reviews for: listing #59550 - Venice Beach, California Studio rental

Luxury Studio 4 blocks to beach, in the heart of it all!
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $140 - $199 /nt
    $985 - $1,180 /wk
    $3,980 - $4,580 /mth

sort by:

Our 2nd Time Around at this Studio on Rose

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 4, 2014

We LOVE this rental. Location, location, location!!! We stayed here 3 years ago and without a 2nd thought this was where we wanted to stay on our return to Venice Beach. It's like we never left. It's big enough for 2 people. We rent because my wife loves to cook and it's all she needed to make breakfast, light bites and dinners; we would eat on the patio, relax and enjoy the vibe Venice Beach offers. A parking spot is a plus. Living right on Rose Ave is also a huge plus. It is a studio; the patio area gives space to move about and around without feeling closed in. The bed is comfortable; TV, Wi-Fi, AC, grill; patio area are all as pictured. As last time, figuring out the sliding doors can be a challenge especially when using the kitchen; they all slide to expose different areas; fridge, kitchen area and closet space are all behind those doors. The bikes are GREAT and we used them to ride to Santa Monica and to the Boardwalk to enjoy people watching and the music that fills the air on any given day. The couch folds to a bed; so you could fit 3 fairly comfortable. We would suggest a different handle on the shower, had to find the "sweet spot" for warm or it would be hot-hot or cold. There's a place you can do laundry for long stays. We took a day and drove the Pacific coast line to Laguna. We also went into LA on Sunday for the Original Farmer's Market. A Whole Foods is nearby; we took dinner "home" to watch the Kings OT game last Sat. :-) The boardwalk is just a few blocks away, so you have the best of everything with this location. There is a food truck most days parked across the street; great Mexican food! Baby Blues BBQ on Lincoln just south of Rose; the best BBQ we've ever had. Cerveteca a couple blocks away on Rose; they have a great Happy Hour and nice staff. Flake is a nice healthy spot for a quick breakfast or lunch; lots of eateries right on Rose to select from; we do NOT recommend The Firehouse. We liked that we could enjoy all Venice Beach has to offer and walk home in the evenings. There's always a lot of activity on Venice Beach; we know what to expect in the way of having bums nearby; however, we always felt safe. We have used VRBO/Home Away to rent around the world and would recommend this studio to anyone who asks our advice. We certainly have enjoyed sharing our pictures of “Our place on Rose”. We'll be back, right here, on our next visit! We had it all, thank you again for another wonderful stay!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your return business, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great location, quiet, and very spacious.

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 7, 2014

It was just my by myself, so I was generally interested in security/safety, location, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and other entertainment. The unit was spacious enough for me and my things for a 2 night stay. The beach was a little bit of a schlep (about 10 minutes walking slowly), but Main Street was right down the street with several eating, drinking and shopping options. Venice beach itself was nice in the morning before everyone arrived. The only downside of the location and Venice beach in general was the homelessness. A lot of people with varying degrees of craziness and yelling at themselves, but most kept their distance tending to their issues. I had no problems, but would expect others might not be as acceptable to the situation. Otherwise, the location was excellent, parking was easy, and access/egress was no problem. If you have to get anywhere, the traffic is pretty miserable between 3-7pm in / out of Venice, so plan accordingly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely and convenient.

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay here. The location was withing walking distance to the Whole Foods, Cafe Gratitude and a great small coffee shop called, Groundworks. The bicycles were great and it is a short ride down to the beach. The property was very clean. Beautiful linens and plenty of clean towels for the bath and the hot tub ( which was awesome). The property is right on Rose Avenue so it's a busy street, but once the windows were closed, it was quiet inside. John was very prompt with responding to out needs. I would definitely recommend this to a friend.

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place!

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

We had a great stay on Rose. The beach is super close along with some delicious eateries right up the street. We didn't need to move the car for a few days, walked everywhere. There is plenty of street parking and bikes available. It was wonderful to have our own hot tub and the porch is private.

