reviews for: listing #59605 - Breckenridge, Colorado House rental

Luxury Lodge On Blue River/Free Skiing & Nights
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $425 - $1,300 /nt
    $2,730 - $8,400 /wk

sort by:

Great Place

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

We had a family reunion of sorts with 15 people staying at the house and skiing. 4 familes with 8 adults and seven kids. Everything was great. We enjoyed being far enough outside Breckenridge to enjoy the quiet and close enough to get the slopes in a jiffy. The rooms for the adults are in a different part of the house so the kids could play and be loud without disturbing the rest of the group. There six bathrooms and we used them and never ran out of hot water. The owners were nice, responsive, and helpful. The medallions were great for skiing (a considerable extra with lift tickets costing $130).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Cabin in the Mountains

Review submitted: February 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 2, 2014

We decided to take our parents to Colorado for their 50th wedding anniversary. Their 4 grown kids, 4 grand kids, 1 great grand kid, and their beloved dog. After a lot of looking we chose this beautiful lodge. We cannot say enough wonderful things about this house... It exceeded our expectations! First and foremost it is immaculate and well appointed. Starting with the entry there is certainly enough space to store all of everyone's gear. A large mud/coat room off the garage houses a boot/ glove warmer , hooks for coats and lots of cubbies. Enter into the main part of the house- spectacular! Kitchen so large and has EVERYTHING we needed. Large family room with fireplace and comfortable leather furniture. We really liked the master bed and bath right on the main floor for our parents so they didn't have to climb steps. All other bedrooms with their own bath were superb... Plenty of room in the huge showers (with rock floors that made you feel as though you were in a spa. The kids had their own "wing" of the house with bunk beds, bath and game room. We loved the hot tub in the evening with the snow falling. It is just a beautiful place. Beautiful views and quiet setting away from town.
Thank you so much to the owners for sharing your home with our family to make a memorable vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely beautiful!

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

The home was beautiful and definitely surpassed our expectations...it it very well built, appointed, clean and very comfortable...our family had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay...I would definitely recommend the property....and the lift tickets are a very nice bonus!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mindy

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 5, 2014

Ten of us went on a ski trip to Colorado. We stayed at Cold Water Creek Lodge for a week and it was just awesome! The lodge is situated about 15 min away from Breckenridge ski resort. We skied at Breck, Keystone, Vail and Beaver Creek during our stay.

The place was exactly what we expected and more. We enjoyed the hot tub almost everyday after skiing. We had a problem with a garage door and Mark, the owner responded right away.

All of us had a great time.
Thank you Mark and Kristy. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Very Merry Family Christmas!

Review submitted: January 12, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We stayed at Coldwater Creek last February and when we were planning a big family Christmas, we knew this was going to be our place! The house is really outfitted for 16 people-- no shortages of mugs, or dishes, etc. We filled every bed and had a great time! Plus the house is big enough that even when you have 16 people, you aren't getting in each other's way all the time. We had all ages-- from 15 to 90-- and the house suited everyone. It was so easy to fall out the door and go skiing at Breckenridge or elsewhere, or slap on snowshoes and hike around in the National Forest that is literally right out the back door! The gas fireplace is easy to use and makes the house so cozy, the hot tub is fantastic. Where else can you soak in a hot tub in a national forest!? The teenagers really used the air hockey table and the television in the den off the bunk room; it was nice for them to have an area that was all theirs! This house is so welcoming, comfortable, and easy-- we can't recommend it highly enough. It made Christmas 2013 really special.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Family Gathering Spot

