reviews for: listing #59431 - Lihue, Hawaii Hotel rental

Oceanfront Honeymoon Suite - Kauai Beach Resort
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Hotel
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Kauai Beach Resort
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $119 - $139 /nt
    $833 - $973 /wk
    $3,570 - $4,170 /mth

sort by:

Accurate Photos--Nice Conda

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 19, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The pictures and information are 100% accurate. The resort is 10 minutes from the airport. The grounds & staff were nice.

You will want to drive into Kapaa or Lihue if you are looking for a restaurant other than the one on the property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Rental

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

We had a fabulous time at the Kauai Beach Resort. The view from this corner unit was a wonderful as it was shown to be. We saw fabulous sun rises and lots of whales from the balcony! The restaurant and the lounge were very nice. It was also nice that their was a guest laundry at the resort. It is convenient to visit both sides or the island and is close to many restaurants. We would highly recommend staying here.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Retired US Army

Review submitted: December 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our four-day stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. The condo we stayed in was very nice, a corner unit on the 3rd floor with view of the ocean and sunsets. The resort was beautiful and the staff was very friendly. I did find it odd however that this place was called a "BEACH RESORT" because although it is on the ocean front, it is not a "swimming beach". The shore line was too rough and rocky to swim or snorkel. To actually get into the water you have to go to another beach just down the road a couple of miles. The resort however did have the most beautiful swimming pools I've ever seen. Overall we did enjoy our stay and had a lot of fun exploring the island from the beautiful condo we stayed in. The owner of this condo is very nice, easy to contact and great to talk to. We would definitely stay there again if we go back to that island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Awesome Experience

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2013

The Kauai Beach Resort was a wonderful experience for us. It was located in a perfect location for my wife and I, a couple minutes away from Lihue and Kapa'a. The staff were very friendly and courteous, despite the fact that we were renting from a timeshare. They did not seem to mind. You could see and hear the ocean when the sliding door was open. It was amazing. The trade winds are constantly blowing a cool breeze through the windows. The resort itself is more of a business resort, with most people minding their own business and not a lot of tourists and kids running around. It was very peaceful. We were not huge fans of the restaurant downstairs. Either the fancy one or the more bar oriented one. We found them both to be very over priced and the food wasn't that great. I wish we could have the 3-4 meals we ate there back to eat at some of the fantastic restaurants on the island.

Although the room did not have a microwave, we still made due with the coffee maker for hot oatmeal in the mornings and we maxed out the fridge to capacity. The bed was comfortable, as was the couch/chaise lounge.

We highly recommend this property for people who need a base camp to explore all of what Kauai has to offer.

The owners were very helpful, and called us to make sure we got in safely and that everything was as it should be.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

True Paradise Experience

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

The room is gorgeous, the view spectacular, the food and service excellent. Enough superlatives? The beach is not swimmable due to a rock ledge, but the 4 pools and 3 spas make up for that. This resort is somewhat remote from town and restaurants, so a rental car is definitely required. The owner is wonderfully flexible and easy to work with. We booked all our outings with the concierge service, which was also excellent. Overall-- Fabulous Vacation! We will be back1

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Room With A Gorgeous View!!!

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

I was beyond pleased with my week-long stay in this suite. The booking was easy and very friendly, check-in was no problem at all (even with this being a privately owned condo at a large resort), the view.... oh, the view!!! It was incredible!!! The room itself perfectly suited our needs. You do not get the daily room service, but it is easy compensated form with the rate you pay. Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Minnesota Hawaii lovers!

