of comfortable room for all. We like the location for its proximity to Zion, and the areas of Cedar City and St. George. We hiked, explored historical and natural wonders. We found the house to be completely furnished with everything we needed. The kids used all of the games, foos ball, playground, puzzles, etc. They love it there. We were glad for the kitchen facilities and the laundry, the TV, wireless, etc. We'd gladly come again, and perhaps we will!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Time in Southern Utah

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 16, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as a gateway to many fun hikes in both Zion National Park and another local hike just 10 mins away. The house was very relaxing and accomodating for us with children between 6 and 8. While there is not much near the house, Just a short 15 mins and you are in Cedar City for eateries and shopping. Zion is about 45 mins but the drive is spectacular. We had a great time in the home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent accommodation

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

This house is just as good as it sounds from all the other reviewers and the owners notes too. Its a good location to explore Zion and Bryce, we had 4 days and 5 nights. Its perfectly set out for a family and beautifully clean- we always use rental accommodation and this is the cleanest and best equipped in 5 years of travel (Europe and N. America). Excellent hosts, efficient and courteous. Thanks Megan and Britt

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Couldn't Have Found A Better Place to Stay!

Review submitted: October 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

We were staying at Harmony House during the Government shutdown so the National Parks were closed, but it didn't bother any of us because there was still so much to do!
The owners, Britt and Megan couldn't have been nicer! They sent us information about the area and alternative things to see and do....and we had a great time. The house is comfortable and immaculate!
The views are beautiful and the area is so quiet and peaceful. We did lots of stargazing!
The house has a large, comfortable area for watching television...and a lovely 'library' with lots of books about the Parks. We were six adults, but the house would have been a perfect place for children. There was a play area with slide and swings outside and an air hockey table in one of the bedrooms...
And there were books and games for children in the library, as well. The owners thought of everything you would need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Thank you Britt and Megan!
We all loved our stay at Harmony house and hope to have the opportunity to visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2013

When our old friends from Ohio came to visit us in Las Vegas, we wanted to take a short trip to Utah for hiking and sightseeing. Harmony House at Kolob Canyon was the perfect location for accessing Zion National Park, Cedar Breaks, and Brian Head Ski Resort. The accommodatons exceeded our expectations in all areas----cleanliness, amenities, comfort, maintenance. It was obvious that the owners put a lot of effort into preparing a "home away from home" atmosphere for their guests. They even graciously agreed to our request for an early check-in on our first day so that we could enjoy a full day of hiking at Kolob Canyon. We also spent a day hiking in the main section of Zion National Park and another day enjoying the beautiful fall foliage at Cedar Breaks and Brian Head. We would certainly recommend this property to anyone looking for accommodations in this area. We are looking into coming here again for a short adventure with our daughter and her family.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great SWUtah Basecamp

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Harbor House is a very comfortable & lovely home. The views out the back and front of the house are both spectacular. After a long day of hiking our older son enjoyed his own space (and the wifi) while our younger son enjoyed playing games (especially Chinese Checkers), and I enjoyed learning area history from the library. We can't imagine a better place to call home base for our SW Utah adventure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Very Welcoming

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Harmony House. The house was very clean and the views were wonderful. The owners have done a wonderful job making the home feel welcoming. It truly was a wonderful place to come back to after a hard day of hiking. The beds were very comforable the kids loved having the air hockey/foosball table. I loved the library room with a wonderful selection of books, movies and games. After a day hiking in the river I loved having a washer and dryer available. We would definitely consider staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Perfect getaway home

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

Place is very clean and big, the backyard and the front yard offers an amazing view of nature. You will love this place

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Relaxing Home for High Energy Vacation!

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

My family and I had the most wonderful stay at the Harmony House this past Memorial break. The owners were not only professional and prompt while communicating over email, but they also provided us with PLENTY of locations to check out and exits to stop at for groceries. Very helpful for someone who is unfamiliar with the area!

The house is so cozy and spacious. It's fenced in backyard with a beautiful view of Kolob Canyon was just icing on the cake. We spent many hours relaxing on the lawn chairs outside after a long hike in Zion.

It is about an hour or so away from southern Zion, however, only 5 minutes from the north part of it. One of our favorite trails (Taylor Creek Trail) was just minutes from the house!

Big kudos to this vacation home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

beautiful house

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

We stayed at Harmony house for 4 nights and it was wonderful. There are views of mountains from the front and back of the house. It was in excelllent condition. The house is better than the pictures. We were delighted to stay here and explore the nearby Kolob Canyons and take the drive to Zion and Bryce. We found it relaxing after a day of hiking to have a glass on wine on the patio and look at the mountains in the distance. This house was a great, great find.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Awesome home for the weekend!

