reviews for: listing #59847 - San Diego, California Condo rental

'The Firehouse'Downtown San Diego,Heart of Gaslamp Quarter!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Gaslamp City Square
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,500 - $2,800 /mth

sort by:

swell condo

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

We spent the month of January here and although the "native San Diegans" were freezing (their word), we sat on the great patio every day and enjoyed the sun and my husband swam in the pool nearly every day. the condo is very very comfortable. In fact, we have been renting for 13 years and this place had the most comfortable furniture. The area is fun. Walk to the water or Little Italy or a mall or Ralph's grocery store. Just walking up Fifth Avenue will be a treat. So many people happily walking around or eating at the many many restaurants! Very enjoyable and friendly owners.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Awesome Condo in an Awesome Location

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We stayed the entire month of July in what we consider to be the best location to experience San Diego and the surrounding area. The condo is as advertised, very clean on arrival, with most everything anyone would need to make this your home away from home for a month or even longer. We were able to park the car in the parking garage and walk to just about everywhere. Ralph's Market was a short few blocks away and a Ralph's discount card was available for our use. There is an ATM right outside the entry. There are restaurants galore (I read there are 200 in the Gas Lamp District alone). We like to eat in mostly and the kitchen was equipped with everything I needed for meal preparation, even some condiments and other necessities. The streets are always filled with people but it is quiet in the condo. The condo is perfectly situated in the complex. It is on the pool level with 4 large bbq grills. Patios are only available on this level and it was great to sit out for lunch or happy hour. The pool and bbq's are beautifully maintained. Public transportation is very close and easy to use. The condo owners, Johnny and Dannette, are extremely accommodating and were in touch with us on arrival and during our stay to be sure we had everything we needed. There was a "Firehouse" theme throughout the condo with fun decorations. The furniture was very comfortable -- lots of storage, which made it easy to unpack and really "live" there. A definite plus was to have a washer and dryer right in the unit (the detergent and fabic softener provided). The large screen TV in the living room was superb, as well as the smaller flat screen one in the bedroom. I particularly enjoyed the very large desk in the BR with many drawers to set up and keep up with website and other involvements. They thought of everything. We would highly recommend this condo and could go on and on about how gracious Johnny and Dannette were. This was our first time using HomeAway. It was an excellent experience, so we know this won't be our last. And we hope to stay in the "Firehouse" again. Awesome!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Take me downtown San Diego!

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this clean, well appointed home. The location is perfect for exploring the Gaslamp, East Village, walks to the harbor/Embarcadero, ferry to Coronado, dinners in Little Italy and picnics in Balboa Park....all by walking. The excellent, safe city transportation system has several stations within a 5-10 minute walk to enable you to explore the greater San Diego area. Although we did not require any assistance, the owners, in addition to maintaining and stocking their home nicely for guests are very cordial and available to help ensure a positive experience. The building itself is well maintained and the public pool/garden/bbq area is cleaned at least once if not twice daily. There is a complete grocery store several blocks away to enable you to eat at home as much or as little as you desire. We recommend the Lincoln Room for happy hour (drinks and menu),friendly staff and evening music, Patrick II's for genuine, live blues acts, the Rockin' Baja Lobster for $2 taco night. We didn't have a bad experience at any of the many restaurants and bars available to enjoy downtown.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

Don't let this one get away. I love it - Perfect location in the Gaslamp section.
Step out the door to a choice of restaurants - dine outside and watch the world go by. The location is the best. Walk to Ralphs for groceries – Horton’s plaza, movie theatres. Trolley is close by as well as the convention center. The condo is clean and oh so comfortable. The complex is immaculate. Parking space included under the building directly in front of the elevator. The court yard off the patio is perfect. Grills for cooking are provided, pool for swimming. Did I mention Ghirardelli ice cream fountain is steps away - I can't say enough about the condo other than I wish it was mine!

Thank you
Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect and comfortable! Owners are fantastic!

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

While planning a trip to a convention in San Diego, we were so fortunate to find this sweet condo! Surprisingly it was much cheaper than a hotel and in the most perfect location. Surrounded by amazing restaurants and shopping, this condo could not have been more perfect for our trip. After a long day in trainings, it was great to be able to come home to a cozy condo that is clean and safe. The owners were great and very easy to work with. Overall I would highly recommend this condo, or any other vacation rental advertised by these owners! I look forward to coming back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Excellent condo and location.

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

We stayed for a week 7/24-7/31/11 and there's nothing but great things to say about this condo. The location is excellent with easy access to major highways and close to a lot of the tourist attractions that you might want to go to.

Some are even in walking distance. It's a hearty, healthy walk to the USS Midway and Seaport Village area! Just remember where the condo is so you don't walk around in circles saying "it's right up here!" when it's really a couple blocks in the other direction because you didn't go back the same way you came :)

There are so many restaurants in the area to choose from, too many really, it would take months to try them all!

The owners make it very easy to get into the condo no matter what time you arrive, which is great. We got in around 9pm which might of been difficult to manage under different circumstances. Similarly, the close location was very helpful when we missed our 6am flight and could return to the condo for a couple hours until the checkout time, when otherwise we would of had to sit at the airport for 6-7 hours until the next flight.

To sum it up: Condo is clean, comfortable, quiet, pool and jacuzzi were a nice way to start and end each day, in-unit laundry is always a bonus, full kitchen if you want to save money and prepare meals "at home" while on vacation, central downtown location with easy access to anywhere.