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

Wow! What a wonderful vacation! The Kauai Beach Resort was beautiful and our room was perfect. We loved the view and the quiet side of the building. Pools were awesome and staff was very gracious. The room was exactly as described and had everything we needed for a great stay. We bought a cooler for our beach trips and left it for the next guests. Great location! Central for day trips to North Shore or South Shore. Highlight of our trip was Zodiac boat down Napali Coast - we left out of Hanalei with HoloHolo charters. Great time! Whales (late in year for them) turtles, dolphins, snorkeling, sea caves. Too much to mention!! Concierge at hotel seemed only interested in getting us to do time share seminar. We found much better deals ourselves. Snorkel Bob's was great to work with & we've always had the best luck with them! Ended up booking boat through them for additional discounts. Thank you to MaryBeth for being so accommodating and helpful with our trip! We'll definitely return again! Sad to leave beautiful Kauai.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Fabulous!!

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay in this condo at the Kauai Beach Resort! The owners were great to deal with and made our reservation very easy. The resort has everything you could want, a beautiful view, nice pools and hot tubs, and the pool bar was a wonderful treat as well. The location of this resort is perfect for travelling either way on the island and very close to the airport. We had no trouble finding our resort even though we arrived and picked up our rental car at night, and the short drive was a relief after travelling so far. I would deinately recommend this condo to everyone. Even though we didn't have our kids with us, I just know they would have loved it there. For anyone who has never booked through VRBO, it couldn't have been any easier dealing with Marybeth. Mahalo to her!!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Had a Great Time!

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

The "honeymoon suite" at the Kauai Beach Resort was as described...Decent view of the ocean, clean, well-maintained, good location in relation to attractions on the island. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because the air conditioning stopped working and the humidity was kind of miserable. Other than that, my wife and I really enjoyed our stay. The resort was beautiful, and it was just a short drive to either Kapa'a or Lihue. Overall we were very pleased with our stay, and the owners were very pleasant to work with when arranging our visit. We would definitely recommend this property.

In our five days on Kauai, we tried to pack as many activities into our stay as we could. Restaurants to try: Mema (excellent Thai food), Olympic Cafe, Bubba's Burgers...And make sure to get a shave ice! Activity-wise, first and foremost, use the concierge at the resort to book them because the discounts are appreciable. Our favorite activity by far was the helicopter tour of the island. A bit pricey (about $450), but worth every penny. We also recommend setting up a kayak tour on the Wailua River, and shoot for the earliest time slot to get the least crowded waterfall pool experience. For beautiful beach and forest scenery, we recommend driving along the north shore and making many stops along the way to take it all in.
All in all we had a great time and were pleased with our vacation in Kauai. One thing to keep in mind...The resort charges about $13 per day for parking, and they're currently doing some construction in the parking lots, so it's almost impossible to find a parking spot, which can be frustrating. This, however, should not deter you from considering this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

honeymooners 2nd time around

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

Our stay there was excellent. The listing photos were very accurate, room was clean and well maintained. We would recommend this property to our family and friends. Also, we would highly recommend the helicopter flight over the entire island. Magnificent.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Lihue

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

Very close proximity to the airport, makes for an easy arrival. The location is close to Kapa'a, which has good food and shops. The location is also good because it make exploring the south side and the north shore doable. The resort was very nice with great amenities. Marybeth was extremely helpful and accommodating in our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great room & great rate

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed the room. The grounds are okay - nothing jaw dropping. The beach is really nice and very close to this unit. The resort is centrally located on the island, so you can get around pretty easily.
The owner was wonderful to work with. She made me feel really comfortable about our stay and gave us contact information if anything was to go wrong.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We were more than impressed with our stay!