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

We stayed here for the thanksgiving weekend and we truly loved it! The house was very cozy and it had everything that we needed (even a crock-pot!) the three bedrooms were very comfy, the kitchen was clean, bathrooms very well organized and a game room filled with games, movies and books!
I already am looking forward for another stay at the harmony house :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Hiker/Sightseer

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 25, 2012

Harmony House was beautiful & we were very comfy there. The kitchen had all the utensils, pots & pans, dishes, crockpot, outside gas grill--everything one would need. Dish network & wifi were a definite plus.
Well located to see the National Parks. Kolob Canyon only a few miles away. Zion about 45 min. & nice grocery store on the way there. Bryce about 80 min away . North Rim of Grand Canyon only 3 hr. easy drive. Cedar City about 15 min away, lots of places to eat & nice grocery store.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great place!

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 18, 2012

Harmony House was absolutely wonderful! The house is located on a secluded residential street with a view of the Kolob Mountains, making a great way to wake up and enjoy a cup of coffee. The house was immaculate, cozy and well stocked. The master bedroom had the most comfortable bed! Great way to relax after long days. Very easy drives to Bryce and Zion National Parks. Thank you for sharing your home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Awesome House

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at the Harmony House in early September. It was so nice and exactly as described. It was so relaxing; after a day spent sight seeing; to come back and sit on the patio and just relax. The view and the stars we awesome. We loved the open feeling of the house and how clean and well cared for it was. We never lacked for anything. Loved Zion and Bryce----but had a great hike to see the sunset at Kodachrome Park. The next time we go to this area we will be looking to get this house again!!! The owners are great to deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

Harmony House was the perfect home base for our Utah vacation. The location not only provides easy access to Zion, Bryce, Cedar Breaks, Dixie National Forest, Snow Canyon, St. George and Cedar City, it is also at a high enough elevation that the daily temperatures are very pleasant. It is easily accessible from the main highway and within 20 minutes of stores and restaurants. The owners provide everything from linens to spices. The neighborhood is very friendly. We didn't want to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Harmony house provides harmony

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

This house was very comfortable for 3 couples on a 3 nite hiking/theatre jaunt. The house was extremely clean and well equipted with kitchen utensils, bath essentials and nice quality linens. It's location near I-15 made it convenient to get everywhere with no hassels. The owners were responsive and communicative in any interactions we had. The Shakespeare Festival ( a 23 minute drive) was superb! I would recommend this house for almost anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Awesome Location and Place

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

We had a wonderful stay and the house was all that was advertised. Laid out very nice for a couple and for a family. Games, videos, excellent library and great location for getting to Zion at Kolob and also at the Springdale entrace (abouy 45 minutes). A bit of a drive to see Bryce but well worth it. We enjoyed snow canyons, petroglyphs in Parowan, and hikes throughout the area. We would stay again without question. Late April and seeing the flowers blooming in the high desert was fun. Carroll

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Comforts of home and centrally located!

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

The house was perfectly apportioned and then some. We found the listing clean, well stocked with all the essentials and a few extra incidentals which were appreciated greatly. I like the fact that it was so close to the Interstate yet very quiet. Megan provided quick answers to all our questions and responded to our needs with friendliness, which made us feel welcomed.

I would recommend this home to anybody wanting a clean,affordable and comfortable place to stay in while vacationing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Simply Delightful!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

We rented the Harmony House at Kolob Canion for two nights. It is a very clean and well-kept property. It had all the ammenities of home. Very good quality beds, pillows, etc. Kitchen was fully equipped. The house is only about a mile to the north entrance of Zion Park. It was very quiet and we loved the view of the Park from the back porch.
The owners were great to work with during the rental process. They are easily accessable via phone or e-mail to work out any rental details.

I highly recommend this property and look forward to comming back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Los Angeles

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

Our stay here felt like a home away from home. Being in your home brought peace and tranquility to all of us. It was a time of appreciating many of the things we take for granted (quality family time).

So we would all like to say thank you, and that we would definitely recommend the stay here, and also we see ourselves coming back!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Las Vegas

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2011

What an amazing place! This house, the beds, the views, the playground set, and Kolob Canyons all make this our new favorite vacation spot! Being from Vegas, we go to Zion often. Usually we get a cabin on the east side of Zion, but not anymore. We loved being in this beautiful and CLEAN house with our kids and parents.

