reviews for: listing #59224 - San Juan Islands, Washington Cottage rental

The Stone Cottage- Amazing Views-Drive on Island
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Samish Island
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $195 /nt
    $995 - $1,095 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: January 21, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here at the Stone Cottage. It's so peaceful here. The early morning sunrise is beautiful- with the eagles flying in & out of the trees, it's amazing! We enjoyed long walks, taking in the awesome views and then coming back to a nice warm fire, very cozy. So glad we had the opportunity to come. Thanks so much Debbie & Dave!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful cottage getaway!

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

This was our first VRBO experience, and we could not have been more thrilled with our vacation to this magical little "Stone Cottage" on Samish Island. The owners, Debbie & Dave, were quick to respond to our emails inquiring about the property, and even phoned us to answer the questions that we had before we made the reservation.

We flew into Sea-Tac airport, rented a car and headed north on the I-5 for a little over an hours' drive, stopped in Burlington at the Fred Meyer grocery store for food, and headed over to the Island. The drive from Burlington is through beautiful fields and pastures, and it was wonderful not to have to take a ferry for that special island experience.

When we arrived at the cottage, we were met by Debbie, who welcomed us to the Stone Cottage and showed us the property. All I can say is, wow! The pictures on this site are good, but do not do the property justice. The cottage exterior is beyond charming, and is surrounded by towering pines, lush green lawns, and flower gardens. There are comfortable adirondack chairs on the front lawn that look out over the bay, a table with four chairs where we enjoyed many of our home cooked meals, and a gas barbecue. There were no bugs or mosquitos either!

This cottage has been lovingly restored, preserving the original hardwood paneling in the kitchen and family room, with a new white cottage kitchen, stone counters, butcher block island, stove, and dishwasher. The bedrooms are charming, the bathroom has a clear glass shower enclosure, pedestal sink and lovely new tile work. There is also a washer and dryer tucked away in the bathroom for those who stay several days. The livingroom is open to the cottage kitchen, has a comfy loveseat, a leather easy chair with ottoman, and has been decorated to the last detail with antique accents and furniture. Large picture windows look directly out onto Padilla Bay, where we curled up with our cups of coffee and watched the bald eagles diving and fishing in the bay.

If you enjoy watching wildlife, this is the place for you! We saw a doe and her two fawns in the yard each day, owls, bald eagles, red robins, great blue herons, gulls, and a even a little family of raccoons. The island is small and we walked each day along the bay and down on the shoreline where we saw active tidepools of crabs and fish. Some day trips we took were, Cascade Hwy drive, Chuckanut Hwy, Mt. Baker drive, and Friday Harbor Orca whale watching.

Thx!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Absolutely Fabulous!

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

The pictures do not do justice to this absolutely adorable cottage. As a child I spent many summer weekends on Samish Island, but had not been back for many, many years. A family reunion was being hosted on the island, so I started looking for vacation rentals. I was excited to find this cottage available, and even more excited when I actually arrived. The hosts are nice, the location is gorgeous, the cottage has been renovated inside so it is modern, but hasn't lost it's rustic charm. The decor is absolutely beautiful and is in keeping with the theme of the island. The cottage is also well appointed right down to luxurious towels and goodies for the bath, to a well stocked kitchen. It is absolutely quiet here as well. The landscaping is pretty and there is a nice picnic area out back with a great BBQ. My only regret is that I didn't have more time to spend here as I had be away at the reunion for the majority of the time I was on the island. Be sure to read the story of how the owners acquired the cottage, and then look at the framed picture that sits on the mantle. It's a great story! Just a note: Be sure to gas up your car and stock up your pantry before you arrive as there is no market or gas station on the island. (Edison has a great bakery and wine and cheese shop, however). I can't say enough about this terrific cottage, and I hope to be able to return one day!I highly recommend this vacation rental!

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your cottage experience.Thank you also for the opportunity to remind future guests that they will be leaving the chaos of traffic, malls and supermarkets behind when they visit Samish Island. We are very fortunate to have the quaint little town of Edison only 6 miles away. There are several great eating establishments offering everything from pastries to pub grub to fine dining.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"4th of July"

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

Great weather, great view, great cottage. Thanks to you!

Bill & Rhonda.

Also...fabulous parade on the 4th!

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Welcome"

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

Our anniversary spent here couldn't have been more precious and cozy. We felt a sense of welcome with fresh flowers on the table, soft music playing and an anniversary greeting to us on the chalkboard.We appreciated all of the fine touches - a comfortable bed with quality sheets and blankets, beautiful towels, plenty of dishes, great Blue Heron coffee, wonderful books and some favorite DVDs. We will come back to Samish Island, to this sweet and magical cottage. With gratefulness,Terry & Joyce

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tranquility

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2010

Thank you for this wonderfully magical place. It is beautiful, tranquil and soul-satisfying. We reconnected to family, to nature and to quiet.

Every detail in the Stone Cottage is thought out with style and skill, not overdone.

The view and location has rekindled our desire to live on the water.

Blessings,

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Magical"

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 29, 2010

Our trip to Samish Island and stay at the Stone Cottage was as magical as we hoped. We enjoyed walking the beach, dining in Edison and just soaking in the soothing view.

Peggy & Jerry
Baltimore, MD

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Celebrities"

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

We had a great time at the cottage, felt right at home the minute we set our bags down. We also felt like we were hanging with a celebrity. I don't think it's a stretch to claim that it's the most photographed house on the island!

We will be sure to recommend the Stone Cottage to family and friends looking for a special weekend.


Thanks again,
Jim & Kathy

PS. We donated a cribbage board to the game chest.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review