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

My husband and I just spent the first week of our honeymoon here, and we couldn't have asked for better surroundings in the room or the resort! The room is very private and quiet, and the outside stairs are right out the door making for quick walks to the pool area. The resort itself was immaculate and the grounds were absolutely gorgeous. The bed and pillows were very comfortable allowing us to catch up on much-needed sleep. We couldn't believe how gracious the staff was, they make you feel like you are old friends. Our favorite meal of the trip was the Sunrise breakfast in the Terrace restaurant. We also recommend Duke's in Lihue, it's surfing motif and location right on the beach makes you want to learn how to surf. The resort location is central, so exploring the island was a breeze. We were completely relaxed by the time we left - we'd definitely come back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing honeymoon destination

Review submitted: February 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

My wife and I had an absolutely fabulous time staying in this condo. The resort had so many great amenities including 3 pools with waterslides a delicious restaurant and the staff was extremely friendly make sure you say hi to Derrick one of the front door men. The concierge was very helpful with planning activities. The room had an amazing view of the ocean and was quiet as it was the end room. We will for sure be staying here again!! The owners are extremely friendly and helpful in questions and reservations. This room is highly recommended for anyone coming to Kauai. It is also centrally located to shopping sights and beautiful beaches.

Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful experience!!!

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2010

We recently stayed in this room for our honeymoon. The view was lovely and the room was very comfortable. The resort is great too! There are several pools, we loved the sand pool next to the ocean. Location is close to airport, but you don't hear planes or feel like you are less than 2 miles away. Some highlights of our stay include:
-Nice towels!
-Wine glasses/coffee mugs in the room
-Comfortable bed
-Beautiful view
-Very friendly staff at resort
We would LOVE to stay here again. You can't beat the price here. I can almost promise you won't find a room with this view and level of comfort and cleanliness for $100 a night.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

great stay for the price!

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2010

We stayed on the Island for 2 weeks,.. figured we'd stay in a nicer resort on the first week and stay here on the second week... turns out the nicer place was here!

We had stayed at the Marriott for the first week, we even found a cockroach in our tub there!

But not here, everything was clean, Beth was so nice, there was all we need to have a comfortable stay. Besides, What a view! it felt as if we were the only ones in the building from our balcony! the sound of the ocean at night was so neat,.. its close enough to the airport to catch your plane, but far enough so you don't have to hear the planes landing and taking off. Truly recommended, it was for our honeymoon and I hope to be able to do it again for an anniversary down the road ***** :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 12, 2010

Kauai Beach Resort was a wonderful place to stay! I think this resort would appeal to a wide range (young couples, young families, and/or retired folk.) It was fairly quiet and not crowded during our stay. The grounds/facilities were well-kept, and the unit itself was clean and felt comfortable. The fitness area/gym was very modern and had a good variety of cardio machines, weight resistance apparatuses, etc. The owner has done a great job of keeping the unit neat/tidy and offering amenities i.e. coffee maker, hairdryer, glassware, and good-quality kleenex and toilet paper. (I really hate the cheap tissue/TP that you normally find in hotels. Just a little thing that made a big difference with me!) The view from the room was awesome! Every morning the BF and I had coffee while sitting on the balcony. The rates that the owner offers for this unit are a great price for the value you receive. The location of the resort is about 10 minutes north of the Lihue airport, and a good "middle" location between the main sights to see. It really felt like my home away from home!
If you want to go to a more "fancy" restaurant, I highly recommend The Beach House Restaurant in Poipu. The best seafood I had on the island (perfectly cooked) and only $30 per entree. (Same prices as Keoki's Paradise, but a million times better quality!) Request a window table at sunset. Some good "local" places are Hamura's Saimin, Tip Top Cafe, and Kountry Kitchen (all in Lihue or Kapa'a). If you are looking for a good happy hour and/or steak, go to the Market Street Diner in Lihue. (99 cent budweisers ALL DAY and a delicious ribeye!) Kintaro's (Lihue) has great sushi, and stop by the Moloa'a Sunrise fruit stand for yummy sandwiches and smoothies (by the 17-mi marker driving north).
If you like hiking, try the Sleeping Giant trail and the Kalalau trail (the first portion). Other cool sights include Queen's Bath, Secret Beach, and Kipu Falls.
Here's a money-saving tip: drinking can get expensive if you always buy at the resort. Go to a Walmart/Long's Drug/ABC store and buy your own H.A. and mixers. You'll save a ton!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review