reviews for: listing #59199 - Myrtle Beach, South Carolina Condo rental

Watch spectacular sunrise from our balcony
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Blue Water Resort
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $50 - $140 /nt
    $350 - $1,200 /wk
    $850 - $3,625 /mth

sort by:

Great stay at Myrtle

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

We had a great time at Bluewater. I was a little hesitant at first because of some of the reviews but we loved it! We stayed in a 1 bedroom which was a little tight for a family of 5 but we made it work. Michelle was very accommodating to all our needs and I would refer this place to anybody looking for an affordable place to stay at Myrtle!

Owners response: Thanks! I'm very glad you enjoyed your vacation in "our home away from home". Our condo is a little tight for 5 . We really only sleep 4 comfortably with the king size bed and queen size sofa bed. I'm happy you were able to make it work for your family. We were thrilled our housekeeper found your gold necklace left at our condo and was able to get it back to you. I know it had sentimental value and can't imagine that feeling when you realized you had left it behind. Thanks again! Don't forget about our discount for returning guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Little Getaway

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

This rental was perfect for what my friend and I needed as most of the rental units are owners and the noise level was minimal as there were no drunks, no screaming children, no wanting to feel the need to sanitize everything before you touch it. We had a beautiful view of the beach and even though it isn't ocean front we got to sit outside and watch all the action downtown without being close enough to be bothered by it. The unit itself was almost perfect and the only reason I say almost is because the bed (which was a KING SIZE, VERY NICE) it was right by the window of the outside hallway so we never opened the curtain but since we were towards the back the chance of that happening was slim. The kitchen was a perfect size for us and had everything we needed to cook and if we didn't have something on hand all we had to do was make a 2 min walk to the mini mart across the street. The resort itself was nice and clean and parking was just across the street with no need to fight for spaces. The only annoying thing was having to wear a band around your wrist if you wanted to use the pool. The bands are those that you would find at a rock concert and we didn't want a wide tan line around our wrist so we decided not to use the pool but hello! You're at the beach, who swims in a pool at the beach? Michele was very accommodating and even though we did not rent for the entire week allowed us to book last minute. Overall this was just what we needed and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting to make a quick getaway from the busy world.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm glad you enjoyed your vacation at our "home away from home" as a much needed getaway from your hectic schedule at home. We love our trips to the condo and, just like you, enjoy sitting on the balcony watching the ocean and listening to the waves or just being beach bums and reading a good book. It takes all our cares away! We can't get there often enough!
Last year our Homeowners Association began using the wrist bands during the height of the season to distinguish our guests from people walking up from the beach just to use our oceanfront pool. It is a little inconvenient but it has really helped. It assures us that there will always be plenty of lounge chairs available for our guests and that the pools won't get overcrowded. I have noticed that many of the resorts are now requiring them.
Don't forget our discount for returning guests. We are taking reservations now for 2014. Thanks again and let me know when you are ready to book your next vacation. It was a pleasure working with you and I'll look forward to helping you in the future.
Michele

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great experience and considerate owners

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

We highly recommend the place and had a wonderful experience with the owners. We booked for one week, over the July 4th weekend. The owners were tremendous to deal with. They were responsive and pro-active in terms of checking in with us ahead of time and setting accurate expectations of the property. The place was clean and well equipped for us to be able to do some cooking and spend time comfortably. Of course, the attraction to the area is the beach and the location of the condo is exactly as advertised. One short elevator ride and a few steps is all that it takes to get to the beach. The beach is wide and clean, and - for those who do not want to travel far - there are plenty of places to grab a drink or food. There is a restaurant and bar in the building. We found a couple of decent restaurants within walking distance (most notably an Asian one just a block away) and - for walkers - there is a grocery store within walking distance (Food Lion). Other road house venues are within walking distance. You can walk the beach for miles in either direction - including walking to the downtown pier. Rental chairs are available on the beach - but if you drive there you might be further ahead to bring your own. We will definitely book this place again for our next trip to Myrtle Beach. Having responsive owners is of great value when you are booking privately, and we cannot say enough good things about them based on our experience. Great view of the beach from the balcony. Free and accessible parking. Helpful front desk staff. All good.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks! I'm glad "our home away from home" met all your expectations! We look forward to working with you and your family in the near future! Oh, by the way.... That Asian restaurant is one of our favorites too! I look forward to that every time we visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Condo and Vacation