During the day we visited Zion, did some short hikes and enjoyed the waterfalls. The early mornings were spent hanging out together while the kids enjoyed the playset. Our evenings were spent playing board games, sitting in front of the fireplace, watching the clouds and views on the back porch and then cuddling on the couch for a family movie.

Thank you so much for allowing us to enjoy your home for some much needed family and R & R time!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Steamboat Springs

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2010

Lots of rain—but we enjoyed our stay anyhow. Kolob Canyon is spectacular—and we hope to return to hike the trails in better weather. Fantastic book collection! Thanks for the hospitality.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Florida

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 11, 2010

Spent one week at the house. Loved sitting outside and staring at the stars. Also enjoyed reading in front of the fireplace in the evenings over some wine. Spent a majority of our time in Zion, especially enjoyed the trails at Kolob Canyon. Kolob Arch (14 mile hike) was quite a challenge but well worth it! Timber Creek Overlook Trail was a very pleasant surprise – gorgeous and peaceful. Felt good to recharge our batteries!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rohnert Park, CA

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

Harmony House suited us perfectly and was a start contrast to the hustle and bustle of Las Vegas, where we spent one day before coming to Southern Utah. Grand Canyon day trip was well worth the 3 hour drive. Walking the river at the narrows is a must do at Zion, a unique and memorable experience.

Two days at Bryce Canyon capped off the trip after three Zion days and one day at Grand Canyon. Trip highlights:
--Taylor Creek hike at Kolob
--Transeps and Widforss trails at Grand Canyon
--Navajo Loop at Bryce along with the Rim Trail
--The Narrows and Emerald Pools hikes at Zion

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Roseburg Oregon

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

We traveled with my elderly parents and a niece for a wedding in Washington. Megan made me feel comfortable from the start about renting this house. The house was as descibed, very confortable, clean and well maintained. We flew to Las Vegas and rented a car - the scenery was beautiful. It snowed on Friday and Saturday - the roads were well maintained. We would love to stay again when we had more time to check out the area. I would definately recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fort Collins, CO

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

We love this place! It is hard to travel with children. Staying at the Harmony House made it a breeze. The kids loved the play area and we went on an awesome hike to Kanarra Creek. Don't stop until you get to the falls. I slept great here. I don't know if it was the beautiful view and serene surroundings or the comfy beds! We will be back for the holidays on our way to California.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Boise

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 30, 2010

We had such a wonderful stay here in New Harmony. Our children loved the games and playground. Thank you so much for the bubbles and Easter treats for our 6 & 4 year olds. The views here are beautiful and we even woke up to snow on April 1st!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Roseville, CA

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

Our family enjoyed being away from computers and homework. Rusty's steakhouse was very good. It felt great to be outside enjoying the beautiful weather and hiking trails. The library was great when my husband needed an hour of internet access.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Carlsbad, CA

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2009

We arrived after dark and our kids were thrilled to start their day with a game of air hockey. Morning light brought such delight. The views are simply stunning! We came to Utah to attend a wedding in Springdale and your directions were very helpful. This was our first time renting a vacation home and you have set the standard high for out future vacations. Your home is so beautiful and convenient for getting to Zion. We took your advice and went on the Taylor Creek hike and we weren't disappointed--it's so close! Thanks also for the tip about Discovery Park in Cedar City. This kids loved it.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Harmony House at Kolob Canyon

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

My family of three adults thoroughly enjoyed staying at Harmony House for a week. We arrived to find the house spotless and dressed up for vacationers. A thoughtful gift basket with a few goodies was included as well. Harmony House was a perfect central location for our outings to three national parks; Zion, Grand Canyon and Bryce Canyon. Most of our days ended on the back patio with a cold beverage, or two, and a beautiful view toward Kolob Canyon. I recommend Harmony House for families or small groups that want to stay in a scenic rural setting and have transportation available to drive to the places they are visiting.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

our dream house

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

We rented Harmony House for our Anniversary trip. We were greeted with a goodie basket and bottle of wine to commerate our 30th Anniversary. The home was like new, jetted tub, good beds, great views. The house was one we would love to retire in. We visited Zion, Bryce and Grand Canyon. All do able in day trips. It's lovely to just sit on the padio and watch the sun set, or use the remote to use the gas fire place and snuggle on the sofa. The best rental we ever had! Highly recommend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

A Nice get away

Review submitted: January 25, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

We loved this little get away. We took walks in the quiet neighborhood went for hikes just minutes away. And our kids loved the backyard! Plus it was very clean and well kept which is a big bonus for us! a great way to spend a family weekend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review