reviews for: listing #59778 - Blowing Rock, North Carolina House rental

Blowing Rock Retreat
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Misty Mountain
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $450 - $800 /nt
    $2,000 - $4,000 /wk
    $3,500 - $6,500 /mth

sort by:

Winter Fun

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 9, 2014

We just returned from a fun week at Blowing Rock Retreat. The house and views are amazing! I always travel with Clorox Wipes and go over everything as soon as we arrive. This house was so clean that I didn't have to use them. The house was very comfortable and we loved watching the winter Olympics on the big movie screen in the basement. While we were there, it snowed just about every day. Pat, the owner, gave us directions to the closest sledding hill and even had sleds for us to use. This is a great vacation house and we hope to return soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind review. You said you wanted snow ... and I'm delighted that you got plenty of it! Glad you loved the house and we look forward to having you back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Home with Everything You Need!

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

This home is beautiful! The location was wonderful and convenient. The views were beautiful...I loved waking everyday looking at Grandfather Mountain. We enjoyed visiting Blowing Rock, Boone and Valle Crucis during the day but looked forward to coming back in the evening for hot dog roast/smores in the fire pit and watching football on the huge tv screen. My family enjoyed NCSU football one night and Panthers football the next! My daughter and I also got to enjoy the hot tub the last night under the stars! We enjoyed the trip with my son and his wife, my other son and my daughter. Also my parents were able to join us. We had 8 total and there was plenty of room! All ages 69-12 had a blast! Wonderful memories! Thank you to Pat O'Brien! It was a pleasure dealing with you! We look forward to coming back one day!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular all around!!

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

This home is absolutely wonderful. We arrived with two families totaling 4 adults and 6 children. The home was in tip top shape, extremely clean, beautifully decorated and plenty of room for all of us! The view was my favorite part, just spectacular! The home is close to town and easy to access. Pat was very easy to work with as well. Looking forward to staying again sometime later this year.
Thank you!

Owners response: Thanks for your kind remarks. We look forward to having you back at the Blowing Rock Retreat!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

best place to stay !!

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

Fantastic property, amazing amenities and awesome view. We went with a group of 0 people and had a great weekend.
Communicating with the owner was easy and fast, the property's location is beautiful as well as the view.
The amenities are new and work great, so is the whole mountain style decor.
The only issue we had was that the food delivery guys took a long time, but with the hot tub and the projector no one minded waiting.
I would recommend the property anytime!
Had a great weekend! Can't wait to go again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Wonderful Mountain Home

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

We decided to take our 3 boys to the mountains for the weekend and rented the Blowing Rock Retreat. We got there late but it was easy to find and the lockbox was easy to access. We woke the following morning to an amazing sunrise and our boys were so excited. The views from all 3 floors of this luxurious home are amazing. The kitchen is top knotch and the decor was very updated but retains a lodge/cabin feel. The leaves were changing color and it was a perfect weekend. In the evening, we built a fire in the fire pit and it was a great deal of fun. I am an avid college football fan and enjoyed watching my favorite team play on the HUGE 13 foot television screen in the multimedia room.

We had a great weekend and this home is fabuous. We will definitley rent this home again.

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words about the house! We'd love to have you back in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Polar Bear House

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

After having driven over 14 hours, we arrived at this very beautiful house, nestled perfectly in the Blue Ridge Mountains. The views were breath-taking and the hot tub offered some much needed relaxation after the long drive. My children, Laci 2 and Ethan 7, were so excited about jumping in the hot tub that evening and enjoyed the view and the fresh mountain air.

The next day were went out and about in the quaint little town of Blowing Rock and the surrounding area and planned our activities for the week. There are many activities for the children in the area including kayaking, hiking at Grandfather Mountain, Gem Mining and seeing the caverns, just to name a few. But every day after our activities, it was such a pleasure to come home to the Polar Bear House and relax.