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: November 11, 2013

Beautiful! Wonderful! I will repeat many of the previous comments, but there really is no other way to describe this property. When you first turn down the road off of Hwy 9 you know this isn't going to be your typical vacation, and once you come around the bend and get your first glimpse of the home, you know you made an excellent choice! You will wonder out of all the homes listed on VRBO, how it was that you were lucky enough to pick this one. The pictures of this home are fine, but they just can't do it justice. The owners obviously had a clear idea of what they wanted when they designed, built and decorated this home. We first entered through the garage and had a straight view through the foyer into the dining room and then into the great room. And when I say room, there is room! Our family did not feel closed in or run into each other. Another thing we noticed right away is how immaculate they kept the home. Each window had a beautiful view. I admired the majestic Quandary Peak out the living room window over my cup of coffee each morning - heavenly! And the kitchen? I loved loved loved the kitchen. There is so much counter space and it is stocked so well, it's perfect for preparing big family dinners with others. I would make pasta, while my Mom chopped up salad and my cousin prepared the next morning's breakfast, all while the men supervised as they were gathered around the bar area with their drinks. Having the master bedroom on the main floor was perfect for us, as my Mom has a hard time with stairs, and we loved the view of Red Mountain from the upstairs master bedroom. Our first snowfall in the house started one evening and it was gorgeous! We went out to soak in the hot tub and you couldn't ask for more beautiful surroundings. I was struck by the quiet, and I could still see the moon through the clouds shining on Quandary Peak. Just perfect! The next morning we woke up to find the driveway had already been plowed, and then they came back to shovel the front and back patios! How convenient! We had our two Corgis with us and they loved running around outside. The location of this home is great as you are surrounded by nature and very close to the trails, but yet you are just off the main highway and it's only a five minute trip for some shopping, hitting the slopes or to visit one of the fun restaurants. I can't thank the owners enough for their help in making this such a memorable & wonderful vacation for me & my family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better Than We Ever Imagined

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

With two of our three kids, their spouses and their kids (6) living in southwest Denver, we decided it would be easier to have our family reunion in Colorado. There were lots of choices in Breckenridge, but this home appealed to us because of its location right next to the Blue River. We arrived late afternoon in late October on a splendid sunny day. The kids were giddy about having their own wing and the adults were ecstatic about their cozy riverside bedrooms, each with a luxurious bathroom. All the furniture is comfortable and inviting, but doesn't make you worry about damaging it. We spent a lot of time in the kitchen cooking our breakfasts and dinners. It was great having the chairs around the kitchen counter so we could participate with the cooks with our early morning coffee or our evening glass of wine. The cookware was high quality and abundant and the kitchen was roomy enough to have lots of people cooking or cleaning up at one time. The storage rooms near the entryway made it easy to quickly store all the ski and swim gear. We used the game table for jigsaw puzzles which were a huge multi-generational success. The two things that stand out in my mind are the brightness and multitude of stars we could see away from the city lights and the sound of the river and the cool mountain breeze that we went to sleep to every night. The owners were incredibly easy to work with. Their including two medallions with the house were worth a lot - used them for free skiing and a 50% discount at the Breckenridge Fitness Club. My kids and grandkids think I am one great grandma for finding this house and we will definitely go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible Home for our Family Reunion

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

There were 9 adults and one infant in our party. The lodge had everything we needed for an incredible stay including 20" of fresh powder the second night we were there! Our family ranged in age from 70 years to 15 months, and everyone had a great time. Facilities were perfect for us. Aside from the expected "beds were comfortable..." stuff, the house was stocked with plenty of pots and pans, dishes and glassware for our crew. The bonus was the free ski passes which also gave us discounts on snowshoeing, and tubing in Frisco - Strongly recommended. If you are coming from the "Flatlands" like we did - South Carolina, Florida, London, Curacao, and even Calgary, you may need to give yourself a break to adjust to the altitude, but once we overcame that bump in the road, everyone had a fantastic time. We used the hot tub, and were overwhelmed by the stars at night. We heard coyotes and saw deer in the neighborhood. Breckenridge skiing was unbelievable, and the snow we got made conditions simply great. Some of our group also enjoyed a half day of winter horseback riding in Fairplay, about a 1/2 hour ride south of the lodge.

Dealing with the owners was a breeze. They were extremely friendly, and answered our questions promptly every time. The maintenance person was there to plow the driveway out after the huge snow dump, and did an outstanding job not only clearing the driveway, but making sure that we had access to the hot tub and that the sidewalks were cleared.

