reviews for: listing #59663 - Manhattan, New York Apartment rental

Apartment-Two Bedrooms Open Onto A Quiet Green Backyard
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Chelsea
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $330 - $380 /nt

sort by:

Fantastic Location

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

I would totally recommend this property - very clean, comfortable and well maintained, with lovely decor. The owner was helpful and made us feel very welcome. As first timers to New York, we knew nothing about the area we would be staying in, and were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves in the middle of such a charming and safe area, with everything we needed at our doorstep.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

bob

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

every thing was wonderfull great apartment and location we will return

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Most Lovely Little Haven!

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

Just returned from a trip with my two adult children and husband. Found the apartment to be clean, spacious and attractive. Loved being a little out of the hectic tourist areas and really enjoyed the neighborhood (which includes great bars, restaurants, plenty of little grocery shops and spas!) Will definitely return....owners were organized and attentive and the space is designed beautifully.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Stay in June

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

We spent 5 days and 4 nights in early June . It was a post graduation splurge for the family . We had used VRBO in the past with travel close to home , but this was an adventure outside of our comfort zone.......
In short , we loved it ! We spent the ride home from the airport planning our next trip back . All aspects of the stay were so very positive I feel a gushing of superlatives wouldn't be real useful so I will try to be succinct .

- Andreas met us upon arrival with all the info and instructions we would need for our stay ,
- The garden/courtyard is an oasis after a long day of being tourist .
- The apartment sleeps 4-5 comfortably if you are a close family . Sleeps three if you are a singles .
- The property is very clean . The linens and bedding were just crisp with freshness. Everything was in good working order .
- The Highline Park is the place for a post meal walk and a relaxing " stare into the sky" or " stop and smell the flowers"
- Best Breakfast in Chelsea is Coppelia's on 14th . great service , good people .
- We enjoyed Peter McManus's on the corner of 19th and 7th Ave. for beers . Had too many :) Felt safe limping home
- Moran's on 10th Ave for quieter more mature cocktails .
- Cab ride to Theater district was about 11-12 bucks tops .

We will return and would suggest it to our family and friends .

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

Spectacular apartment! Very clean, perfectly located and comfortable. Andreas was very helpful with lots of information on where to go, where to eat, what to see. I hope to stay here again in the future. It would be #1 on my list.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

couldn't be better

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 13, 2010

Fabulous place to stay! It was quite nerve racking booking a rental from overseas and wondering if it would all work out - especially because there are scammers out there, but it turned out to be better than we could have imagined! It is excellent value for money and works out far cheaper than a hotel, plus the kitchen is generously sized by NYC standards. We were a family of four with adult children and there was plenty of room for us all. Chelsea really is in the middle of it all - you can walk to everywhere and the fabulous Chelsea Market is just around the corner which is excellent for food. Andreas was very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. would recommend to all!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Warm, welcoming and central

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 21, 2010

Fabulous, incredible and comfortable. Three of us stayed here and just loved the location, the privacy and the all round warmth of the apartment. This is our first visit to NYC and we couldn't have chosen better, the beds are comfortable, the kitchen extremely usable and Andreas is welcoming and very easy to get along with. Do yourself a favour and choose this apartment as you will not be sorry! We will be back.
Louise, Pascalle and Jenny

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

absolutely recommended!

Review submitted: December 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 31, 2010

very very nice, with a beautiful private garden. Fully renovated, clean, comfortable, and all the best you can expect from a rental apartment.
Andreas is very helpful and very friendly!
There is no negative things to say about this apartment!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

A perfect place to stay!

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

We have been to NY several times but this place was for us the best to stay. The discription is accurate regarding location amenities and lay-out. It was clean en there was enough room foor the 4 of us (including spacious cubbords for our clothes and other stuff).
Chelsea is a real New York neighbourhood, you're in the middle of it, and it's close to Meatpacking and the Village. Nice restaurants (try RUB BBQ NY, 208 West 23rd Street when you are a meatlover). Further several Italian places.
I would shurely recomend this property to a friend (I already have!).
Janny/Holland

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Hard to beat

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: January 18, 2010

First - the other reviews are correct: there is little more to say about the apartment.

So what can we say? The owners are really great: helpful, available (live on-site) and friendly (I know it's a New York thing - but these guys take it seriously). It's a very good neighbourhood for restaurants: Italian, Vietnamese, Cuban, Chinese et al. The apartment has a first rate kitchen – which we didn’t use! The heating system was perfect, and the snow was very white – especially in the garden. There are 190 art galleries within about five blocks. There are subway stations within three blocks – to everywhere; including to the Oyster Bar at Grand Central Station (don’t miss it: best place in town for lunch!).

Security? Don’t leave the apartment keys at MoMA – you will never get back in!

For first timers, don’t miss: the Frick Collection is the best small museum in New York (it is to New York what the Rodin Museum is to Paris); the Frank Gehry building corner of 19th west and 11th Avenue (don’t be tempted not to enter the foyer and play with the electronic map: you’ll know what I mean when you get there); the Strand Bookshop on Broadway just south of Union Square (very cheap to send stuff home!); and if you’re quick, there is the best Bronzino drawing show ever mounted – at the Met.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

An Absolute Dream. We Just Loved It.

Review submitted: January 12, 2010   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

This apartment was everything it promised and so much more. We could not have been happier there. The place is spotless and clearly just renovated at great expense. It's quiet and felt more like home than a vacation rental. It's in a great part of Chelsea. We spent the whole time on foot. It really does open directly onto a beautiful private garden but we were there in December so we didn't spend time out there. In spring it'd be delightful I suspect.

The owners live right upstairs in the townhouse so we could ask them questions or for recommendations anytime and they were happy to help. We'd come back in a heartbeat and whole-heartedly recommend it! Just can't say that enough.

Enjoy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Perfect apartment in Chelsea

Review submitted: December 29, 2009   Date of arrival: October 4, 2009

I stayed here in October for two weeks - there was four of us two adults and two teenagers. We could not fault the apartment it was as described or even better.
It was very clean - well equipped kitchen bathroom was large - the lounge area was very comfortable and the backyard was a bonus. Beds were comfortable and plenty of towels were provided. We felt very safe in the apartment. The apartment was extremely quiet once and the street is attractive. The location is very good the subway was a short walk and there are plenty of good cafes and restaurants,shops within a short walking distance. The owner was very helpful and the booking process was easy. Highly recommended and I will be back. I have recommended it to friends who are staying in April.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review