If we return to San Diego again in the future we will definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Top on my list in San Diego

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

This condo is great. I would not even look elsewhere when I return to San Diego. The onwers were great and very accomidating. The location is ideal. Easy to get to everything. It was real nice to have the pool right outside the unit. Very clean and well furnished. Dont pass this one up.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great condo and thoughtful owners

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

My wife & I stayed for 5 nights from 10/23-10/28/10. We were satisfied with the condo & its offerings. The listing description & photos were accurate.

Condo: clean, well-maintained, very QUIET, spacious for us two. We love the large & comfortable couches, huge HD TV, spacious bathroom w/ big mirrors, washer & dryer with laundry detergens & Bounce drying sheets, & the wall decorations. My wife really love the intricate, uniquely shaped mirrors: 1 in the bedroom and 2 in the living room. The rooms are not well-lit by sunlight, as we expected by looking at the pictures.

Building: very quiet, clean, well-maintained. We only saw 3 other people while riding the elevators the whole time we were there. They were friendly and classy. There was a nice, clean pool & hot tub in the courtyard, as well as many BBQ grilling equipments. We saw the maids cleaning them regularly. The fitness room was small & poorly equipped.

Parking: one reserved parking spot is complementary during our stay.

Customer service: exceptional. The owners provided us with thorough information before booking. They were helpful & responsive to our needs. They brought a new ironing board when I needed it. They text-messaged me right after checking out that the place was left in good condition and the refund deposit check was mailed out on the same day. The check came in the mail 4 days later.

Vegan restaurant recommendations: all very affordable
Loving Hut: great Vietnamese vegan food, no MSG, 20 min drive from the condo
Poquez Mexican restaurant: on 10th and E St, within walking distance from condo, good Mexican food (meat, seafood, vegetarian, vegan all available; no MSG)
Veg-N-Out: ok vegetarian and vegan food, recommend the Big Kahuna sandwich

Attractions:
go to Mission Beach, park, and walk all the way to Pacific Beach (2-mile walk) for the breath-taking view, fresh air, people watching, and lots of sunshine.
explore the Gaslamp Quarter (a rectangle from Broadway to Harborside, 4th to 6th), we especially love the galleries and big sidewalks of downtown San Diego
go to the theaters and movies. They were all within walking distance. We didn't, but we will next time.
go to the convention center, 2 - 3 blocks south of the condo, walk to the top for great views

All in all, I have been to San Diego 4 times and this is our best San Diego accommodation. We would surely return. We would recommend it to friends, relatives, and coworkers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Perfect spot for business or leisure

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

I rented this condo for a week while attending a conference at the convention center and taking some time to see the sights of San Diego. It's perfectly located in the Gaslamp about a 5 minute walk from the Convention Center. It is surrounded by great restaurants with just about any type of food you could want. It's perfect for anyone with or without a car as the trolley stops nearby. The Condo is neatly furnished and very clean. The firehouse decor is really neat. It has a nice semi-fenced patio opening into the building's courtyard, adjacent to the pool area. The owners are very easy to work with and provide all the information you could possibly need. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Comfortable condo, incredible location

Review submitted: July 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

We had a very enjoyable stay at this condo. First of all, the condo is well stocked in terms of the kitchen. There were condiments in the fridge, many pots and pans and utensils, and plenty of dishes and glassware. It is obvious that the owners used to live here, based on how well stocked the kitchen is. It was clean and spacious, and being on the third floor with a patio that opens to the courtyard (with a pool and hot tub) was very very handy. We enjoyed many meals out on the patio, and used the barbecues several times. The hot tub and pool were a very nice temperature. The condo itself was excellent and exceeded all of our expectations. Next, I have to say how perfect this condo is in terms of location. It is truly right in the heart of the Gaslamp district. It is located in between 4th and 5th avenues, which are the streets where all the action is. 4th and 5th avenues are loaded with restaurants, pubs, and clubs, and good shopping. But, being an "inside" unit, you do not hear any of the street noise. Very very quiet! Just a 3 block walk to the convention centre, trolly, grocery store, and Petco Park, and about 4 blocks to Horton Plaza. There is free underground parking, which was a bonus considering you're right downtown! The location cannot be beat! You will not be disappointed if you are lucky enough to stay here. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Downtown Paradise

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 12, 2010

As a lone woman traveller, I checked carefully about where I was staying and am I glad I went with Danette and Johnny's condo! A short cab ride from the airport ($11-$15), this lovely building is both beautiful and secure. Smack dab in the center of the Gaslamp, I spent 5 days and 4 nights eating, drinking and walking my way through the area. The condo is large and spacious and the pictures do not do it justice at all. A deep bath tub, comfy firm mattress, great desk for computer work and the longest sofa I've lounged on in along time! Perfect for 2 people. The pool and hot tub were just on the other side of the private patio and usally only had 1-2 people there. The neighborhood holds many surprises, from the Gelato shop just outside the building front door, the wonderful tiny Museum acroos the street, the Indian hole in the wall cafe half a block up to having happy hour by the pool at the Omni (there are a ga-zillion happy hours everyday!) on the way to Petco Park. Johnny and Danette have decorated the condo with interesting antique mirrors, great Friefighter memeoribilla and great furniture. I would stay here againin a heartbeat! Thanks again for such a great stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review