reviews for: listing #598 - Beverly Shores, Indiana House rental

Indiana Dunes Beach Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $50 - $250 /nt
    $650 - $1,200 /wk
    $1,400 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Our family had a great time during our stay here. The weather was fantastic ! The beach was awesome ! It was only a short trip away to pick up supplies, although not much was needed as the home is stocked with most every necessity. We had plenty of space to spread out and relax. Very comfortable. We'll definitely return for another visit soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect getaway!

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

I could not have had a more perfect time at this lovely home. Nothing too fancy but plenty of room in a beautiful setting. Close enough to anything you would need but you feel like you are a world away from the hustle and bustle. All the supplies you could want were there. The other reviews gave the details so look at those for details. We stayed off-season and it was worth every penny! Communication with the owner was easy and accurate, he was very helpful! i hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely & Peaceful Place to Spend Some Downtime

Review submitted: October 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

We found the Indiana Dunes Beach Home to provide everything we needed to feel right at home, offering plenty of space and a convenient layout. It's fully stocked with all the basics - dish soap, hand soap, shower soap & hair conditioner, etc. (no blow dryer, so if you need it, bring it). The few neighbors in the area were very quiet, and they apparently love the area too: walking their dogs, or strolling up and down the street. It's simply a charming area and a great location. Even though it rained half the time we were there, the house was a great place to relax and read or watch a movie you've never seen (it's got Xfinity service). The squirrels scrambling through the tree tops all around the property were fun to watch, too.

The kitchen is well-stocked with essentials for food prep and cooking, and offers a gas range. We cooked 90% of our meals at the house, leaving us more time to enjoy the great outdoors and the tranquil, private beach. We are extremely familiar with the area, and have tried nearby Inns and B&Bs but just never found the feel we were looking for; the house was a great fit for us.

The town is great for walking, hiking and bicycling over a mixture of flat and hilly terrain, surrounded by nature! You can enjoy a swim or a picnic and scarcely see another person! The town's Public Beach sees most of the action. The house is a short trek to a private stretch of shoreline.

I can only imagine how great it would be to stay at this home in winter, with X-country ski rental available at the nearby Indiana Dunes State Park, so no need to BYOB (bring your own boards)... and then return "home" to relax infront of a roaring fire. And the horse-riding trails behind the former State Park Visitor Center on Kemil Road at Hwy 12 double as X-country ski trails in the Winter, offering moon-bright nights on the snowy trails (but BYOB).

The town's South Shore Train Station Museum exhibits art by locals. You'll find plenty of handy info guides at the house - especially handy for birding. For water-view dining, we enjoy "The Pierside Grill" at 12 on The Lake (in Michigan City).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great escape

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

We returned for the second year to this great escape house. Very quiet and peaceful, beach within 2 minutes walk, well stocked kitchen for family use. Train station to get to Chicago within 10 minutes stroll too.

This house isn't "The Ritz" but is a perfect place to get away from it all. Comfy beds, lovely open fire and 2 acres of grounds!

Amazing value for money too, I should know as I visit the US from London 4 times a year and rent at various locations.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful escape

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

We just returned from a week at this rental which we also had last year. It is a great getaway from the hustle and bustle of life, so quiet and peaceful and 3 minutes walk to what can only be described as a wonderful beach. I 3 days we saw 4 people other than us on the beach! The open fire provided a lovely peaceful evening with a glass of wine and pizza and we slept like babies! The owner is amazingly helpful and accomadating too.
Its not "The Ritz" but we will certainly return.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Setting in Beverly Shores

Review submitted: September 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this home at Beverly Shores. Our two children and golden retriever said it was the best vacation ever. The location was perfect with a short walk to the beach every day. The beach entrance near the house was perfect as we were far enough away from the public parking sites that we almost had the beach to ourselves. The quaint and tranquil setting was very relaxing my wife and I, much needed after a long summer of work. Being so close to Chicago, we took the train in from the Dunes Beverly Shores station less than 5 minutes away.

If available, we would definitely return again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Setting in Beverly Shores

Review submitted: September 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this home at Beverly Shores. Our two children and golden retriever said it was the best vacation ever. The location was perfect with a short walk to the beach every day. The beach entrance near the house was perfect as we were far enough away from the public parking sites that we almost had the beach to ourselves. The quaint and tranquil setting was very relaxing my wife and I, much needed after a long summer of work. Being so close to Chicago, we took the train in from the Dunes Beverly Shores station less than 5 minutes away.

If available, we would definitely return again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relax and Unwind

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

Just finished our third visit to this wonderful getaway. On a clear day, you can see our sweet home Chicago across the lake, but you feel like you are a world away from the city. The house is nestled in a peaceful wooded setting where we were visited by deer grazing in the yard. It is only a short walk to the beach which is clean and uncrowded. You can walk for miles and listen to the surf. Sunsets can be spectacular. There is lots of room in the house and it is well stocked with anything you may need. One of the nicest things about Beverly Shores is that everyone is so friendly...you are not treated like renters or tourists. Expect to be greeted by Abby, the neighbor's yellow lab, and for folks to wave and say hello. Also lots of activities within a short drive. Chesterton has a great farmers market on Saturdays and look for the pizza truck on weekends for unusual and delicious pizza cooked fresh in the portable pizza oven.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fun at the beach

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

My family and I had a great week at this house, we had 5 little girls with us and it accomodated us nicely. The home was really well stocked, plenty of kitchen supplies, beach towels and toys, and having a washing machine was great. Also easy access to Chicago the train station is right up the road. The beach is very nice, no trash at all and the water was clear and blue. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review