John is a wonderful tenant. We would stay in one of his places again in a second.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I flew over from the UK to stay for a week before heading over to Vegas for a friends wedding. The stay was perfect, we loved everything about it and hope to return next year! The private deck and jacuzzi were great to ease away the jet lag and bikes great for exploring and finding our feet on venice beach. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great apartment, Even better deck!

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days back in June and really loved it. The place was small but comfortable, and decorated nicely. Our favorite part was the deck, with a sitting area, and our own personal hot tub. The location was amazing! We were within blocks of a ton of bars and restaurants, as well as the boardwalk and beach. It was great having our own secure parking space. We would definitely stay here again!

Owners response: Glad you had a great vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

My husband and I rented this unit for a long weekend, we brought our small dog with us. We had a fabulous time. This unit is close to Main Street where most of the shopping and restaurants are located. Even though it is on a busy street, it was completely quiet in the evenings. We enjoyed the hot tub every evening. We were happy to have bikes located on the property so we didn't have to transport ours. This place is a quick 5 min walk to the beach. We enjoyed the fact that it was so close to Santa Monica, the people watching is great in Venice but sometimes you just want a brake from it. Even though this is a studio space, there was a ton of storage. We come to LA a few times a year and will be staying here again. The entire rental process was easy, the owner was quick to reply to all communication and offered suggestions for dinner.

Jennifer and Anthony

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

So Relaxing!

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

We visit Venice every summer and stay in hotels, but this year we were so thankful to have found this great bungalow for less than we have paid otherwise! Everything about it is just perfectly suited for a beach get-away. The beach, shops, great restaurants and a Whole Foods, all within walking distance.

Oodles of storage space to unpack and stay organized. We really enjoyed the deck especially at night time and the spa was an extra that made our stay super relaxing. Very quiet area and pleasant neighbors. The owner is accomodating and available if needed. We really did not want to leave!

Owners response: thank you so much, I'm glad you had a good vacation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Stay - Location, Location, Location!!!

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

We just stayed here and will definately return. Our trip was to visit our daughter and son-in-law who live and work in Hollywood; however we wanted our own place and space. This Bungalow was great!! We walked to the beach every day. Walked to Whole Foods and LA Coffee Roasters. Walked to Abbot-Kinney where we enjoyed a great meal at Gjelina. One of our best times was taking the bikes out for a ride to Santa Monica, a trip to the Farmer's Market and on Tuesday - a FOOD TRUCK rally. A taco bus parked outside our front gate most days....the ceviche tostada is a huge draw, people flock to this truck. The spa was wonderful and helped my surfer husband and son-in-law warm up after a morning of surfing before I served up a killer Surfer Breakfast with food from Whole Foods. John was a wonderful host. The parking is prime for anyone that knows this area. Walks to the cafe's looking out to the beach was a daily routine. I would definately recommend this property to anyone that likes the beach life, enjoys going out and about. Having a "train" kitchen saves money; all the basics are there to make a breakfast, lite bites and a great dinner using local farm ingredients and the grill and patio set outside allows room for eating and enjoying the fresh air and vibrant activity that Venice Beach is known for. Thank you John....We will be back :-) Felix and Vaun

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great stay in Venice

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

For all who are looking for a place to stay in Venice this is a highly recommandle option. We stayed there with four people and though it has only one bedroom there is enough space in it. Plus a large bathroom and the porch with its whirlpool, which was like an extra room to us, as it is nicely walled to the adjacent street. The character of the place is less one of an appartement but more of a small house. It is well equipped and its greatest asset is the proximity to the beach: a couple of minutes to walk to the sand, the waves, the bars and the shops.

The included bikes came in handy for the morning's short ride to the next whole food supermarket and its breakfast supplies.

It is not a quiet place as there is a road next to it and people come walking by on their way to the beach. But it is far from being noisy - it is lively instead and gives you a good feeling of what life in Venice is about.

Contact with the owner and payment procedures where friendly and easy.

We'd go back any time and will certainly recommend it to friends who intend to spent their holidays in Venice.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

We had a great stay, can't beat the location!