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

This was my first time vacationing in and going to Myrtle Beach. Found this condo on the internet after searching many others and was apprehensive for booking any condo rental place for my vacation and first-time with not knowing if it would be clean and feel comfortable, etc. but decided from reading what Michele put on her website and looking at the pictures and the reasonable rates they charged I decided to book it. When we arrived June 15, 2013, I was very pleasantly surprised when entering the condo with myself, boyfriend, and 2 sons, how nice the condo was. It was very clean and the view was awesome. You had the best of the street view as well as a very nice view of the beach/ocean. The bed was very comfortable. The linens were clean and there was plenty of towels. It was nice and cold. The kitchen was clean and I felt very comfortable cooking (which saves you money eating out all the time) and my boys were comfortable sleeping on the nice pull out sofa queen bed. We stayed 7 days and had no troubles whatsoever. It felt like our ``home away from home!`` which was nice to come off the beach during the day and take a nice shower that you felt comfy in and coming back after a night out to a nice comfy bed. Michele was very nice to deal with. She answered all questions prior to arrival and didn't hesitate to answer questions you may have had at any time prior to arrival. She even called while there to check in and see if all was going great and indeed all was great! I would definitely recommend her condo to anybody who wants a clean comfortable ``home away from home`` to stay during their vacation. There was a great book of things to do while in Myrtle Beach as well as entertainment place to go to. Upon arriving at home I checked email and Michele had emailed me asking how all went which was wonderful. Within a week of returning home I received the deposit back in the mail (quick Michele LOL). Again, a nice family oriented condo and very comfortable and nice view and quiet which was nice.. away from the hustle and bustle of the nightlife! In fact, we have booked with Michele for next year around the same time :) and we can't wait! Thank You Michele!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks! We are glad you enjoyed your visit to "our home away from home." I have reserved our condo for the dates you requested next year. We always give our return guests a 10% discount and no deposit required. I'll also give you the 2013 rental fee since you qualify for early booking for your stay in 2014. You can deduct the 10% off that rate. We will look forward to you returning next year!
It was a pleasure doing business with you! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice time at the beach

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2012

Owners were wondeful to work with! They were accomodating of our schedule - we arrived way before check in time and they allowed us in to early! Michelle also let us book a Tuesday to Tuesday week which most places will not allow. She worked with us on every step - keeping in contact to make sure that our trip was enjoyable.
The condo was centrally located which made it very easy to get around. They left directions and information for local stores, entertainment and restaurants. The pools were well maintained and I loved that they had a gym on site.
My husband and I enjoyed our stay there!

Owners response: Thanks Joy! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed Labor Day at "our home away from home". I'm happy that our notebook was useful and if you have any suggestions on how to make it better let me know! Don't forget our discount for return guests! Looking forward to helping you with your next vacation. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

Description of this condo is very good. It is located at 20th ave south ocean blvd which is a great location for myrtle beach. Just out of the bustling down town by 10 blocks, easy to get to the action, but far enough away to relax on the clearer beach. Hotel has a bar in it, the pools and otehr ameneties were kept nice and clean. My girlfriend and I had a great time, I would recommend this condo to any of my friends, very nice, thank you!

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks John!
I'm glad your vacation went well and you had a great time! Looking forward to working with you to plan your next vacation!
Thanks again!
Michele

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Condo #918

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our accommondations. The facilities were clean, well kept and I would recommend the condo to my friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation! Don't forget about our discount for returning guests. I will also give you $50 off your return visit for each referral! We look forward to helping you plan your next vacation! Thanks again!
Michele