If you go, you'll find everything you need as far as supplies, food and drinks in nearby Frisco where there is a Wal*Mart store and a Safeway grocery store. There is also a grocery store in Breckenridge. We drove standard sedans that we rented in Denver and didn't feel that we needed anything bigger or 4WD.

We're already trying to figure out our schedules for next year for a second visit. It was that good!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fabulous family getaway

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

We're still lamenting our return to normal life after several days at the Cold Water Creek Lodge. We were amazed when we entered the Lodge. It was even more spectacular than shown in the photos, and the entire house was spotless. It was great to have a garage to keep our 2 cars out of the snow. Entering from the garage you find a large hallway and a spaceous boot room with floor to ceiling cubbies, benches, coat hooks and a large boot/glove warmer. All 8 of us could have warm boots to start the day.

The hallway opens to a huge kitchen, dining area and living room. We enjoyed the kitchen so much that we cooked in every night. It was equipped with everything you could need for a large group. We didn't know if we liked having 2 dishwashers more or a cupboard fully stocked with spices, oils and many of the random items you're usually missing when cooking on holiday (same for the fridge). The large dining table made it inviting and comfortable for us to linger together over dinner. The leather living room furniture, fireplace and flat screen TV mounted above it also made a large space quite cosy.

All 4 couples were thrilled to have their own en suite bathrooms. The bedrooms were nicely spaced apart, comfortable and quiet. We didn't even venture into the huge bunk room and entertainment space designed perfectly for young folks, except to take a peek. The hot tub was one of our favorite amenities. It was so beautiful to soak and watch the snow fluttering down. It was perfectly hot even though it was minus 0' outside.

Although the Lodge was a few miles from Breckenridge we didn't mind the drive at all. The road was plowed early every morning. It was a beautiful drive in and out each day. We would love to return in a different season to explore the surrounding property. It's really a breathtaking location. We're already scheming to see how many times we can return and with whom we'll share this fabulous house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Family Retreat Rental!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

Every year our extended family of 15 meets in the Colorado mountains for a weekend retreat. This year we selected ColdWater Lodge and could not have been happier with the house, location and owners. Our group ranges in age from 1 - 79 and we need a pet & baby friendly rental with a main floor master. This home has everything we needed plus enough bathrooms that only the kids need to share one in the bunk room. Several family members stated that this is the best rental we've ever found and we are making plans to return for future retreats.

The family is still complementing me on finding this great house -- especially the kids who loved having their own space in the bunkroom and the flat screen TVs everywhere so that we could have age appropriate TV content going for everyone. Further, the river and trails are beautiful and this is currently the only home in the area, so it is very peaceful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What a view!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

What a way to start off the New Year! With a view of Quandry Peak out my bedroom window, I woke up each morning awestruck. I spend a large amount of time in the mountains, and this by far, has been the best place I've stayed. The ameneties can't be beat. We had everything we needed in the kitchen, the six bathrooms in the home were perfect, and the bedrooms each have their own flat screen television. Did I mention the hot tub?? Luxury under the stars. Ahhhhh. I will be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Beautiful location - fabulous owners!

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

I hosted a photography retreat with 15 ladies from throughout the United States in late September. The fall colors were AMAZING and the property sits right by an aspen grove, which was stunning to photograph! We couldn't have asked for a better location! We spent days learning about photography, shopping in Breckenridge and enjoying each others company in a serene environment.

The owners and managers of the property are top-notch, very good at communications and very professional. The house is in immaculate condition and very spacious for even 15 adults! I highly recommend renting out their wonderful house!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful Home, Beautiful Location!