You may be asking, why do I call it the Polar Bear House, well I'll tell you; the first day after we were out I mentioned to the children that we were on our way home. My two year old daughter, said no Mommy, I want to go back to the Polar Bear House. The house is outfitted with so much nature and wild-life both inside and out, that she named it the Polar Bear House, so that is what we all starting to call it.

The bedrooms are beautiful and very comfortable, the movie room on the lower level got very good use. We relaxed and had movie night every evening after either cooking out for dinner, relaxing the hot tub, toasted marshmallows in the fire pit or just playing the backyard. It was such a wonderful and relaxing vacation!

Thank you Pat!

Owners response: We're delighted that you had a great stay at the "Polar Bear" house.

Thanks for your kind words. We look forward to having you back to the Retreat in the future!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Gordon, Donna, Charlie, Karen, Scott, Donna

Review submitted: September 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2009

Everything was as described in the offering. Gracious amenities--very clean which is a must. Great location and astounding view of Ol' Grandfather. It was the perfect rental for us as we have been doing this for many years! We have found our home away from home. The owner was very accomdating to provide any answers to our questions.

Gordon

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words. We look forward to having you back at the Retreat!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: September 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

We have gone to the mountains for years and find that many rental homes that call themselves "rustic" are really run down and dirty. This house is charming and perfect for the mountains ... and also immaculate. It is beautifully furnished and offers amazing views throughout the house. The firepit is the nicest we have ever seen ... and the full wall TV/theatre was a huge hit with our group.

We'll definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

The Perfect "Cabin"

Review submitted: September 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

We have gone to the mountains for years and find that many rental homes that call themselves "rustic" are really run down and dirty. This house is charming and perfect for the mountains ... and also immaculate. It is beautifully furnished and offers amazing views throughout the house. The firepit is the nicest we have ever seen ... and the full wall TV/theatre was a huge hit with our group.

We'll definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Perfect!

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 11, 2009

Me and my husband and two other couples decided to rent the Blowing Rock Retreat and we were 100% satisfied. The home was absolutely perfect inside and out. It was so clean and well cared for that we felt we were the first renters. The home was newly renovated and the media room was amazing. With having 2 other couples along we were each able to have our own master bedrooms with full baths, which was a must for our trip. The views were absolutely perfect! We only went for a long weekend but I wish we had rented for an entire week because we just had such a wonderful time. The next time I go to Blowing Rock I will be renting the Blowing Rock Retreat!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Vacation Home that Has It All!

Review submitted: September 23, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

My family recently stayed at the Blowing Rock Retreat and had an absolutely wonderful vacation. The house is fantastic -- pictures just don't do it justice! Decorated beautifully with everything a family needs to be entertained. Gorgeous view from all of the porches, hours of entertainment in the hot tub, roasting marshmellow at the fire pit, board games at the gaming table and last but certainly not least... the awesome media room! My kids begged not to leave!! I highly recommend this vacation home to anyone and am certain that we will be back very soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: September 22, 2009   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

I reserved this house to surprise my wife for our wedding anniversary, and we had a fantastic weekend. The home felt like a good size for us, but would have been equally as comfortable for many more people. The interior looked like it had been designed by a decorator, and all the dishes and linens were clean and ready for us when we arrived.
Great amenities in the house including free wifi and phone service, fire pit, hot tub, and huge movie theater in the basement. The three large decks provide great mountain views, and we enjoyed having breakfast outside each morning. The property was about a 5 minute ride from downtown Blowing Rock, close to many restaurants, shopping, and highway 321.

Overall we had a fantastic weekend. Pat (the owner) took great care of us, responded quickly to questions, and went out of his way to make this a very special trip. I would highly recommend this home to anyone wanting to visit the NC mountains, and we can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous Home!

Review submitted: September 15, 2009   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

This home was everything promised ... great views ... great amenities ...and in excellent shape. Everything was first class.The movie theater was tremendous and the fire pit created some great family time.

It's close to downtown and easy to find.

We'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review