reviews for: listing #59250 - Plymouth, Massachusetts House rental

Fun in New England near ocean beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Indian Bluffs
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $900 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Good location and comfy but not five stars

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

This is a good property but I think all the 5 stars overrate it a bit. On the plus side: near to the beach; air con excellent (and you needed it); wifi good; comfy beds; spacious.

On the minus side: superficially clean, but don't look under the sofas - they haven't been moved for a long time; lots of 'stuff' in the drawers and cupboards e.g. somebody's nightclothes in the bedside drawer; several broken things - trash compactor (which was also dirty), toilet roll holder, couple of the lamps didn't work; curtain rail in bathroom not fell down because it wasn't screwed in, footstool rickety. Dishwasher full to bursting when we arrived and coffee machine not cleaned.

There was no rental welcome book with details of the local amenities although we managed to do some internet research.

I just think 5 stars should mean can't be faulted, and that wasn't the case with this house.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Cozy, Clean, Comfortable!

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

We spent a week at this beautiful spacious home. It was so quiet and relaxing. I highly recommend this VRBO listing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Valerie and John Mills from the UK

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

We enjoyed our comfortable stay in this clean and well equiped home. It is close to a good local supermarket and a good liquor store with a huge wine and beer selection and close to all the tourist attractions in Plymouth. Unfortunately for us the weather wasn't warm enough for us to spend time on the nearby beach just a 5 minute walk away but I can imagine that in the summer it is delightful.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely House

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

We had a lovely stay in September 2012 when we came to Plymouth for a wedding. The house had everything we could ask for (save for a hairdryer). Ron was really helpful and this house is truly a home away from home. We can't wait to come again and have provided the details to other potential guests.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House!

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

We stay in Plymouth every summer, and this was a last minute extra vacation. The McGanns were very accomodating, and the house was great. I think also the nicest of all the private beaches in Plymouth. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent vacation home

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

My family stayed at Ron's house in July. The house is very well equiped with everthing you need and is well maintained/decorated throughout and very clean. We had a great time at the house and the private beach which is a short walk up the street is also excellent. Would definitely recommend this house for a vacation rental. Only a short 15 min drive to Plymouth and less than an hour to Boston

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Plymouth

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ron's house in July. We stayed along with our grown children. We had a great time at the house, it had everything you could ask for. The private beach was a short walk up the street and we spent almost every day there. The house was very clean and modern and it made our stay that much more pleasant. Ron was very accomodating to us during our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Home!

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

This house was perfect for us and our 4 grown children. It had plenty of room and was everything the photos and descriptions portrayed. Nothing about the house surprised us and we felt very comfortable from the moment we walked through the front door. The location was perfect for going to the beach, visiting Cape Cod, taking a day trip to Boston or exploring Plymouth and the surrounding area. We were able to do all of that easily because of the location. It was also the perfect spot for us to just relax and unwind. It was clean, well-maintained and the owners were very accommodating. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone I know...it was that nice.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great home, location and owner

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2011

My husband and I rented Ron's wonderful home for four months while he had a teaching contract nearby. The house had everything we needed for our stay and we particularly enjoyed the proximity to Boston and Cape Cod. Although we were there in the winter months we walked the beaches in the area every day. Thanks to the owner, Ron McGann, for making our stay in the US so much fun and so easy.
Cara and Michael Peterman, Peterborough, Ontario, Canada.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Vacation Place

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

Owner was easy to work with and offered numerous suggestions on how to make stay more enjoyable. House was perfect for family gathering staying there and entertaining family from local area.

House offered all the amenities that could possible be needed with plenty of room both inside and out. Used grill on deck several times as weather was warmer than normal for this time of year. Even the beach was used several times to great joy of my grandaughter.

Proximity to area points of interest, Boston to Cape Cod, including numerous restaurants was excellent.

It was great to have the owner check in several times during our stay to be sure all was in order and if there were any problems.

Next vacation in area would definitely take advantage of this great vacation house.

Thanks Ron.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Most Beautiful Home in the Area

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

We felt so lucky to find this beautiful home. It was our home away from home for a week. We didn't want to leave when it was time to go. Ron was more than accommodating. The house was comfortable, spotless, and had everything you could wish for. We spent many nights around the large dining room table reviewing the day's adventures. All bedrooms are upstairs and the beds are quite comfortable. If some were early to rise they could shower downstairs and watch TV until others woke up. The laundry is in the basement. We got our workout with two sets of stairs, but over all we loved it and would return again. The neighborhood is very nice and the location very safe. We were close to Plymouth and close to the Cape. The beach a short walk away. Thanks Ron for renting your Dream home to us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Memorable holiday