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

My extended family and I (13 of us) really enjoyed our stay in this home. It is so well-equipped to comfortably accommodate a large group. It was perfect. The owners have thought of everything! (multiple dishwashers and refrigerators, humidifiers in most bedrooms, so many bathrooms, no one ever had to wait to shower--and no one EVER ran out of hot water during a shower). The home is beautifully decorated and is stocked with everything you need away from home. The location was great for hiking, shopping, dining and enjoying other activities that were within an hour drive such as whitewater rafting and a really cool train ride in Leadville. The firepit and hot tub were great for unwinding in the evenings. We also enjoyed the fishing in the Blue River and also just the mere sound of it rushing right outside the window. This is such a GREAT place to vacation with a large group. We were sad to leave it and cannot wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Excellent Vacation

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

I can't say enough about how nice this home was. It was fully stocked with everything we could have needed for our 4 nights of family reumion and skiing activities. We had blue skys for 2 days and a foot of snow for the kids right in the middle of the trip. Everything was fantastic. Very clean, high quality, romantic, and kid friendly. we will be back next spring. This place is perfect for the family to jion together for a reunion

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Super!

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2011

We had a fairly large group (11) stay at the Cold Water Creek Lodge in early February for a 10 day ski trip to Breckenridge. I can't speak highly enough about this beautiful house. It's location, size, and layout were perfect. The owners made everything so easy. We all had a wonderful time. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Christmas vacation at Cold Water Creek

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

My family and I spent 5 nights at Cold Water Creek Lodge and loved every minute of it. The house is wonderful - beyond what we had expected plus the scenery was amazing! The whole area was blanketed in snow and was simply beautiful. We had 11 adults and 2 teenagers and there was plenty of room for all. The hot tub was much needed after a couple of days of skiing. Every aspect of this house is well thought out - from the heated floors to the game room for the kids to the glove & boot dryers. The kitchen was modern and well appointed. The house offers both access to a secluded area for quiet time plus large gathering areas where the whole group played games.We hope to go again and see Colorado in the summer and the fall.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Home

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful trip to Breckenridge. This house is outstanding, Mark and Krysty have really done a great job with the layout of the house and all the small touches which makes traveling in a large group so much easier. We went to ski and it is 10 minutes by car to Beaver Run with a car park right on the slopes. The medalions were great so two of our party skied for free.
The hot tub was very relaxing after a hard day on the slopes, and the view just stunning.
We would recommend this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great location and beautiful house

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

We just returned from spending a few nights at the lodge. Is is better than even the pictures show! Not too far away from town but perfect if you want a quick shot over Hoosier Pass and some peace & quite. The place was clean and the flatscreens & audio functions instructions were easy to understand. The owners were helpful and everything worked well when we arrived. I would recommend to a friend or family member. We fished mostly near the South Park area so the location was great for us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Incredible retreat on the river!

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

What a wonderful home. Everything from the drive in to the tiny details were superb. We stayed with a group of friends for a fall getaway. The kitchen was incredible. We actually had a gourmet chef in to cook our meals and he was thouroughly imresssed. This home is very spacious and was incredible. The picures do not do it justice. If you are looking for a luxury home with room to breathe this is the place. The views of Mt.Quandry are breathtaking from the home. The owners were very professional and the home is in immaculate condition. The layout was very spread out so that you fellt as though you have privacy even with a group of people. The sounds of the river flowing around the home is tranquility at its best.

I highly recommend this home and will be staying here again.

Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A "WOW" Home

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

This home lived up to the description and more! It sits in a beautiful area enhanced with a quiet serene river in the backyard--a wonderful place to relax and enjoy friends and nature. The layout of the house was perfect for our family..the grandchildren loved their own wing complete with a game room and the adults thoroughly enjoyed their separate space. The kitchen was "first rate" and was a pleasure to use as it was so completely furnished.
The hot tub and the fire pit were a big hit too-a fine way to end a day! We celebrated our "50th" anniversary there and what fond memories we will cherish of our great stay in a beautiful home with our family.