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

So many pros in staying at this property! The location is killer, 4 block to the beach and great restaurants/shops & 4 blocks the other way to a huge Whole Foods - dotted in between are many gems worth checking out! The condo itself is modern, clean, and fairly quiet . . . there is a bit of small aircraft traffic overhead from the Santa Monica airport, but I found it soothing and far less offensive than the occasional motorcycle roar you find anywhere. The use of the beach cruisers was a huge plus for us, especially considering what renting them close by will run you. The hot tub was a fun touch, the cool evenings made it all the more appealing. Though we only cooked at the condo one night, it was great to have the option and even better to have a refrigerator at hand to store leftovers and beverages. The owners were very attentive and helpful, even giving us recommendations for happy hours and sushi. The very few cons for this property are hardly worth mentioning. It is in the middle of a busy, quirky community (which personally we loved). The satellite tv was a little wonky the few times we had it on during the day, I'd assume from the sea breeze since at night it never seemed to give us issue. Overall we loved our time in Venice and at this property, and would return in a second.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate the review. DirecTV has corrected the reception problem. All 200+ channels are all received beautifully.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Nice venice vibe

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

The property was clean and easy to find. It had bikes available to use and a hot tub. It was comfortable and had all the basic needs from a kitchen standpoint, all worked. The bathroom actually has 2 sinks which is great along with a large shower area.Water pressure was fine as well.The only things are that I did not find the bike lock keys till I was almost ready to leave. They are behind a full length cabinet that I did not realize you could open right inside the door. And the lighting at night on the deck was too bright. You would want to get candles, ideal if they included that for the rental. There is off street parking belonging to rental, but the gate opening routine is better managed if there are at least 2 people. I actually had no trouble parking in front or on the side road.The bed was comfortable and there is enough room to store your clothes. It is extremely close to the best whole foods I have ever been in. Also, recommend the Rose Cafe and Market down the street, very good food and nice vibe. Also love the sandwich and soup place just off the beach called Zelda's corner. I did not use the gas grill but definitely would if staying longer, it had the tools available. Nice awning and a palm tree provides shade on the deck.I was never able as well to figure out how to get heat on in the place; there was a ceiling light that was hanging down inside the closet area, and while the gate to the property worked fine, unable to secure the door to the main studio property from the outside; when inside, able to pull it in enough to close it with the lock.The owner was responsive before I came, but when I asked some questions via text and email, not respond while I was in the property. I would ask in advance what is best way to get in touch while staying there before you go. There are steps going up and down from the entrance at the street. Not and issue but for some might be important to know. Plenty towels, beach towels, beach chairs and even boogie boards to use.To walk to abbott kinney is a bit long, so plan to go by bike or have a car if you want to do the shops and get to many of the local eateries. You will be able to see the people staying next door while on the deck if standing, but I enjoyed talking with the other people staying next door.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We think that this review might have been a 5 out of 5 had we not made a big mistake. We responded immediately to the tenant’s email inquiry about the heat and the internet address. Unfortunately, we erroneously responded to venicelocalliving (our email address) rather than to the tenants email address, so she never received our answer. We did not hear from the tenant after our response, so we assumed that everything was resolved. We certainly understand why she was upset.

The heat and air conditioning both operate from a remote control and are very easy to use. We could have explained this in a second, had we known. We fixed the door immediately as soon as we learned that is was difficult to close. The maid reported the issue immediately after this tenant moved out.

We are extremely sorry for this tenant’s inconvenience and misunderstanding, especially because we take pride in both our accommodations and in our responsiveness.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Clean and thoughtful!

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2010

I stayed here for a few nights before moving next door for a few months (see my review for unit 252561!). This studio was great... clean and new and what an amazing neighborhood. The layout of the apartment is thoughtful and makes great use of the space. And the shower was awesome!

It was the perfect place to be in the heart of it all. Thank you Nicole!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: September 22, 2009   Date of arrival: September 9, 2009

Very clean, bright space. Owners were very accommodating. It’s Venice – there are lots of things to do (close to Santa Monica)! Great location - walking distance from the beach! The bikes make it that much easier to get around. I highly recommend this cottage for a romantic getaway. I’ll be back!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review