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We spent a lovely 2 weeks in this extremely comfortable house which was really home from home with everything that you could possibly need provided.
The house is in a very good location eg great beach at the end of the road, supermarket 10 mins away, Cape Cod on your doorstep. We had some fantastic days out - whale watching fromm Plymouth, a cycle road along the Shining Path Cycleway near Falmouth, Battleship Cove at Fall River, Martha's Vineyard to name but a few. Boston would also be possible for a day trip although we had already spent time there before we arrived at the house so didn't bother doing the trip during our 2 week stay at the house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

The house is so nice, there are all that we needed. We were 4 adults and 4 children (between 1 and 5 years old). We are from Quebec city, Canada and we don't regret our vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for our family

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

This home was perfect for my husband and I and our 4 teenagers. Very well equipped with two full baths, 3 bedrooms. We cooked in most nights and had everything we needed. The house is centrally located all the major attractions are a short drive away. We enjoyed Boston, Martha's Vineyard, Plymouth, and whale watching. Most of all, we enjoyed the beautiful quiet beach which is just a short walk down the street. The homeowner was very knowledgable in helping us decide what to do for entertainment.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic in every form

Review submitted: November 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

I have just come back home from a fantastic week in this house. The owner was very helpful, even after a mix up with times, he has a great knowlegde of places for you to visit.
The house has everything that you need, just turn up with some food and thats it, so easy. There was plenty of room for my two teenage boys and myself. A beach at the end of the road, which was good for walking, seal watching, and meeting the locals on their walks or for just beating the boys at playing football.
Not to far for a visit to the Plimoth Plantation, Whale watching, or even to Battleship cove, all highly recommended for a visit.
There is a pizza shop (Cappy's Pizza) just down the road by the shops that makes great pizza's to take way, if you are not in the mood to cook.
Plymouth Bay Winery is another place to visit for some great wines, (not the normal house hold names) i would recommend the cranberry bay, but ha, try it for yourselve.
I would recommend this house to anyone, it was as it was described, and has lived up to all the reviews and more.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, spacious home

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

We stayed in Plymouth for a week in August, and loved this house! We come back every year, and this is by far the best place we have stayed. It has so much room, and was a quiet haven during the four days it rained. The house is well equipped, clean, and has a great deal of space along with all the amenities you could want. You need nothing but your clothes! It is close to everything - just a short ride into town - and is in a quiet, quaint neighborhood. The best part of our stay was our nightly walks down to the beach, watching the sun set, the full moon glowing off the water, or watching the surf pound against the shore during the storm. I would highly recommend this house to anyone wishing to visit Plymouth. The owner was very helpful, and even allowed us to stay an extra night.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Delightful, well equipped and relaxing

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

We stayed here for two weeks in August 2010 and were very impressed with the property. There is ample room for up to six and the standard of the property and the fixtures and fittings are all excellent.
Full built in Air condition in every room was a real asset in the summer, and the large deck and garden made in easy to take advantage of the sun.
Just 5 minutes walk down a quiet road takes you to a lovely sandy beach, which even in the summer in not crowded.
The owner is helpful and always available, though not obtrusive. He was also very easy to deal with, even from England.
Plymouth is a nice town with some good eateries and historic sites. Martha's Vineyard, Nantucket Boston and Cape Cod are all good days out.

I would recommend this property without hesitation; it lived up to everything in the description and other reviews.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: November 29, 2009   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

My family and I stayed during Thanksgiving week and it was the most pleasant vacation. The home is spotless and has everything you need. Just show up and relax. We'll be sure to return!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic house

Review submitted: November 10, 2009   Date of arrival: October 31, 2009

This vacation house can be recommended to all. It has a nice location, has everything you need (dishwasher, whirlpool,..) and it is in great condition. We spent a week in the house and I must say that we certainly enjoyed our stay. Boston, Newport and Cape Cod are well within reach. Overall, a great base from which to explore Massachusetts.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect house

Review submitted: September 5, 2009   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

It was our first time in Massachussets and we are sure we chose the best place to spend two weeks of holiday! We could visit Boston (only on hour away), Falmouth, Hyannis, Provinectown, etc.
If we preferred a more relaxing day, the beach was at the end of the street and have dinner outside on the deck.
The owner checked us in , and then came by a couple of times to see if everything was all right. He was really helpful.
The house was equipped with everything a family needs ,so clean and new, we just felt at home.Lovely atmosphere all around, we really enjoyed it and we will recommend it to our friends!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very nice place

Review submitted: August 10, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

The week we spent in this house was really great. We had enought place for 4 adults and 4 kids, the 2 complete bathrooms were appreciated, everything we need were there and even more. We felt like home and everyone we met were pleasant.

The beach is one of the most beautiful we saw in Cape Cod. This place feels like home. I think that you cannot find a house to rent for a better deal. I recommande this house without a doubt.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We will definately return!

