reviews for: listing #59573 - Charleston, South Carolina Condo rental

Recession rates/ Historic 1858 newly updated pied-a-terre
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Historic District
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1 - $1 /nt
    $1 - $1 /wk
    $1 - $1 /mth

sort by:

Great studio in Charleston

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful studio apartment in October and had a great time. It is small but very well equipped. It even had a washer and dryer. The bed was super comfy; something we appreciated after a long day of touring. This rental is located near The Hominy Grill where we enjoyed shrimp and grits. Yum! We are walkers, so we walked to town and back each day but for those who choose not to walk, there is a free trolley you can ride. Charleston is such a beautiful and historic city. Jerry gave us some great recommendations on restaurants and activities which helped us plan our days. He responds very quickly to email and phone messages which was so helpful. One suggestion we have for newcomers to Charleston is to take a walking tour. You learn so much! Our guide Al had more than 20 years of experience and truly was a wealth of knowledge. We also took a carriage tour, visited Fort Sumter and went to Folly Beach and Sullivan's Island. We also toured Magnolia Plantation. There is so much to do in Charleston and the surrounding area. We hope to be able to stay in this studio apartment the next time we visit Charleston. It fit our needs perfectly.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place to Stay in Charleton

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

First trip to Charleston and we could not have found a better place to stay. Jerry told us about a couple of great places to eat and we loved them. We ate breakfast everyday at Hominy Grill which was just around the corner, great restaurant. We walked just about everywhere, had to wear off all the seafood we were eating. Every night we sat outside on balcony with a glass of wine. Enjoyed the city and apartment immensely.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT place to stay in Charleston!!!!!!!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

This was a great place to stay for our first trip to Charleston. The apartment is in a beautiful historic neighborhood within walking distance of just about everything but the beach (we did hire a car service for that adventure). There are several restaurants within a 1-3 block radius that are well worth a visit(or 2): Hominy Grill, Lana's, and Xiao Bao Biscuit, to name a few. And it was only a 6-7 block walk to the north end of King Street-lots of great places to check out there.
The apartment itself was amazing-the perfect size for 2, had just what we needed, kitchen, very comfy bed, iron, A/C, wifi, cable tv, a great place to rest after exploring Charleston all day on the owner's bikes. It also had a few things that we didn't use but were glad they were available, washer/dryer and hair dryer.
The owner was very responsive and our entire stay from booking to checking out was so easy...we will definitely find our way back to Charleston and this pied-a-terre again, and would highly recommend it to others!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Excellent rental

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

Perfect size; great location. You are a block from the free trolley line but grab a coffee at the Hominy Grill and just walk to King or Meeting Streets. Then hop a trolley on the way back when you are tired. That little couch in the picture is wonderfully comfortable and the bed has lots of pillows to make lounging easy. The washer/dryer was very handy to do a couple of quick loads at night. Nice neighborhood. Be sure to get to Halo down the street for bakery items.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

The Best Location

Review submitted: October 7, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

This is one charming little place and really makes a Charleston vacation special. It is close to the free trolley system stop or you can even walk downtown to the Historic District. Parking is scarce in Charleston and you have your own private off street parking spot. The bed is very comfortable and the neighborhood seemed very quiet and getting a good nights sleep was never a problem.It is also an very easy location to get onto the major thoroughfares when leaving Charleston on day trips. The owner was very helpful in suggesting restaurants, historic sites and day trips in the area. We would definitely stay there again as Charleston is a great place to visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Perfect weekend in Charleston

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

We had a perfect last minute getaway in this charming rental that had been recommended by friends . It is small but so well put together that it's just a delight,with its beautiful polished antique floorboards and wonderful fixtures.We arrived late but just in time to catch the last serving in Hominy grill a 1 minute walk away. Next day we used the owners bicycles to explore around the the battery area a 5 min cycle away and up and down historic Charleston getting a better look that we ever had before then when visiting downtown hotels and just walking.Sat night we dined in Lana's an amazingly good restaurant again 1 min walk from our rental. Altogether from its excellent location , great price and free use of bikes as well as a really beautiful exceptionally clean place itself we felt we had found a winner and will definitely return.The owner was easy to work with and we will be recommending it to friends as a great place to go at a great price.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

great location!

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

This place is quaint has everything you would need! The location is awesome and you can walk or bike to most places you would want to go. We went for a girls trip and packed 3 girls in the room.We didn't feel that crammed and loved this place! We would definitely recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

great location!

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

This place is quaint has everything you would need! The location is awesome and you can walk or bike to most places you would want to go. We went for a girls trip and packed 3 girls in the room.We didn't feel that crammed and loved this place! We would definitely recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Compact and Accomodating

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

I called the owner on several occasions before ever going to Charleston, with questions, etc...and he was wonderfully accommodating. I had never been to Charleston and he fed my excitement and anticipation even more with vivid descriptions of places and suggestions on where to eat, etc...
There were 2 bath towels, 2 washcloths and 1 hand towel, as well as complimentary toiletries (toothpaste, shampoo and soap) provided. There were 3 rolls of tissue and a box of Kleenex. I took my own paper towels and extra toilet tissue. There are dishes provided, but I recommend taking paper plates, etc..It's hard to wash and rinse dishes in the single compact sink and only one kitchen towel to dry with. The air conditioner doesn't cool as well as we'd have liked, but it was much better than the outside heat. The room and bathroom were very clean. We would definitely stay again.
We made coffee and had cereal,etc..most mornings and ate snacks in the room. The one thing really needed would be a small folding table or folding snack trays that could store under the bed. It would be nice to have a trash pickup schedule or a dumpster to throw away accumulating trash in the unit.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Cozy

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Pictures are right-on. Was quite small, but due to the updates and cleanliness made that a non-issue. Loved having the washer/dryer combo. After a snafu with the unit not being ready when we got there and having to wait a couple hours and a miscommunication regarding the combination to get the key, we were pleased overall. Strongly suggest more towels for two people (only got 2 bath, 1 hand, 1 washcloth), and more TP available, especially for a longer stay, and some type of luggage holder(s). Owner could provide more pre-visit communication. Not as close to activities as we had thought, so didn't walk from there as much as we did during our prior trip to Charleston. In student area so could be noisy on weekend nights, as well as being on a fairly busy street and near hospital so heard medical helicopter quite a lot at night. Maybe ok if you keep a/c on only with no open windows. Outside space is very small and needed a good cleaning. It worked for us as we didn't spend much time in unit, but wouldn't be a place to spend a lot of time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Bang for Your Buck

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

We have stayed in many accomodations in the Charleston area, all much more expensive than this cute, compact condo, which looks exactly as pictured. Our only suggestion would be a small chest for clothes and a few more towels. A real bonus was the free parking space just beside the steps since after one considerably long hike to Upper King Street and beyond, we elected to drive into town. In the neighborhood we enjoyed walking to the nearby Hominy Grill, Halo, and Lana's restaurants. We'll definitely be back although we never could figure out how to access the bikes.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

nice cosy place

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

Nice place, newly renovated, walking distance to everything. Enough for a couple. You can cook, but why would you, when so many excellent restaurants are there in Charleston. I think they are better than in New Orleans.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Charleston studio

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2011

This studio condo was in an excellent location w/ restaurants and downtown w/in walking location. It was very small but adequate for a stay where we did not intend to cook at all. The place was clean. It was on a second story w/ a very sloped porch. It was located close to a medical center and ambulance sirens could be heard in the night. All in all was a perfect command center for our Charleston visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review