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

deposit not returned

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We arrived at the condo 4 am, it was frizzing inside and smelling bad, like a mold or something that was kept wet for a while. Cleaning lady put air on lowest possible position. I have 2 small children, had to warm a place up. I turned off the air and turned heat on. As well I opened window and balcony door to ventilate the smell out. Within 10-15 min everything was wet. Floors, carpet, walls. Well I wasn't aware of the condensation effect. Then the smell became more unbearable. I called owner, that they said that they are sorry that it was that cold inside. By the way owners knew that we are coming early morning 3-5 am and didn’t notify cleaning lady. I they notified her about our time of arrival, she wouldn't assume that it would be hot outside and wouldn’t put air on coldest setting. Owner ordered company to dehumidify the air inside a bedroom, which was not livable anyway d/t smell. Another inconveniences, ouyr kids couldn’t take a nap, we had to arrange them to take a nap at our friends condo. It was noisy and bulky. The cleaning lady brought more towels and linens and mentioned that it was no charge. Well there were 5 more families who came with us and stayed at the same resort. Our room was the worst. Only condo where we were staying had carpet. All others condos have tiles, laminate, etc. NO CARPET. By the way carpet was so nasty, dirty and smelly that I had to put sheets to cover it up so my kids can play on a floor. Not best place to stay with kids because bedroom not isolated. When you walk in to the condo you walk in to a bedroom, then kitchen and living room. We didn’t use a bedroom because it was smelling like mold, and my hubby who is a military health professional urged me not to sleep there. As soon as I came back I requested a my deposit back. Instead they sent me an invoice for water extraction, extra cleaning fee. I guess for extra towels mentioning that there is no fee for that. Also they charged me for a clogged toilette, which was draining very slowly upon our arrival. When I was negotiating the price while booking, owner said that they need to keep their price up so they can compensate for a winter time when condo is not occupied, well not at my expense. My husband is in military, and he was away and still away d/t his duties. I took kids to a vocation which turned into a disaster. At this most vulnerable time of our lives, it was very disappointing that people can take advantage.

Owners response: We make our personal condo available so that other people can enjoy all that Myrtle Beach has to offer while enjoying the comfort of staying in a unit with extra touches not found in a standard hotel room. We hate to hear that your vacation was disrupted by humidity issues. Typically it is easiest to keep a beachfront unit comfortably dry in the summer by keeping the a/c running and the doors and windows closed. The a/c works to pull moisture out of the air in the unit, lowering the inside humidity. If you feel cold you can raise the temperature setting on the a/c, or even briefly switch to heat, but letting a rush of humid air in by opening the doors and windows will cause overwhelming condensation to occur. Even the most efficient a/c system cannot remove that much humidity quickly enough to maintain interior comfort. In this instance, continuing to open doors and windows during a major thunderstorm while the a/c was running despite instructions to the contrary, resulted in a moisture level so high it required a professional water extractor to bring the condensation under control. We strive to keep our unit as clean and fresh as our permanent home. While we anticipate a certain amount of cleaning necessary after a guest departure, one reason we ask for a security deposit is to cover any extra expenses related to cleaning issues or damage to our unit. In this instance, stains on the bed linens required multiple washes to remove, the toilet was clogged, the unit needed extra cleaning, in addition to the professional water extractor. As a good will gesture we will not seek reimbursement for our costs in excess of the deposit but we believe circumstances support our decision to retain the deposit. In all the years we have been renting this is the only time we have felt it necessary to kept a deposit. We pride ourselves in the fact that many of our guests rent year after year. Again we want every guest to enjoy their stay in our condo at Myrtle Beach. Our weekly rates are a great value when compared with other rentals in the area and typically rates at all vacation destinations are higher in the middle of July as opposed to off season when the rates are much lower. We appreciate guest comments, both positive and negative, as they help us to offer a quality product.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great one year anniversary

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Everything was spectacular! The room was comfortable and the bed was amazing too! The view was great too, you had the best of both worlds being able to see the ocean and the nightlife out on the street. The michele was extremely sweet and helpful. I would more than recommend this to anyone would wants a cheap but nice get away.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks! We will look forward to you spending your next anniversary at "our home away from home!"
Michele

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Fourth of July on the Beach

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

My family and I had an awesome week at Bluewater 918. Excellent location, pictures are accurate, transaction was so simple, and Michele was wonderful--helping in every way possible! Resort staff was awesome and friendly! Beach was beautiful, entertainment on the pool deck was wonderful, and we enjoyed the 4 hour fireworks show on July 4th--spectacular! Can't wait to visit again!

Owners response: Thanks Kelly! We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation at "our home away from home" and look forward to helping you plan your next vacation at our condo. We offer a 10% discount when you book again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review