The owners were very professional and we highly recommend this property. Mary and family (Denver)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

OUTSTANDING HOME

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

We would HIGHLY recommend this home to anyone wanting to stay in or around Breckenridge. We had 6 adults and 5 children (and dogs). The home was easy to find from the directions. Owners are quick to respond to questions and were very courteous involving every aspect of our stay. It was so much more than we imagined it would be. We fished multiple times a day in the cool, clean river behind the house, slept with the windows open and listened to the river at night, and truly enjoyed such a peaceful getaway. The children disappeared into the room called "the bunkhouse" and were completely entertained by the wii, air hockey, and fun closet to store their stuff, and even the adults had serious air hockey tournaments. We cooked and enjoyed big meals in the well-planned kitchen (we loved having 2 dishwashers for our family!!), and we drove to Breck several times for some wandering around and summer activities. The hiking trails were incredible and we truly enjoyed every part of this home. Thank you for building such a fabulous retreat with so many wonderful amenities... rustic yet perfect. And we are more than grateful to you for allowing pets in your home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Highly Recommended!

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2009

We have NEVER stayed in such a wonderfully, warm and inviting "rental". Your home is absolutely magnificent and we hope to return often! We almost didn't want to write about it so it would remain a secret hide-away, but this is definitely a home away from home! The kids throughly enjoyed having 'their own space' and we couldn't even hear them enjoying the use of the game room. Our labrador totally enjoyed herself as well! Something for everyone!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 21, 2010

"THIS IS TRULY A JEWEL!!!" A fabulous private home that has warmth and welcomes you with all the amenities you can think of, an exceptional place to get away with your family where you can relax. The views from every angle are absolutely spectacular! Right outside the back patio, the Blue River literally runs through the property. My husband and son had a blast fishing and hiking! We really look forward to staying here again. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: January 6, 2010

We stayed at Cold Water Creek Lodge for a week, it
was beautiful. It was important to us to have a
place that was close to skiing, downtown and
upgraded amenities - this place was perfect. The
rooms were spacious and the game room was a hit!
It was also nice to be able to do some shopping and
eating out close to where we were staying. Our
family would recommend this to anyone looking for
a the best spot in Brek.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

My family had a wonderful stay at the Coldwater Creek Lodge during the New Year's holiday. The lodge was immaculate and well maintained and the funishings were top notch (GE profile and monogram appliances make cooking for large groups so much fun!).

The views of Quandary Peak out of the huge living room windows were just amazing, and the whole space was warm and inviting.

If you have children, the kids' bunkhouse is just fabulous, giving them their own space to romp around - our children just really felt special having their own space.

Overall, this is just a very beautiful, spacious, relaxing cabin. I cannot recommend it highly enough, and cannot wait to make a return visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

Great place for multiple families to gather for a ski week-end. Perfect set up for each and everyone to have thier own space, yet plenty of room to gather in the great room. With the heated floors and fireplace roaring, at the end of a day of skiing, nothing could have been more perfect. We would highly recommend this wonderful home to anyone who wants to gather with family/friends for a few days or a week of fabulous skiing, and/or shopping in Breck! We will definately be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 16, 2009   Date of arrival: September 16, 2009

WOW!!! The Cold Water Creek Lodge is amazing!! Very spacious, comfortably appointed, and in an amazing location! Being away from the city, but still within 5 miles, and having the river run through the backyard was so relaxing. We appreciated having our own bathrooms, a spacious kitchen, and the kids' bunk room and rec room.

Thank you for opening up your gorgeous home to us, we will definitely be back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 14, 2009   Date of arrival: September 14, 2009

We just returned home from a wonderful week-end at the Cold Water Creek Lodge. The house is unbelievably beautiful. Very well appointed in every way. The kitchen and bathrooms, private for every room, are top of the line. The beds are extremly comfortable. We had teenagers that stayed in the bunk room, that we never heard, even with all the air hockey and gaming going on! All of this isn't even the best part of the house..which would be hard to top! The location located right on, I mean right on, the Blue River. Sitting on the back porch watching the river run past you breathing in the sweet mountain air is delightful. The views are unbelievable! Sitting in the great room, the view of Quandry peak is by far the best view one could hope for. Needless to say, we had a terrific time and hope to return there many, many times. You will NOT be disappointed in this wonderful rental home. And I didn't even mention the radiant heated floors, large garage, hot tub under the stars, sounds of the river gurgling outside your window at night...to many wonderfuls to mention here...you just have to experience it for yourself!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review