Review submitted: July 24, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

What a perfect home to spend a vacation by the sea! After 20 years of cramped, noisy motel rooms, we rented this gem of a house. It is perfectly set up for our extended family; we brought our daughter & husband and their two young children. The downstairs is open and airy and the entire house is spotlessly clean and completely furnished with anything you might need during your stay. The owner checked us in and then checked back during the week just to see if we had any questions or concerns.

We settled in immediately and made our way to the beach for lovely evening walks or a daytime of sand and sun. I honestly can't think of one thing we needed that wasn't already provided with the house.

It was such a different vacation experience for us to make our own meals when we wanted to, do a load of laundry if we had the need and just stretch out and relax when we all got in in the evening. My only complaint was that the week flew by much too fast!

I would gladly recommend this home to anyone!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ideal Spot for a Family Christmas Gathering

Review submitted: April 20, 2009   Date of arrival: December 21, 2008

We spent a lovely Christmas here in 2008. There was lots of room for the six of us who stayed here. On Christmas day six more joined us for dinner, and there was still lots of room!

The house is on a quiet street, but is also located conveniently close to grocery stores. It is also relatively easy to catch a train to Boston, which a couple of us did one day.

The beach is only a five minute stroll away, and we went for some pleasant walks there.

The house was certainly well equipped. We appreciated the wireless internet.

We were delayed by a snowstorm, but the owner was quite understanding. He dropped by during the week to make sure everything was fine.

We definitely recommend this property and hope to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

History / Adventure / Fun - It had it all!

Review submitted: February 3, 2009   Date of arrival: May 24, 2008

The house was beautiful and very well equipped containing everything we needed. The house was ideally placed for sightseeing around Plymouth and see the wonderful history of early settlers. The nearby Plimouth Plantation was excellent for all the family. We decided to leave our car at the nearby station to travel to and from Boston which was a lot easier than driving. The owner was very welcoming and on hand to answer any questions we had. I would recommend this house to any other English travellers who want to see the history of the Early Americans - we all had a fantastic time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Fall Get-Away

Review submitted: November 3, 2008   Date of arrival: October 11, 2008

Your beautiful home was the perfect place for getting together with another couple to see the fall color and take in some sightseeing. We didn't have to look far--the yard had some gorgeous trees and the drives were fantastic.

The house was beautifully and comfortably furnished! The kitchen was well equipped. Nothing was missing.

Building fires almost every night was a perfect ending to some great days.

Kay & Dennis
October 2008

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fall Vacation

Review submitted: October 14, 2008   Date of arrival: October 4, 2008

Nice house, near the water.

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

A HOME AWAY FROM HOME

Review submitted: October 6, 2008   Date of arrival: September 27, 2008

Four adults shared this lovely home!....it had wonderful hardwood floors, beautiful kitchen with all amenities...a fireplace in the living room for those cool evenings....it was an easy walk to a very nice private beach....and the location was perfect....only 1 hr. from Boston, and 1-1/2 to Provincetown.....good eating places close by.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

GREAT RENTAL HOUSE

Review submitted: September 3, 2008   Date of arrival: June 21, 2008

This was the nicest and cleanest house we have ever rented. We really enjoyed the short walk to the beach and it was a great place to walk every day. The owner provided really good service and I would recommend this property to friends. The house was well stocked with paper goods, some food, etc. so we didn't have to buy every little thing.
There is alot of good restaurants close by.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: August 29, 2008   Date of arrival: August 16, 2008

Our family of four (me, my husband and girls ages 5 and 7) absolutely loved this home during our stay this August. It was meticulously clean, bright and spacious and had everything you could possibly need. The private beach was only a 10-15 minute walk down the street, but you could choose to drive and drop off/pick up if necessary. We were very close to the quaint town of Plymouth and only one hour from Boston. I would highly recommend this home. Owner was gracious and helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place, great location

Review submitted: August 28, 2008   Date of arrival: April 17, 2008

We stayed with two adults and a baby of 1,5 years at this very comfortable and clean house. The house provided everything we needed. The beach is only 200 meters away. The location of the house couldn't be better! Near to Boston (one hour), Cape Cod (half an hour), Providence (one hour) and Newport (one hour).
We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend it to anyone who will go to New England!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place

Review submitted: June 21, 2008   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

6 adults stayed very comfortable in this home. It was just as the description listed. We were close to attractions in Boston, the Cape and of course right in Plymouth. We were also close to ride the transit into Boston so we did not have to drive. The home was clean and very attractive and had everything we needed. We could walk to the beach. The owner was availble to us and provided good customer service. It would be a good place for families also. The bedrooms were upstairs -- which was not a problem for us. You do need a vehicle to get places you want to go. I would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review